(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi smlow,

I also went to the Robinson sale n got the Aprica stroller and the white cot.

Anyway, for other MTBs,this is the model which Robinson is selling. Available in blue n red.

http://www.aprisin.com.sg/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1_7&products_id=2&zenid=e4cf3782f16718013da34329fb8f3c46

Btw, the white cot looks similar to the Lucky baby's. Only 1 side of the bed can be removed.
http://www.taime.com.sg/index.php?option=content&task=view&id=223&Itemid=172

My EDD's on the 22nd Aug. So far Ive been suffering from tummy tightness, but I know that's because of my unstoppable building up of flatulence/gas. I've tried many things but it just keeps coming back. Luckily for my hubby, I can't seems to let it go anytime and anywhere I want, can only release when i sit on the toilet seat...weird huh? (But torture for me lor...)

And I've been getting lots of acid reflux, which really burns my throat. The only way to make it go away for me is cold milk...yummy!

As for blood tests(yucky), so far I've done my Antenatal ones together with the Triple test(DS), so only need to take 1 time. The next one will be the GTT test(diabetes). And that's about it! Hope no complication along the rest of the way.

hi ningyo,
oh u got the stroller as well? i am feeling a little regretful now coz it's still quite ex compared to other brands... :p oh well.... anyway, if i change my mind abt it i'll see it away! i was there q-ing before they opened and finished my purchase b4 10am i think! super kiasu, just bcoz it's aprica and it's on sale.

Actually it really depends on your overall and monthly weight gain. Your doctor will usually advise accordingly. Because I've been gaining more than 2 Kg per month so he suggested that I do, just in case. The risk of getting gestational diabetes is about 15% in pregnancy. That's pretty high enough to me.
Another thing is you may want to monitor your urine glucose which they do every visit, but that one not as accurate. Or just watch your diet very carefully

hi Fiona,
i had lots of gas during my 1st pregnancy and i practically cant sleep at night, i would be sitting up and burping away the whole night.... it was horrible. with this pregnancy, the flatulence/gas was even worse and started when i was abt 2nd mth.... in the end i had to be careful of what i eat, so i eliminate all kinds of beans from my diet (except for soya bean drink), i.e no long beans, french beans, baked beans, whatever beans, i only eat leafy green vegetables now. i also avoid brocolli (lots of wind) and the white cabbage (this is THE killer!!). and for the past 3 months i hv not experienced any gas... so far so good. hope that helps!

heehee

from gas-ey topics to a sweeter topic.

have u gals chosen a 'song' for your baby? on the documentary 'in the womb' on natl geogr, they said 3rd tri is the time for your baby to familiarise with a song, or tune which you should play as often as possible. when baby is born, u shd play this same song and it shd soothe any crying spells. it works on my frens baby, her song is one by michael buble.

i hvnt chosen a song, but lisa ono, jazzy happy music, seems to keep me happy, and i think baby too. hubby sings to baby too heehee.

Hi Butter8
The number of blood test actually depend on yr gynea. I think overall we all taking the same blood test. My gynea took the blood test only once during triple test (DS) but also include hep, rubella and AIDS etc. I think because yr gynea took it separately, that's why you have 1 time extra.

For the diabetes, not everyone got to take. It is really depend on individual. If you fail yr urine glucose test, may be yr gynea may need you to take the test.

wanli,
thanks i see now... i must tell them why they dun just take one time - poke poke so pain hehehe
I scared of blood test anyway...

pupsncups,
do u just play as per normal off the hi-fi or have to play to baby with special headsets/tummy sets

good point... i oso like micheal buble...

butter8

just normal hi fi is sufficient, i read somewhere those special headsets r totally a waste.

'try to remember' this chinese song by leon lai, my baby also likes heehee. gonna choose ONE song very soon, and play it again n again. also shd play these songs in the delivery room, get your hubby to bring a mini compo impt.

anyone heard abt water delivery? my hubby saw on CNA. apparently in the West its v common. suppose to be less stressful for the baby. basically its like giving birth in a bathtub ... :S

Hi smlow,

I'm juz as KS as u..hehe, was there early in the morning to beat the Qs too :D

I actually got the stroller b4 even trying it coz my main requirement for stroller is the weight and i did some search on the internet yesterday for the weight etc. Its cheaper than a Combi model which i like that cost $398.

