(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

i'm juz curious, is it that after delivery, all mums will produce breast milk for baby?

And also,if for 1st baby we have breast milk, can we assume for 2nd baby we'll continue to have breast milk OR r there exceptional cases whereby the mum dun have milk?

kelly: hehe...i have 2 sacs...2 placentas

augbaby: ya...we were very surprised to see 2 sacs cos in the first place, this pregnancy wasn't planned...

erin: i added you to my list too...hmm close shop ar? dunno...see how it goes

Jasmine: hahaa twins are a nice surprise...and a blessing...but double the challenge too!

I've added u gals in my MSN list already....hope i haven't missed out any...

hello everyone!

Jasmine, so cute - ur bb kicked u after u disturb her

i sneeze every nite and morning, due to sinus I think - do u think I scare baby everyday?

Oso anyone got asthma here? I just got an attack this morning, I hope it dun affect bb...

I didnt take any medication, just hot steam and water....

jasmine,
oh my, u must have frightened ur bb. they do get frightened easily when they are younger (<3mths) so pp usually place a dou ya ke (beansprout pillow) on their bbs when the bb's sleeping. i remember my son jumping/crying at the slightest disturbance (door banging, kids screaming outside, etc).

sierra,
wow! does ur husband and/or urself have a family history of twins?

butter8,
i have all the atopic problems (atopic genes)...sensitive nose (sinus), sensitive lungs (asthma), sensitive skin (eczema), sensitive stomach (IBS = irritable bowel symdrome) &amp; sensitive eyes (i get conjungivitis very easily).

i kenna very jia lat asthma attack when i was 11wks preggie wif this #2. went 2 GP's clinic &amp; got hooked 2 a neubraliser 2 breathe. i used ventolin pump every 3-4hrs, took some medication 2 relieve the cough. all medication i got my from GP, i seek clearance from my gynae 1st.

for #1, i also kenna asthma attack when i was 9wks preggie. I went 2 raffles hospital &amp; laid there for a few hrs for observation. i relied on my ventolin pump &amp; couldnt take much medication

How's lunch?? Ya, i noticed that babies less then 3 months get startled easily.. my MIL will prob make me that pillow but she uses brown rice, i think.. not beansprout as they might "grow" after a while..

Kelly,
You very "sensitive" hor??
but it seems we are more sensitive to stuff we are allergic to now.. maybe is because of the baby.. Maybe you can advise Butter8 wat medication is safe.. she can't be having her face over steam all the time leh... what if no hot steam available nearby??

hi mummies... long time no see. We got alot of baby boy here....
Mummy expecting baby boy, is your tummy holding high? Like close to chest level?

hi kelly,
wow sounds like i have a partner here

I am glad I can use my ventolin... got some just now at lunch, i least i dun feel bad if i cant breathe then bb dun get enough air...
Do u take any sinus tabs regularly to prevent? or just take when really needed cuz preggy? i used to take almost everynite, but since preggers i stop.

jasmine,
u very funny... hahahahha

aug mums,
so really ah, late in Aug means gal bb? hmmmmm i wonder... i really wish to know leh... why my gynea cant see - sigh sigh...

butter8,
i also can't see my bb is boi or girl......cos bb nv open leg and let us see......

but for what i know, if you feel very sick and have lots of symptoms... mostly is girl... if are having boy.... will not have much symptoms....or morning sickness.......

jasmine,
ya hor...didnt even realise i m very 'sensitive'. LOL! i really cant advise butter8 wat medication is suitable for her condition. best for her 2 check wif her regular GP &amp; gynae.

butter8,
i checked wif 2 GPs and a specialist in Raffles Hospital b4. no harm using nasal spray/pump &amp; ventolin. both types of pdts are targetted at specific areas so wont go into my blood stream hence bb wont absorb it.

i use a nasal spray -nasonex or obitrix (wrong spelling i know) every nite for my nose. if not, i cant breathe at all at nite. my ventolin pump huh? dunno where liao...my son kept playing wif it.

i dunno abt sinus tabs. u meant those u consume orally? i dun take any oral medicine for my sinus since i got preggie.

catherine,
my gynea say not clear... sigh... oso cuz me bb dun really move, so oso cant double check.. my gynea dun like to make bb move so cant try again yesterday

so how accurate is the MS theory
i got not much morning sickness leh....

