(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Bottle> I drink Enfamama, my gynea say good for baby bone development.

Any Mother here still having MS ?? I still have my MS but not so frequent as compared to last month.

now in my 11 weeks......but still having MS

Just went for my week 14 check up yesterday. My babies are about 9 to 10 cm and weighing 98g each. They were waving at us yesterday and a lot of kicking movement. So cute.
Will be seeing my gynae again in 3 weeks time. I am supposed to take a blood test then. May I know what test is that?
My colleague just told me not to wear tight fitting top and not to wear pants. She said that it will affect baby's development. Is it true? I was asked to wear dresses more. Anyone has any idea?

peacy,
Hey, great dat ur bbies r growing well. How does ur gynae measure the weight? I went for my NT scan yday. Neck fold thickness within acceptable range. Phew... Like u, i'll be taking blood test during my next visit. I tink it's called triple test, test for HIV, whether u're at risk of certain defects etc.
I tink pants r fine cos maternity pants radjustable. If u're worried, maybe u can get those below belly ones.

bottle,
My enfamama in cold palace :p

e-ling,
When in doubt, always consult ur gynae. Afterall u pay so much for consultation, so any concerns shd voice out. I dun tink gynae will try to hide things from u. Alternatively, do read books on pregnancy or go to websites like babycentre.com

Went to see my gynae yesterday and he mention the NT & Oscar test. May I know is it necessary as gynae say some ppl don really do that all depends on ourself...

Hmm now in 10weeks... bb about 3cm plus but I didnt put on weight instead is still losing.. maybe didnt eat well & e MS so sicko!

when do u start telling your friends about your pregnancy?
anyone holding back?
why?

And is the blood test painful? i am so scared of needles.

Hi Butter8,

Well I tell my close frds when about 2mtm pregnant. Though my IL say must wait after 3mth plus but I felt its a good thing so why hide... jus share to those who are closer to u.
As days & mths goes, stomach bigger others will realise too lo.

As wat i been through in e past having to be poke needles to do watever test, its not scary. Jus don look at it talk to someone n v fast over.

Giving birth is tougher than needles!

hi CT..
heee thanks... okay hope i dun faint.. i used to faint at blood tests when younger keke so somehow managed to avoid... :p

yes my close friends have been telling me the pains of naturel birth, getting snipped or doing a caesarean or being super cold due to epidural.. every choice oso have pain
yeeek
somemore will bleed for 1 month after heavily... xianz

hehehe i sound like i am getting put off, but so far pretty happy being a preggy mum... occasionally emotional but happy..

lucky got u guys around to answer my silly questions...

actually we have to end up buying a lot of maternity wear ya? i mean those who working cant possibly be limited to just a few stuff rite?

what about stretch marks? have u started preventing? any tips or what cream to use?

Hi Butter8,

Well jus try opt out epidural not so good for us & bb too. How many weeks pregnant are u?

As for stretch mark i haven do any prevention cos i belongs to plus size so... whether bikini or not is not my concern hehe BUT there is alot of stretch mark cream in market... i come across 1 brand but cant recall wat is it (mustela) i suppose....

Hmm I jus need more bottoms as I also no working so... jus a few will do. Jus enjoy as preggie n wear anything u like or even sexy! Let ur hb look different side of u!

I M new in this forum, anyway i am pregnant abt 13week++ now, 1st baby, and still havent decide where to deliver my baby either in Malaysia or Singapore, because i m malaysian and husband is singaporean, and i am new in singapore just got my PR recently and live in Sg only abt 3mth....honestly having a financial problem because just buy our own HDB, and i am jobless now, worry if i give birth in malaysia i will have problem in my baby citizen, who can advise me? pls and i dont have any 1 here in Singapore and i dunno what should i do during my confinement month!

Hi Sammi,
if u scare about citizenship problem then you can give birth in singapore. Ask your mother to come over from malaysia or you find a confinement lady here. My sister-in-law a malaysia too. She ask her mother to come over to help her during confinement month.

Back from holiday
!! feel so tired need to work again.....hiazzzz

Hi Sammi,
Don't worry, if yr husband is singaporean then yr bb is definitely singaporean, u can not choose. Unless both of you is PR then you can choose whether u want yr bb to be a singaporean or PR.