Only thing i dun quite like abt this Aprica stroller is the color, not attractive enough.hehee

long time never post anything. me busy wif my boy, aching all over (esp the backaches) n i've been unwell...kenna stomach flu since tues. i also passed on e virus 2 my boy n my husband's down wif a bad cough so whole family sick. i also havent been going out so quite sian.

responding 2 some issues here...
Folic Acid
i still taking cos i hv tons of it. didnt wanna waste n after tis pregnancy, wont b eating anymore. i c no harm in eating even though i'm taking multi-vits

calcium
me still taking 1000mg calcium pills cos i dun drink 2glasses of milk every day. even if i do, i still keep 2 my calcium intake. me KS mummy lah...1 2 ensure my bb absorbs everything.

Neurogain
Still taking it too.....will continue taking even when i'm breastfeeding. supposedly gd 4 infants too.

Chocolate
me taking tis in moderation. if there's choc in e fridge, i'll help myself once in a while. if no choc in fridge, me no craving 4 it so dun bother. it's more 4 my husband who LOVES chocolate.

Stroller
me & husband still cant decide which brand of stroller. we saw e Quinny Zap at Baby Hypermart but we dun find it viable 4 an infant & toddler. we need something which both boys (my toddler & infant) can sit in comfortably, i.e. if my infant not sitting (me slinging him), my toddler boy can sit. vice versa. therefore, shld b looking at lucky bb or maclaren.

smlow, fiona

Thanx Kelly!

Hi Smlow, thanx for the tips! Think i'll just have to watch my diet, such as less spicy food and i'll also try to eat slower....hahaha.

Hi all MTBs,
There's another stroller brand which also considers quite high end & good - PEG PEREGO. I remember seeing from another thread that the MTBs have ordered in bulk fm hypermart to get cheaper price. I have seen it in Robinson, not that bulky & overall looks stable & nice.

Some pple say GRACO brand is stable too. But quite heavy to carry if go on tours or excursion. Lucky Baby (korean brand) is becoming more popular 'cos cheaper & easy to carry around.

Me too still sourcing around for strollers.

I have also bought the TOM CRAFT bb cot (natural wood color 28x52") from Robinson 1mth ago. Selling at $299, FOC mattress, FOC nursing bag, FOC bedding set. Think it's quite a good buy.

I am a Jan 06 mum. I had gestational diabetics during my pregnancy and now I have some left over test stips and lancets. If you also have GD and are using the same test kit as me, I am letting them go at $20 (inclusive of postage). There are 38 strips and 6 lancets. Interested parties please PM me as I do not check this thread.
424642.jpg

Hi Smlow,
PM stands for Private message. We can send private messages to members here by clicking on their names provided they did allow for PM function in their profile.

Hope that helps!

WOW,
Today is a lucky day!
One of my frd gave birth. She is from MAY forum mummy! Smooth n fast! Realli impress she bear e pain for long hrs before gg to hospital! Her boy weight @ 3.55kg at 8.58am.

Den receive another call! Hb frd wife gave birth too! BUt i think is 1mth earlier than EDD. bt bb n mum safe n sound too.. as for weight not known, hb didnt ask.. so its like for mi to run 2 different hospital!

Its a joy to see bbs... esp their innocent crying look in e nursery ward. Looking at their sleep, crying etc... do freak mi up BT look forward..

When will AUG be coming for us????

hi honeyhaven,
I'm having water retention too. can't remove my rings yesterday with soap and it was pretty painful for me. Luckily, hb managed to remove it after some time but my finger was red and swollen by the time I removed it.

hi chrys,
my sis managed to get the avent breast pump for me from robinsons on sat but of course, the discount is not as good cos she doesn't have the membership card.

hi all , morning !

i have been sneezing from yesterday till now , sneeze till my stomach pain , wonder will that hurt BB ... everytime if i got myself sick , i will feel that i am a bad mummy =( cos i wonder my BB in me will suffer anot .... so sad =(

I went to try out a prenatal massage at Golden Wellness yesterday! The therapist is good! She does deep tissue massage for pregnant ladies like us and knows exactly where is painful or aching for me. After the massage, I felt much better!

