(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Butter8,

Slow cokker realli worth to invest n without drying up ur soup too. In future u can use it to cook ur bb porridge n also tonic soup for ur family.

As for mi i not eating those bird nest from bottle.. so need to cook n brew one lo... so i take once a week. I heard if realli can afford n bear too.. try e red color bird nest 'xue yan' ITS extreme good. But of cos taking bird nest cant be too much. Every 2 or 3day will be alright.

Piyo v great of u to give us the chart. If I not wrong its in US size right? Cos i come across a maternity book briefly showing the bb height weight etc... Maybe we can plus minus abit as American size are different from us... N e food they eat too.

I do take beef at time cos it will make bb strong n bone stronger too... bt don take too much LAMB, it will cause heaty n also bb tends to sweat n smell alot.. (this wat i heard of )

Hi chrys,
how do i post n attach a file here ah..hee hee..me dun noe leh..then it be so much more easier if i can...hee hee

quite a lot of postings today. trying to catch up on the readings.

Din really take a lot of tonics. just started after my morning sickness subsided. I'm a lazy person so I'm taking cordeyceps in capsule form and teaspoons of bird nest (bottle of concentrated bird nest. take 1 teaspoon 2 times a day)Is it ok or do I really have to brew them?

Hi augbaby,
I'm seeing Dr. Judy Wong at KKH. Will be doing my detail scan in the afternoon. Guess you will find out the bb's gender b4 me.

Hi piyo and yippe,
My tummy is very small too for a 18+ week pregnancy. colleagues just said that I looked plumper.

Hi piyo, butter8 and sierra,
I haven't started my shopping yet. Guess will do that later after the detail scan. Din intend to buy breastfeeding stuff cos dunno will have enough supply or not. My colleague bought the breastfeeding stuff and in the end, she had to resort to formula milk cos milk supply not a lot. Will borrow breast pump and sterilise them. If I wait to see if my milk supply is sufficient or has surplus then invest the $, is it too late?

thanks for all the info on soup & slow cooker. I think i shall go buy soon

then i can oso make soup for hubby...

can hubby take the soup we take too?

Oh Butter8, u can cook fish soup, no herbs involved, but still very tonic. Buy young ginger, cut into slices, cook for a while in pot of water to let the smell of ginger come out, then put sliced fish together with green onion (cong1) into the hot boiling water (big fire), let it boil a while not too long then switch off gas. Very nice, soup is clear n fish won't be smelly if put ginger. My MIL said buy 'ngor' fish or 'kao' fish better. Easy to cook rite?
This DH can eat too, but if we put herbs, got to be careful, might not be suitable.

Hey chrys
I dun think the file shld be too big mah coz it is an excel file..i can zip it coz i dun have the zip program..maybe i can email to one of u n u help me upload can? Hee hee

Chrys:
That's a good point! I have sent Ling Chua an email asking for the company name. Will keep you all posted.

In the meantime, shall we list down our orders? I'll start the ball rolling...
1 Easy-tote, Red (Kim)

So excited 2mr will be my detailed scan.Saw a lot of mummies getting baby stuff, breast pump etc while I only bought 1 set of bb clothes. I still feel sleepy at work, coz I woke up 2x per nite and keep having dreams. Anyone experience this?

Wanna ask, anyone has intention or already bought the beansprout pillow?

Hi Chrys,
For me, I marinate the "ngor" fish, then I fry with little sesame oil, ginger and spring onion. I heard that this fish is very good too.

MORNING MUMMIES!

Dino, I also wake up midnite n having dreams. U need to relax jus like me... it could be due to too much thinking in e day n night too woryying bb or other stuffs.. Drink a hot milk n get ur hb to soft massage ur back will be better.
No worries abt getting earlier or later for bb stuff cos it will be never ending of buying hehehe!

We can eat ginger bt in moderation cos it will cause jaundice too... so try not take too much of it okie.

"Ngor" fish is v good n also if possible try take Cod fish though v exp. Cod fish high in alot nutrients not oni we need BUT BB need alot of it.
Pan-fried wit olive oil (healthy) OR cook wit Soup.. soft & tender taste nice n most impt NO STINK FISH SMELL!!!!

Wow so happy n envy for those gg detail scan.. mine still long way!! My gynae say cant determine my EDD cos from my last mense i should be in 18week plus BUT from wat he had scan frm e machine bb oni abt 17weekplus... Well, wait till bigger apporaching 7-8 mth will be more accurate.. haiz.. blame my irregular menses, difficult to determine ovulation lo...

