(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi Ladies,
the dark line has not yet developed for me. When does that normally happen? But I have red stretchmarks on my lower tummy since last few weeks very ugly
applying the cream don't help..

Hi White lady,
I got my stroller at $399 but I think Cheng Choon does sell it slightly cheaper. I got a Maxi-Cosi car seat as well as I will be using that for car and stroller during the 1st year.

Btw, anyone has looked into buying insurance, hospitalisation or endowments etc for the baby? any comments on what to look out for and which company offers good packages?

Piyo
I am having boy, and delivering at TMC.

Honeyhaven
Wat a coincidence, my EDD is on 13Aug too.
I m having a boy and i am seeing Dr Adrian at his cck branch.
How abt yrself?

CT
I am also at the cck branch.
usually i will go for the 6pm slot.
My next appt is on 1st June.

Hi Piyo,
If u don't have the dark line mean you will not have it. Not everyone will have it lah.... stretchmarks cream need to apply as early as possible, I start applying around 9 wks preggy. So far still ok, praying it will not come out. but I feel those oil form is better than cream lei.....attending Mrs Wong class and she also said olive oil is better to prevent stretchmarks.

white_lady,
For the car seat you need to consider whether it can lying flat, because for new born the car seat must be able to adjust until it lying flat. So you need to ask clearly whether it is for 0 - 4 yrs old or 6mths - 4 yrs old.

The best is you can buy a Maxi-Cosi car seat just like what piyo did then change to normal car seat when baby no longer suitable for the Maxi-Cosi car seat around 9 mths.

I bought my car seat from baby kingdom which can use from 0 mth - 4 yrs old. It is only $139.

If you need me to update the table with your details, pls post here. thanks

BBnmum,
have updated your details

Hi Wanli,
Is that right? i tot it definately come out and it's a matter of time that it WILL out.
For stretchmarks, I wasn't very consistent in applying so maybe that's y they are appearing
what oil form? olive oil as in our normal olive oil?

Ya the maxicosi car seat can be carried from car and placed on the stroller and baby can be facing us when we walk. So we get to fully utilise the car seat for the 1st year. and maxicosi seats are passed for safety which I need cos my hubby does drive quite fast at times so I cannot compromise on baby's safety. Plus I can recycle the stroller and car seat for the 2nd baby hehe

table updated:
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>NAME</TD><TD>AGE</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>OBGYN</TD><TD>HOSPITAL</TD><TD>GENDER </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Sandy Kerk</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>31-Jul-06</TD><TD>Dr Chen</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Connie</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>01-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr KK Ho</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Rain</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>01-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Chrys</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Peacy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tan HK</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">1BOY</font> &amp; <font color="aa00aa">2 GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Wanli</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Babymum</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>04-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tanny Chan</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>04-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Bottle</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>06-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Jfong</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>07-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Babyboy</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>10-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>CJ</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>10-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Augustmum</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Bearybear</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Ho HK</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Leobbsmom</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr W K Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Bbnmum</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Dino</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Honeyhaven</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Ningyo</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Lee</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Stay</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>15-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Yipee</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>15-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr W K Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Ling2</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>17-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr K H Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Sierra</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>17-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">2GIRLS</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Jas</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Zshih</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>19-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Celine</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>20-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Michelle</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>20-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Catherine Wong</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>21-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Augbaby</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Piyo</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>23-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Fong Chuan Wee</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Adeline</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>25-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Wee HY</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Buffel</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Erin00</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>25-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Butter8</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>29-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Foonny</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>29-Aug-06</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Jasmine Lau</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr. Denas Chandras</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Lala</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>Mrschng</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tan LK</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi Piyo,
Ya, because I don't have the dark line also. and doctor told me not all people will have the dark line.
I heard Mrs Wong said can used those cooking olive oil also but I don't think u will try it :p. My sister help me bought one bottle of stretchmarks oil from australia, it really look like those normal olive oil. I believe you still can find the similar product in singapore. What I want to say is oil is better than cream.

Ya, the maxi cosi car seat look really cool especially match with the Quinny stroller. What I don't like the Quinny is it can not adjust the level of the seat.

Hi bbnmum,
I am also having a boy. I am at his sk branch. I also thinking to go to tmc to give birth.. hehehe. So coincidence. Have u thought of staying at how many persons to 1 room?? I heard Dr Adrain will advise u to take 4 to a room. and then give u a free upgrade to 2 to a room. I think i am going to take up this one.

Capella stroller, i see before, it is under Lucky Baby, but the sales people tell me it is very bulky &amp; heavy for petite people like me to carry.

Piyo,
U bought Quinny buzz or Zapp? Can any maxi cosi car seat be fitted onto a Quinny buzz? So, stroller plus car seat = how much altogether??

Hi Wanli,
I hope I can be like you, no dark line hehe... my mum has stretchmarks so I think I would have bah... will go find the oil and try to minimise! Thanks!

ya the Quinny cannot adjust the seat. We plan to let her sit on it after she turns one.