Hi CT,
Be patient! We should treasure the time now that baby is still inside our womb! Think when they come out, we would be super busy!

Hi Erin,
Is water retention the same as edema? me now try to drink lots of water so that can reduce water retention... you should try too?

I just went for my wk 27+ checkup. Baby weights 1215g. Gynae mentioned a good weight. Not to worry too much. My gynae also helped me to book for bed at TMC. Booked for 4 to a room and free upgrade to 2 to a room. He mentioned 99% can get the free upgrade. Now we shall wait for TMC to send us the form to fill up.

Hi erin,
I understand how u feel. Luckily yr hb still manage to remove the ring for u.

anyone has a good place to recommend for a cheap massage and facial?
am on half day today for doc appt, and wanna take a relaxing afternoon.
thks!

thanks piyo
sounds great, THANKS PIYO! i think $70 is about the market rate, 45 min, i wish it was longer tho heehee.

yep on half day leave, am going to stop work soon too, in about a months time. wan to relax, take a morning swim, and just wait for the bun in the oven to be ready heehee

Hi pupsandcups,
Good for u. U r going to stop work soon. Wow.

When r u all going to stop work?? I haven't decide yet. hmmmm.

Hi pupsandcups,
Rose (the therapist) told me cannot do more than 45 mins cos when massage, our tissues and muscles will flush out toxins so if do too long will end up passing the toxins to our baby via the cord! so must zoon zoon stop at 45 mins... she is good! perhaps you can ask for her...tell her I recommend and I just went yesterday! Enjoy!

wow! so soon stop work! that's good! me going to work till I deliver

hi piyo,
think they shd be the same la. ok, will try to drink more water then.

hi pupsandcups,
wah, so shiok. i wish i can stop work soon too. but luckily, will have a break coming up next week. just need to go office on and off for the next 1 month. will try to relax and get most of my shopping done then.

heehee okie, piyo what is your real identity? wanna do facial too, am hoping she can package n give me a discount.

r most of you going to continue work after baby? just wondering. for me its hard, cos i am not close to my MIL .. n how to say, she's just v hard to get along, and i don feel comfy leaving baby with her. and my parents, as my dad had a stroke last year, my mom is v busy with him so i don want to burden her with baby 100% of time, then im not comfy leaving baby alone with a maid. so until i dunno when, i will have to stop work. i do hope to go back to work tho, earn $ to bring baby up. gals what r ur aftr bb plans?

me also going for short getaway this weekend... will take Next Monday off! Yeh! looking forward to it! Other than that, I should be working all the way till pop, only taking short breaks in between...

hi Pupsandcups,
I tried to PM you my identity but you don't accept PM. Give me your email ok?

So good you can stay at home and take care of baby! I would continue to work after coming back from Maternity leave. We employing maid to take care of baby under the supervision of our elderly folks. Our maid just came about 3 weeks... I training her to get used to our household chores, routine, hygiene and cooking, then when baby comes, she will then learn to take care of baby... step by step I guess...

hi pupsandcups,
i'll be working after coming back from Maternity leave too. i'm bonded cos company paid for my degree. still have 2 more years to go. anyway, my mum will be taking care of my bb so dun have to worry.

pups,

I will close one eyes see my mil can handle or not if not i will ask my mum to take care of baby.
i also not comfy to let mil to take care. but no choice if she want to take care..

ok piyo sent u my email add. strange i dunno how to activate my PM.

i guess if u have folks around the maid, that shd b fine. cos for me, i think q often maid alone with baby if i go back to work which is quite scary. i also wan to go back to work, single income will b harder on us, but dunno how since both our parents can't be there w bb all the time. thot mb to consider neighborhood nanny, but dunno leh, unless is family is hard to trust bb with other pp rite?

Hi piyo,
After much consideration, we will also be engaging maid to take care of our baby under supervision of my MIL. My MIL says she wants filipino maid. Our baby and maid will be staying at my in law's place during wk days and we will bring them home on Friday nite. I can foresee we will be most probably visiting our baby at my in law's place everynite. We have got the price range from one maid agency already. I am thinking to let maid come end of July. For my confinement, I have engaged a confinement lady already. The maid will start by helping my MIL to do hse work, to go marketing etc and learn from confinement lady how to take care of baby. Can share with me the charges for having yr maid?? I roughly know the charges but can i compare the price i have with yours?? Thanks.

hi pupsandcups,
why dun u get a maid but bring her over to ur mum's place? Maid takes care of bb but ur mum oversees. then u can still earn a bit.