kelly,
no worries, i oso checked with gynea (raffles hosp too!) and the clinic b4 i took the medication today.. feeling better after a puff

Hi butter8,
Me also yesterday went for routine checkup n doc still cant see gender..bb simply refuse to cooperate at all each time we scan..spend rather a long time inside wif doc and i cough, doc try to make bb change position also cant..hahaha..bb is in kneeling position..so cute. can also see bb spine already..so amazing..after that i give up liao and tell hubby, yr bb is very naughty, refuse to show all of us and then suddenly bb started jumping but still dun show us position and suddenly doc told us, c yr bb is pointing its finger at u..hahaha..so cute..My detailed scan will be on 5april morning..hope by then can see bb gender liao..butter,when is yr detailed scan?

hmmm... those late Aug mummies all can't seem to see gender... and normally if can't see gender very likely is ger...so does that mean the few of us having gers?:p

Hi MTBs,
Bearybear here. Decided to change my nick back to the one i usually use in tis forum. So for those who added me to msn, u must be wondering who I am :p

CT,
Actually during tis pregnancy, i've experienced cramp like feelings a few times liao. But for today, it was much more intense and long. Actually , it felt a little like contractions but not as bad. I did ask my gynae previously abt those cramps, n he told me it's prefectly normal. Today got a little worried cos it sort of spread to my leg area.

piyo,
Wen u go to dat shop, jus tell the person wat u want. They dun have fanciful designed mittens and booties. Most r plain. Even hankies too.
I didn't call my gynae in the end, cos i knew he would surely ask me to go down to his clinic. Luckily, the cramps went off by noon, and now i'm back home resting. If it persists tomolo, then i'll give him a call.
I've stopped wearing heels.

kelly,
Actually i tink i may have braxton hicks contractions. But abit early IMO. I went to babycentre website to check out, but it says some mums do experience it towards mid pregnancy. Then I came home to check my "wat to expect' book, it says dat women who have had previous pregnancies, will feel these contractions earlier and it'll be more intense. Anyway, i'll monitor and see. Btw, have u decided to get a domestic helper to help u out after u deliver?
Hey, Gab getting more adventurous these days? Hehehe... U be careful, dun strain urself looking after him. Get hubby to do the job.

jasmine,
U woke ur bb up liao lah. Kekeke... I oso used beansprout pillow initially so dat my boi won't get startled.

sandy,
My tummy quite pointed.

Hey bearybear,
Do take good care of yrself ya..Rest well..Btw how do u see if yr stomach is pointed ah? coz some older pp say if yr stomach is pointed then most likely it is a boy boy..hee hee...

Piyo,
for my bb case, it is not that cant see..but that bb is always not in a correct position to even scan between bb legs..hahaha..
guess i juz have to wait for my detailed scan then..btw do u wan a girl or boy ah? how abt the rest of u? :p

skyblue,
i prefer tis nick of yours...easier lah. mayb u can use the bearybear nick in yrs 2 come when u have ur #3. LOL!

glad 2 hear u r resting at home now. ur boy at ur nanny 2nite?

YES! gabe's more &amp; more daring nowadays. these few days, he's trying 2 climb onto our dining table chairs by holding onto the table (he's tall enuff now 2 hold the table edge &amp; try 2 pull himself up), putting 1 leg on the chair n try 2 pull himself up. tat's y i also cant leave anything close 2 e edge of the table, my kitchen cabinet &amp; my kitchen island. i also very scared he fall cos he cant get himself up or he pull the chair down. i not only getting heart attacks from his actions lately, my belly also tightening very often at nite...as if my #2 knows i very kan cheong.

husband &amp; i still undecided abt getting a domestic helper permanently IF i'm back 2 being a SAHM. hai...i just received news from my boss tat another dept is tiking of giving me a permanent full-time position in this present company IF i m keen 2 work after i give birth. i shared e news wif husband n not sure if i shld take up the position if i am indeed offered one. i told husband tat i'll only consider if the pay is very desirable. if a full-time job is on my plate after i give birth, then the maid is here 2 stay. if not, i'll get a maid 2 help me wif my confinement then i should send her back after 3-4mths IF i m still a SAHM.

yikes! braxton hicks so early? i dunno if i'm getting braxton hicks too. i dunno how 2 label my feeling when my whole belly tightens.

skyblue,
the tot of working full time is making me feel very sian liao...a part of me hope i dun get anything, a part of me hope i can earn a decent income so i can fulfil lotsa stuff for gabe. husband was 'complaining' tat i wanna sign gabe for tis course, tat course, buy tis, buy tat for gabe &amp; #2, travel here, travel there, etc.

i can earn decent income in my part-time job lah but not easy. if i get a job here, income is easy and if i can continue surfing online like wat i do now, y not? i only she-bu-de gabe &amp; #2 lor...

