(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi piyo,
din check out whether it 2005 or 2006 series. just noted the prices and went off. Am still waiting for GSS.

hi all mummies ,

for me, my stomach is very tight everyday ! and tight till i cant walk straight ! have to quickly sit down ... wonder is it contraction ??

HI jfong,

I got the same feeling as you. Nowadays, I get tight, crampy feeling at the lower abdomen. Need to slowly rub it, or sit down. Wonder is it contraction too.

guess we all having the same problem..
now adays i don't date to eat too full, otherwise my tummy will be very tight like want to burst out..i cannot sit in the manner i always sit i must sit straight up..then my tummy got the space.

Now i can feel how those guys with beer belly feels..hahah

Having the hot pot with diff temp settings is convenient for making FM for ur bbies. My Tiger brand flask has 3 temp settings oso but i'm used to mixing the water to the rite temperature myself. Abit ma fan at times.

RE: prams
I'm looking into maclaren strollers cos the wheel system seems very gd, as compared to the lucky BB one dat i'm using now. But the plus point abt Lucky BB is they have reversible handles which r gd so dat u can see ur bb. And some bbies will cry n refuse to sit in the stroller if they can't see their parents.

just wondering r u guys planning a baby shower for your baby? to my understanding, it happens about 2-3mths before you give birth, and is organised not by you but by your close gal frens?

anyone know wat exactly constitutes a baby shower?

i think the tightening feeling is 'tightening' and not contraction. Sometimes i also can feel it, as if the tummy becomes smaller, when touch my tummy, can feel the baby more- can feel the small hump at certain area like the legs/ buttock. but it's not painful. It goes off after sometime when slightly massage it.

my girlfriends are organising a baby shower for me - they booked the date already in June (haha) because one of them is going to pop herself in July and she wanted to be arnd for my baby shower. Basically it is a little party organised by the women friends for the mum-to-be. Can be in any style at any expense with any number of ppl. Usually the friends will buy gifts for the baby and mum-to-be. But there are no hard and fast rules. Definitely not organised by the mum-to-be herself and it's not a must! just an excuse to have a party.

Hi chrys,

YES! Im having e same feeling as u. Tightness BUT not contraction.. haha contractions don feel like this aiyo.. Dono is our tummy unable to stretch or?? BUT can feel bb more esp e head positioning where n e legs too.. started to feel stronger movements from bb. SO EXCITED!

Wonder when will bb actually turn.. cos now always in e lower abodminal. Now don even dare to eat much cos whenever too full stomach is so bloated so tight THAT makes us so difficult to sit..

Finding myself walking more like a penguin n unbalance.. Does any of u experience this now? My tummy is not v big yet still have some difficulties to walk. NOW even lazy to go shopping just wan to sit n sit BUT not as advisable lo. Some walking is e best exercise N do speend up smooth delivery..

hi chrys & catherine, yes!! i hv been feeling the same as u! think sometimes bb is at certain area of our tummy, and it feels so tight, but it will "flatten" after some massage.

i cant sit for too long too, coz i will feel pain right under my breasts. then i must massage the area and sit very upright to reduce the backache..this has been happening for abt a week or more now...

anyone has any advice for us?

boo hoo~~~ coz sometimes really unbearable leh... :"(

hey Cat, think u were the one who gave the details of Carrano, rite? i went there last Sat, bought a couple of 3/4 pants. too bad they dun hv skirts hor...coz actually it's skirts tat i wanna buy lah... =P

leobbs,
hmm.. i bought two skirt wor.. one jeans material one cloth..
maybe no stock le..
did you ask the girl does she have skirts? cos she help me find one..

hi cat

thanks too. i went to carrano, and bought my 1st maternity 3/4 pants heehee for $24.90, cheaper than i have seen anywhere else. i realised they have branches in beauty world (near my house) and toa payoh too.

poor gals. sometimes i wonder if i'm on the wrong track cos i got no tightening feeling or contractions, my EDD is 25 Aug, so maybe later ..

i went to Robinsons sales last night, not so crowded already, paying at counter also quite fast, within 3 min done.

I bought avent isis manual pump hamper set at $75 (after deduction of $5 voucher cut out from the mailer and 5% rebate for members). The set comes with 15 Via cups with lids, 1 drinking mug and 80pcs avent wet wipes.

