(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi jasmine,
the massage cost $70 for 45mins. the therapist gave me a free mum's magazine after the session, inside there's a coupon which can use for next visit at 50% off. You must be in alot of pain now, better go for it. So far it's been 2 days after my massage and still no aches leh...call 62225583 to make an appt, get her to do it today since you are on MC.

hi augbaby,
i only managed to sleep on my left side for a short while only, bcos it can get really uncomfortable, and baby likes to shift herself to my right side all the time, so will kick and kick when i'm on my left...so funny
So i'll just sleep on my right lor..most important is you must be comfortable also lah, we can be flexible mah... so when i'm not sleeping, i'll make up by lying on my left side to watch tv.

Helo!

Been reading through the messages here overall we are experience backaching, sleepless nite etc.

I also don feel gd sleep on e left cos bb always push n kick mi there BT well no choice for sake of bb wellness we jus gotta bear wit it.

Once awhile i lay flat on my back to relieve backaching & helps a bit better than none lo. I apply some YokoYoko which gynae advise its safe to use. Do help some.

Do any of u experience numbness on fingers or arm after waking up? Is it e pressure we pressing? Even i didnt sleep wit my hand under e pillow, my fingers felt bit numb esp wake up n even need to try massage it.. maybe next round visit gyane must ask cos this prob been with mi for mroe than 2weeks plus liao.

I heard drinking coconut help in smooth delivery of bb BT i not sure how trut it is. Drink those small thai coconut NOT those big big one. Can drink 2weeks before due cos i heard too early is too cold for us...

I have done online purchase for the Raspberry Leaf Tea from moms in mind. Cos cant figure where to buy also. N it must be Leaf tea not those packing one i heard. Can start to drink once a day when gg to 33weeks. When drawing near to EDD can increase. Heard it help us to feel more cooling n not so heaty too!

welcome peddie ...

take care and enjoy the arrival of ur baby ...

u mention that u r engaged , so maybe ur BF parent can help u to take care of ur baby ?

peddie,

hi there... i am a 1st time mum now, and also learning from all the mummies here.. so far its very interesting to learn and share stuff here...
ask anything, about baby, milk, bottles, cots etc etc..

Hi Peddie,
Welcome aboard! I am equally new to this forum board myself.

Congratulations!
You have taken the first important & courageous step.
You chose to give life & are keeping the baby. The journey ain't going to be easy indeed.

You mentioned that you are staying with your friend. Are your folks aware that you are pregnant? Have you been seeing a gynae & decided on where you are going to deliver? As White Lady has asked, will your BF parents be able to take care of their grandchild after your delivery?

Yeah, please ask when in doubt.
We are all learning from one another too.

hi peddie, welcome on board! =) we all welcome u and your bb to this forum!

pls let us noe wat kind of help u are in need of. we will help u in all ways we can, do not worry too much. or it will affect your pregnancy somehow..

are u taking any vitamins or folic acid from your gynae?

do drop me an email @ [email protected] if u need someone to talk to.

are u getting any support from your own parents or BF's?

Yo Peddie!

Welcome aboard! I'm a newbie here too(can see from my no. of postings...hee). I'm a first time mommy too... but I can help if you need any medical info during this period of time...

Do feel free to speak your mind around here.

Hi Peddie!

Feel free to ask us anything we can be in help. Don be negative about anything now MOST impt stay healthy happy wait for arrival of bb.

Anything can PM mi or u wan can even MSN... or email.. jus share... i m also one of the mummies not gg through good patch too! BT now im waiting for my little gal..

MSN: [email protected]
Email: [email protected]

Feel free to drop by anytime okie... 24/7

Hi Peddie,

Welcome! What's important now, is taking good care of yourself, both physically and emotionally. Deciding to defer your studies may not be one of the easiest thing to do but must say that u've done the rite thing.

Cherish life and look forward to embracing your baby in August!

Hi Cynthia,

I got the same problem with u, numbness on fingers or arm when sleep on left. So, wakeup few times everyday, very uncomfortable. Not sure what wrong.

hi peddie, welcome.

those mummies who cannot sleep well on their left can try a quarter left - dat means half way between lying flat and halfway sleeping totally on left. sometimes i put my bolster behind me to keep in position. we can't hav v comfortable sleeping position but hav to do the best for bb.

sierra,
like u, today i also got the want to poo poo type of crampy feeling. forget to ask gyna how contractions feel like at y'day's check up. N my bb size still below average at 1.63 kg only for 32 weeks. hope it's not contraction and any dillation for me at this stage.