My GF told me Avent breast pump is having sales at John Little now. Not sure if it's only for this 2 days - members day. 20% off, 5% rebate if u r member.

Kelly
Is it true that manual pump dun have warranty?

piyo
i bought the Medela single mini electirc for $169. COmes with free cooler bag with 4 spare bottles.

jasmine,
now den i noe beansprout pillow has beans inside, all along i tot it is a pillow in the bean shape. wat is the use of this pillow?

any of u experiencing rashes and itchiness on the tummy/ thigh areas? suddenly today i developed a lot of red dots which r v itchy. dis r the areas i use the anti-stretch mark creme (palmers brand )but gynae told me over phone it is due to pregnacy. anybody experience?

augbaby,
Pointed as in my waist still there, not much fats at the sides but the tummy like growing forward. I've seen pple whose tummy is round, meaning dat the sides grow outwards as well, so like their original waist bo liao.

kelly,
No lah, dat time use tis nick cos still in 1st trimester, dun wan too many pple to know abt my pregnancy. Yep, K was wif nanny last nite. Actually ever since i preggie wif no 2, i dun bring him home on weekday nites. U know lah, 1st trimester, have MS, spotting n all dat, so must have ample rest. But i shd be bringing him back daily in 2 mths time, cos i'm getting a helper who shd be arriving sometime in May. See how it goes 1st. But i know for sure nanny sure 'she3 bu4 de2', cos she dotes on K alot.
U must weigh the pros and cons of continuing to work after u have no 2. Like rite now, u oredi miss Gab so much when u come to work. Then when u have no 2, worse rite cos both r ur darlings. But then again, wif dat extra income, u can provide both children wif more things. So u must really tink thru it carefully.

cj,
I experienced tis in my 1st pregnancy. Alot of rashes on tummy. But i didn't do anything abt it cos too lazy to apply stretchmark cream. Only when i felt like it, then i applied. Tis time, during my 1st trimester, i had itch on tummy, thigh and even my bum. tis time it was a little unbearable, so i applied stretchmark cream (oso palmers), then the itch became betta.

MOrning gals &amp; little Darlings!

Think I goin to start the ball rolling today hehe....

First of all, WB Sandy after her tired BUT happy memorable wedding!! REst more n replensish ur energy okie.

Helo,
Catherine, I heard of these beliefs too abt boy or gal.. hmm my 1st gal i don have any of the tupig sympt.. bt now is arrgghh.. beta don say touchwood oh hehe.

CJ,
I do experience itchness once while bt more frequent recently. Maybe u could get some anti itch cream from your gynae. I have not start using anti-stretch mark cream cos i felt its s sign to show im preggie n anyway i wont have any chance to wear bikini yeah!

Butter8,
I strongly agree wit you.. though knowing the gender of BB is to seee wat we could get for them n even plan more ahead BUT wat we wish is HEALTHY, CHUBBY, NORMAL &amp; GROW WELL! THis is all mummies daddies wishes.. IF not we are so concern of wat to eat, wat to do &amp; not to do etc.. wow bt jus felt mummies is the GREATEST hehe!!!!

TOday is FRI n weekend is coming.. hmm wherever there is sales maybe could jus pin on here den we can hehe u all know la i don have to emphasis it lo...

Lets sit relax today award ourselves after 5DAYS of hardworking... what else can we expect? BB to kick us hahA!!!

skyblue,
u getting a foreign helper - indonesian or filipino? can share wif me ur details? ur agency? the procedures? i talked to 2 agencies...JPB and Manpower Hub. husband speaking 2 frien's uncle who owned an agency n will find out more. headache!

