(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

cat, i think more or less, some of us are guilty of losing our cool when we are frustrated and vent our anger on the little one..
think even more so when many of us are firsttime moms, really cant control our emotions hor... =P

haha...but at least, we noe we hv done the wrong thing, and feel remorseful after tat!

for the bottlefeefing, same thing happened to my ger.. she will finish one feed very slowly, sometimes even takes 2hrs! my mom gotta slowly coax her and sing to her. i also got my mom to stay with me to look after bb, "employ" her also! haha...sounds funnie hor!

sigh...my new job profile is so taxing, i gotta work till 8 or 9pm. usually after i reach home, have my dinner, shower, then latch and play with my ger for a while, i hv to rest for the nite liao.. then morning, gotta pump, hv breakfast, shower then chiong to work liao..

really find i'm spending lesser and lesser time with my darling.. i miss her very much when i'm at work, cant wait to see n hold her. but when i see her at nite, i m too tired to express my love. only can latch and sayang her, think tats the best i can do for now.

really hope things will get better with time...

dino,
yah same here my ger also nv reject water but rejected milk.but end up she still finish her milk when i walk her ard. btw try to burp ur boy during his feed so that he can disgest n continue his feed.

leo,
yah am first time mom, somemore no one help me look after during confinement my mum only cook n she goes work. once i not enough sleep i get angry and hope to quickly make my ger sleep n i can slp who knows she doesn't sleep n keep crying i can even cry wth her. but i think she saw me crying and she stop.

Hi Catherine,

Yes, I burped him in btw when he sucks very slow. But sometimes after burp, he totally rejects milk and wants water. Which means 1/2 milk left. Quite sad.

Hi augbaby,
Really facing the same problem as you. Last night, when I change diapers for my boy, i tried to talk to him as he is impatient and started to cry. He inorge me and dun want to face me. But when I call my maid to talk to him, he smiled to her. Feel rejected and sad.

Dino,
Ya i also feel exactly the same as u..Sigh...But i dun noe how to make it better too..the irriating thing is that my maid like to imitate us and will pronouce his name in the exactly same way and same tone as we call him and talk to him..Even say the same things we say to him like jayden u r smiling..smile smile ah..damn irriating...sigh...

dino,
continue feeding him even he rejects he will suckle when he calms down. he is hungry just that he wan attentions.

yesterday i went back to see my ger she smile to me and gigaga loudly i one day never take care of her she still remember me.but awhile she start crying.
dino u carry your boy straight and let him lie forward on ur chest he will stop crying. remember got chance after feed play with ur son make him look at you and play with you.

augbaby,
i had just wrote to dino that let ur baby lie forward on ur chest carrying him straight like standing up he will stop crying and meanwhile can let him smell u, baby nose very sensative once they got your smell once u walk pass they will notice you.

thats what i always do let my ger lie on my tummy face on my chest. she smells me.. she make some cute noise like ee oor oor..

Hi Fiona,
yes i agree wif you that there are many things that others cant see when bb is back in the room wif mummy at nite. Esp when i change her diaper or feed her in the middle of the nite, she will just smile at mummy so sweetly. even daddy doesnt hv the chance to see tt cos i am the one waking up to take care of my gal. sometimes she will chuckle & laugh in her dreams too

Hi Dino,
my gal is now 9weeks old. i am feeding her 4oz at 3hrs interval. may need to upgrade her to 5oz very soon cos sometimes she's still sucking onto the teat even when the milk is finished. usually her last feed is around 10pm or 11pm. thereafter she will usually wake up around 2-3am for milk, then feed again at 5-6am. so far the longest time she sleep thru is 6hrs which happens only twice.

Ya, initially i am also quite frustrated when she makes so much noise till i cant sleep well. but now i am used to it & hv begun to enjoy every moment wif my gal. so even if she's not sleeping after nite feeding. i will still cuddle & play wif her until she's asleep w/o any frustration.. this is wat we call mu(3) ai(4)

Hi Catherine,
Sounds good and can have bonding.