wanli,
i hav signed up wif cordllife to store bb cord blood becos it is Accredited( somthing like ISO certification ) Also, altho' the other company is cheaper, the charges will be more in the event u need to use the cord blood. u may wan to attend talks by both companies before signing up.
read thru their contacts first. if u wan to see their contract, i can send u a copy.

babyboy,
i tik it could b bcos ur bb dun like u 2 sleep on ur left, tat's he kicks a lot. my boy does tis too...he dun fancy me sleeping on my left so i sleep on my right most of the times.

peddie,
like wat e other mummies asked, can u get help fr ur BF's family? since u r on tight budget, where r u planning 2 deliver ur bb? do u or ur BF have any medisave 2 pay ur delivery fees? i understand tat if u stay in KK's Class B2 or C, most of ur medical bill shld b taken care of by medisave.
most impt is 2 stay strong for ur bb & urself. it's hard 2 just say it but u r already a very strong mummy by choosing 2 keep ur bb's life.
ur bb is a boy or girl?

cynthia,
i've been expressing numbness in my hands/fingers since my 1st pregnancy. e situation was VERY BAD in the last trimester of my 1st pregnancy until there's no way i can sleep at all. i slept for barely 3-4hrs in the nite then i would b awake fr 2-3am til 6am b4 i KO due 2 fatigue.

my gynae told me 2 cut down my salt intake which i did n it's also gotta 2 do wif ur sleeping position. u cant put ur hands/arms under e pillow, above u, etc cos it affect the blood flow 2 ur hands/fingers. it got something 2 do wif something in ur wrist. i read abt tis condition online but need 2 search 4 it again. partly also due 2 water retention.

my condition was so bad tat i cant hold anything in e morn until i regained senses in my hands abt 30mins-1hr later.

for tis 2nd pregnancy, my condition was betta but e numbness came very early (when i'm abt 3-4mths preggie) but i was still able 2 sleep in the nite. mayb my water retention aint so bad tis time round.

Hi Kelly,
Thanks for the link
, i saw this link also and had already send them email to ask for further infor on donate the cord blood on public cord blood banking. Hope can receive their reply soon

cj: hmm...my tummy is also starting to feel tight...my next appt is the week after, maybe i ask my gynae and check whether it's considered as contractions? That's what my frens have advised.

my fingers are starting to swell...can't wear my rings anymore. The feet are ok, not much swelling yet..

hi mummies ,

anyone here experience leg cramp once in a while or every nite already ? I have cramps already and wake up in the morning , cant even walk properly , leg so painful ! What can i do to prevent leg cramps ?
I have already been drinking milk to take in more calcuim

Hi Peddie ,

I think that , if u are keen to keep the baby after he is born , u should let ur parent n ur bf parent know abt this baby . If ur Bf is serious abt ur relationship , he will also want to let his parent know ... i think u have to start planning now , before the baby is born ... and have u told ur bf that u want to keep this baby and will he also willing to take care of this baby ?
anyway , i think the best is to let both parents know =)
do feel free to ask anything here =)

take care

Hi peddie,

I agree with white lady that it's best to let ur parents and ur bf's parents know abt ur pregnancy early, best is before the baby is out.

Its not going to be easy for u to take care of baby alone after u deliver esp. since ur bf is in ns n u'll need to juggle between baby n ur studies. U'll need all the help u can find.

Anyway, i think there's no harm in talking to those social workers. They probably have met with cases similar to yours and may be able to provide u with valuable advices.

Alternatively, you can always pop into this forum should u need someone to talk to. Dont bottom up all ur worries, pregnancy shd be a happy experience

Hi white lady,

It seems like there's no cause for the cramps.

Most of the time if i get cramps at night, it's due to walking too much due to shopping, hehee. To prevent it, usually i'll get my husband to massage my tired legs, esp. my calves and feet.

White Lady,

try some of these which may help prevent the cramps :-

- dun sleep directly facing aircon. (i was and had cramps every other nite!)

- keep your feet/legs warm by covering with blanket or if tend to kick away blankie, wear socks to keep them warm.

- soak feet in warm water and get HB to massage your calves b4 sleeping.

Peddie,

I think you shd let your both sets of parents know, even if it means incurring their wrath cos' i think, at least your closest kins know whats happening to u and can give u the support u probably thought they wont.

Your parents are the ones who brought u to this world and i m sure they wud love u enough to help u thru'.