Hi peacy,
good to hear everything going well with yr babies. Most of the time I'm wearing pant because I don't like dress. As long as yr pant is not tight I don't think it will affect the bb development. Now already wearing maternity pants, just bought few maternity pants from Spring and feel so comfortable.

Hi Dino,
Please update us yr progress after yr scan

I have went for my NT scan..2 wks ago b4 CNY. My scan result is fine. Now I am also in wk 13+..and happy new year everyone.

Hi Sammi,
yes agree u dun have to worry so much about baby citizenship now since father is sporean. u can choose where u more comfortable in.

hi wanli
so xian to be working now, sometimes ihave no mood, think is cuz my priority change now with baby. i had to work on sat, and really xian about it.

i oso bought some stuff from spring
been digging out some dresses to wear, cuz my suit and pants a bit fitting.
Its not good to wear pants or too fitting skirt issit?

hmmm so long till my next check up... cant wait.

are u all going to get confinement lady? i dun think i can get cuz my place very small already no place for one more pax.

did u al think whether u want natural birth or otherwise? can share, i am still reading up on the options. any advise?

I think i am going into depression... my husband not helping much in wedding preparation. Invitation not printed. My mood swing alot, very easy irritated... I some time think of aborting the baby irregardless whether i am at risk or not.
Ahhhhhh....
And i hate ppl telling me, dont eat this & that. I study nutrition; that no such thing as no cold drink, no coke, no orange.. ahhh
My spine hurt every now & then . Ahhhhh...

sandy,
cheer up wedding preparation is like tat. did u get invitation card from hotel or wat? when is ur Actual day..
my actual day is this coming sunday.
At first i was the same as u, having lots of depression quarrels with parents.
now everything settle...... So u got to cheer up in order to be a happy bride... dun be too stress ok..

Hi Butter8,
You are right, after long holiday really tired to work......think if the skirt or pant too tight you will not feel comfortable also, so try to avoid it.
My gynea said no need to think so much at this moment, she said everything still need to wait after 20 weeks only decide. so I never think should go for natural birth or what :p

Hi honeyhaven,
so fast you already in 13 weeks, so what is yr bb size?

Catherine,
my actual day is 17 March. I got to print the invitation card myself. I have been nagging my husband to handle printing since last month. And i also been chasing after his mother for guest list too. Like Mother like son, both do thing taking their own sweet time.
25 Feb is giving of endowary.. 2 week from now.
I don't enjoy the joy of pregnancy like all u here.
My contract going to end, and i don't wish to continue. But that mean no income on my side, and my husband cannot even support me. What to say about baby but yet he still wants the baby when he knows i am pregnant.
So confusing now... he is like that since ROM & now customary he also the same. Thought having baby he will be taking more initative but....
ahhhhhh

Hi Sandy,
I believe 9/10 husband will not help much in wedding preparation, I can imagine how pressure you are because I also did most of the preparation during my wedding. Somemore now you are pregnant, Pregnant woman very easy get angry, but I think we must control loh.

I know everyone hope to have an unforgetable wedding and everything want to be perfect. but pls remember this is only a process and just a 1 day thingy. Don't let this 1 day thingy make you regret for yr life or affect the relationship between you and yr hubby. Talk with yr hubby and always share with him what you think, it will help.

hahaha, yah.....sometimes I will also feel so tired when people nagging me this can not eat or drink etc...... but now my ears can train until I can filter out those advice that i don't like to listen :p although i know they care about me. but you must always remember everything eat in moderation. (think coke contain caffein so not adviceable to drink too much).

Sandy,
relax...Since u have ROM Customary wont be a problem, My parents and my In laws side both are one kind, i everyday ask them have they written down the name list, but both side nobody done. until CNY got no choice got to complete everythings. Somemore till now lots of things i have buy cos i don't know those traditional customary wat they need and wat they dont want...
since they hack care i also hack care lor.....not my problem. As long theres is bedroom and wedding dinner is done..i have settle my portions of work. the rest is theirs.....if they not doing i wont be doing it....so since they don't worry, u just relax and enjoy ur pregnacy..... let them last min scratch their backside.

My hubby also can't support me.... if i don't work is totally no income for baby.

Hi sandy,

Not to worry much on the customary jus get all done in proper e list etc. Almost all guys wont bothered so ur hb not that terrible too.

