(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

cat,

okie i might do that this weekend, i take it they only have 1 piece ya, since it is 2nd hand. esp since i don think can use for that long, i don think thr is much point buying an expensive one. hopefully wen bb grows out of it, he is independent enough to sleep on his own in the other room.

thanks cat for posting the picture - yes that's the co sleeper thing I was talking about that can be attached to the bed. seems not bad for use when baby is small. will probably check it out too.
pups - if no more second hand I think i've seen it at first few years and possibly at taka as well.

pup,

true also cos baby will out grow very fast if you had prepare a room for him, then you don't have to spent too much. i bought a 2nd hand bath tub just for $4 and its like never been used b4... i was very surprise.. and the baby toys i tot is like 2nd hand product will be a little old but, its as good as brand new one.
but the baby cot i bought is brand new from them as well.

and yah they have only 1 piece of the products you seen in the website.

Btw you also can sell ur baby's items to them to exchange for cash. i find it a very good deal also..

thanks cat.

now headache cos i mus spend on co sleeper, and then eventually cot as well, so both items cant b too expensive. 2nd hand is a good option.

pupsncups,
hey that cute playpen I just saw at Kiddy Palace marina i think
very cute and nice!
Moses basket- some are pretty big, but just like your mini playpen, i think outgrow fast..

Catherine,
do u have address for baby town at toapayoh?
thx

pup,
oic guess thats the best way cos you got to buy two cot. you can search around in that web they also sell 2nd hand baby cot which is quiet affordable.

thanks for all the advise gals.
another friend of mine just told me there are cots that are actually tagged suitable for HDB. as ours is an old upgraded flat, the hallway is v narrow, 80cm i think, so i hope i can find one suitable. such a pity, i really like the nice big ones..

on another note, eeky one heehee, i just read that it is VV common for women in labour to take a POOP! is that true? oh gosh, i will be SOO embarassed if i do, any idea how to avoid pooping during delivery?

hi , just to check with mummies , big cot cant fit into our house meh ? i mean , when the cot come , is not big rite , they will delivery it into our house then help us fix rite ??

me also looking for cot , thinking that GSS , see whether got offer or more gift together with the cot anot ...

thinking of going to the motherhood fair , but does anyone know , whether is it worth going ?

hi white lady
ya they will fix up at your house. for me i wan to wheel the cot in and out of master bedroom and baby's room, and the hallway is just too narrow to navigate the corners thru ...

all mummies ,

just to check with u all , my BB seem to like to push me alot ! and my BB like to suddenly keep to the left then my stomach will look weird , left side higher than right side ! ha ha , then will keep pushing n pushing , does any mummies also experience the same ??

and sometime my stomach will just move like BB got shock like that , ha ha .. wondering is that normal !

hi white lady

yep i get that too, sudden movements, a bout of them means baby is having hiccups. so far i don hv one side higher than the other yet ...

hi pupsandcups ,

ya , is sudden BIG movement ! ha ha ... and not only i feel BB is pushing , that area being push will totally be numb ! so funny ...

white lady,

i have the similiar like you. my baby dunnoe is turning or kicking haha this shows that baby is moving in our tummy, due to baby getting bigger and the space your baby to move in our tummy is getting small, thats why we will feel that baby movement alot

hi catherine ,

ya , i also think so , cos BB is growing , so not much space , thats y keep pushing ... very naughty ! ha ha ...

white lady,
i felt fun having baby to keep on kicking or moving. like i watch tv she will kick and kick and kick.. i think she is watching the show also...

whitelady,
wow ur baby is strong baby - pushing pushing u...
wow i wonder how is 'swim' like ;)

caterine,
my bb oso is a kicker... sometimes feels to me like he kicks downwards or inwards..

i cant figure is it, boxing with hands, kicking with legs, or sometimes dragging hand across my tummy...

i oso thinking of going the motherhood fair, but if not good i dun wan waste my time leh...
i can just pick up at baby town or kingdom hor...

butter8 ,

ha ha , my "swim" is like , i can feel my baby head on my left , then all the way can feel that my baby move to the right , so is like swimming accross , from left to right lor , ha ha

pupsandcups,
Not to worry abt pooping when u're pushing ur bb out cos the midwives will give u smthg to clear ur bowels totally :p

wah till now i still can't feel its head or legs leh.. i only know my baby anyhow kick or punch or watever like hiting drum.

thks for the assurance skyblue, i read on the net from other forums, but in like UK or US, this woman said the amount of poo there was on the delivery table was more than the weight of her baby, for all three of her deliveries! totally freaked me out.

phew. so the midwive gives u when u get to the hospital and then u go toilet, then go delivery room?

do u gals get super sleepy at work? cos i definitely do ard 4 onwards, no amt of baby kicking seems to perk me up .. not usual of me..

butter8 ,

actually i also cant confirm is head anot , but is small small , round round n hard hard one ! so guess is head ! ha ha

pusandcups,
Dat time, after i was admitted, i proceeded straight to delivery suite. Not long after, the midwife gave me dunno some liquid to 'shoot' down under or oral medication (i forgot liao). Very soon, i went toilet to pang dua sai :p Even went a few times until I felt so hungry during labour. Hehehe...

ok that is assuring skyblue!

cos my fren said her mom said she was born in poo, and its normal, but that was nearly 30 years ago.
phew, i thot it will be so terrible for my hubby n the pp in the room shd i take a dump!

hi pupsandcups!
heard of that too. but usually gynae or midwives will give u something to insert into ur anus so that u will clear ur bowels before giving birth. but hor, i ever heard of pple pushing too hard that they did ps in the delivery ward.

i remembered someone mentioning abt the motherhood fair. when does it start?

