(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Dear sierra,
COngrats!! So nice to be having twins..u must be reali excited then to know yr bb gender...if 1 boy n 1 girl it be so nice....Hee hee..must keep us updated after yr detailed scan okie...

Me also have been taking cold drinks n coke too...sigh...i seem to crave for coke thou i know that caffein is not good for bb..trying my very best to cut down on cold n sugar drinks..very afraid of getting gestational diabetes too. Wat actually is gestational diabetes ah? I am not too sure...

Also love oranges..but heard a friend who juz gave birth that eating apples are suppose to be very good for bb...but not oranges n grapes..which i love..sigh..

NW im having a headache on which type of breast pump to buy. SO many in market. SOme recommend Avent manual cost abt 100plus but manual is time-consuming n suction not strong bt value for $.
Medela has alot of variety but pricing is steep.

I heard from my frd if breast size is bigger, avent more suitable not medela. Is this so? Anyone hear any feedback from other mummies?

Ws hoping to get Electric cos its better n faster n hoping to price wont be over 300bucks...

Oh...

CT,
I oso headache over which pump to buy. I definitely dun wish to oinvest in smthg so exp cos i know my determination to BF not very strong :p

augbaby,
I ate apples all the time when i was expecting my No 1. Such a boring fruit. After dat i stayed away from apples. Hehehe. Tis time round, crave so badly for oranges. It's said dat oranges and grapes will cause bb to have lotsa phlegm next time.

kelly,
Wah, half boiled eggs... *me drooling liao* i miss Ya Kun kopi and half boiled eggs. I was telling hubby, straight after my confinemt, i sure cheong to Ya Kun to enjoy these 2 things. Now i still dun dare to take the risk for tis. Ur list of banned items r more or less similar to mine. U have any idea sotong can eat? My aunt told me as long as dun eat the head part can liao.

sierra,
Congrats. So nice to have twins

piyo,
Hehehe, i ate a fair bit of beef during my 1st pregnancy. My son is quite hairy.
But could oso be hubby and my genes cos we're both very hairy. Hiak hiak hiak :p

catherine,
Oh, really ah? I'll confirm wif my gynae again next week. Jus feel very uncomfortable.

cj,
My gynae's (Dr Ho HK) clinic is in Mt A. He lives very near to the hosp, so i tink no nid to worry if he'll reach there in time. If there is an emergency, there's a number which u can call and leave a msg and he'll get back to u. I strongly recommend him to u if u can tahan the long waits at his clinic.

thanks for all the congrats

kelly: it's natural.....i got that question from the GP the last time too keke....

augbaby: twins are double the joy, and double the challenge too! yes, i'm excited abt their gender...hopefully they will be healthy and good

I drink cold drinks too, though i've stopped drinking coke. In fact, most of the soft drinks make me sick now...after drinking them i will feel very unwell....I'm either drinking isotonic drinks like 100plus or fruit juices.

gestational diabetes is a form of diabetes that occurs during pregnancy, as our sugar and blood levels usually rises during that period. If we aren't careful about what we eat, gestational diabetes could be permanent even after we give birth. The gynae usually will check for these during the checkup, so try to limit the amount that you are taking in...

i was at a stage where everyone's telling what I can't eat...end up it's like everything u can't take...so best person is to check with the gynae

Talking about the pump actually quite impress by the Avent IQ. Can both manual and electric, can use batteries also. I afraid buy the manual later easily feel tired and the electric one also afraid the speed is match to me or not....
The avent IQ pump may be solved what I'm worrying so far. but it is a new product still not many people using it....

No cold drinks? Oops, every day, i will drink fruit juice with ice during my lunch. Does anyone plan for a short holiday?
Hi Catherine, CT,
I agree that staying with MIL is not easy. Evrything we do, we eat, must think not only our hb, but also IL. sometimes there are comments which we dun wish to hear too.

CT,
you also I am sure your hubby will be on yourside....
cos we marry to our hubby not to the parents.....
yah sure i will endure......i will be the nice nice DIL hahaha..............