Do talk to the social worker, i am sure they wud be of help to you. Dun indulge in your own imagination or your own world of discrimination - thinking how pple might look at u .

it's true that it is not the best kind of situation that u r in, but dun look down on yourself, instead be a proud mummy, one who wud think for her baby's well being at all times. get the help u need and u'll be okay ...

hi, anyone heard of FibreLux mattress? i was deciding on a normal foam mattress or the latex one when i saw this at tangs (i didn't see this brand anywhere else). it's made from natural non-toxic raw materials, rubberized coconut fibres and i was told by the sales assistant it's much better than the latex mattress and apparently PDs also recommend also this. And it gives good ventilation to prevent suffocation.
Just wanna know any of the mummies here heard of this brand or hv bought it?? thanks

hi ningyo n jfong , thank , i will ask HB to massage for me and see how it goes ... hope no more cramps =) soooo painful ! haha

heard that the Kiddy Palace sale is only up till today ? is it true ? Oh no , cause i have not buy BB stuffs , thought the 20% will last longer =?

Hi Wanli,
Did dr wong told you anything abt cord blood banking? She told me one of the company is having a promotion of 1st yr abt $500, and subsequent yrs abt $250 or something. But I told her I am not interested, so she didnt give me further details. You may check with her.
I went to see her again yesterday, sat. I had a very tight tummy on fri nite that I could hardly walk and sleep, and my bb was kicking non-stop. I was given the max dosage, 2pills 4 times a day.My MC has extended to another week. I didnt do any CTG, but was taken discharge and urine samples for lab test. Luckily, I am not dilated yet. BB is now 2.1kg at wk32. She says a bit at the high side, but if I pop early, the weight is fine. Hows yor contraction now?
Today, I found out that i had water retention on both my legs. My 3rd trimester seems so terrible. Sign...

White lady: on top of what jfong has recommended, try drinking milk before u sleep and also stretch your legs before sleeping.

Though these may not totally eliminate leg cramps, it did help me to minimise the occurance.

Ya, today is the last day for Kiddy Palace's sale. You can try to get your stuff from John Little too...the sale there is still ongoing. You can also try buying stuff from OG as well...reasonably priced.

I also find shopping at the neighbourhood shops good as well, as the stuff are cheaper and the quality's not bad.

Good luck with your shopping!

Hi Dino , i am not with doctor Wong , but i am interested in knowing which cord blood banking company having that promotion , do u know where can i have more info on that ? thank

Sierra , guess no chioce lor , got to shop at OG all those =) thank

I have just went for my wk 32 checkup. Baby weighs 2.176kg. His head has turned, but he is not engaged.

Hi Cynthia,
Dr Adrian has changed my appt frequency from 4 wks to 3 wks. By then I should be at my wk 35.

Hi peddie,
You r a strong mum and yr baby needs u. I think u should have a serious discussion with yr bf. Your boy belongs to both of u. I also think u should let yr parents and yr bf's parents know. They are able to help u financially and mentally.

Hi peddie,
welcome..main thing is that like wat the other gals in the forum mention, do have a good talk with yr parents regarding yr pregnancy..no matter wat, all parents love their children and thou they might be angry at first with you, but i am sure your parents will be there for you..Do also talk this over with your bf as he is the father of your bb boy and you both have the responsibility to joinly decide on how best to provide for your bb..tell him your opinion abt how you like to keep the bb as well.. do take care of yourself in the meantime, and if u need any help or anyone to talk to, feel free to come into the forum..alot of us are also first time mummies...

hi mommies, i just went for my wk32 checkup last fri, baby weighs 2kg, head is still down. thank God! gynae has advised me to stop durians, maybe too high sugar liao... i'm also cutting down on starchy food, another 4kg gained since last checkup! total 13kg gained since..

gynae will start to see me every 2weeks now..then increase the frequency more slowly..

hi peddie, i hope u are considering how to break the news to the child's gransparents. who noes, u might not hv to go thru all these alone! i'm sure they will not reject a grandchild who is on the way to this world for them to hold n love.

when joy is shared, it's doubled! when burden is shared, it's halved! so pls, go ahead n tell them, do not bear this burden alone.. it's too much for u, u need alot of support now, and even more when the bb arrives in Aug.

i hope u can also talk to the social worker, coz they will hv a different perspective and in a better position to advise u.

do take care and feel free to email me if u think i can help. =)

hi peddie,
read your post, i suggest you should let your parents knows wats happening with you. As i felt its unfair for your to handle things alone. And you should check whether your bf willing to bare the responsibility.. Its not easy to take care of the child yourself as you have financial problems. Baby need milk need clothes need to see doctors. all is $$ matters.. so my advice is you should let your parents know and your bf should bare the resposibility.so that to see who can help you with this.

take care.

