(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

thanks piyo i got it, will make appt and have a nice chill afternoon.

i guess at the end of the day, i am quite happy to take care of bb too
will be a bit tight but manageable financially, just less shopping for clothes for myself heehee. my job has been rather stressful and unhappy for me, so in future if i do go back to work, i will consider a career change, mb teach in pri school.

Hi leobbsmom,
I think i still need the CL to cook the confinement food for me and teach maid how to take care of baby. I dun think the maid will know how to cook the confinement food and I think it is too tiring for my mum or mil to prepare the food and do all the marketing for me.

Hi piyo,
For my price that i have for filipino maid's salary is $320 onwards (depends on exp.), levy is $200 with children under 12 at home and insurance is $100 in case maid run away (last time is to pay $5000 bond), now is to pay the insurance. I didn't ask the agency is $100 per mth for insurance?? Is it the same as yours. My own hsewrk, the maid will come in to do during wkend loh. The paying extra to my MIL will be settled by my HB. I also not sure how much he will be giving his mum. I think he also has not decided yet.

Hi piyo, erin00 & leobbsmom,
My elder sis has just given birth 2 wks ago. Initally, my mum will be taking care of 2 babies and for her hsework we will be engaging part-time maid for her. My mum says she is able to handle the 2 babies. I think she is able to handle as last time she is a babysitter. However, after my MIL knows that my mum will be taking care of 2 babies. She says she wants to take care of my baby as she says she dun think my mum can handle. *Sorry for being so long winded***

pups,
No prob! C if you can get her today..you a teacher?

Enjoy!

Augbaby,
so farni! Topic of the day - maids! hahaha we are planning to shuffle the maid and our baby to my parents' place (quite near us) but afternoon, my parents will bring them back to our place then my MIL will take over. Guess must really close 1 eye to how MIL is going to take care of our baby
By evening, we would be back home liao...

You got mail!

ya honeyhaven, generally maids don't know how to do basic cooking even though they nod their heads and say "yes maam" so you have to teach them let alone confinement foods... my confinement lady told me she will be cooking and don't need help from maid hehe
so my maid will "help head help bottom" bah

Your maid cleans your house on weekend, clean ah? Guess we very particular on cleanliness, so we want her to do housework everyday amidst her taking care of the baby plus we have a dog at home... if my MIl comes in the afternoon, she can relinquish the baby part to my MIL and can do housework...

Yes we have to buy the insurance. It's $100 per maid, meaning if you change maid, you have to purchase another time... if not, it's a one-time payment. My agency covers the insurance, we do not need to pay, I only pay my agency commission fees and 1st month advance pay for the maid. Levy we pay directly to CPF. They will bill us. and Yes it is $200. for now I am paying $295 cos baby not out yet. But we don't want to save on the additional levy and end up being "man zhang" over the maid is she comes in too late ...

hi piyo,

no currently in PR and advertising line, and i really hate it, v stressful i think bad for me esp during pregnancy cos makes me v grouchy, i plan to switch to teaching once i have time when baby is a bit older, can leave with my parents for a few hours.

Hi pupsandcups,
me too also in advertising and marketing line..reali stressful..sigh..today i am so stress with work..
sigh..but all my experience is in this line, hence think i cant get out of this field..u have a teaching cert is it? also thou of going into teaching like kindergarden etc..something i can do part time or at least short hrs..but i dun have any foundation in childhood teaching at all..sigh..

hellooooo

yep maid topic huh!

I just confirmed my maid too... same as u piyo
I will have to pay higher levy until the baby comes but just want to get her used to my household and so she can run the housekeeping well until bb comes...

I got a maid who worked here b4 and has a kid of her own. she used to take care of 2 kids aged 1yr and 3 yr. she cooked simple meals incl lunch n dinner, but will have to test test and let u gals know

pups n cups n augbaby...
me pretty similar line too... marketing... i handle pr in house and events etc...
was just talking to my boss about maternity leave... think i cant take all at one go.. but may look into some flexi hours or part time for the 2nd - 3rd month of maternity leave... what do u gals prefer?

hi butter,
seems like alot of us r in the marketing field ah..jasmine as well..for me i am doing mkting n promotion as well, in house..anyway i be taking straight 2 mths n i take 1 wk b4 my edd date and i go bk to work after 2 mths of maternity n the rest of the 3rd mth, i take like 1 wk per time...so hopefully i can go on a holiday too after that...feel that i need a holiday..hee hee

Hi butter,
When is your maid coming in? She filipino or indonesian? Is she a transfer maid?

can you take 2 months of ML then leave 1 months as flexi?