Beary,
but don't worry its normal.....

Dino,
i don't mind they have comments but, i dun like my MIL always using things i buying........and she spent all her $$ outside happily.....
i buy shampoo she use, i buy shower gel she use, i buy panty liner or pads she also use....not only use she can use up all and not replacing it...i buy food she also eat........

Have been following the thread. My mum actually the raised the issue of whether I will be able to breastfeed 3 babies or rather if I do have enough for the three of them. I am really in a dilemna. On one hand, I am determined to do so for my babies health but on the other hand, don't know I will have enough or not.

In fact, I was asking myself this morning who should I latch on first after delivery. Really headache.... So now, should I buy the pump or not is another headache for me. Any advise?

I will not be employing CL for my confinement. I will be depending on my mum and my maid and maybe my MIL to help out. My MIL was the one who prepared bid nest for me. I also kind of hesitated for her to stay with us when my babies are born but I guess I have no choice coz I really need all the help that I can have.
I guess we should be happy if they are people offering their help when we deliver.

bearybear,
since i preggie, i ate at ya kun dunno-how-many times liao (even bumped into lil prince's family at white sands once). i crave for ya kun so husband got no choice but 2 bring me there.

since i preggie wif gabe, i dun eat sotong cos my GF shared wif me tat her sis took lotsa sotong n when the bb was born, he was covered wif a film which took a while for the midwives 2 remove. ever since then, i stopped eating sotong. so now i avoid BBQ sotong, sotong in hokkien mee, etc.

as for mutton, i heard tat it causes 'yang dian feng' and bbs 2 b hairy. i not sure abt beef cos i ate a lot of beef for gabe but gabe not hairy (i tik he inherit from daddy cos me hairy type, husband not hairy) leh. i had no choice but 2 eat lotsa beef cos my haemoglobin levels are low.

for #2, i didnt eat much beef but try 2 eat every wk from beef noodles, fast food, steak, etc

Wanli,

U mention Avent IQ pump is which one? Maybe hw much is the cost den later i can online see see hehe.. today no mood to work liao so tired n well boss not ard everyone is idling n MSN too haha...

Dino,
SOmetime jus eat everything to moderation. I love spicy stuffs so now i controlling though its not much controlled! I was thinkin to go for a getaway if i can afford cos every cents i spend is well spend now haiz.. hate this life bt good too.. maybe to genting (hmm try luck) or to resort which is cheaper...

Catherine,
No worries for you too okie! We always try to make life easier for everyone in e family n always put on smile though wanted to show that dissatisfied face haha!!!!!

We always worry for lots stuff.. Breast pump, wat type of BB cot, Pram, clothing( maybe not cos ppl pass down), massage lady (whoever cheaper n effective too).. wat else we don have to worry? haha.. so tough!

peacy,
i got no experience wif triplets so mayb u wanna check wif the lactation consultant wif all ur doubts. i can only advise u based on wat i've heard & read.

for premmies (depending how small they r), my understanding is tat they dun latch on directly. since they'll b in the incubators, u'll need 2 EBM (express ur breastmilk) 2 feed them. if u r able 2 latch on to any bb, it's usually the smallest bb who gets the BM 1st.

bearybear,
i also ate apples everyday for gabe cos i heard oranges & grapes not gd, will cause phlegm. for #2, i dun like apples leh, kept craving for naval oranges (the sweet type) and grapes.

ILs
i dun 1 2 say anything abt my ILs. let's just say we are trying 2 maintain a neutral relationship. sigh!

There is a NATAS travel fair this coming wkend, from Fri to Sun, at suntec city. Hmm... very tempting.
I agree with CT we worry a lot of things. I am worry abt who should take care of my bb after confinement. How much does a maid cost, etc etc. My resale flat coming in 2mths time, furniture, baby stuff, breast pump, not enough maternity wear ...N hubby just sit back n rest when he's at home, unlike me think too much. I think it's part of life when we r turning into motherhood for 1st time mummies.