Hi peddie,

take care & please let people around you know what's going on in your life, especially your loved ones.. you will need the support! How are you going to explain when you go and deliver the baby?
join us in this forum often ok? We try our best to support you!

for those who are interested in Maclaren techno XT 2006 model, Baby hyperstore @ Shun Li Industrial park is selling it at 335 sgd.. 20% discount now.. I bought mine there on Sunday!

hi all , i realise that i have white n clear discharge from my nipple , does anyone have this also ?

And have see some mommies post , that at 32 weeks , baby already 2Kg n up , that quite a good weight rite !

whitelady
last 2 weeks me at 31 going 32 weeks..bb weighed at 2.2kg..gynae said too big..haiz..now so worried...scared big baby at birth....but at times they can miscalculate too...like my #1..gynae told me bb at ard 2.5-2.8kg...delivered at 36weeks...weighed 3.6kg.....

hi dsiitan ,

wow , ur #1 , at 36 weeks already 3.6kg !! WOW , thats a huge baby =)
did u eat alot during ur prenancy ? how come ur baby is in such good weight ?

Hi Dino,
Yes, Dr Wong did tell me on this cord blood banking, it is stemcord having promotion for their 5yrs celebration. hmm, I'm interested but my husband said too expensive. So, I think I will donate the cord blood to public cord blood banking, at least it get store and may able to help more people

Don't worry too much on the contraction, I also don't know whether I still have the contraction or not because I don't have the crampy feeling that often but my tummy still very tight especially at night time. DO u still have the crampy feeling?

Actually I also feel my baby getting more and more active after I took the medicine especially at night time, I don't know it is because of the medicine or because of the baby is getting bigger, that's why every movement of the baby become very obvious. Nowaday, I seldom got enough sleep at night, baby keep moving and i also got to go toilet very frequent.

I think as long as we don't have dilation then we are on the safe side. Dr only give me the contraction medicine until last week. I will only see her next week (35wk), she said if contraction getting serious and baby want to come out then she will let the baby out. I also not that worry if baby come out at that time, because my mum said I also borned when I'm only 36wk and weight only 2.4kg. So now I just rest as much as possible and hope the baby gain more weight.

Anyway, you still need to rest as much as you can because I heard people said if the tummy always feeling tight and it is easy causing the water bag burst. I only worry about this because if water bag burst then got to deliver the baby already. Don't walk too much if you feel yr tummy tight.

I also have water retention but not that serious. Think 3rd trim is really not that easy
, but take it easy because we are almost there

The discharge and urine is for what test? When is yr next consultation? Yr baby still in engaged position?

whitelady
dunno too..hehe...eat alot ah?? think so too...dunno y always crave for food...mouth itchy loh...hahhaa..but hor..scared me too..cos if carried full term...4 kg plus ah....hahaha..think liao now oso scared..cos this time gynae said bb at birth at least 3.5kg.....pengz

wow , water bag burst at 36 weeks ah , so straight away give birth ? are u scare that time ? and did doctor tell u the reason why water bag burst so early at 36 weeks ?

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

hi all , i realise that i have white n clear discharge from my nipple , does anyone have this also?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hi White Lady,
That's colostrum! Precious precious colostrum!

Body preparing milk for BB now. I am having colostrum too.
Good time to massage the breasts &amp; nipples to clear any blockage for our BB's arrival.

wow! so many postings. am going for my growth scan tmr. so worried. praying that everything will be fine.

hi peddie,
welcome to this thread. Do talk to your parents and ur bf's parents. Like what the others have said, it would be better to have your family' support (in terms of financial or emotional support). don't worry abt the antenatal classes. You can actually read up or check with us if you have any queries. It would be really good if you can take good care of yourself.

hi augbb,
accompanied my mil to adelina wong's clinic last sat. she's very friendly and approachable huh. Now i understand why my mil likes her so much.

hi dsiitan,
yup, i think the estimated weight might differ. My colleague just gave birth to a 4.09kg boy at tmc when the gynae estimated the baby's weight to be 3.4kg.

hi whitelady and noe,
I'm also having that too. anyway, the lactation consultant was advising us to start wearing nursing bras (or supportive bras without underwire) and to massage our breasts starting from 7th month to stimulate our milk production. For those with short nipples or inverted nipples will have to start pulling them using the nipplette puller before delivery.

444590.png

whitelady
no leh..gynae never said why water bag burst so early..not scared that time cos not bladder cant control urine..hahaha..then go back to bed..then contractions came after 1 hr...so quickly asked my hubby to wake up and send me to hosp..be4 that still shower and wash hair loh...hehehe..my hubby oso shower...

erin00
ya loh...miscalculated loh...so ur colleague gave birth naturally or c-sect???