hi pupsandcups,
teaching hrs are pretty long even though it may seem like a half day job. usually, u have to start at 7am and stay back till 4 or 5pm to mark, attend workshops, meetings, to conduct remedial classes and CCAs. after that, still have to mark worksheets at home. some days can end pretty late till 9 or 10 pm. the time u can really have a good rest is usually during dec. if u want to try out, perhaps u can sign on as a contract teacher to see if u like the work.if u are happy, then u sign on with MOE. Hope this helps.

pupsncups
hmm you oso smart... ya, save a week of the 3rd month for holiday a few months later oso good
idea idea...

piyo,
my maid is already in spore, yes, she is transfer.. but the we are pending approval, anytime this week according to agency...filipino cuz i cant speak any malay

just spent the weekend clearing our rooms out.. baby room and maids room... bought simple plastic drawers for baby stuff and clothes and also for maid... cross fingers she is good, i jus want her to be guai, dun tell lies type... n be funny with 'guys' and other maids downstairs..

my maid has no off day previously so she never go out... she take 2nd kid to school and manages housework for 2 story house. so hopefully she will find it easier at our small 2room apartment :p

actually i do hope to take 2 months at a go, at least i get time to rest, n be with bb... however, happens that my co has a lot going on in aug/sep... so i keep my options open and be flexible... i may chose to start my leave earlier, esp if i feel uncomfortable or too big in july
hehehe take first lor... since regardless of my own wishes, i may end up working from home or half day in aug/sept/oct so i can exchange that for leave later..if not needed around then i take the 2 months at one go.. and 3rd month flexi...must be around to ensure my table still here hahahaha :p

hi just curious how's the feedback on massage from Mdm Inah ? saw in the thread that quite a few of you used her for bulk massage package the in early may thread. what's the feedback so far ? care to share ?
Is it more of jamu or oil based massage

anyone got feedback on the Graco playpen?
there is 2 kinds, one standard and one with special features like music, lites etc... price about $229-299.

mrng piyo
i made an appt for tis weekend instd. aftr my doc appt went home to nap. baby is doing well n on track v happy

erin00
don worry don plan to take up any serios teaching, mb just relief, or even just volunteer at childrens home, or give tuition from home. really wan to focus on bb, until mb bb in pri sch then i'll consider my options, long way to go. right now, jus vvv sick of my current work, and find each day v stressful, i wan to quit also like my bosses see as bad attitude sigh..

augbaby,
i plan to get my early learning cert after bb is born.

was super busy yesterday and only managed to log in now.. wah.. so much discussions ah..

Catherine,
Playpen usually ~99-200 sgd lah.. but with extra frills, prices go up lor..

This month going to be super cash poor.. lots of sale around with GSS & motherhood fair coming up...

Catherine,
Graco brand playpens are more ex but I find them no much dif from other playpens. I got mine at $99, come everything with mattress, mobile etc but it's from Babycraft.

Jasmine,
Agree! me going shopping during GSS for baby stuffs... time to get liao

hi pups,
you managed to get rose? Good for you! I will be going to see gynae only next Sat... still like long way to go Dunno baby by then has grown much not

Hi bbsnmum,
salary depends on what maid you getting. Indo about $280. Filipino about $320. got experience maybe more. Levy with kids or elderly folks at home is $200. If not, $295. Agency fees differs, can range from $99 onwards... but must see what they covers and no of replacement etc...

hi piyo, are Graco playpens good? i mean, in terms of the quality of the material used..where is babycraft?

i'm still looking around for a playpen for my bb.

Jasmine,
ya, asked some friends, they all didnt get the expensive playpen, $99-$100+++ is ok, so I think I will give graco a miss, no point waste$...

Piyo and Jasmine,
yep so happy there is so many sales... time to buy the major baby stuff...

My baby seems to be awake at nite a lot... when I sleep at 12 he kick, wake at 2.30 he is kicking then when go pee in the morn about 7 he is already awake... hope he is not trainin me for nite feeds man... :p

bbsnmum,
my agency charges about 199, also depends if u taking a transfer maid or not etc... like for transfer, may have to pay fee of 350... those agency i made queries so far, fees range b/w $88, 199, 288 and 348
its like u have to ask around and see what they cover... insurance (bond) can also range from $60-$90.

Hi butter8,
Can pm yr agency details to me?? The one i enquired charges me agency fee - $288, insurance ($100). My baby also seems to wake up a lot at nite. His timing is like this from nite 6-7pm (dinner time), 9 pm, 11 plus, 3am also when i go to pee, 8 am, 11 am , 3 pm..
I will also be buying baby stuffs next mth. I haven't buy milk bottles for baby yet.

talking abt bb sleep patterns, i also notice that my baby boy also wakes up rather early in the morn..however i now try to tell my bb when it is night time..when it is nite then, i tell him, bb son, now is night time, so mummy going to sleep soon, u must be a gd boy ah and go sleep too and tomorrow morning then wake up and play again okie..hmm seems to kind of work leh...hee hee..heard from another mummy to be say one..not sure how effective..but i try for a wk liao..:p

Hi augbb,
Dono is it me mention this to u? hehe cos i read from a mag, we can try talk to bb when we wake up, go work, sleeping.. slowly they will know or mayb instinct of theirs.