Congrats sierra for having twins!

My GF just gave birth to twins boys too last week. she gave birth at week 35 and babies still under care cos not enough weight.

Wah.. today so many posts.

augbaby,
i'll MSN more often when i stop work in apr (hopefully by 21apr). i'll add u in ok?

WORRY
i tik it's woman's nature 2 worry. men just handle things when they come. for me, i worry abt who 2 help me in confinement, whether i can lose my pregnancy weight & the other excess weight (hard for me 2 take any pills since i intend 2 BF for long and BFg didnt help me 2 lose weight), wat type of stroller 2 buy for #2 cos my hand-me-down stroller very 'lok' liao, how 2 handle a toddler & infant after my confinement (i wanna bring my #2 out as often as possible, without sacrificing time wif #1), how 2 handle #1's jealousy once #2 comes out, etc.

Hi Dino
I also worry on those things that u mentioned. I agree that men normally dun worry so much, just sit back and rest watching TV/ soccer.

Hi Kelly
I also have msn, but it's blocked in the office. I have access to it at home but i seldom online at home. Mine is [email protected].

i popped over my friend's place last weekend and she was testing another friend's ameda pump. She has been using avent isis manual pump since she gave birth last Dec. She concluded she is better off with the Manual pump than Ameda as she took longer time to pump out lesser milk cos perhaps

1. her breasts have been used to the manual pump
2. avent has this suction rubber that helps to stimulate the breasts for prduction
3. my friend who lent her the amdea pump mentioned that avent manual pump may work better for women with more milk supply as for her, her milk supply is not as much and ameda helps!

I won't be getting the pump so soon as the warranty sets in the moment you purchased it. And I am thinking since dif pumps work for dif people, maybe I should borrow both types from my friends and try before investing in one?

Anyone knows why apple is good for baby? me loves to drink orange jiuce, eat oranges recently. I worry next time baby have phlegm then all will point fingers at me!

I have avoided ya kun for sometime cos tea must avoid and eggs also no no... so cham!

I have MSN too! anyone else have? Can add me in? then we can all chat when we see each other online but I can only access in the evening and weekends cos office here has firewalls

My email: [email protected]

Hi kelly and bearybear,
I heard from old folks that we must avoid sotong else we may have more difficulty delivering out the placenta than the baby when baby is due. Says something about sotong will make our placenta become "alive" and hence difficult to extract it out... dunno how true...

and mutton apart from "yang dian". another school of thought is "yang sao wei" haha

I am not hairy but my ah lau is! so perhaps eating beef won't be the only factor if baby is hairy? haha!but they say beef gives baby strength. true not?

Hi CT,
talking about my gynae, he even mentioned that best my baby don't grow too big. I am just wondering how he knows my baby will be big huh?

Hi Sierra,
Congrats on having twins! Our thread have triplets and twins so exciting! Is this your 1st pregnancy?

Hi Dino,
Me just came back from short drive trip to KL, Caneron and Malacca. Would be planning another one to Desaru and another one to Tioman soon and perhaps Bangkok too? hehehe

piyo, chrys,
will add u in too.

my office also got firewalls - HUGE ones! i cant even access my yahoo or gmail.

piyo,
y ur gynae said ur bb dun grow too big? my 1st gynae did say b4 tat if my bb hits 3.5-3.6kg, she'll advise me 2 do c-section cos she scared my pelvic area not big enuff 2 push my bb out.

i then consulted my present gynae and tis is wat he advised...
for 1st pregnancies, 90% of the mummies have no problems delivering bbs <3.5kg naturally.
for bbs above 3.5kg, 70% of the mummies deliver naturally. for bb >4kg, he'll BEG the mummy 2 do c-section.

for 2nd pregnancies, the chance of mummies (who delivered naturally in their 1st) delivering bigger bbs naturally is higher BUT for me, if my bb hits 3.5kg, he advised tat i can opt for c-section if i want.

augbaby,
already noted down ur add. will add u in 2nite when i get home.

peacy: think your situation is quite challenging...my mum just told me not to worry too much...take things as it comes. Cos dunno whether we can cope until the babies arrive. Having extra help from family certainly beats spending money to hire ppl....cos with family, they are yours for life....

chrys: thanks

piyo: yes...this is my first pregnancy....kekeke..

so many MSNers!

