(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi dsiitan & whitelady,
my colleague delivered naturally. din even managed to have epidural as she was 7cm dilated when she reached tmc.

Take care everyone..!!
My next 35wk checkup is on tis Sat. Wan to know if my bb has engaged.. dunno if we can feel it or must go thru scanning then will know?
But My hb still needs to travel to Malaysia and Shanghai tis and next week..
Hope tat my bb will stay inside guai guai first.. dun come out too early.. else i am home alone, quite scarry if going pop.. Have to ask gynae if my hb still can travel.. :p

erin,
so good that your colleague already dilated 7cm when reach hosp.
My eldest sister was fully dilated for her first child when she reached Mt.A, and she didn't even felt any contraction. She just felt a bit weird at her lower abdomen, so went just to check check only. The funny thing is she still want to go toilet so she won't make a mess during delivery, lucky the midwife stopped her, or else my nephew would have ended up in the toilet bowl :p How I wish I'll be like her...

fiona/erin00
yah loh..how i wish i can be like her...but hor..i wann epi leh..hehehe....hmm...like that very short delivery hor?? how many weeks was she when she delivered???

dsiitan,
ya man, really admire her. but she was saying she yelled until her throat hurts. I'm so worried now abt the labour process.

fiona,
I also wish I can be like your sis but think most prob i won't be. my pain threshold is very low so think sure can feel the contractions.

chrys,
ya, it would be so scary if your waterbag bursts when u r alone at home. is it possible for ur hb to check with his company whether he can stop travelling until you deliver. if not, perhaps, u might want to have ur mum stay over at ur place when he's away.

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

hi Noe , i also think that is Colostrum , so there is no harm that is leaking now issit ? ha ha<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hee hee White Lady ... No harm at all.
In fact, I use it to smear it around our nipples to moisten them.

hi whitelady and noe,
I'm also having that too. anyway, the lactation consultant was advising us to start wearing nursing bras (or supportive bras without underwire) and to massage our breasts starting from 7th month to stimulate our milk production. For those with short nipples or inverted nipples will have to start pulling them using the nipplette puller before delivery. <!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Yeah Erin,
Good sign of milk kicking in.
I have so much milk till the lymph nodes under my armpits are swollen. During the initial days of nursing, breastmilk oozed out when I squeezed the swollen glands.

So gross hor ...

Erin, ya almost same EDD as I am huh? Mine's on 28 August.
kao_smile2.gif

Yeah Mummies,
Last trimester is usually not easy.
Gynae was telling me that we experience more pregnancy symptoms with subsequent pregnancies. Apparently, it was only the labour &amp; delivery that are easier.

I am having breathlessness &amp; my legs ache more this round.
#3 seems to be having quite some space doing kick boxing in the womb.
kao_dizzy.gif

Visiting my gynae this coming Wednesday.
Let's see how's baby doing.

dsiitan,
think my sis was in her full term liao...still dare to go shopping wif her colleagues after work...haha. Think all the walking helped her dilate so fast.

So good that you all showing signs of producing colostrum. I've been so worried about not having enough milk production after delivery, so I've ordered from moms in mind the "Mothers' nutritious tea 4 two" to prep my body. Not sure whether it'll work, but just try lor...

Recently, I've been telling my MIL that I want to BF my baby, hope the message went into her head. I dun wanna be stressed by her when the time comes...(keeping my fingers &amp; toes crossed)

hi, anyone heard of FibreLux mattress? i was deciding on a normal foam mattress or the latex one when i saw this at tangs (i didn't see this brand anywhere else). it's made from natural non-toxic raw materials, rubberized coconut fibres and i was told by the sales assistant it's much better than the latex mattress and apparently PDs also recommend also this. And it gives good ventilation to prevent suffocation.
Just wanna know any of the mummies here heard of this brand or hv bought it?? thanks<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi smlow,
We are also contemplating if we should get a better end cot mattress for #3. Ha ha ... Decided that we will buy the usual foam mattress with air holes instead.

I nursed both my boys so they are sleeping with us in the night time. We realised that they don't really sleep much in the cot at all. So if you foresee that your dd/ds is going to utilise the cot alot then please do invest in a good foam mattress.
kao_smile2.gif

hello all,

just got back from my 30 week check up
spent so long in the hospital today... :p
Had to do my blood tests for GD, results back - no GD! phew... no diet for me... lucky me...

baby boy is now 1.7kg at 30weeks? so how does that fair?