I bought Thomas and Friends tops and romper too. Dunno y, i suddenly fall in love with Thomas and Friends, so attracted to everything under Thomas/friends. Saw quite alot of its train rail toys, will buy it sometime later. My DH say it's me who want to play not baby
I agreed, when i were small, din even have so many toys to play, only 1 or 2. Nowadays bb very ho mia..

pupsandcups,
silly girl.. u should be glad tat u dun have all those uncomfy feeling, being pregnant doesn't mean that u must have early contractions, tightening, stretch marks, naval lines etc..

chrys,
I wanted to buy the avent isis pump too but a pity i'm not a member. quite worth it hor.

i'm having backache too. used to have tightening of the abdomen but after taking ventolin and trying to sit down more often, it doesn't get so tight that often liao. perhaps can check with ur gynae. it might be braxton hicks.

erin,
Actually i m buying it for my sao sao to use first, she is currently bf'ng her 1.5 mth bb. She'll try out the pump first. So later on when i wan to bf, she may not be using it already so can pass back to me. If she still use it, i can buy another one. CC is selling only the pump itself at $69, it's actually 20% disc from original price, quite cheap d. However, during special sales like JL, Taka, Robinson.. maybe can get at slight cheaper price even. I heard a mummy bought at $64 at Taka sales, which is coming soon again..

pupps,
its much cheaper right hehe.. buy from other maternity shops will cos you double the price. instead you can buy two pants.

you mean you don't feel ur upper tummy tightening? lower tummy crampy?

Hi Erin,
My gynae also prescribe me ventolin.. bt i didnt take so frequent just once awhile when necessary.. so do u ahve any side effects taking it?

Dino,

when's ur EDD huh? seems liek the two of us are sharing very similar pains
does your groin and the varicose veins still hurt?

At times, bb oso seemed to be jabbing my ribcage too!

Actually mummies, do you gals feel a diff type of bb movement the past one week. My baby seemed to be more punchy but nt some much fluttering and somersaults! it's a wonderful but painful feeling hor!

hi cynthia,
yup. heart palpitations. but doc only gave me for 5 days. i din finish all.

hi white lady,
ventolin is to relax the uterus.

Hi jfong,
My EDD is 13Aug. Yes, seems like we have same problems. The varicose veins at inner thighs seems to spread further, n the groin swells more. The cream dun seem to help too. Oh, a bit numb on my buttocks too. I wonder if I sit too much these days, or walk too much. Feels really uncomfortable all over. Pains at groins, lower abdomen cramps/ tightening. At nite wake up at least 2x, baby kicks, need to pee, cant find a good position to sleep and perspire in the middle of the nite. In the end, i need a short 10mins nap daily. Cannot bend to sweep the floor or wash clothes, else I have difficulty to straighten my back. Haiz, i got a lot of complain hor...10mths of pregnacy is really tough.
As the bb grows bigger, we can feel the punchy more. sometimes must talk to him to kuai kuai and dun disturb mummy.
Hows your varicose veins?

Dino,
i also have similiar problems..these days at nite cant sleep well..cant seems to fins a comfortable position to sleep..n then morning wake up got headache n still have to go work..sigh...worst is not eno rest i guess...tummy is getting heavier as well as bb grow bigger..but juz think, a few more mths to go and we can see our little ones...so lets encourage each other on..

i have the tightness feeling too and can feel bump at the tight area. after massaging for a while, it will go off. It's an uncomfy feeling but not painful yet. Is this Braxton Hicks?

hi all, yeah, am having the same problems too...tightening of the tummy area, sometimes, so tight until that particular area feels like a rock...can be quite uncomfortable at times.
Appt with gynae next week, going to ask her for advise...
back hurts also esp when i straighten my back...
boo hoo.. EDD ard early aug, hope things get better for all of you too!!~

hi cat
no tight or crampy feeling leh. hvnt weighed recently, but i mus hv put on 5-6kg to date for bb...mb my discomforts will come a bit later since my EDD is 25aug

chrys
heehee oki sometimes a bit paranoid bb developmt is slow... he does kick a lot tho, sometimes a bit ticklish makes me smile for nothing in the middle of meetings.

wat vitamins r u guys taking these days? i take obimin, and neurogain, enough annot?

hi pupsandcups,
me also take the same vitamins as u, thou i also taking calcium pills as well...coz i dun quite like milk..only drinking soya milk..