Hi jasmine
So funny that ur DH also kena ur baby's kick! hehe.. i actually showed it to my DH.

Hi CT
Hang on there ok? I know it's gonna be tough for u, dun be depressed, I support u mentally here.

I MIA for awhile cos' busy, busy... btw, i want to share with all of you that I oso crave for fruits and especially orange juice like many of u... wonder if its peculiar to all Aug MTBs???? Heeeee....

As for MILs, I just want to share with all, that it's going to be a tough time especially for first time mothers living with MILs (note: critical period is during confinement) cos' of our changing hormones, we tend to be very sensitive to alot of things happening around us and the most trivial things that our MILs do will irk us (i've been thru it). We just can't help it.... e.g. u might feel that your MIL wants to "snatch" away your bb when they, as a matter of fact, is just trying to help lor...

I do feel silly after some time and hv had brushes wz MIL during the first yr of my 1st bb cos' i oso kancheong mummy. Nw, I have learnt to take it easy and compromise and glad to say i've earned my PILs' respect with regards to childrearing.

I just visited a chinese physician last week. She is also the lecturer of zhong1 hua2 yi1 yuan4. I asked for some tonic soup suitable for my body type to brew, as i dun dare to buy the herbs myself as i dunno whether suitable to my body. I was given 4 packets of tonic herbs to bu3 qi4. It's kind of soup very nice to drink, cook with lean meat or black chicken. Then i was asked not to drink cold drinks and eat cold stuff, is not good for me. So i just follow lor.

Wanli
Is the Avent IQ pump the one selling at $275 at Taka fair (same as what Rain bought?)

Kelly
Thanks for ur advice on breast pump. I really appreciate that.
I think i'll follow u and my GF's advice - to buy a cheaper one first - which is Avent ISIS manual pump - it costs about $50 after 20% discount during Robinsons sale (another 5% for member). She has been using it since 3 yrs ago and swear by it. So i shall wait for Robinson's Sale. When i am really committed to bf'ing and if i have continual milk supply, I will then invest on a more expensive set. I saw from market place pple selling BN breast pump bcos they can't bf due to health concern and other reasons. So quite a waste if we buy an expensive one and can't use it.

chrys,
i've been taking some kinda chinese herbs everyday since i was 3mths preggie. my mum has a regular chinese sinseh and he prescribed all these chinese herbs into a pill (abt 100pills) for me 2 take everyday. i took it when i had my 1st son. it's meant 2 bu3 qi4, strengthen my womb, help me 2 minimise GD, etc. i cant tell if it's really beneficial but since it's meant 2 b gd, i just take.

the chinese sinseh also said NO cold drinks, cold stuff but i bo hew. hard 2 resist leh.

no prob! gd idea 2 buy a cheap pump then move on 2 a more advanced &amp; ex pump IF u r very determined abt BFg and ur milkflow is established. i do come across a few mummies who cant BF for long bcos of health &amp; other reasons so definitely wasted if u buy expensive pumps in the 1st plc. like i said, i know a few pp who swear by the Avent ISIS manual pump.

I read from babycenter that oranges are good for pregnant women bcos of its high concent of Vit. C. I dunno why pple say avoid oranges &amp; grapes. Sometimes it may be just myths which dun have logical reason behind it.

Hi CJ,

My gynae is fm MAH n he has a clinic in MAH and also opp.Marsiling MRT station.
His name is Dr Kenneth Edward Lee.
He's pretty chatty and his rates are quite reasonable.

His clinic at MAH contact is 6252-5360 and Marsiling is 6368-1311.
So far i've only been to his Marsiling clinic.

I also heard before that oranges are good cos of vit C content. And some did say that if we crave for it means our body or our baby needs the vit c!