Try to see how u can spend less here n there cos i lose my job when discover pregnant and now i even opt out to find CL. Even my own mother in law SO FREE she like not willing to do! So might as well settle it myself n ask my mum come over once a while.

During pregnancy we tends to be more emotional & tears seems to drop down without control. Sometimes we gotta let our HB see if not they think we are so strong without them, cant jus let them sit there n thought we can do everything ah.

I also keep having mood swings n i suffer depression before. Now i jus try tell myself be happy n try look brighter side of life though so many things had happen.... sometime ago posted a topic regards "hb unfaithful" which i facing. I may even result in divorce if things realli so out of control cos we have given chance but its up to them whether they appreciate it.

I have face so much all in a shot, lose job, pregnant, hb unfaithful.. I trying to strong cos.. WE THINK of the life inside us. Talk to bb.. this is wat i been doing.

Gosh hope i not bored all these to u! U do take care okie. Anything u need help on settling customary can email mi or share anything. Now my MS is still e same as worse as e past even now in 10weeks liao.. haiz...

email: [email protected]

Hi Sandy,
What Catherine said is correct, you no need to do all the thing. For me I only settle the name list, table arrangement from my side, my husband's relatives/fren I ask him settle it himslef.

My family and I are not "pantang" type so we didn't totally follow those tranditional way (I don't do "kou da li" at all).

So alot of thing can be separate out and ask him todo, you no need force yrself todo all.

Catherine,
I do all the ROM myself too. But that one is easy, I am told that my mother in law like to do last min changes so i very scared.
When i confirm preg during early dec, my mother told me to quicly do up my wedding room. We quickly paint and wanted to buy furniture, but his dear mother say she wants to back the room. BEcause according to her stupid feng Shui Shi, she sleep back master bedroom can bring her Cai.
I think she is making thing worst.
My husband cannot buy flat either cos he got share with his grandfather in a HDB already. Got stuck.
He really driving me crazy.... I want abortion, then file for separation.

Hi CT,
I saw yr posting on "hb unfaithful", although I didn't join the thread but I really think you are so strong
. Really glad that you can overcome all these.

CT,
I think i am slightly better than u. U so strong...
Haiz...why all guy are like that when come to planning for wedding. I thought it could be a joy to plan wedding together but ....

sandy,
Why don't you speak to your husband about ur idea?
For me my HB also cannot buy Flat cos he already bought this current flat with his mother.
So of no choice cos his father don't wan to move bigger house. If ur MIL wants back to Master bedroom just give her lor...you just take the normal bedroom. No point make a fuss with that..i stay with my hubby i also anything...I am lucky that my MIL and FIL both are nice to me lar. so i anything anytime i want to use the MBR toilet i just go. cos is understood i can't squat.

Hi Wanli,

Thankd. Though now i can only try to overcome n tend to get upset as n when.. but jus tell myself wait for e arrival of bb in mi... whether there is hb or not doesnt matter at all liao. Sometimes i believe i can live better without him. I have given all e chances its up to him now. When we are so dishearted thats it.. end of everything..

Sandy, I used to tot planning a wedding is both party but its seems a bit wrong liao n as if ITS US we wanted it to be perfect instead. Preparing is one thing, most imptly is e life after wedding is the most IMPT part.

Sandy,
u still got to talk to him....... if not the marriage will not be perfect.... if he wants the baby, you both got to have a good chat.

Hi Sandy,

If he don realli wan to talk.. try other alternative. Write email to him. Let ur feelings known to him..

Communication is impt though but even we gals put effort e guys just slacking we also cant help it.

It takes both hand to clap whether a marriage is good or down slope.

Hmmp,
I normally report back to his shop straight after work but yesterday i go back to my own home (mother place). He sms asking where am I but i never reply.
He came back to my house later but we never talk till now.
So pissed off.
I think i got to do printing of invitation card, order cake etc myself.
i got no eyes to see what happen that day, regret never do ROM & customary all at once.

Hi Sandy

I'm from the April MTB thread.. I had my ceremony last June.. and I can empathise with how you are feeling now..

My hubby was overseas most of the time during the preparations.. I had to handle all by myself..

1. the renovation and cleaning of the house ready for the tea ceremony

- imagine my contractor only hand over the house to me 2 weeks b4 my ceremony.. none of the furniture was in yet and the house was very dusty.. and I had to clean my executive flat all by myself..