Noe/whitelady,
my one side breast got a bit sticky leaky thingy... hehehe massage lady said milk start to produce liao...

oh no, no more kiddy palace sale... notime to go buy... wonder when avent will have sale again, thinking of getting their breast pump...

Ya Butter8,
That's our colostrum! Clear &amp; a tad oily right?
Usually, one of our breasts has more milk &amp; ducts compared to the other one.

Oh oh! I am eyeing the Robinsons Sale.
They have great stuff at great prices.
Hopefully in time before we pop!

Hi Ladies.

Went for my Wk33 check up last sat... BB is only 1.7kg but dr say it is ok as all along my bb size belongs to the low weight one..
Placenta has moved up but dunno why bb head turned up again.. My next appt 2 weeks later and I will be in Wk35 and 4 days. Dr say if bb head not turned down must make plans and appt for c section..
I think really fated for c section which i dun really want..
Anything i can do to help bb head turned down? thinking of going swimming.. but public pool too many ppl then ppl will start staring at me :-( dunno how

Hi Rain,
Does swimming help with bb turning head down?
Hee ... I was suntanning in my bikini when I had my #1 in the public.
kao_smile2.gif
No worries lah ... The public are more educated now. They should know that swimming do pregnant women good.

noe, white lady
me have been getting white stuff on my nipples for a while...mayb since 6-7mths preggie (i cant recall when), lately getting more. sometimes one 1breast, sometimes on both. i shared e info wif husband n he commented, "ok lor, gd. so u can BF bb for a long while" husband very pro-BFg cos feeding FM so leh chey (wash bottles, sterilise, make milk, etc). wif me as a "cow", e hassle's all on me. i also dun mind it lah...loved e closeness &amp; bonding wif my boy when i BF him.

rain,
i dunno if swimming helps wif bb turning head down BUT i know some gynaes can massage ur belly 2 move ur bb head down. can ur gynae help?

try talking 2 ur bb? i hv a GF whose bb was head down 4 one moment, head up another moment. she talked 2 e bb A LOT n bb turned head down when she popped.

peddie,
i agree wif e other mummies tat u shld let ur parents know. they may b unhappy, scold/nag but i'm sure they give u support. 2 raise a child at ur age n u r still schooling, isnt easy - financially, emotionally &amp; physically.

u mentioned tat u r engaged. ur parents shld also share e news of ur pregnancy wif ur ILs. it shld b a joy cos it's also after all their grandchild. who knows, mayb ur ILs can help out too.

Hi rain,
I heard going down on our fours help. I have a friend who went down on her fours for 15mins a day and baby did turn down.

Hi peddie,
Welcome! It would be good to speak to your parents cos they love you the most and I am sure they will do their best to help you no matter how upset they may be with you when they 1st knew about it. Try having a good heart-to-heart talk with your bf to hear his views about the baby. For all you know, he may be as worried as you but just does not know how to express it to you.

Hi Noe,
how about goats??? hehehe

hi piyo n rain,
i'm just the opposite. bb is always head down during scan right from the beginning. I'm so worried that my bb's head is too heavy or too big("dua toa") as the gynae jokingly mentioned that it might be gravity pull. kelly was right. the nurse did mentioned that some gynaes can help by massaging the belly. perhaps u can check with yours.

Noe,
that's a good one. lol.

Hi Erin,
I have not asked my gynae which direction my baby is facing:p Think I better ask when I go to see him next week at week 32... like so long wait to see baby ...

I felt the bone area just below the tummy area aching. Anyone having this as well? Any idea what is it caused by?

When did you observe the discharge from your nipples? Me no see anything yet... cham meaning may not have milk?

Hi Wanli,

I still have the crampy feelings sometimes, the hardening seems to improve. I did the 2 test to check in case if it is urine tract infection or viginal infection that triggers contraction. Dr wong says she had a patient with greenish discharge and found out it was v infection. She took her anti-botics and her contraction stopped. So she want to double check if it is the cause.

At times, my tummy was so tight that it looks as if it is going to burst and I could hardly walk to the toilet. But after the dosage was increase, i dun feel it so hard anymore. I got phobia in taking pills. Imagine besides daily muti-vit, calcium and fish oil tablets, i still need to take another 8 more pills per day for the contractions.
It has been a long time since I have a good night sleep too. So have u packed your hospital bag?