Hi Jasmine,
We bot the Zapp. Cos the wheels of the Buzz are too big and may not fit onto some escalators. I am not sure if any MaxiCosi car seat can fit onto the buzz. If I am not wrong, Maxicosi only has 1 for newborn. The rest are upright car seats. I cannot remember the exact $$$ but should be in the region of 400plus low 500plus?

Honeyheaven
We shall meet at TMC then.

I am thinking of taking the 4beded and then the free upgrade too.

Piyo
Tks for updating the details.
No all will have the dark line, but the dark line will disappear after delivered.
Stretch cream dont really help, if your tummy is really big, no matter how much u apply, will still have them.
THis happened to me during my 1st pregnancy.
But no need worry so much abt them, after delivery, the stretchmark will change to lighter tone, simliar to yr skin colour, therefore not very obvious.

Hi Jasmine,
If u r interested in the quinny buzz, it is selling at a reali good price at robinson now..2 days only...today n tomorrow member sales...it is cheap now...for us, hubby like the buzz alot but i feel it is too exp so we have decided to go for the quinny zap..coz the maxi cosi baby car seat already cost $200 or $300+ liao..n piyo is right..there is only 1 bb car seat that can fit the zap from when the bb is newborn .when bb is older need to buy another car seat...

White Lady

I had a Combi (the reversible handle one), that one very heavy and the wheels nt so stable. But very comfy for baby lah cos' very wide and spacious.

I oso have a Capella one, used it for 4 yrs, nw nt in gd condition liao but i tot i had got gd value for this cos' i only paid $120 five yrs ago.

Jasmine,

I tink got a few models under Capella, I saw one that's quite heavy too. The one i am considering can by folded and can sling on the shoulder type. I find this impt cos' i find it easy when i bring my bb out alone.

Stretchmarks

They say if your mummy had it when she was pregnant, u probably will get them. I think depends on our skin's elasticity too.

Dark Line / Navel

I had it during my first pregnancy, nw don't hv YET. But last pregnancy, my navel din pop out, now threatening to come out liao !!!

I see many mummies wheeling maclaren in orchard road, both babies &amp; toddlers. As far as i see, the babies look happy &amp; satisfied &amp; sleeps easily in the strollers &amp; the mummies (ang mohs &amp; Japanese also!) seems to find it easy to handle... i find it very stable, both the Techno XT &amp; the Quest, the 2 most popular models that i see..

for the maclaren, can the bb be placed flat lying down? Coz saw the Techno XT pics and seem like the position is juz sitting position thou it states it is suitable from birth...

augbaby

Yes , Maclaren can place lying flat , is suitable for new born , Think is Tachno XT , saw before at hypermart , think is abt $400 ... i thinking of getting that , but the baby cant face me ... so still thinking

hi white lady,
i'm considering maclaren quest but like u say, there's no reversible handle. but heard from friends like it's quite light and good so might still get it lor. one of the shops at kkh's having a sale on sat. if i'm not wrong, maclaren xt is selling at $300+ and quest is selling at $236. quest is quite worth it cos it's usually selling at $299.

hi erin00 ,

Quest selling at $236 only ? Only one day , this coming SAT ? by the way , is it the Quest Mod or Quest Sport ?

but Quest is only suitable for 3 months and up rite ...

How bout Lucky Baby ?? Anyone have any comment ? And where does Lucky Baby come from ?

hi white lady,
it was last sat when I went for antenatal class. dunno when the sale will end. it is quest sport. they also have sale for other brands as well but i din check them out.

yup, it's for 3 months and above. but i think i'll be staying at home for 1st few months. if need to go out, will use bb carrier then.

If I am not wrong, the $200+ for Maclaren is the 2005 series cos when I was at babymart the last time, the 2006 series selling at $410. But I don't think there is much difference between the 2005 and 2006 series apart from the shade and some small modifications....

for car seat, me n hb hav decided to get an ISOFIX one for max. safety and our car seat has this provision. becos in event of impact, the humans/ things inside the car will be actually feeling TWO impacts. One external and one internal after the external. eh, i tik v hard to describe but sth like dat.dat's why we hv limited choices-- Maxi Cosi Priorifix is 1 of them. must buy together wif a base, together costs abt 600. there will be 2 metal bars attached to the back of the isofix car seat that securely hold the bb seat fr moving left and right, 1 more bar infront position to the floor of the car. And after bb 12 mths, hv to change model and base again. v exp, but for the safety of the bb mah.

hi piyo,
if u like to find out more abt bb insurance policy etc, can ask my hb to explain to u cos he is in this line. cannot advertise here but he is fr a reputable co.

not trying to sell anything here. hope u gals dun misunderstand. jus like any other trade mah.

Went to robinsons' members preview sale yesterday. It was absolute madness. Had to queue for more than 45 minutes to pay!!
But managed to get pretty decent deals. For the Medela PIS Advanced breast pump - only $649 plus the free thermometer worth $79.90! I think that is the cheapest I have seen so far. Got the Pigeon steriliser, the $99 Graco playpen/travel cot (from $189) and other assorted things. Very pleased. Anyone else went yesterday?
BTW, anyone knows anything about those boiler thermos flasks (like an airpot) that can keep the water warm at 60 degrees and 30 degrees? The only airpot I have at the moment has a keep warm function but not sure what the temperature is.

