(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Heh heh Piyo,
It's a lifetime of committment lor ...
Even now, my parents still fuss over me now and then.

Amazing huh, parenthood?
It's true that we will come to understand that only when we become parents ourselves.
Oh ... Those teenage years.

check with you all for those delivered at kkh did kkh provide you a hospital goodie bag to bring home?
heard tmc or mt A they will give u a bag and lots of items even baby bathtub.

hi noelle,

is the handbook v useful? i don mind borrowing it if it isn't too much trouble
other than reading the net, and this v useful forum
i haven't done much homework for my delivery, which i plan to have natural no epi, plan lah heehee.

am also going for the anmum forum next sunday which posted on yesterday...

Hi Cat,
Yeah, I did receive the goodies from KKH.
Actually, not from KKH right, they are from Motherhood Magazine Team or something?

No receiving blanket, no baby bathtub though.

Yeah Pups,
It's informative indeed.
No need to borrow my dear. Just take it.
3 is enough for us. Heh heh ...
Just need to arrange for a meetup lor.
Hmm ... I will be at Suntec this Saturday from 2pm onwards.
Let me know in case you might be there?
You have my number from the list ay.

KKH's having Best Breastfed Baby Contest Finals so they are having some shows & hopefully promotions going on.

noe,
wat goodies you received? huh not from kkh? should be sponsor by motherhood given by kkh ba..
if they giving us bag then i think i pack my things in a paperbag haha.....

Oh ya Cat,
That's the term I was looking for. Sponsor!

They have bids, diaper/nappy cream/baby shampoo samples, vouchers (usually from the shops at KKH like The First Few years, Mothercare etc.) and pamplets for confinement food/baby showers/caterers.

Urm ... I don't remember them giving diaper bags akin to TMC type. It's those carrier type lor.
They will give it to us upon discharge while waiting to settle the documentation.

Don't forget the gifts (some can be bulky) you might receive from well-wishes k!

catherine,
MAH gave a bathtub, a golden coin and a diaper bag. inside e diaper bag, there r lotsa informative stuff fr various places. u can also bring back e Pampers & J&J Wet wipes.

if i not wrong, e same stuff will b in e diaper bag fr TMC but TMC dun give a bathtub. not sure abt e golden coin.

Helo White Lady,

No one is popping today bah... hehehe think our 1st AUG BB is Rain bb gal!

For mi im standing by... nw no more that tupid pain n finally i can sleep for abt straight 4hrs last nite! wow wat a good feeling.

Will be seeing my gynae tmr again n see hw it goes.. hopefully e pain wont come again in iregular intervals cos i do not wish to induce too.. haiz.. bb b gd la.. i been trying to talk to her every moments..

Is IT TRUE Epi will help to speed up labor process? IM NOT SURE cos heard frm some other friends... HOW ABOUT INDUCE? Heard induce can be faster too bt it depends on individual rite?

Now is alot ??? in our brains esp all of us are waiting for labor.. gosh...

noe,
oic then i better cut down on bringing too much things to hospital i ask my colleagues not to sent anything to me haha i don't want to carry back from hospital.

Kelly,
yah heard from my colleague MAH got bathtub and diaperbags. but bathtub difficult to bring home leh...haha

Catherine,

Heard frm my frd e bathtub given by MAH not v big.. still able to take back BT sure need HB help cos we not suppose to carry to heavy stuffs lo. At least we can forget abt buying a bathtub too hehehe...

catherine, cynthia
bathtub not big. u can throw all ur stuff in e bathtub n carry it, tat's wat my husband did.

noe,
MAH's food & service is also something u can look 4ward to. like sierra, i also finish their confinement food. my husband/MIL said i ate as if i'm starving. their nurses also very friendly.

sierra,
amelie has very big beautiful eyes n she looks like a doll. ya, kathlyn looks chubbier. is kathlyn heavier?

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Is IT TRUE Epi will help to speed up labor process? IM NOT SURE cos heard frm some other friends... HOW ABOUT INDUCE? Heard induce can be faster too bt it depends on individual rite?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Heh heh ... Cynthia,
Epidural primary purpose is to relieve pain lah.
If we don't feel the pain, we will be able to relax and thus help cervix to dilate faster lor (logically thinking, I can be wrong).

Hmm ... Induction is more painful.
I am not sure about faster though.

Oui Cat,
Have DH to carry those items lah!
I remember both times, DH had to carry Dua Bao Sway Bao home. Hee hee ...

hi sierra ,

ur baby girls so cute , they are twins rite ? but they dont look alike from the photo hor , so cute , nice n big eyes !

