(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi cj,
Congrat of completed yr details scan. After the details scan actually they will give you a report, and from the report you will able to find the weight of the baby
. (not so sure is that all the hospital will be same, my details scan done at TMC)

Jasmine: I'm also having rashes leh...wonder if it's due to the stretch mark cream tat i'm applying....yesterday i stopped using any creams, just use aloe vera gel on the rashes...hopefully it will be better.

piyo: oh dear...must take care leh...

Hi piyo,
Oh no, do take care n drink more water..maybe it is easier for us to fall sick coz nowadays we cant take cooling stuffs n hence tend to get heaty.. Think barley water is also to drink n will help..Take care

Thanks Sierra and Augbaby... so now can drink a bit of barley water? I hope won't affect baby
think I will roll down and see doctor later... if cannot dong in office will go home... feel body hot hot

ChiaHui, Chrys, Wanli, jfong, Sassypeachie, sclaujas, SereneBok, VioletBlaze, AdelineYap:
You should have received new email from me this morning to coordinate cooler bag orders.

For other interested mommies:
We're at a pretty managable size now, so will not be able to bring in more folks to our order group. m sure you'll be able to join forces with other mommies. Good luck & go forth!

Piyo,
My PIL says that the only drink we can drink to cool down our body is barley water...n it is safe for bb...so u can actually go buy the barley and boil wif pandan leaf n some rock sugar n then u can drink alr..it helps to cool down yr body n fever etc..but of course not as effective as the other kind of drinks..but the safest for bb lor..i last time in 1st tri also got drink barley alr..it is ok..dun worry..

Hi augbaby, piyo,

My father also asked me to cook barley to drink when i was suspected having some urine tract infection in my 1st tri. But to play safe, i checked out barley from nutrition book, it says that barley is not so recommended for pregnant women, i forgot what's the reason behind it already, i'll go check it out tonight. But i think is ok to drink a cup or two, not too much.

chrys,
hmm i always thou barley water is more like chinese drink..hee hee..anyway we ask a few elders lor, n all say can drink lor..so it is ok i guess to drink in moderation lor..like 1 day 1 or 2 cups lor..shld be ok lah..i know others like chrysanthemum etc confirm cant drink lor....

piyo,
i've been buying barley water from Qi Ji since dunno-how-long liao. i drank barley water every wk when i was preggie wif #1 so didnt find any problem leh

hope u get well soon.

Hi cj,
Thanks for sharing. I'll go down to get some baby stuffs at the store u said, especially the washable nappies.

Hi Kelly
Can i get ur opinion how many washable nappies is enough?

zshih,
Oh.. take care..

Hi Kelly,
is that so? I find the barley water at Qi Ji so tempting but I din dare drink.... so can lah! haha! brightens my day!

Hi CJ,
can I ask you what are kimono tops that you bought from the store at Queen St?

Hi augbaby, piyo

Yes, elder pple always ask us to drink barley water as it's cooling yet not so cold as other herbs. But i remember i read from books that it's not recommended to consume in pregnancy as it'll make us loose body water (same effect as tea & coffee) plus it's too cold. I dun have the nutrition books now, this is wat i found from web, for ur info only. However, if take in moderation should be ok, depends on individual body too. I experienced abdomen pain (contraction) when i drank too much so i stopped. Chrysanthemum tea also to be avoided (this is not myth).

http://bbs.baby-kids.com.tw/printview.php?t=8623&start=0&sid=929af774fe7c697347502f1299c90f2c

http://zhidao.baidu.com/question/67862.html

chrys,
mayb >20. assuming ur bb soil average 8 nappies in a day, u need abt 16nappies for 2days n ur CL/helper (mum or MIL) needs 2 wash these nappies faithfully & quickly once the nappies are soiled.

u also need 2 buy nappy liners 2 cover e cloth nappies just in case ur bb poos poos like 3-4x in a day.

hello,

was not around yesterday - u gals have been busy
so many stuff to catch up.. dreams, barley, 7th mth, 1st mth celebration

i went to my mum house yesterday and ask about Pao sheng - is that the same as american ginseng?

can we take american ginseng?