Hi zshih,
ya i went as well..so many pp..bought some toys for bb..hee hee..but 1 particular toy we wanted was totally out of stocks liao..so sad...
anyway saw the graco playpen..it is reali a good buy..
but we decide to get a cot and use 2nd hand playpen for my parents place so we gave that a miss..manage to get a dress there finally for my BIL wedding..super cheap..anyway today is the last day for the robinson members preview sale..bb items r 20% discount..

Jas,
the quinny zap is selling at robinson at $299..wich they say is already a promotion price..however think piyo also got the zap at hypermart at $399 as well..think CC is selling only at $350. I am thinking if we can maybe organising a bulk purchase and see if we can get a cheaper price from CC if we buy more..anyone interested. We r confirm getting quinny zap..
haven ask winnie from CC yet if we buy more, can get cheaper price or not thou..

hi catherine,
ya i know..that is y i was saying that piyo can get zap at hypermart at $399 so not reali a promotion price..
anyway thanks for the tip..:p

oic,

btw piyo i think luckybaby brand also have the stroller something similar and its cheaper and better with the shelter.
although quinny zap is small i light weight but most important it got to be comfortable for baby..

Thanks for highlighting! ya I was the lucky baby brand b4 with the 3 wheeler but it looks more plastic and not as stable (the wheels and the aluminium skeleton)as the Quinny Zap. I tried keeping and wheeling the zapp, it's really stable and easy. Plus the material of the stroller on which the baby is sitting on is similar to that of maclaren which I wanted to get initially. Too much cushion and padding would end up making the baby feel hot after sitting on it for some time. Then again, I like the look of the Zapp compared to maclaren plus I can use the car seat at the same time. hehe

The babymart person did mention that $399 was promo price but everywhere also selling this price so I don't really believe.

Am thinking of putting either the above items or the breast pump in my wish list from my company hehe

piyo,
new born baby need cushion and padding to support, cos they are fragile. somemore zap is ver small don't seems spacious baby cannot turn when sleeping..

Hi Catherine,
The Zapp cannot be used for new born but it is flexible in that for new born, we can remove and replace the seating with the car seat which is fully inclined, with cushions and all and wheel it with the baby facing us. But the sales assistant recommended it to those who drive as they would need to get a car seat anyway and the car seat can be further utilised. I think my hubby took some pics when he was trying out the Zapp. Can send you the links if you are interested

Jus saw the robinsons ad this morning, they selling the Aprica NelccoBed Stroller at $299 only. Usual $799. Anyone know if this is good?

Those looking for bb cot can consider the one on promo tomorrow. Model :- Oxford White colour. Only $199, mattress $30. I have seen this b4, looks really comfy and nice.

ya, however think it is the 9.30am special..so better go early..i am looking for dark wood colour, too bad..if not the cot is reali very nice...i like the design...

Hi jfong,
I know that Aprica strollers are made in Japan and they cost quite a bit. In terms of $$$, if it's really selling at 200+, it's a good buy. However, in terms of quality, personally I find it quite flimsy and not as stable as other brands... my 2 cents

jfong ,

the bb cot on promo tomorrow. Model :- Oxford White colour. Only $199, mattress $30?? Online can see the design of how it look ? or where do u see the ads ? and is it for member only , or anyone can go and buy ?? And it start from 9.30am ??

check with you all, do you all still encounter the pain at the tummy? right and left? is like some sot of cramps.
I forget to ask the gynae.

this few days getting pain more offen..i got to walk extra slow so tat it won't be so painful.

Catherine,

I m having pain recently too. Went to see my gyane, he mention of tense n stress n tightness on tummy tat y. He gave mi ventolin to eat when necessary. But i oni take once cos got some side effects like heart beating fast lo.. N now i having heart burn too.

If pain persist let ur gyane know.

i just start to get some cramps...
and a pain near the belly button, but it went away after a while...

tomorro i will have checkup so, maybe i ask dr.

after exercise i get a ache between legs/pelvic area... anyone get too?

could it be contractions? Occasionally I feel a certain area of my lower tummy tightens till very firm, a bit uncomfy then after awhile, the firmness gone then become soft again... some told me it's Braxton Hicks.. anyone getting this too?

i feel slight pian around the belly button when I touch or tap the surrounding area...

i got the contractions, those are diff feeling... was given some medication to stand by in case too often they occur...

did someone ask about electric hot pot with temp for baby milk? i saw toshiba has one, can program 60 degrees (for milk) 85 and 95.. my old normal kind cannot do that.

piyo,

thx for ur feedback. i showed the pic to my HB, he oso said the wheels looked so small and the pram looked filmsy too. i tink i give up liao cos' anyway i can't go tomorrow morning.

White lady,

the sale is for public, and the cot only avail at 9.30am onwards while stocks last. the pic u can see from today's copy of Straits Times.

Cramp/Pain

I get tight stomach and slight pain everyday, sometimes i feel like bb kicking me at the lower abdomen and u feel painful and oso at the same time want to go pee pee like that.