Hi Catherine,

you mean with the hospital? During my last gynae visit, the nurses did ask me what bed I would like to be admitted.. not sure if this is the delivery package?

issit the same as booking the package with our gynea? my package includes some delivery costs...

but not yet book rooms and all that...

piyo, butter,

wat i mean is signing up the delivery package for natural delivery or c-section, which include the bed and the surgery..

i have not sign up the package becos i not sure to natural or c-section.

haven't booked any package, i'm going for super subsidised one, so i think i just check in thr n then. KKH

btw, wondering if anyone has tips on confinement dishes, and possibly recipes? am not having CL so am hoping to teach my parents maid how to prepare for me. other than longan and red dates tea, dunno wat else im suppose to eat.

Hi catherine,
In this case, I have not signed up any. We won't know if it's natural or c-sec till nearer the EDD right?

hi pups and mummies,
Is there a difference in the confinement foods should we be breastfeeding or not? cos I heard we should not be taking ginger, wine, liver stuff etc if we are breastfeeding. Is this true?

hi piyo

i have heard of this too before, esp the ginger part, but really not sure, was hoping someone who has had a bb before can enlighten us

hi piyo

i have heard of this too before, esp the ginger part, but really not sure, was hoping someone who has had a bb before can enlighten us

pup & piyo,

thanks i thought i am the only one who have not sign the package.

i also not sure wat the confinment food which we should eat or not eat.
anyway pls don't order catering confinement food my colleague says the food suxs

My colleague who is breastfeeding still told me no ginger, no wine(cos will go to the baby via the milk), no liver as liver n ginger will bring down the supply.... so you may need to pre-empt old folks in your house who would tell you we need to eat all these during confinement?

ob btw, she has lots of milk.... 1 day can pump about 1 litres plus... she also told me the quality of the pump is very impt too... she using Medela PIS...

i've not signed up any package too. think will discuss later with gynae when i confirm the mode of delivery.

My sis who is a dietitican assistant said that it's ok to use a small amt of alcohol (around 1 capful) to use in cooking during confinement. She didn't say anything about ginger though. perhaps i can check with her later.

hi pupsandcups,
thanks for the info.

hi catherine,
are u still with kkh or have u changed to tmc.

me went 4 my 29wks+ checkup yesterday. #2 bb's head circumference is 26cm, weight is 1.85kg. gynae said if held 2 full-term, it'll b a BIG bb (he stressed e word 'BIG'). i then enquired abt c-sect possibilities. dun 1 2 b pushing out a >3.6kg bb n possibly injure myself somewhere else (me small frame mah, just lotsa cushioning all over). i've also put on 9kg, now trying 2 keep in track 2 max 13kg only.

dhi ladies,
i've not signed up any package too. think will discuss later with gynae when i confirm the mode of delivery.

My sis who is a dietitican assistant said that it's ok to use a small amt of alcohol (around 1 capful) to use in cooking during confinement. She didn't say anything about ginger though. perhaps i can check with her later.

hi pupsandcups,
thanks for the info.

hi catherine,
are u still with kkh or have u changed to tmc?

hi kelly!
wow small frame with big bb! not easy ya...
i put on about same as u or even a bit more, but now my bb is only prob about 750g, cuz me only in 26 week... so its me fat not bb hahaha

hi kelly

i had a friend, she's average to small framed, her bb too big and she had to have a C sect in the end.

does anyone know if there is a chart to say if u r originally this height and weight, wat shd your weight gain be? cos cant be everyone 12-15 kgs right? has to adjust to your size, no?

Hi Kelly,
long time no c! yo busy with Gabe huh? Wow you got a big baby! so happy to hear that!gabe was by natural or c-sec? me gong for my gynae appt next week so keeping fingers crossed:p

Hi Erin,
I also heard from other mums a bit of wine in cooking is fine... and if really worried dun breastfeed a few hours after eating?

Hi pupsandcups,

It is not advisable to have too much ginger put into e confinement food as it may cause jaundice. Wine is ok bt not too much. BUT another way is if u wanna drink tonic or wine, do it at nite after u BF bb & pump out e excess. DON feed her within e next 4-6hr till wine is dissolve. Though we hardly eat much ginger Bt still have e wine like DOM to make us stronger & recover fast too.

Abt weight gaining, I think it shld be individual ppl body size. Those plus size may jus oni increase abt 8-10kg. Slim or smaller size may range about 12-20kg. It depends on e food we consume & how much bb is absorbing too.
For mi at e moment im gg to 26weeks plus, gain abt 3kg. Maybe my bb is absorbing and from other parts of my body too & i do alot housework, walking which makes mi sweat like hell & tedious.
Gotta decrease it cos backaching again n again.. esp e heart is beating damn real fast! Kill mi now!

Just cant wait... abt 2-3mths time for us liao!
Hmm when is e motherhood fair ah? This week or start from 31st may?

Any idea how many disposable undies shld we buy ah?

Dono wat else still short... need to stand by cos.. i have frds they deliver 1mth earlier than EDD.... so scary.. some is placenta failed & some is bb size.. or complication.

Anyone watch Discovery Channel yesterday at 10pm?
Its about pregnancy n shown 2 different type of labour - natural & csect...

When will our gynae be asking us abt which hospital we choosing or our delivery package? Is it during our 7mth check up? I think its call pre-admission..