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/306115.html?1143157875#POST1570941

i just read this thread abt maids. the more i read, the more scary it sounds. hai...husband &amp; i never intend 2 get a foreign maid permanently. looks like we'll c how 1st then decide.

chrys,
i not sure leh. u wanna check wif avent? i only know tat medela single pump has 6mths warranty while the dual pumps (medela &amp; ameda) have 1yr warranty

kelly,
Mine is Indonesian. She used to be helping my SIL, then she went back after her contract ended. Now she wans to come back to Spore to work, so we thot since we know her pretty well oredi, so we'll get her. Dat time we were still contemplating whether we shd get one but since now got one who's not bad, so we'll take her. But she's coming real early, sometime in May. I oso dunno which agency is dat. If i'm not wrong, the person whom we talked to helps a few agencies to bring in these helpers. Rite now, we're waiting for her passport application to be approved b4 we give the person our details. Sounds so chim hor. I oso didn't really bother wif the exact procedures cos hubby was the one who handled everything.

Good morning ladies,
Today is friday..yeah..so happy.. CT, happy birthday to u today ah...My hubby bday is on sat too..hee hee...But i haven got him a present yet..

Skyblue,
Oh icic..Anyway i dun noe how to see my tummy still..hee hee..nvm like wat CT say, as long as bb is healthy and everything is ok liao..

skyblue,
tat's not too bad since u already know the maid. i very keen on filipino maids, got 3 biodatas from my relatives' filipino maids (they know these potential maids) BUT a few friens &amp; relatives said betta 2 get an indonesian maid cos filipino very smart (jing1). gd 2 hv filipino maid cos no communication problem and they learn things faster &amp; easier. bad 2 have filipino maid cos they more ex (i dun mind paying more if they prove 2 b a betta deal than indonesia), need 2 give off day and need 2 play 'survivor' game wif them (outwit, outplay). wah piang!

skarly my maid comes back &amp; says she got boyfrien, wanna bring him home 2 sleep on the queen-sized bed in the spare bedroom. husband is lamenting tat he gets 20% of a queen-sized bed (gabe takes 60% while i take the rest) while his maid-to-be sleeps shiok shiok on a big bed.

kelly,
Actually many of my colleagues advised me dat if i have kids at home, beta to get fillipino ones cos they can speak betta.

Hmm..y r u worried abt ur maid wanting to bring boyfren home. Of cos it's a no no cos they're here to work, not to set up family :p Anyway, the person told me if dun wan maid to have off-days, jus compensate wif $$$ which i'll be doing.

CT,
Ur bday ah? Happy birthday to u

TKS Kelly! TKS Augbb &amp; Jasmine singing song for mi through MSN hehe...

Wow Augbb my frd hb also tmr birthday... such a coincidence!!!

Well as i grow older feeling birthday is... nothing special liao BT most impt is spend wit ur love ones , friends n mummies over here BT most impt our little darling!!!! Yeah!

My wish for this year.. cant say.. but v standard. frds n bb all xxxxx (censor) hehe!!!

cj,
not really itchy around tummy or legs/butt, but, hehehe my breast area was a bit dry n itchy, after put some moisturizing oil all better

skyblue,
i oso 'mao-dun' about whether to get filipino or indo, still going thru bios. i think wat ur friends say is true, i saw many filipino maids take care of kids well, and are independent cuz their english not bad. so far all my good part-time helpers are filipino, and i definately spend less time teaching them. sigh... but as u al say, smarter oso may be more prob...

but if you are lucky, indo maid can be very hardworking...

Hey CT - happy hatchday!!!!
ya man TGIF!!!

kelly,
I tink i betta get hubby to call up the person to find out more. Cos so far, everything settled verbally nia. The person said he'll call when the helper gets her passport which may take quite a while. Hmm...now many ??? gg thru my mind. Hubby always tells me dun worry abt all these, dat he'll settle, so i jus let it be :p dats y u ask me, alot of things i oso dunno one. Cos my main job now is to rest well and take care of my own health. Hehehe...

butter,
Yesss, smarter means they may try to be funny and take advantage esp for many of us who r 1st time employers. Headache man...

skyblue,
i also have a few GFs who told me 2 get filipino maid if i dun 1 my kids 2 learn bahasa indonesia (i already against my MIL teaching gabe melayu so i cant imagine if my boys pick it up - NO OFFENCE 2 any muslims here, nothing against the language but i c no point in my kids picking up a language when i &amp; husband cant communicate in).

aiya, i wish i can let husband handle everything but he also not sure of stuff n i'm the one who is more 'niao' n has more requirements so he tasked me 2 handle it.

i like the maid (IF she's indonesian) 2 merely handle hsehold chores n she needs not handle the kids. i spoke 2 so many pp n the consensus is u cant expect the maid 2 handle ur hsehold chores, prepare meals for u n handle the kids at the same time. they are human beings like us n if we cant do it, so cant they.

aiya, headache lah...