Did u all remove all yr rings already?? For the past 1 to 2 weeks, I was trying to remove my wedding band on the left hand and another ring on the right..All thanks to water retention. My fingers become broader. Tried using soap etc also cannot remove. Ask hb to help me also cannot. End up yesterday, went to lee hwa to ask the sales staff to help me remove. Luckily my wedding band still able to remove after she tried for 15 mins. However, my another whitegold ring has to use cut. No choice. Luckily pain is still bearable when she trying to remove the rings. We can't wear rings, earring etc to delivery room. That is why try to remove the rings early. Dun be like me wait until now.

augbaby,
oki. im jus wondering is my baby slow development .. or small maybe.
i drink milk like water these days hehe so don think need calcium.
does neurogain make you feel ill? i don take it daily, doc said not necc, do you?

honeyhaven
wa so early prepare for delivery room ah? i think i shd start preparing too. no water retention so far, i remove my rings b4 i shower everynight anyway.

Hi pupsandcups,
I already so difficult to remove the ring now. Dun talk abt removing the ring another 2 mths times. I am still taking neurogain, folic acid and multi-vitamins everyday. BTW, i read a July mtb has already drank 6 tins of annum until now. It makes me feel bad not drinking much calcium. I think i alternate between milk and soya milk every day.

folic acid too? my doc stopped it after 1st trimester, apparently too much is no good he said. and the multivit already has folic.. tt wat i been told.

wow okis im also drinking anmum, but 1-2 tins so far, only started it abt 1.5mths ago, most of the time drink fresh milk. me also love soya milk

do u gals eat choc? some say ok, some say not ok contains caffeine.

i also take a lot of citrus fruits like oranges n strawberries. oso been told good n no good.

sigh , jus eat wateva i feel like la ... banana, pineapple, papaya i don take tho, altho i like a lot of pp say no good, u gals believe or not?

someone told me strawberries will make my baby have a lot of freckles, don care i still eat, high in vit c ma

hi pupsandcups
our edd is rather close..me is 23aug..anyway different pp got diff signs one..as long as doc says bb is healthy n weight gd, dun worry..
for me i simply hate taking med now..like my throat develop a reflex that hate swallowing..hahaha..but i still take my vitamins, like obimin, neurogain regularly..only dun take calcium pill regularly..haha..

gals,
check wif u all, do we have to book our rooms in tmc early? my doc din tell me anything yet leh and i haven even arrange for hospital visit yet...i be staying in a 4bedders room so wondering do i have to book early or wat??

Hi pupsandcups,
Yes folic acid. My gynae still giving us folic acid leh. Mutli-vitamin and folic acid is inside the package which is free. Only the neurogain we have to pay $30 per bottle

for me i dun take folic acid anymore..coz the multivitamins inside also got folic acid...doc say dun need lor...

erin,
i dun noe if calcium pills is sufficient..but i told my gynae i dun quite like milk and i got backache and she prescribe me calcium bec of wat i told her lor..

pupsandcups,
for me i also heard the same as u..some pp say cant take chocolate n cocoa bec of caffeine..but for me, since i cant take coffee now, i replace wif milo..for chocolate i dun take a lot but i do eat coz sometimes got cravings for it..i do still take papaya and watermelons but a little only...MIL says it is ok but not too much lor..i also take cold drinks but no coke at all for me bec of the caffeine...i also like orange and grapes a lot...

augbaby,
tot calcuim pills only need to take alternate days?
i also hate to swollow the pills, but for the sake of my baby i die die also take.

I remember when start of taking the calcuim pills i always chew it b4 swollow.. i chew till my tooth chip off. now LL must swollow it..

Folic Acid
My gynea said if you already taking multi-vitamin then folic acid not necessary because multi-Vitamin already have folic acid. And folic acid only more important on 1st trimester.

Calcium
For calcium we need around 1000-1200mg per day. It is almost equal to 2 glass of milk per day. If you drink less than 2 glass of milk then you may need calcium supplement. Doctor give me 300mg calcium pill everyday because I only drink 1 glass of milk per day.