Hi augbaby,
My maid imitates me too. She say "mummy sayang" and smile at my boy. And worst, my boy smiled back at her. I scolded her. she should say "her own name" with sayang. Else nxt time she become mummy, and I become the maid liao

Hi augbaby,
my maid did the same thing too! she's trying to imitate the way i sing song & the way i talk to my gal!!!! when i hear her pronounciation is not so accurate, i am abit irritated lor. but i just close one eye & EAR!! cos anyway i will be back to work in 3wks time. if she can handle my gal in that way, then let her be lor.. what to do.. i hv no choice cos she will be the one taking care of my gal

hey you all let your maid look after your baby? you now worry ur baby might get hurt by the maid? btw any adult at home with the maid?

can anyone teach me how to upload photo into the thread huh? i try many ways to shrink the photo size but still cannot be done..give up liao..

hi jasmine
u can just direct nurse her there and no need to pump, easier and more hygienic tis way?

hi babyboy,
u reminded me.. i haven't sent my bb's photo to her yet still.. :p

so an1 wei4 when i read ur postings here.. we really shared alot of same experience.. we all will tend to be jealous toward the caregiver, for myself is my PIL, for u will be the maid.. wat to do.. Try to have more personal time with our babies. Last week after i went back to work, during weekends i feel a bit "far away" from my bb, not as closed as when i taking care of him myself during maternity leave.. quite sad at first.. but I carried bb to my room, closed the door, and start building the bonding again.. I sang the same song tat i always used to sing to him when he's still in my tummy, when he's just born; i bathed him again the same way as what i usually did, sing the same song when i bathed him.. He smiled happily.. and from the expression i know he never forget me...

sigh.. made me miss him more now..

hi dino
My bb drinks at 9pm or 10pm before sleep, then wakes up again at around 3.30am. Before he cries he will make some noise like sucking thumbs etc, then i will just carry him and latch on direct. As he's still sleepy, he'll only latch on 10min and sleep again. Before i go to work, if he wakes up at 630am and i haven't pumped milk, i will latch him direct first, but if i've already pumped out at 7 or 730am, i'll keep in the bottle the fresh milk to let my FIL feed.

I used to feed him 110ml before i went back at work. But i am going oversea soon so clearing my ebm stock (can't bring over so many packets) my sis in law suggested me to use the ebm to wash my hair like wat zoe tay did. My MIL straight away objected, she said the milk is to feed her grandson to grow up, y use it to wash hair!~ sigh i never say i wan to use it to wash hair leh.. it's her daughter suggested one..

So from then onwards, they increase the feed to 150ml! Last evening when i returned home, my FIL was forcing my son to drink.. so poor thing, had been feeding him for 1.5 hr, he stil couldn't finish.. I took over but i din feed him.. I feel tat his stomach cannot store so much milk at one go leh.. if he is hungry he sure wil wan to drink.. I told my MIL dun increase so much at a sudden (from 110 to 150), she said must increase then her grandson will grow up..

Any advice how much we should feed bb at 3.5months?

chrys,
cannot like that increase the amount of milk leh if baby too full will vomit out one. u must monitor if he finish 110ml and still sucking its means he still need more milk but of cos 150ml is too big gab lar. u try 120ml see if he finish drinking. if 120ml he is still sucking the tits then increase to 150 ml.
anyway by right bottle feeding and breastfed is different leh bottle fed just need 15-30 mins. only breastfed can last up to 1hrs or more.

Lala,
Wow..yr bb is drinking alot ah..my bb is now coming to 3mths next mon and he cant even finish 4oz/120ml of FM when we feed him at nite n 1 feed in the morning..but hor, the weird thing is that BM he usually drink 4oz all finish...Last time he can finish 4oz FM but now cant liao..dun noe y leh...I am trying to close 1 eye n ear lor..coz anyway cant tell her not to imitiate me mah...haha..think she dun even understand...