Thanks Kelly

Btw, are the nappy liners reusable after wash? My GF told me can put in washing machine to wash, reusable for few times til the color fade. But the sales girl said cannot.. heee.

chrys,
i dun reuse nappy liners. dun find it hygienic then again some pp will argue say reusing cloth nappies also not hygienic. a GF told me NOT 2 use cloth nappies cos if the cloth nappies are not washed properly, the bbs wil get UTI (urinary tract infection) every easily.

i didnt believe her until another GF's son kenna UTI at 6wks (kenna 3days hospitalisation). i checked wif my son's PD then cos i understand tat bb girls kenna UTI more easily than boys. the PD also agreed wif me tat the likelihood of boys kenna-ing UTI is much slimmer than girls. i then suspected tat wat my 1st GF shared wif me is true. i asked my 2nd GF (whose son kenna UTI) abt using cloth nappies n she confirmed tat her son has been using cloth nappies since birth. i quickly told her wat i know abt cloth nappies n she also stopped using cloth nappies quickly.

Kelly,

Thx... really glad and relieved aft the scan. will be seeing my baby girl tomorrow for a debrief of the scan at my gynae's clinic.

Piyo,

I suppose u can drink barley water but in moderation lor... if you afraid too liang, u can use the China Barley instead of the normal barley to boil... heard fr the elderly that its not as liang.

chrys,

Nappy liners cannot reuse leh. Btw, u serious abt using the washable nappies? Will it be too leh chey for u? Cos' I oso tot of using when I had my first one... in the end never use, gave to my frens cos' too much hassle. u might want to standby some disposable nappies in case cant handle.

jrong, chrys
i wont use cloth nappies tis time round. too much hassle. when my bb poos/pees, the nappy gets wet n the clothes (the bottom part which touches the nappy or the shorts/pants) gets wet too. i end up changing his clothes very often in 1 day. very leh chey.

then when e bb poos, e shit stains can b quite hard 2 remove (despite u using the nappy liner) n u also cant use bleach so my MIL (who did my 1st confinement) had 2 scrub the nappy very hard or even soak in detergent.

Huh, I am still drinking barley and chrysanthemum. Thought this is good? Not very sure though. Anyway, eat/drink in moderation should be fine.

Btw, pregnant women can not eat lamb, as scare of "fa yang diao" next time.

hi there again

any ladies about 18 weeks - dun feel baby - how u know if bb ok?

i wont have a scan (which will be my detailed scan) till end april which is slightly more then a month since my last scan... cuz we had to postpone as my hubby will be travelling, he wants to be there...

i really hope to scan earlier but cant... so worried about bb since i dun feel anything..

somemore some sad bb stories in my office, make me a bit worried... my colleagues wives 2 faced complications and lost bb....

Hi jfong

Thanks for ur advice
I'll use washable nappy in the morning and diapers at night. I heard that some babies tend to get rashes using diapers. Secondly, my colleague shared wif me that his 1st daughter used washable nappy and very fast got herself toilet trained, but her 2nd daughter still peeing happily & reluctant to be toilet trained cos she feels comfortable wearing diapers (now 2 yrs+ already)
Anyway, different babies may have diff pattern. I'll try to use washable nappy first as it's more environment friendly.

Hi butter,

I'm at 20weeks and i havent feel baby kick.
I'm also wondering abt bb's existence coz my tummy didnt grow much and my weight gain is kind of slow. So far only abt 2-3kg.

I think its possible to arrange a simple scan with ur gynae earlier if u're really uneasy.

hi ningyo,

yes thanks.... i just read that its normal for us mummies to be a little 'gan-cheong'.

looking back, i just had my last scan about 2 weeks now.. so should be ok

agree with u, shall get a scan some time in april if i want peace of mind

hi butter,
My situation the same as ningyo...I am in the beginning of 19th week and I have not felt any baby movments yet too. & like what I mentioned earlier, my lower tummy like not very big at this time....

the last visit I had at my gynae was beginning of mar and my detailed scan is next week... so effectively I do not get to see my baby's existence for 5 weeks...if you buey tahan maybe can arrange to see the gynae for a normal scan?

Hi butter,
Ya, wat piyo n ningyo say is correct..if feel worry n too long never go see doc, then juz arrange wif yr doc to see if u can go down for a scan..