Neurogain (fish oil)
Think this is more important during 2nd and 3rd trimester. I having it everyday......

Chocolate
chocolate is really not good for baby because of caffein. but my gynea said as long as you are not eating too much caffein (coffee, choc, coke etc) in a day then should be fine.

Booking Room
Most of the people book it on 3rd trim, I have book it on my 28 wk visit

thks for the info wanli.
neurogain makes me feel q ill, so i take it b4 i sleep, hmm oki mb i shd start taking it everyday for bb's sake. i eat lots of fish too tho,every lunch drink fish soup heehee.

about folic acid, ya my gynae said too much is actually not good, i really cant remb the reason he gave me.

wanli,
From second trim i had start eat the 3 pills,
which is calcuim 600mg, neurogain and obimin.
so far i only missed eating one day which i forgotten. otherwise never single day i miss the pills.

I was ask to take the neurogain daily is for baby's brain. obimin is multivitamins which includes folic acid.
and calcuim is for bones.
according to my doctor he as the pills are more the sufficient for baby. so i don't have to specially take any milk or vitmins..

pups,
you should take the neurogain, cos i have friends saying that theres very big different you never take and those taking..
her first baby she took it late at her 3rd trim, her baby don't know how to turn his head when facing down, instead he struggle in the bed..
but her 2nd baby she took the neurogain at 2nd trim, her 2nd baby knows how to turn her head to the side when she sleep facing down..

Hi pupsandcups
Eat fish is really good for baby
. Think even u eat more fish but still need to take the fish oil because some DHA, AA etc not easy to get from normal fish.

Hi catherine,
Wah, u really good mummy lei
. I did miss few times forgot to eat the pills, don't know why nowaday memory super bad....every day eating the pills can also forget one.

i'm new here... stumbled upon this by chance..... wished i had found out abt this site sooner!
my EDD is 4 Aug, and it's a baby girl. i went for the robinson 9.30am sale and got the aprica stroller for SGD299 (usual SGD700). anyone has used any aprica stroller? i was deciding between a MacLaren Quest, coz motherswork having promotion SGD209 (usual SGD299), still hv the promotion going on. I have a MacLaren TRIUMPH model for my 3 year son when he was 1 yr old and still in good condition. i really like it coz moving abt with it is a breeze (i even brought it along for overseas trip), the wheels are really good.... but the Quest model only for babies above 3 months old. up till now, dont know whether i made the right choice? my son had a Haenim brand (gift from friends) when he was born up till 1 years, then i changed coz the wheels are like falling apart and very noisy. appreciate any feedback on aprica stroller.....
a lady was q-ing for her friend and she assured me that even though it looks flimsy and light, aprica strollers are very stable.... she had bought 2 herself to use on her children... so i was kind of 'convinced' at that moment......

hello,
Back from check up today: Baby is 25 weeks ++ weighing 740g.

My EDD is 29 Aug so later then u gals. So far the pains we discussed, I mentioned to my Dr today.

Too much/excessive walkin is not good, cuz we get either pelvic or abdomen pain - the hip and that area bones have soften to expand.

It is normal for us to have normal pulling pain near belly button and slight pangs/cramping. All about the area stretching and changing.

If you can hard tummy which comes and goes, like contractions, those are braxton hicks...

I got all of the above at diff times, dependin on wat i am doing etc.

I even got fainting spell, which if you do, should call to inform Dr.

I have a question:

How many times do you gals have blood test in total?

I have 3 leh??? so many...
1 x at 3-4 month for DS
1 x today for prenatal test including hep, rubella etc
1 x next month for diabetes? and what else?

wanli,
try to remember lor even late at night also can take.. i might also forget in the day time..until at night then i remember i never eat the pills.

Hi Dino,

My EDD is on 7 Aug. My varicose veins still there too. But pain seemed to come and go and it's much more when i walked alot or sit too long.

For all the mummies who find it difficult to sleep at nite, i have been using this long long bolster i got b4 i was preggie. It's rectangular in shape and can hug from top to toe. Becos it's veri soft, the centre part can tuck a little bit under our big belly while sleeping on our sides.
i tink it's call BodyMate. I know Metro shd hv, not sure where else sells though.