Catherine,
guess i will try to do wat u say to see if it help..but when u say put bb on shoulder, is it like when we wan to burp them? How to lie forward on yr chest? his face how then? ANyway i thou that bb spine is not fully developed now so cant reali sit them straight up etc for long period of time?

hi lala,

You can try to reduce your picture at 'paint' (From start button, go programs, accessories and then paint). Open your picture and choose 'image' then 'stretch/skew' to reduce the size... with compliments from cocomo!

i am still trying to shrink my photo...

augbaby,
usually she can finish 4oz in the day. as for the nite, she will always fall asleep while feeding. hence i wont force her to finish when she has dozed off, cos i afraid she will 'merlion' which i kanna before. it was so messy as she puked her milk 3times continuously on my bed in the middle of the nite.. very scary. so instead of forcing her to finish the balance (which left abt 1 or 1 1/2 oz) i will spend longer time to burp her instead.

same as Catherine, i will sometimes cuddle her to sleep wif her face lying on my chest too. her face will either face left or right lor.

i always put my gal to sleep wif her chest down on the bed during the day. she will feel more secure & sleep longer. this cannot be done during the nite cos it will be too dangerous.

augbaby,
yah like burping her on ur shoulder you just bring his/her down to your chest. his/her tummy rest on ur tummy. if his/her head moving just put your hand behind her head incase she cant support her own head.
mine now i don't need to support her head also can neck neck very stable now.

btw of cos not let them sit straight up when u lying on ur sofa let ur baby rest on ur tummy he/she will just look see around.

whey i envy u all leh baby boy look like baby boy, baby girl look like baby girl, mine is girl but look like boy haizz..

catherine,my boy has been mistaken for a girl many times already...
one passer by even insisted that he is a GIRL...
cant stand..tell her boy, she say ' no lah, girl..!!"

Catherine,
Do u mean that bb body will be on my body etc? and his head will be either facing right or left like what lala means? wont it be uncomfy for them? how abt their hands then? wont the position be uncomfy for their hands? Sorry ah, i am finding it difficult to visualise in my head what u mean...:p

Babyboy, Catherine,
Haha..my boy as well...all the people will sure ask me he is a boy rite.. coz his features is more delicate and pp guess boy coz his stroller seat is blue

augbaby..guess they are still young so features not fully developed yet...so strangers always guess wrongly...
whichever the case...babies are just so loveable!!~ : )

cheers to all mummiesss!

haha augbaby u try it when your baby is crying once your carry straight on ur tummy ur baby will stop crying and will be busy turning their head around or resting on ur chest.i carry her like that for like 5-10 mins then i put her down to slp.

augbaby,
you will be surprised how comfy bb will be when carry in this manner. mummy will feel so connected to the bb. also mummy can smell bb's hair, kiss bb's head..bonding lah.. heheh..
u should try. u will like it

can check wif those making FM. how to ensure the milk will be at the right temperature for bb. Not too hot n not too cold either?

hi catherine,
i've tried to feed the rest of the ebm after i've soothed my gal but she'll juz entertain me by sucking a bit then let the milk drools out from the side of her mouth. What surprised me is, although she doesn't finish most of the milk yet can wait till 3 or even 4 hrs later then wants the next feed, even longer interval at times...kinda worried she's not drinking enough.

hi chrys,
today i brought my gal to takashimaya to meet my friend. when my MIL knows i'm bringing my gal out, she commented saying things like dun bring her out and even suggested my brother in law to go with us, bcos he's giving me a lift there...i took the chance and purposely replied with a smile,"you said after i go out then my baby won't recognize me mah, so now i'll bring her wherever i go lor"...hahaha. Than she scared liao quickly said a few hrs is ok lah...i very naughty hor.