Piyo, our edd is same date..till now i still cant differentiate bet tummy movement n if it i sbb..juz sometimes i do feel fluttering in tummy but dun noe if it is bb lor..
going for detailed scan next week, can see my bb again..so happy

Mummies to be,
can i juz check is there r ways or signs we can know if bb is not growing well etc...coz i am also rather worried at times n we cant be like going for scan each time we get worried...any experience mummies can help pls?

Hi Kelly
Sorrie.. u might have mentioned before but hope u dun mind i ask again :p :p

In ur opinion, for a start, are 4x 4oz (120ml) & 2x 8oz (240ml) milk bottles enough?

if i have extra milk bottles (eg 4oz/8oz), can i use them to store EBM in freezer? Is it safe?

Thanks a million!

Hi Jfong,
thanks! I just took bai guo fu zhou with barley for dessert during lunch... hope it will bring my heatiness down and perhaps good for baby like what Kelly says?:p

Hi Chrys/Kelly,
I all along tot nappy liners cannot be reused... Think if i use, I will just use and throw like more hygenic?

i'm new to this forum. joined last Wed. =) been reading threads from this forum since then. =)

really find this forum useful and helpful! =) feel like having alot of frenz going thru the same phase as me, we are not alone! =P

i'd just gone for my detailed scan last fri, and i'm going to hv bb girl!! so excited since i knew, been looking around for wat is good for my princess.

as of last fri, she weighs 313g. I'm seeing W K Tan @ TMC. EDD=12 Aug. been kicking me alot... =) i could see her during the scan, those little feet, hands, nose...etc. she is gorgeous!! =P

issit it a great feeling tat we hv someone so dear inside us, and we own this flesh and blood.. just filled us with joy and love with this new life coming our way rite! =)

Praise God!!!

chrys,
i share tis wif u then u know how much ur bb will drink n wat kinda bottles u need ok? hits 2 birds wif one stone.

in ur bb's 1st mth, he'll b drinking abt average 60-90ml (can be lesser, can be more)
2nd mth, average 90-120ml (can be lesser, can be more)
3rd mth & beyond, above 120ml (can be lesser, can be more)

bbs drink every 2hrs in their 1st 4-6wks. after tat, they can drink every 2.5-3hrs. only by 4-5th mth, they can then stretch 2 every 3-4hrs. not ALL bbs follow tis guidelines. some bbs can still b drinking every 2hrs when they r abt 2mths old.

wif such a drinking pattern & volume, 4x4oz bottles are enuff. i only used 2 bottles last time cos i was also feeding my son EBM in the glass bottles. i expressed BM, stored in glass bottles n warmed up e EBM, put the teat on (the nuk/pigeon teat holders fit glass bottle), feed directly.

i'm new to this forum. joined last Wed. =) been reading threads from this forum since then. =)

really find this forum useful and helpful! =) feel like having alot of frenz going thru the same phase as me, we are not alone! =P

i'd just gone for my detailed scan last fri, and i'm going to hv bb girl!! so excited since i knew, been looking around for wat is good for my princess.

as of last fri, she weighs 313g. I'm seeing W K Tan @ TMC. EDD=12 Aug. bb been kicking me alot... =) i could see her during the scan, those little feet, hands, nose...etc. she is gorgeous!! =P

issit it a great feeling tat we hv someone so dear inside us, and we own this flesh and blood.. just filled us with joy and love with this new life coming our way rite! =)

Praise God!!!

leobbsmom,
welcome! congrats on having a girl. up 2 now, most mummies are having boys here. a no of mummies havent gone for their detailed scan yet so we shld know in 1-2wks time. is tis ur 1st child?

hi chrys,
I have not bought any beansprout pillow yet... you getting?

hi augbaby,
so good you can feel your baby movements liao even though our EDD is the same... me have not felt anything yet leh
I also dunno how to know if our baby is growing well inside... I can only conclude that no bleeding no pain are good signs bah.... anyone else has more concrete advice?

hi leobbmom,
Welcome! Congrats on knowing the gender and feeling the baby's movements! I can feel your excitement when you talked about your princess' movements! W K Tan is a very good gynae but her waiting time is super long right? Can you give me your age so that I can update the table?