That's lovely, Kelly!
By the way, I am opting for double bedded ward.
Does Mt A provide toiletries?
Noted that they don't provide gowns.
kao_sad2.gif
Just hoping that I don't miss anything out in my hospital bag as they have only one small pharmacy &amp; one small provision shop (auntie's friendly depending on her mood but items are expensive) at the lobby level.

noe/kelly,
aiyah i regret liao that time hubby ask me to change to MAH i die die don't want to change. Now i keep telling hubby you see lar MAH got this and that can have 3D scan good services.

KKH always wait until pek cek. somemore got to take weight and blood pressure ourselve or wait for the nurse when they are free.

I think i better don't complaint to hubby anymore haha if not he confirm give me a big knock on my head.

yah will ask hubby to carry all those stuff.....now am like a queen don't know after baby come out still can be a queen or not....i think my princess will take over my position liao haha

Helo Noe,

Ya i felt Epi is more on pain relieve.. For mi i die die tell myself to opt it out.

Induction seems scary for mi.. like waiting at hospital to be executed!!!!! Still prefer to stay at home n wait... den can walk ard do wat we wan...

HI Kelly!
U stay at MAH 2bed or 4bed?
How is the estd bill like?

check with all mummies ,

actually , TMC and Mt A , which hospital is more expensive ?

for natural birth , both hospital have to stay for 2 nites n c section 3 nites ?

cos heard that for KKH , got mummies stay for only 1 nite

cynthia,
i already bought my own bathtub
anyway may not be using it leh.. cos my mum hs already have one....lucky kkh don't provide bathtub if not don't know so many bathtub for what......

My baby is still moving alot in my tummy , does that mean that still got space and baby wont come out so fast ? cos heard from other mummies , baby movement lessen , meaning going to give birth liao !

From what I know, most exp is Mt E followed by TMC for natural delivery. Mt A is mid-range.

Also, my friend was telling me that if baby born on National Day, don't know the government or hospital will pay for the total bills, in other words, its FREE! Not sure how true...

Catherine,

I got one bath tub at home bt for my dog use! hahah bt now my dog don wan liao.. think i will discard NOT Letting bb use for sure. Cos e bathtub my dog use is bigger n realli taking up space at my toilet.

My frd told mi MAH bathtub not v big n can use till 1yr depending hw bb grows. IF got spare, i felt we can jus leave it at mum hse or IL jus in case bah.

White Lady,

TMC &amp; MAH has been debating on which more expensive. Wat i noe is TMC slightly abt $100-$200 more than MAH. I compare e deposit between MAH N TMC. MAH 2bed oni $450 BUT MAH 4bed already $600! So we also must take into consideration e deposit n see how is e topping up upon discharge..

Hmm u gg to MAH OR TMC? I waiting for Kelly reply abt hws her charges at MAH... whether she 2bed or 4bed.. Cos Initially i book 4bed BT now HB wanna switch to 2bed.. I still sort of worry abt e bill...

Hmm Today AUGBABY no online.. n also didnt post anything.. she go labor liao? I jsu sms her.. see how she is getting on bt no reply lo.. hope she is doing fine..

kao_sad2.gif
Yeah Cat,
I know what you mean.
Sometimes, some of the nurses can be a little on the curt side. Although they are supposed to be service oriented but Singapore still have some way to grow on this area.
Unless you are with the TPS Scheme, the waiting time can be really trying.
Wise decision Cyn!
Once they break our water bags, we can't walk around anymore. I dreaded that waiting period mobilised on the bed!
Hi White Lady,
I did my homework! It's Mt A as they are non-profit organisation. My GY confirms it too.
KKH only 1 night? Have they changed the procedure already?
I had normal delivery for my last two rounds and requested to stay for 3 nights. My GY gave the go ahead leh ...
Hee ... Staying for 3 nights allows more medisave claims though that's not the reasons we did lah ...

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Also, my friend was telling me that if baby born on National Day, don't know the government or hospital will pay for the total bills, in other words, its FREE! Not sure how true...<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Really HoneyB?
Hmm ... That sounds tempting.

cynthia,
pai seh...did u ask abt my bill? i go &amp; dig my bill out then reply 2 u.

i go handle both boys 1st then come back 2 reply 2 all postings.

catherine,
not too late 4 u 2 switch 2 MAH. my GF switched 1wk b4 she popped. tell u y later.

Realli HoneyB?

COOL... den i tell bb don come out don come out bear till national day heheeh BT i think must b e 1st bb in whole sg hospital.

As for MT E, e charges depends. Cos my frd using Dr LIM N he has special rate in MT E so not so costy too... Gleneagles heard not cheap too. Hb colleague wife natural birth i heard still need to top up at least 1k n she didnt take epi.. IF Csect more costy..

Frankly speaking, heard from frd her sister gg to NUH n not cheap too. I don understand cos it is almost whole govt subsided though may go into half pte lo..

kelly, last min can switch meh?? unless the doctor also work in MAH lor

Noe,
yah actually i am with kkh as private patient..their service are very bad.....wonder while staying there will it be that bad???

for national day " special " , think must be the 1st baby born on national day then will have benefit ! lets see whether who will have a national day first baby !