hi augbaby, dino, lala,
i dun have a maid but i'm one of those mommies who can't stand if my baby becomes attached to the maid. Next time if you are really unhappy with the maid behaviour, just carry the baby away from her instantly. Anyway when you are back home, it's time for you to enjoy some private time with baby. Even if the baby cries, dun succumb by passing to the maid to comfort, must try every ways you can to soothe baby yourselves, then eventually baby will learn to accept. Babies can sense your emotion and confidence.

hi gals, i am doing a spree on bobux shoe. so if u r interested, can go to market place or march 06 side to order, ok.

fiona,
you see how many oz ur ger drinking? and how many hrs you let her drink? let say she finish only 3oz then u continue feed her 3oz until her 3oz finish she is still sucking her bottle its sign of she need more milk. dun waste ur milk if she can't finish.

maybe u want to chat with me on msn

For those who miss their babies when at work, why dun you try to install a camera then you can see your boy whenever you go (even thru HP as well)? No additional cost every mth le, only need to buy a cctv kind of camera (I bot $300 each but got cheaper type). You can even hear them as well! This is what I do lo as I have to leave my baby with maid so very bu fang xin (No PIL or parents here to look after my boy). This is what show on my computer screen in office (I have 3 cameras):-
561743.jpg

Usually I will just adjust 1/3 of my computer screen for the camaras view and use 2/3 for work.

Hi Fiona chin,
Could it be the teats size?

Hi chrys,
Dun force your boy to finish the bottled milk. I remembered I consulted my PD. He told me that if the bb drink more than 15-20mins and doze off. That means that he is full. Dun force him with milk.

Catherine,
i hv been carrying her like tt mostly at nite while cuddling her to sleep. it's usually closed door in my air-conditioned room. dont let the maid see, later she imitates again after i go back to work.. like tt very bonding leh...

cocomo,
aiyo why you don't put with childcare better.although its expensive but more safe. I seriously don't trust maid at all. if you want to employ maid best is adult around. but u clever enough to have a cctv lor.

lala,
haha your maid really trying to imitates you. i am lucky that my mum look after my ger can tell her off whenever things she do is not right.
if my mil look after i think i will cry everyday.

Lala, Catherine,
I tried yest nite carrying and laying him as u both suggested..lie him on my tummy.. Initially he will make noises and wiggle around for a while and like not comfy leh and i have to like help him adjust a little..But after a while, he became quiet n lie quietly wif his head facing to my right side..is it normal for him to make noises and wiggle around? Or is it that he dun reali like the position but no choice after a while, so he lie quietly?? But i must say i love the feeling of him lying on my tummy and i can hug him and kiss him and his hands are around my side..

Hi lala, kat and fiona,
the position you mention, do we have to be lying down or can be upright? Upright like very difficult lei!

hi augbaby,
me going bk work soon.. going to leave baby with maid... think I will face the prob you all face after going to work...

Hi cocomo,
your cameras, are they wireless? at which part of the house do you install? the link for you to see the video, any idea if there would be any firewall to our office network?

hi Lala, Catherine & augbaby,
I just tried the position lying down, she also wriggles and makes lots of noises.. actually she was sleeping so my changing of position woke her up... and her nappy wet! URGH!!! I will try again later..

hi cat & dino,
Yesterday i bought my gal out and she was so busy looking around she didn't drink much during her 6pm feed, usual is 4-4.5oz, only drank 2.5oz.
Then reach home probably very tired, wanted her milk but only managed to drink 2 oz, wasted half of my bottle...sian

Then she slept all the way till 2am, must be very hungry le so drank 130ml and the next feed this morning at 8am she drank 110ml. So let's see how's her intake for the rest of the days. But now i only fill the bottles to 90ml only, top up if she wants more, so afraid of wastage.

Hi Piyo,
Juz place your baby in sitting position on your lap, face front and close to your body, then you can use one hand to hold baby's back and the other just support behind the head. Or i use to let her lie on my body in this position when she was smaller
561842.jpg