Hi Chrys,
It is best to ask yur hb to keep u company till u give birth. Or you stay with someone else, your parents or in-laws.

I still dun experience the colostrum leh.. does it mean i will have problem breastfeeding?? me now in week 30 this week only..

rain,
did doc say when baby head must move down by?

at my last check-up baby is still kinda across my tummy... slightly slanted...legs up toward my rite ribs at times, head at lower abdomen. but like what kelly say, i think baby moves about..

sometimes when stretch his legs, hits my ribs.sometimes head seems to be onleft, n other times on rite...

piyo,
i dunno if i have the same thing, but, i get a pain/ache pretty often now..
its like my pelvic area...or the 'pee pee area.. happens when i sit and get up or, like swing my legs, if lying down or doing exercise...

could it be baby pressure on bones?

Piyo &amp; Erin

Hi Piyo,
Some mummies experience discharge (can be as early as fifth month of pregnancy) whereas some will only see it when we squeezed around our areolas &amp; nipples. Actually, now it's a good time now to massage our breasts to clear any blocked ducts.

You will have breastmilk! Now only colostrum lah.
Milk kicks in usually 2nd to 4th day. It varies from mummies to mummies. After you have delivered, you may like to arrange for a lactation consultant to pop by your ward. She will offer you hands-on help.
It's nothing compared to what we have been reading.

kao_smile2.gif
All of my friends of whom after returning home lamented that they have no milk after they delivered usually experience blocked milk ducts.
I usually prefer to visit them to help them then telling them over the phone.

I still dun experience the colostrum leh.. does it mean i will have problem breastfeeding?? me now in week 30 this week only.. :-(<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Jasmine,
I am in my 30th week too!

Nay, most of us (if not all) will experience some hiccups the initial days of nursing. Not so much that we don't have milk but sometimes more so because we don't have the support around us.

I remember I nursed my #1 for an hour till my nipples cracked! Silly young nurse at KKH on duty could still tell me that I was latching on correctly.

Hi Butter,
Did you try pressing that part of the bones? I have similar pains when I move around like you from toilet bowls etc and sometimes I press, the area will be pain leh. but the last time I saw our baby it's like lying diagonally across my tummy so should not be pressure by the baby right?

Hi Jas,
Me going into 31st wk tomolo but I dun see any discharge on my nipples too

Hi Yipee,
Is 32 weeks too early? Raspberry tea is to bring on effective contractions? What if it comes too early?

Hi Noe,
Would massaging our breasts now induce labour? I heard my friends mention something like that so till now I dun dare to do anything to my nehs :p Btw, how do you massage?

hi piyo,
massaging would not induce labour but nipple pulling will. Start massaging around the outer part of your breast in circular motion and then massage the area nearer to the aerola.

hi piyo,
no la. did not do nipple pulling. i'm not too sure. din realise observe the lactation nurse doing it. think it's like using your thumb and index finger and pulling the nipple outwards. nipple pulling is only done when u have short nipples or inverted nipples. otherwise, just massage towards the nipple will do.

Yeah Piyo,
As Erin has shared, massaging our breasts will not induce labour.
Stimulating the nipples (akin to breastfeeding) may trigger the uterus to contract.

Citing from askdrsears website - ... breastfeeding releases a hormone into mom's bloodstream that can cause the uterus to contract. If a mom's uterus is especially sensitive to this hormone (i.e., if a mom has had preterm labor or miscarriages before) then breastfeeding MAY trigger the uterus to contract.

Hee hee Piyo,
The nipples pulling thought really makes me feel a cow already.

Yah, just think of our breasts like a clock. Massage from 1 o'clock to 12 o'clock. From a bigger clock face to a smaller face towards the nipples. Just gently roll the nipples as sometimes there may be crusts that's all.

Hi Piyo,
No need to use any oil.
It's a deep pressure massage. Key thing is to massage away any possible lumps (blocked milk ducts).
Don't pull the skin hor!