Hi CT,
Happy Birthday. Hope you will be happy and healthy always!

augbaby,
My bb same like yours. bb always not in the right position to scan. Furthermore, my detail scan date same as urs. 5th April
Hope we will be able to find out soon.

Hi Kelly,
need yr advice, do u know how much will cost for cooler bag? Do we still need any dry ice or something to keep the bag cool?

TKS CJ!

Haiz.. tot today is a happy day for mi...
Went for dinner at Sakae Sushi den when i was midway through it my gynae call..

He say some problem wit my blood test. He say Down syndrome is normal so not to worry.. BUT my blood count got prob so need mi go c him Next mon soonest with my hb n may need to do more investigation...

Oh this is scaring mi n i totally lost all the mood to celebrate or eat or anything.

I use to be a minor thalassemia &amp; anemia.. it was tested quite sometime abt 3 4 yrs ago liao..
Sometimes i didnt even take my folic acid regularly as whenever take med i wanted to vomit..

Suddenly i felt im a lousy mom who didnt take care n scare bb will... arrrghh...
Should force myself to eat folic acid cos it could help in my blood count..

Wat tests are done for blood count i also dono.. now have to wait mon evening see gynae den i know liao...

NOT a day for mi.. i going to have sleepless nite till monday

Hi CT,
Don't worry, let see the report first. May be it is not as bad as what u think. People got minor thalassemia &amp; anemia is quite common but if u have then must make sure yr hubby doestn't has. Did yr hubby do any blood test?
That time when I do blood test my husband got todo so.

wanli,
i bought the cooler bag &amp; 3 reusable ice packs from KP. the cooler bag is big enuff 2 fit 4 glass bottles (not milk bottles) OR a few packs of milk bags tgt wif the 3 ice packs. i cant recall how much i paid for them.

CT,
dun worry 1st. wait til u see gynae on mon evening n i'm sure he'll advise u the best for u &amp; ur bb.

CT,

can understand the kind of worry u experiencing... try to relax and if u get too tensed up, ur bb can feel it too.. so try ur best to rest well...

hv gone for my detailed scan tis morn.. finally. all okay, bb is 382 gm. I am nw 20 wk + 5 days. Cfmed girl liao. she was so active and the radiographer had a hard time trying to find her other hand! so funny....

Piyo,

pls update me ! thx u veri much!

Btw, I read in other threads saying that there is pre reno sale at KP at Lot 1. 30% storewide for reg items.

Chrys and all,
I went to Isetan yesterday and saw them selling the avent milk bag at $16.5 with 20% discount
, after discount it is only $13.15. $0.05 cheaper than Taka Fair
!

Hi Wanli, Kelly, Jfong,

Ya... I think Hb may need to do blood test also to make sure whether he's a carrier or blah blah blah...

Tend to worry bt will try to relax as much as can..

Dear CT,
Dun worry to much first..go see yr gynac first and then see how..u n bb be ok..

Hey erin,
me too..bb always not in rite position to see..hee hee..so on april 5, wat time and where will yr detailed scan be? Mine will be at TMC and will be in the morning..reali hope that we will be able to see bb gender by then..hee hee..

Think all the husbands need to do the blood test..coz my previous 2 visits, me and hubby did the blood test already and all is fine..

Hi CT,
Try not to worry so much else it will affect the baby. Meantime, ask you gynae and see what he says...it may just mean you need to up your folic intake?

Update us okie?

Hi Wanli
Really ar?? Oh then i should go grab some... heehee.. Thanks for sharing..

Btw, i went to Kaki Bukit Baby Hypermart &amp; Baby's Kingdom to shop for cot, strollers, car seat, bath tub and stuffs on Sun, coinsidently they were having sales, so I spent quite alot. The cot is selling at the same price as displayed at Taka baby fair. Pigeon disposable breast pads are also selling at $8.90 for 36+6 pcs.