Gals interested in the cooler bag,
Can you PM me your email addy? Ling Chua has reverted with more info which I wanna share with you. Let's coordinate thru email, easier this way

HEy MUMMIES..

Forget to add in.. GO grad a copy of MOTHERHOOD for this mth! Articles which really suits us esp mi.. (anemic & thalessemia). I have order it even before im preggie!! SO KIASU!

Happy working!!!

Me also get weird bizarre dreams at night ever since I preggie... too bizarre to even mention here...

I thinking of getting beansprout pillows too. Anyone else interested? no need to get it so early right? if you all are getting how many are you getting? I saw quite a few bulk purchase for it but dunno which one is nice hehe

Hi Augbaby,
the chart is only an estimate plus it's based on ang moh size so dun be too upset with the numbers, ya?

Hi Erin,
me also thinking of borrowing the breast pumps from 2 of my friends and try out b4 I really invest in one... scared I got no milk hehe

hi piyo...u aren't the only having weird dreams...me too!! and the dreams are usually so vivid!!

wat's the purpose of beansprout pillows? can you make them yourself?

has anyone read the magazine Baby - Young Parents?

HELO....

ANYONE got confinement nanny to INTRO?

Have any idea the BB bonus when will credit into our ACCOUNT upon applying when register bb name?
So confuse cos my da sao mention now v fast.. when u register, straightaway credit in ur account BUT i went to e website they say 3weeks after name registeration....

erin: i think it's not too late to buy breast pumps later...cos we really dunno how our supply will be, or if we are able to breastfeed...but as long as our hubby know where to get during that time, then it's good :p

Side-track abit, juz saw on the calendar that this yr got 2 lunar 7th mth.

1st one: July 25 - Aug 23 [lunar 1st-30th jul]
2nd one: Aug 24 - Sep 21 [lunar 1st-29th jul]

So, can we still have baby 1st mth celebration?

are you all patang that baby pops in lunar 7th month? I heard old folks told us 2nd lunar 7th month is fine for celebrations cos the actual one is the 1st 7th month... anyone else heard other beliefs?

hi sierra,
ya! very vivid and clear and very absurd dreams, from babies to funny events to scary ones:p

beansprout pillow is to put on top of the baby to "ya1 jing1" so that baby can sleep more peacefully, getting used to the ruffle sounds produced by the beansprout covers inside

Hi Piyo,

Yah my mum also mention that the first 7th month is the real one, not the second...but in future when we celebrate our BB's chinese birthday, just have the assume as though birthday in 7th month loh, if not must wait for (12yrs?) then have a year of two 7th month liao..

Oh,

So our BB will pop on the first 7th month hoh..
394301.gif
mmmm..but when finish 1mth confinement, should be able to celebrate in the 2nd 7th mth loh...

But yipee our baby will most probably pop within the 1st or actual 7th month. So no need to assume the chinese birthdae liao right? I was counting back and forth, our baby's birthdate will sure fall withing 7th month, either the 1st or the 2nd and man yue most prob can't escape 7th month also...
if celebrate on 2nd 7th month, it's okie right?

Yah, initially i thought we will pop in the 2nd 7th mth..sian..if like that, then celebrate BB 1mth in the 2nd 7th mth should be fine...

Anyway dun think it is a concern to pop in 7th month lah, me also a 7th mth baby!
394310.gif

piyo, ningyo, yipee
i am aware and pantang abt the 2 lunar 7th mth tis yr hence husband n i plan 4 bb-making so tat we wont clash wif the 7th mth (ie if i dun get preggie by nov last yr, i wont try until jan tis yr). we've heard & come across too many stories abt bbs born in 7th mth being too troublesome n lotsa hassle. my EDD is 4aug but the likelihood of me popping in end jun/early jul is very high (according 2 gynae, almost likely). hopefully i can avoid the 7th mth. IF i cant, no choice. i leave it 2 my bb 2 decide. i wont purposedly induce my bb 2 pop b4 25jul.

as for 1st mth celebration, i didnt know abt 1st 7th mth or 2nd 7th mth. husband n i got no plans 2 do a massive 1st mth celebration, probably just a simple dinner among immediate family members (abt 1table). my 1st son's 1st mth celebration was huge...took place over 2days (sat & sun), invited over 150pax 2 our plc, spent $1300 on buffet, abt $100+ on cakes (MIL wanna give cakes away), another $100+ on misc stuff. too much $$ spent, too much hassle so for #2, we'll most likely shelf off such massive celebrations.
IF my bb pops in 1st 7th mth, i also dun celebrate bb's chinese bday so cant b bothered abt future chinese bdays.