Hi Kelly
Thanks for ur explanation.
With only 2 milk bottles, u sterilised the milk bottles very often lor (ie after every 2 feeds). Oh but u also feed direct using glass bottle hor.. hmm.. but i dun have glass bottles. Izit ok to put milk bottles in freezer/ the normal compartment better?

Hi piyo
I saw u also asking for the beansprout pillow pic. I saw the pic too, but like not very nice hor, though it's cheap, around $7.

Hi piyo
I think i am not ordering the pillow first. I saw another one is nicer but more ex lor (ard $15 after discout?) See how first. Stil have time, or DIY? haha.

dear all, thanks for your warm welcome! **clap clap** =)

kelly, yes! this is my first child. and it came as a pleasant surprise! so i'm so thrilled. =P

piyo, yep! u r right, W K Tan has alot of "supporters"! hahaha... i usually wait abt 2hrs or more for my checkup. i'm born on 10 Sept 1975.

just to share, not sure if other mothers feel the same. but i do feel hungry whenever i detect any fragrance when sleeping. it's like almost immediately, i can feel the grumbling once i smell anything at all, be it perfume, food aroma and even stench...etc. then my princess will react to it too, she will move abt in me!

for those moms who can feel the child's movement already, any similiar encounters? i mean, the hunger is so real... =P

let's share! let's share! =)

chrys,
if my bb drank at 6, 8am, i quickly sterilise the bottles at 8am+ so i can use e bottles again at 10am. tat hasnt happen cos at 8am, i could b feeding my son EBM or latching him on directly. if i do tat, i'll use the 2nd bottle for another feed at 10am then i sterilise the bottles & the glass bottle tgt.

if ur bb's on TFM, then u'll need abt 3-4bottles if u dun 1 2 b sterilising milk bottles every 4hrs. imagine u feed ur bb at 6am, 8am, then u need 2 sterilise at 8am+. feed again at 10am, 12pm, sterilise at 12pm+, so on

u can put the milk bottles in freezer and normal compartment.

Hi Chrys,
do you have the link the the $15? I don't think we can sew during our pregnancy right?*pantang*

hi leobbsmom,
Me same age as you
I don't detect any baby movements yet so cannot comment... will update you on this

I have your details updated in the table

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>NAME</TD><TD>AGE</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>OBGYN</TD><TD>HOSPITAL</TD><TD>GENDER </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Sandy Kerk</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>31-Jul-06</TD><TD>Dr Chen</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Connie</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>01-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr KK Ho</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Rain</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>01-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Chrys</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Peacy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tan HK</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">1BOY</font> &amp; <font color="aa00aa">2 GIRLS</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Wanli</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Babymum</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>04-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tanny Chan</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>04-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Bottle</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>06-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Jfong</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>07-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>CJ</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>10-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr SC Chew</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Augustmum</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Bearybear</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Ho HK</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Leobbsmom</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr W K Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Dino</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Honeyhaven</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Ningyo</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Lee</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Yipee</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>15-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr W K Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Ling2</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>17-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr K H Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Sierra</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>17-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Jas</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Zshih</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>19-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Celine</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>20-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Michelle</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>20-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Catherine Wong</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>21-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Augbaby</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Piyo</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>23-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Fong Chuan Wee</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Buffel</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Erin00</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>25-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Butter8</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>29-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Jasmine Lau</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr. Denas Chandras</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Lala</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Mrschng</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tan LK</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

chrys, hehehe...it's amazing hor! i sometimes also see the clothing been lifted up a little when bb moves inside.. =)

piyo, u can put my age as 30 la...why put me on "?" >__< kekeke...
as for the bb's kicks, maybe u already had felt it unwittingly.. just tat u do not know how to differentiate how bb's movements and internal body movement of urself. tat's wat happened to me at least, i always tot those those movements was due to digestion since how we burp so much during first trimester! Until they become more frequent, esp at nite when i lie down, i can feel it even more since my skin is being pulled down by gravity.(u noe wat i mean lah hor?)

tats when i started to suspect whether tat was my bb moving! coz usually bb will start moving in the placenta at abt week 18-19..

moms-to-be just gotta be more sensitive and focus whenever we feel "little movement" inside us.

just my sharing...(=^.^=)