2. entire preparation of the wedding banquet

- my wedding coordinator screwed up and gave me heaps of problems..

3. I had to work OT all the time, even through sats and suns then

4. My ILs were unhappy with my side, accusing my mother of arranging the customary in such a way that it benefits my dialect group and it is bad for my hb's dialect grp.. (when she is the one who asked my mum to settle all the customary procedures our way)

At that time, I really felt that the ceremony and the banquet itself was going to be really disasterous.. and I was very depressed then.. but miraculously.. everything turned out very well and many of our guests commented that they had an enjoyable evening at our banquet.. so don't worry too much.. things will turn out well in the end..

Dont be rash in saying that you want to abort your baby.. can you imagine the joy of feeling our babies kicking us for the very first time? My baby has been moving in my tummy non-stop since the 4th - 5th month.. and it is a feeling of pride and joy which I can't describe in words..

Hunniepot,
Thanks Alot . But the i really worry that i cannot support the baby. I am only 24 & I did not expect baby to come so soon. Though my husband assure me that he can support which i doubt so cos i ask if he can support me by just only giving me 3 meals and $300.00 a mth to my mother. His reply was no. What more to ask about supporting baby which cost more.
Haiz.. Maybe that what ppl say the baby is fated to come. Now i leave everything to God to settle

hi hunniepot & Sandy,

sorry to hear about your stress and problems.. hope things get better!

i am going thru some changes at work too, cuz my co. just got bought over so we will be going thru some changes... maybe retrenchment etc...

bad timing for me cuz i join them not long and now get preggy... but i will just hope for the best and pray..

hope to keep my job for the year at least, so after i give birth, wont have to stress immediatly to find job.

and my hubby at least wont have to stress about financial burden...

thinks positive gals!

hey ladies
Just did my OSCAR test at TMC. It went pretty smoothly and I got the good results today. Good luck too to all who are going to go through tests!
I'm sorry to hear from those with so much stress and problems. Pregnancy should be a happy time. Do look forward to your next gynae appointments and the chance to see your babies again. The joy you get when u see the little hands and feet moving around and the fun of seeing the little nose bridge, spine and eyes will hopefully help make up for all the lousiness of your day and the negative people around you. Take care!

Don't be scared of the blood test. It's quite straightforward. My blood was drawn from my arm vein at the elbow joint. Just don't look at the process and keep talking to the nurse. It's over before you realise it. Then the blood they draw (one syringe worth) is divided into 3 bottles and sent for testing. Because I also went for the nural assessment test for Down's syndrome, I brought one tube to the fetal assessment unit for analysis. The blood test together with the neck measurements for the babies will give an indication of the Down's syndrome risk factor in your case. The blood test measures the level of a certain hormone in your blood which is indicative of the likelihood of the baby having Down's. The result is usually ready quite quickly.
Hope that helps!

Hi Sandy,

I knowhow u feeling esp facing those financial prob! I was like this too... my hb salary was almost all dried up to pay banks settle e debts we have and i lose my job without any savings.

So now is like gosh can i even take tonic for my bb or eat better for myself too... instead of gaining weight i been losing partly cant eat well wit the MS whole day round. I was thinking like u to abort e bb but when u c e heart beat n feel inside u, think thrice that is wat i do. I tell myself die die i must bring bb to this world.

Now i know tough to find job but i didnt give up. I look for temp or part time send in resume don care whether relevant or not at least i tried my best. If worse to worse find MAC hehe... jus have some income.. for our bb n ourself to eat bit well.

Few things could be save for bb is look around who don wan bb cot & stroller. Old bb clothings is good too but of cos all in good conditions. For mi i opt out CL so save alot there.

Wanna to share more... jus buzz mi okie.
Email or MSN will do.. jus let mi know..

Take care n WE CAN BE STRONG!

I am from the June 06 thread & am consolidating the next bulk purchase for Neurogain Pb fish oil plus. For me, gynae recommends taking the capsules from 3rd month. It costs about $31 (30 capsules) to buy from the gynaes and pharmacies.
I have contacts to get at $26.50 each for a minimum of 5 bottles.

Pls kindly email [email protected] by 15/2/06. Thank you

Anyway, for those who are clueless abt Neurogain PB plus fish oil, these are the info.

Product Details
DHA & AA: EFA`s with a structural & functional outcome.