Hi augbaby
Oh like that ah.. Maybe U send to my email: [email protected], i try to upload it see can or not.. No gurantee though heee..

Hi Kim
Thanks for taking ur initiative! Is the info u got from Ling Chua the same as the one wanli sent to us via email? I would like to have easy-tote (red) 1 pc. I work at outram park, stay at farrer park, i can collect it from u.

Hi Dino
So it's ur turn now.
Do keep us updated after ur scan. Dun worry, it's never too late to start shopping.. n very soon u'll get addicted, once u start to shop, u can't stop!

As for the beansprout pillow, I saw some mtbs bought from this web. Are there any other sources? What's the price range?
http://www.beansprout-pillow.com/

My father said can DIY using grain or something like that.

CT, I fried cod fish too, it's really yummy! But more troublesome when comes to cleaning up, u know lah.. frying. Salmon is good too, it's rich in omega3 fat which is believed to be able to help fighting every chronic disease, making brain thinks & heart beats.

Hi CT,
Oh, i didnt know ginger will cause jaudice. All i know was ginger can reduce bloatedness. hmmm.. I will take note on that. I heard that for the bb bonus, they will credit into our acct in intervals over a period of time, and not in a lump sum.

CT,
the bb bonus is divided into 4 portions...$750 each time. credited to the designated account of the parent 1mth after u register ur bb's birth cert and when ur bb turns 6mths, 12mths & 18mths.

wah...another thing to pantang? i already think there's too much to think about....

probably will leave it up to nature...if the babies decide to come out during the 1st 7th mth, so be it....

Hi Dino,

I heard from a frd n some of my relatives abt this ginger.. moderation will do but not too much.

THanks for the info abt the BB bonus.. i oni knew abt its divided into 4 payout. Just v confuse by my da sao as she mention 1st payout is when u register bb name n credit straight within 5day! haha.. wat i read is 3weeks after registeration...

Well $$ matters again hehheeh

Helo,

Just browsing through my Motherhood Mag... A small portion mentioning the weight we increase over pregnancy.. maybe we could take it as a reference..

BABY FAT FACT (What pregnancy puts on you)
4kg - Baby
3.5kg & abv - Body fat
1.5kg - fluid (water retention)
1.5kg - extra blood
0.5kg - amniotic fluid
0.5kg - expanded uterus
0.5/1kg - added breast weight
0.5kg - placenta

Hi Yipee/Kelly/Sierra,
Ya, I think best let baby decides when it wanna come out. My auntie and dad also born in 7th month and I don't see any prob! And I like Leo Baby! and normally Leo babies will very high chance be 7th lunar month baby hehe

Hi Kelly,
wow! your place must be super big to be able to house 150pax! fainted! when did you start preparing for the 1st month ce;ebration? anything to take not of? my friend told me to plan it early cos by the time we pop we too busy with baby and bf and all to even have time to plan! where did you get the cakes from? and who do you distribute to?

Hi Dino,
Do update us on your scan too....then I can update the table for you
I counting down to mine too so so long ....

Hi Chrys,
You ordering the pillow? I find cod liver got a slightly more fishy smell than other fishes... but good for baby so I still eat...

Hi CT,
thanks for the info... I think I have have lots of kg in the area of BODY FAT!

CT,
thks 4 e info. if u add them up, it's 13kg. tat's e amt of weight i put on when i was preggie wif #1. i weighed myself when i reached MAH. i weighed myself again once i got home. within tat 4days, i lost 6kg = 2.8kg bb + 0.5kg amniotic fluid + 0.5kg expanded uterus + 0.5kg uterus + 1.7kg fluid (water retention)

when i was hospitalised, the day after i gave birth, i was heading 2 e toilet 2 pee nonstop despite me not drinking a lot of water. i also scared 2 pee cos i scared e urine kenna e episotomy wound then very painful, gotta 2 wash wif some kinda solution, very leh chey. as i was going 2 e toilet nonstop, by e day i discharged, i noticed my ankles & legs were no longer swollen.

piyo,
i did it over 2 days. 1st day was for ILs' side, friens & colleagues. 2nd day was for my parents' side n some friens who cant make it on e 1st day. my hse not tat big lah...so got pp spilled over to stand outside my hse 2 makan & mingle lor.

i didnt wanna traumatise my bb so left him in my bedroom all e way. anyway, dunno y he also slept ALL e time on both days of celebration. i tell u y so leh chey ok?