Hi Piyo,

I read the MIM webiste, they actually say can during even in the 1st tri...and now, being in the 3rd trimester, can drink up to 4 cups a day
445559.gif
...don't know if i should start anot, also scared will induced contraction...
445560.gif

Hi Dino,
Thanks for the infor. Never know infection can cause contraction. I think i should ask Dr on my next visit. I still have tummy tightening very frequent and causing me difficult to walk and even sit, need to lying down. HOw much need to pay for the test? Me too, having phobia eating all those pills. I'm so happy no need to eat the contraction pill but has observed that the tummy thightening more frequent (think the pill is really help)

Yah, already pack my hospital bag. After the last incident (tummy pain at mid-night), I scare I will pop anytime, so better prepare early
, How about u?

Hi yipee,
I've just ordered the tea from MIM, the tea won't bring about contraction, what it meant was it helps strengthen and tone the uterus, so that when the time comes, your uterus will contract more efficiently to help in pushing your baby and placenta out...
I want to drink bcos it said can help wif milk production leh, so just try lor...

Hi Fiona,

Ok, think should be quite safe to drink now, read from some other website also say will not induced labour. If too late then drink also may not have the effect already. Thanks!!!

Hi Dino,
Yeah.. in fact i asked my hb to go ahead to Shanghai but he cancelled his trip after talking to his boss. I thought if bb still hasn't engaged in the scan tis sat, should be ready yet.. But ok lor, since he's cancelled his trip. My parents are all in Malaysia, and my In laws stay very far from us.

I haven't packed my hospital stuff yet. Mind to share what have u packed?

Dr Wong will do a V swab for me this sat for Group B Strep infection.

Hi chrys,
I think you can slowly pack yr bag already
... although I start packing from last week but until now haven't finsih :p.

Here are what I plan to bring:

1)3 nightgowns (one that opens in the front if you're planning on breastfeeding)
2)Clothing for trip home
3)Toothbrush, toothpaste, comb and toiletries etc.
4)Maternity pads
5)Disposable panties
6)3 set nursing bra
7)Towel
8)Few set of breast pads (although heard BM will not come so early)
9)1 pair of socks (to keep warm)
10)Sweater (for myself and husband)
11)Marriage cert (to register for birth cert if you already decided baby name)
12)breast pump
13)chicken essence (for energy)
14)Plastic bag (for soiled cloths)
15)FBI Card (if u have)
16)Letter for admission from doctor
17)Camera
18)Handphone charger
19)Slipper

I didn't bring anything for baby, since TMC will provide. You can also bring MP3 player or some books if you afraid you will feel bored

wanli,
u can dun bring ur breastpump. wont come in handy during ur hospital stay. e nurses/lactation consultant will encourage u 2 'latch latch latch'. even if u do pump, it'll b colostrum n in very lil quantities. latching ur bb direct is e best way 2 encourage BM flow.

Hi Wanli,

I couldnt remember much. The viginal test cost $43+ and the urine test cost abt $13+ if I am not wrong, coz I paid $80+ togetehr with those contraction and calcium pills.
I feel much better these few days, but I dunno why my feet starts to swell these few days. After doc told me abt my contractions, I also got worried and started to pack my hosital bag and wash all the bb clothes last wkend.

Hi chrys,
Dr wong didnt mention to me abt V swab.
I have packed pyjamas, nursing bras, disposiable undies,pads,breast pads,socks, jacket,bb mittens n botties. Still thinking n maybe more to add on.

dino,
i dunno how true it is abt tis old wives' tale but it is abt feet swelling. if ur feet swells &amp; goes down 3x, u r ready 2 pop.

oh well, it kinda happened 2 me. my feet swelled up a few wks b4 i popped at 35wks+. my aunt saw my swollen feet/ankles n predicted tat i'll pop within 1wk (i was abt 34wks+ then). me &amp; my mum kinda dispelled my aunt's "nonsense" cos we found it impossible tat i'll pop abt 35-36wks.

indeed, i did. u may wanna monitor ur swelling feet.

hi kelly,
how long normally would the swelling last? My legs started swelling recently and I am only into my 31st week would it swell all the way till >36weeks? I tried soaking my feet in hot water and elevating them. It only helps a little

piyo,
i really dunno leh. i didnt really pay attention then. i also hv swelling lately but not very serious. wif my 1st boy, it's very jia lat. even my 1st gynae who havent seen me in 3wks, said i hv excessive water retention n gave me MC 2 rest at home.