Did you realise that from TCM's perspective, they would advise us not to take anything that is cold?

i have taken note of all your emails so that I can add you all in when I am back home this evening or tomorrow night hehe

kelly,
Gynae no say y baby don't grow too big better... or maybe cos I started off overweight? so he worries about complications at birth? Actually now my lower tummy isn't that big at 18weeks! I am still worrying would baby be too small lei.... My fats on the upper tummy is bigger though

WOW so much to enjoy!
Im in office so can add my MSN - [email protected].

Dino,
Well we jus try to be relax cos everyone think alot too.. n its not good cos wat if bb also like us hehehahah..

Piyo,
I have jus added u and hope we can share more too!! well some gynae will worry cos plus size may impose alot prob... if bb too big will oni make us difficult.. wat i feel is to set a target hehe hope bb will range from min 3-3.4kg is the best.. cos much easier to take care too hehe..

Chrys,
Tks for ur mentally support here I RECD it liao
I heard from old ppl say oranges can cause bb to have phlegm n asthma.. actually too much cold drink not v good for us n also bb cos we will have cramps &amp; bb wil may get asthma. BUT my frd she also eat oranges n cold water bb still normal.. maybe it depends.. as wat i say EAT everything in MODERATION.. i do eat oranges but not much.. i also love watermelon so i jus control abit.. papaya will caused jaundice so try not take too much too...

Since so many food we cant eat so we jus agar agar eat bit bit lo hehe.. if not its like a torture to be pregnant NOT fortune!

Kelly,
U can add mi at my abve MSN email okie? I try add u bt u not online n i think for MSN MEssenger oni allows Hotmail,GMail bah..

Well hope more advices will come in more esp on pumps etc cos believing all Mummies wan to give bb e best n try to cut cost too heheh..

CT, rain,
will add u2 in when i get home 2nite. :p

piyo,
hahahahaha, me too! my tummy bigger than my womb.

CT
shouldnt be a problem 2 add me in leh. i'll add u in 1st then u c if u can find me in ur MSN list.

me too, i heard abt eating too much oranges &amp; drinking cold drinks can cause bb 2 have phlegm AND weakened lungs. i also heard tat eating too much bird's nest can cause bb 2 have phlegm too. my question is 'how much is too much?' no 1 will know right until ur bb pops. also, if ur bb gets phlegm, it need not b bcos of too much oranges, cold drinks &amp; bird's nest rt? it could b due 2 other reasons.

tat's y i dun hesitate 2 drink cold drinks. i give tis reason 2 my husband...after he heard my reason, he got no choice but 2 diam diam. when the cold drink enters my body, the drink will no longer b cold wat...cos my body will 'warm' up the drink. if u tik abt it, the cold drink will travel thru the tummy &amp; intestines (thru the blood system 2 get 2 the placenta), so how can the 'fluid' still b cold by the time it gets 2 e bb?

piyo
In TCM's perspective, when we take in cold stuff eg ice water, our stomach (chang2 wei4 in mandarin) will need to do extra heavy work to maintain our body temperature to 37 deg which is the ideal temp for our digest system. So pple who has weak stomach is usually advised not to take cold drinks. As for preggie, our uterus will contract when we drink cold water, it's not good for pregnancy. It's a general advice, but still depends on invidual's body. Maybe those with very strong uterus and stomach finds it no problem at all.

any plus size mummies like me n keely with the top tummy bigger than the womb? URGH!

I did hear some gynae explain that cold drinks is fine cos whatever that goes into our body become warm due to our body temp!

Hi Chrys,
Thanks for the explanation! But I really cannot go without cold drinks for 9 months! that's a torture in such a weather! and I especially like lemon tea and orange juice!

Hi Kelly,
Can you add me in? Cos not sure if MSN accept Yahoo account

Kelly,

Well maybe bird nest we try once a week bah.. cos i intend once a week or every 3days if can jolly afford it.. Buy those to brew not those bottle one not so good...