1st day
9am - wait for cakes 2 arrive, then FIL quickly rush 2 deliver cakes 2 some relatives (b4 they leave their hse 2 come over 2 my plc for buffet lunch)
10am - we leave 2 my ILs' hse 2 pray 2 e ancestors
11am - got home 2 get ready for e buffet lunch
12pm - buffet arrive
1230pm - 1st batch guests started arriving
4pm - 2nd batch guests arriving (from malaysia - mostly my MIL's relatives)
8pm - all guests left

2nd day
11am - my parents arrived 2 help prepare red eggs, set up e plc, put 20+ chairs around e hse
12pm - buffet arrived
1230pm - guests started arriving
4pm - all guests left

at e end of both days, husband n i got so tired from e cleaning up, sorting out ang baos for our #1, opening up his gifts (keeping away those tat he cant use now while leaving around those he can use now)

piyo,
we started planning e 1st mth celebration 2wks b4 e actual date. my #1 was e 1st grandchild of both families so it was a MUST-do affair. my husband was also e only child in e family so very big affair lor...since there's a male grandchild.

we had 2 caterers cos my ILs wanna use my bro-in-law's family to cater for e lunch. my parents not comfortable wif a brandless caterer, chose a different caterer. i ordered abt 15 boxes of cakes, kept 1 for myself, ILs gave 14 boxes away. who they gave 2, i didnt bother. my parents didnt wanna any cakes cos they find it leh chey 2 give cakes away. my ILs had 2 do so cos no choice, other relatives gave them cakes when their grandchildren celebrated 1st mth celebration so must return e 'gift' lor.

i got e cakes from ecreative. i tik i'll get it fr them again tis time round IF my ILs wanna give cakes away again.

Hi hmkim,
Thanks, I want one easy-tote(red) as well
. my email: [email protected]

Born in chinese 7th mth not good ah? but my cousin also born in chinese 7th month and he is exactly on 14/7. but he is a very clever boy, in fact is very clever, no need study can all score A+ one. So for me I really don't think it is not good lei :p

Hi Dino,
All the best and let us update

Well... we are now having a debate on BB born on 7th MTH...

Actually it doesnt really matters cos i got plenty friends who are doing well n hmm as wat wanli mention, they seems v clever!

Mostly impt is we jus follow wat the elderly say what to or do not do bah.

piyo, wanli
oh no...i dun mean bbs born in 7th mth not gd as in not smart, not cute, etc.

i meant more like handling e bb during tat 7th mth n after tat.

my GF's experience was like tis...she gave birth 2 her son on 25jul (8yrs ago)

her son cried inconsolably (dunno y or wat happened but her son can cry nonstop) during e 1st mth. when her son got bigger (still an infant), he cant come home too late at nite then he would fuss nonstop. my GF had 2 get some kinda leaf from some plant 2 bathe her son then the son would stop crying.

according 2 my GF, her son cant attend 'red' & 'white' events (weddings & funerals). if her son attended, sure fuss big time at e wedding (she dun even dare 2 bring her son 2 any funeral). when there was a funeral at her HDB blk, she and her son (who was very young then) walked past it for e 1st time. When her son got home, also cried nonstop & kept fussing. Subsequently, she dun dare 2 let her son walk past funerals held downstairs. She often gotta walk detours 2 get 2 her lift.

Now the son's bigger so much betta. Even when her son was abt 4-5yrs old, still sama sama. During some 7th mths over the yrs, her son would also suddenly fall very ill.

i also asked my parents & some aunties after hearing from my GF. they told me tat bbs born in 7th mth tend 2 b more 'ma fun' cos they are so small, tend 2 b very sensitive 2 'other forces', just like lil kids or dogs who'll fuss during 7th mth

Someone tokking about pregnancy rash n itchiness? I have that and bad!! was given hydrocortisone cream by gynae to apply..

I now applying that ontop of my clarins oils..

Hi Jasmine

I had massive attach of hives last weekend too. It was terrible! Had to have piriton (antihistamine) jab to calm it down. Hope it doesn't reappear....

jasimine,zshih
do ur treatments work? my gynae let me use a cream too but i find no improvement. Now i start applying calamine lotion but the relief only last for 2 hours, den v itchy again. but the rashes do become lighter.

piyo,
went for detailed scan y'day. next update can u add for me- My is a boy boy. doc din say how much was the weight but he says everything looks ok. btw, my gynae is SC Chew.

bb stuff store opposite guan Yin temple--
i went to dat shop 2 get some stuff after my scan.
the shop addres is
Shen Kwong Trading co.
Blk 269 Queen St #01-246 Tel : 6338 3260
open MOn - Sat 9am to 6pm
I bought half dozen plain kimono tops at $9. Pants, mittens, washable nappies also can be found there.