Everybody needs DHA & AA. DHA & AA are particularly important early in life to meet structural requirements for brain & eye development, growth and immune functions. DHA & AA enter into the composition of biomembranes and play an important role in the proper functioning of the membranes and receptor-neurotransmitter functions.

Our ability to synthesize DHA & AA from precursors ALA & LA is limited. We rely more on dietary sources of DHA & AA rather than conversion from precursors. It means, the less we get DHA & AA from our diet, the less we have in our body. At times of high requirements, like during pregnancy & lactation, such a dietary intake should not be neglected in order to minimize the risk of deprivation. DHA & AA can be found in fish & eggs.

A healthy & balanced diet is particularly important during pregnancy & lactation to minimize the risk of fetal dietary deprivation. Conditions like closely spaced pregnancies, multiple pregnancies, unhealthy maternal diet, lifestyle should require extra attention.

?Maternal DHA consumption during pregnancy and lactation continues to be studied intensively as a means to improve pregnancy outcomes as well as to optimize perinatal brain and retinal development.?

What is NeuroGain PB PLUS
NeuroGain PB PLUS is a special formulation of conditionally Essential Fatty Acids for Pregnant & Breast-feeding women. NeuroGain PB PLUS is rich in DHA, low in EPA with AA & OA to help Pregnant & Breast-feeding women meet important pre & peri natal nutritional requirements. NeuroGain PB PLUS provides a balanced intake of omega 3 Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA), omega 6 Arachidonic Acid (AA) and omega 9 Oleic Acid (OA) fatty acids.

Who needs NeuroGain PB PLUS

Pregnent & breast-feeding

History of low birth weight, pre-term births

Frequent, multiple pregnancies

Allergy to fish & eggs

Poor, unbalanced maternal diet

What is the ratio of DHA : EPA in NeuroGain PLUS ?
The NeuroGain PLUS "DHA oil" is specially concentrated in DHA and diluted in EPA to mimic natural levels of DHA & EPA in the human milk in line with WHO recommendations for DHA supplementation at an early stage of life.

Early in life, high EPA levels may lead to: increased blood loss at the time of delivery , depressed AA status and affected growth.

Ingredient
DHA-rich edible fish oil, AA, OA, EPA and Vitamin E as antioxidant in a soft bovine gelatin capsule (gelatin, glycerine, water)

The DHA: EPA ratio in this formulation is higher than 10:1.

Direction

Dosage : Take 1 capsule daily with meals or as directed by your physician.

Thanks CT> ya u r right, when i know i am tested positive using preg kit my first thought was abort it. But when i see the little tiny heart pumping i drop off the idea and believe that my husband can really take care of the baby. This few day is a big struggle... He apologies yesterday and he say he will get the printing of ivitation card done. Hmm.. let wait & see.
Hmm zhihi, when will we know the blood test result? 2 more days to it.

Hi Sandy,
Pls be strong and dun stress. i am sure that you can handle your wedding. Sometimes hubby needs us to nag at them to do things, esp during the process of the wedding preparation. try to stay at the brighter side, then next time your baby will look cheerful too

Hi Wanli, Chrys,
I had my NT scan last mon. My baby was moving a lot non-stop. It takes more than 5mins before Dr Wong could measure the neck thickness. My baby was very active. It is now 72mm at wk 13. Did dr wong told u that we could do 3D scan, but it cost abt $300 per scan, but she will be able to print a lot for us? May i know when is your next visit?

oooh all your scans sounds soo exciting.. baby really swiming around? wow

i am very scared of any blood test, little blood will faint type haha, but now no choice, must do for baby... still waiting... my turn will only come in 2 weeks... counting down...

any of you get sick during pregnancy, like flu or sorethroat? I am getting sick now, wondering what we can take to get better?

Hi Butter,

My appt also in 2 weeks time the blood test - triple test.

I keep on getting sick. Like headache and sore throat. I got it 2 weeks ago and i got it again yesterday. I took MC yesterday. Still not recover.. The doctor giv me lozgenes and sore throat medicine. But my HB dun allow me to take medicine.. Only cna eat lozenges. I gruggle salt water and drink barley water also. Hope can recover faster...

anyone of you here tummy start showing? My sup ask if i am preggy when she look at my tummy. It is getting big & hard below the waist area. My waist still 28 ich till now but my hip look more and more wider.