According to my friend who works for the gov sub, the free package is for all babies born naturally on National Day. Its sort of like a priviledge to have the same birthday as the nation. We shall see..mummies who give birth on that day, do share with us :")

Helo White Lady,

Think my gynae blur BT i ask him.. cos i wan to go MAH &amp; I receive both MAH N TMC letter to confirm. He told mi its ok jus ignore TMC.. hmm.. like v irresponsible leh.. hahaha

National Day sure have to be 1st bb before can enjoy all these i suppose so.. If realli 1st bb, wonder next time enrol bb to sch will have privilage or not hehehe...

hi augustmum,
thanks. can't wait to see my baby.

hi sierra,
congrats! ur babies are so adorable.

hi noe,
thanks for the info. actually, i'm quite worried as i'm having a flu now and my cervix is not dilated. hb asking me to go for c-section but not sure whether it's too late to change.

hi cat,
service at tps is still good so guess u don't have to worry too much at the delivery suite. heard from friends that kkh will give toiletries if we stay in a1 or b1 wards.

hi nurbates,
glad u are back. have a good rest n put up bb's photo soon.

hi whitelady and noe,
don't think stay for 1 nite leh. i paid for 3d 2n package for natural delivery.

White Lady, my friend bought the Medela PIS pump at TMC, but second hand set, for about $300,(original price $600-$700).

cynthia,
i stayed in 2bedded at MAH. i paid $650 in cash (including bb's expenses). i cant find my bill so cant give u breakdown. i heck care abt e medisave part.

my stay is as follows:
1) i stayed for 3D2N (13-15jul)
2) used epi at an assisted delivery (if it's just natural wif epi, it'll be cheaper. if it's natural wif other types of painkiller, lagi more cheaper)
3) ate an extra meal on 15jul (lunch)
4) took medication fr them - painkillers &amp; cold tablets

jfong shared b4 tat she only paid abt $70+ cash for her stay in MAH. her's a 3D2N, no epi (other painkillers). not sure if hers was assisted.

i waiting 4 bbnmum 2 advise wat her bill is like at TMC cos she stayed 2bedded, use epi too. Not sure if hers was assisted though.

catherine,
didnt know u r popping at KK. if ur gynae dun practise in private hospitals, then u cant switch 2 MAH.

noe,
MAH provide u wif a small toiletries bag. there's shampoo, shower gel, toothpaste, toothbrush, shower cap &amp; a small face towel in it. u can also ask e nurse for bath towels. they'll provide for every bath u 1 2 take. MAH very gd rt?

honeyb
thats expensive i bought a 2nd hand pump amenda dual for $150 from auction. the price of the medela 2nd hAND SET can purchase a new set amenda dual pump leh..

honeyb,
out of curiosity, how much have u spent wif dr esther, since e day u knew u r preggie? did she advise u how much is her delivery fees? did she tell u tat she prefers u 2 pay her delivery fees in cash 2 her cos if u pay thru MAH, MAH'll take a lil teeny weeny bit fr her delivery fees?

for me, i spent abt $1100 for e antenatal charges (she didnt offer packages back in 2004). i started seeing her when i was 5wks preggie, all e way until 33wks. I popped at 35wks. her assisted delivery fees is $1300 (originally is $1500 but she gave me a discount bcos of some special reasons). back in 2004, her delivery fees is $1100 for natural, $1500 for assisted, $1900 for c-sect. still e same?

Cat,
$150 is good price but heard the Medela PIS is different, I'm not too sure. For myself I only bought a Avent manual pump to standby, if got alot of milk than source for a better pump. One of my gf expressed with her hands, wonder if I would be able to do that, can save $$ and don't have to sterilize equipments...hee

Kelly,
She has already collected $1300 from me last week, I've kinda lost track of how much I've paid in total. Other than a $500 from wk26 onwards, the previous visits have been quite ex cos alot of medication to purchase.

wondering anyone went for the hospital tour ? for a 2 bedded room , Mt A bigger or TMC bigger ? As i know , TMC 2 bedded room is quite small

White Lady,
Yes, I believe they do, but don't know which brand, my friend has gone for holiday else I can check with her.

white lady,
MAH's 1bedded &amp; 2bedded rooms are much more spacious than TMC. i've seen TMC's 1bedded &amp; 2bedded, abt 30-40% smaller than MAH.

my GF stayed in TMC's 2bedded, her portion in e room is abt 2/3 of my portion in my 2bedded in MAH.

hi honeyb and kelly,
i have been a silent reader in this forum. r u all referring to doc esther ng at katong? me with her too, but will be delivering at east shore, opt for single bedded. any idea on the charges? already paid up the $1300 also. thanks alot.