Mine is active in day.. like morning 6-8am which she kick n box mi e most n strongest.. at least more than 10times i counted! Den ard afternoon jus once or twice & again her last kick is b4 10pm. There she goes n sleep throughout e nite till next day.

REcently been having sleepless nite.. n like my pimples is popping out! who has a way of sleeping better or easier? I tried to sleep on left bt oni awhile.. on e right seems more comfy n sometime lay flat on back is so shiok too..

cynthia,
maybe you find a go position to sleep. pass few days i also got difficulty in sleep i change my pillow and change positions to sleep..at least better...

I rather my baby kick the more the merrier..even i sleeping i can feel the kicking..

hi leobbsmom,
Graco playpens are stable but I find other brands of playpens are equally good and like not much diff... SO I changed my mind... I bot babycraft playpen at Taka baby fair in March this year cost $99 includes delivery. But I bought the babysafe mattress via a friend at Motherfair some months ago at a disc to stack on top of the given mattress so that baby would feel more comfy and not so hot as the given mattress is foam mattress. That settles the bed

I have lots of baby consumables like wipes, diapers, bathing stuff etc I have not bot yet... planning to do so after GSS, partly cos getting them nearer to EDD seems more exciting!

My baby also kicks at certain timings... like morning 6-9plus, then b4 lunch and tea time then evening time and night time 10plus -12? Not sure if she kicks me at nights cos I sleep like a pig! She is kicking me as I type! haha!

We also talked to baby at night when she kicks to tell her it's bedtime. Friends told me it helps in 'training' them to sleep at night else when they come out, they will also wake up like the kicking pattern :p duno how true though...

honeyhaven,
PM u already
Just to let you know, I am also a 1st time employer, so I also did some shopping around and asking questions. Some I believe can bargain.

piyo,
I also not bought too much yet... so its gonna be fun to get the cot/pen, stroller and other neccesities...

I also prefer my bb to kick, even if i sleep thru, at least i know i not squashing him or he is doing ok...

butter8,
yah, cos doctor says baby kick more means baby healthy, so if baby never kick i will get worry.
sometimes i will tap my tummy, call my baby to kick me if she is ok..

Hi ;0
I was thinking of buying the lucky baby 99$ playpen.. do u al know if I should just buy mattress from kiddy palace? or should get better one from where?

anyone knows where to buy a v small cot? i need one cos my house layout makes it hard to navigate a big cot thru the 2 rooms bb will b regularly in.

hi cynthia,
i can't sleep well at night too. keep tossing around.

hi piyo,
my friends told me to get the stuff b4 we get bigger. will get very tired during the last 2 months cos bb will be heavier.

Hi Pups,
Then take the cot
I find it allright cos nowadays got adjustable height plus I stack one more mattress on top

HTH- Hope That Helps!

Hi Erin,
Some of my friends told me that do... so I planning to settle the shopping by end June

really need a super small cot otherwise cant move it around our new place, q headache, the best cot size will be like for newborns in the hospital which is ridiculous.
we r hoping that baby will learn to sleep in his own room as early as possible
i have a fren put bb on her own after 6mths, bought the walkie talkie thing, apparently this really helps bb's independance.

pupsncups

would you consider a moses basket?
I got some UK baby magazines and it is pretty common to use that.

nice n cute too, i saw a family buying one at mothercare last sunday... u can buy the basket and a stand.. looks easy to move about.. ;)

There's a very expensive brand of cots called Stokke (it's at mothercare and mothers work - oval shaped) which can be set up as a very small cot first for newborns. It apparently grows with the baby and eventually becomes 2 chairs. Seems the most ideal for those of us with small spaces and want to wheel the baby into our room initially. But very ex!

thks zshih

i went to surf on Stokke, it looks vvv good! any idea how much it costs in sgp? i saw 399pounds, so i guess it must be jus as expensive in sgp, sigh can't afford

yes, stokke is super ex. alternatively u cld get one of those attached to the bed kind of cot. those are pretty small. but those cannot grow unlike the stokke.
if not get a playpen which can be moved around i guess.
or a small cot that can be wheeled through the door. facing same difficuties too. sigh. may be cheaper just to have permanent cot in bb's room and moses basket to move around the house.

cat

that looks great! any idea how much and where to buy? i feel like ive seen b4 but i can't remb where, also until roughly how old do u think bb can sleep inside this?
this one here is super nice