Hi Catherine Wong,
I am at this situation. My mil also wants to take care, but she always has backache problem. Haizzz. That is why my hb says engaged a maid to assist her.

Hi Catherine,
my MIL says she would come down in the afternoon to supervise my maid wor... c how it goes... I also close eyes 1st cos I also not comfy let MIL take care. If things get out of hand, then I will think of other ways
Don't want to get too stressed over it. Alot of my friends' kids are all taken care by their maids without supervision after some time. They say after observing their maids for a period of time, they have learnt to slowly let go the daytime caring to the maids... Hope I can too then don't have to depend on elderly folks...

hi Pups,
you have to go into your profile, and "tick" allow PM can liao. I cannot access my web based email in the day time lei...paiseh... you wanna try editing your profile?:p

hi honeyhaven,
that means your maid will be helping your MIL with the housework and all? Then your own house housework lei? Are you also paying your MIl extra for taking care of your baby? I have also engaged a confinement lady. She will be teaching my maid how to take care of my baby during that month. So hopefully by then, she is already used to the routine of housework and cooking and settling into our family.

We got a Filipino too. Easier for communication and heard they are better to have ard if we have babies in the house...We paying her $320, no off days... yours?

hi honeyhaven, why dun u get the maid in ealier? then try to monitor how's her performance first, coz u might find tat she is not the right one for u later, then with bb and all, u might too stressed out.

like wat my fren is doing, she got the maid first, at least she can guage her performance. then at the same time, the maid can learn to cook confinement dishes from her MIL n mother, and do the hsework.

ample time for everyone to get used to the maid, and likewise, the maid can get used to the lifestyle for mths b4 the bb arrives.

coz the cost of a CL also not cheap rite...can cover the maid's salary for few mths leh..since the maid will be permenant, then why not invest more time n money in her. rather than the CL, who will only stay for a mth.

just my 2cents worth la... =P

Ya I agree with what leobbsmom say. I also engage my maid in end April, give her time to learn give ourselves time to adapt and monitor her performance. If no good, still have time to change...then the maid also will not be overwhelmed by too many new things at the same time and same for us...

hi honeyhaven,
what leobbsmom said is true. 2 of my colleagues have problems with the agency. supposed to get the maid earlier but with delays here and there, they only managed to get the maid like 1 or 2 weeks before they deliver. not enough time to train the maid.

ya not easy to train the maid and IT TAKES TIME AND PATIENCE! During these 3 weeks of training, I dunno faint how many times liao...from sweeping to mopping floor to boiling soup etc just the basics can make you dunno wanna cry or laff! heng I got her in early still got time:p

piyo oki mb now u can send me PM already. swaku, but how do i check my PM?

my house now got maid already, but its quite hectic there, and crowded with my dad's things in the shower n all catered for assisted showering for my dad, so really q hard to bring there. my MIL, really don get along with her lah,
esp during the pregnancy. she is traditional n conservative. wen we told her it was a boy, she immediately went on and on abt how scanning is BAD for baby bla bla bla cannot take it, so ya lor.

hi all.. long time never post here. How everyone getting on? Good News to share , i managed to see the gender of my baby.. it is confirm a boy boy.
I suggest u all get a maid that have experience in taking care of baby. Never ask them direct as they sure say they know everything. Request for their past record if possible.
My sister-in-law got a maid that so call "experience and know everything" end up don't know alot of things.

Hey gals,
The topic today is maid..I will also be getting a maid to help out my mum as she be the one taking care of our bb. We will bring the maid over to my parents home in the morning and every nite bring them hm. Luckily for us, my parents hm is only like 5mins away..
For me too, i be going bk to work after my maternity leave..am taking of taking 1 week off b4 my edd date..that is if i din pop earlier too..hee hee

Piyo,
Which maid agency did you get yr maid from..we r only now looking at maid and a little lost actually..
Can you pls maybe PM me yr maid agency contact n liaise person..thanks my dear...