(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

peacy,
Pls check yr email

Hi Wanli,

I have done my NT scan on my last visit last week at Wk12. My nect appt will be on Wk 17 and I will be doing triple test.

Hi Butter8,
then u have to eat more to avoid being hungry. else u get very irritated :)

Hi ningyo,
Dr Ong can deliver in Mt A. I already sign the package with him already. Dun worry.

Hi Peacy,
So good. you can see ur bb in 2 weeks time. I can only see my bb in 5 weeks time. My next appt date on 15/2. :-( How many weeks are you now?

Hi Wanli
I have got the number. Just send an e-mail to you. Got some questions which needs your help to clarify. Thanks!

Hi Rain
I am going to week 13 now. My appt is quite different from you gals coz I have triplets and my gynae needs to monitor them closely.

Rain,
my gynea say is late July but he is now very uncertain after he saw the size of my baby during ultra scan.
My baby is only a peanut size at week 8 ( according to LMP ) and about week 12 can see leg and hand.

Hi wanli

bb was sleeping with hands and legs sticking up that's why cld see
Cld hear heartbeat again too - it's a lovely sound. Going at about 170 beats per min.

ugh, nausea is back again...

Hi peacy,
Just replied yr email.

Thanks Sandy, yah, national baby is good
! My EDD is on 2/Aug.

Hi Zshih,
What kind of scan yr doctor using? 2D or 3D? I still can not hear the heartbeat, may be my doctor machine not that advance...... but able to take the heartbeat measurement
it is 140/min. Yr bb heartbeat really fast.

Hi wanli

I think bb's heartbeat shd slow down as it grows bigger - since you're more advanced in your pregnancy and your bb is bigger, that would make sense.

My doctor uses a 2D machine but it is a new and advanced model because she changed machines after my first appointment. It has a Doppler mode so when she places the cursor (I think) on the screen over the heartbeat, can hear.

hi wanli, Perfect MUm has a few branches. They have one at 3rd fl, The Arcade and one outlet at Kovan, Heartland Mall. Tik they are having 10% disct now. Are you happened to be wkg near town area?
During my 7.5wk, when my doc scanned the baby, we can already see the head althou its abit blur when the pic was taken. I guess its becos the baby was moving so the motion becomes blurred when pic was taken. I was v amazed. Next appt is 1 feb..still so long.. cant wait to see baby again. ;)

BTW, how many weeks are you at now, Wanli??How are you feeling?

Heard pregn woman shld avoid papaya n carrots. cos it may cause baby to have jaundice. have anyone heard of tis before?

Thanks Jasmine for infors

Yah, I'm working in town area. Must find some time to buy some new pants before new year, just feel that my tummy is getting bigger.
I'm 12 weeks, going to 13 weeks tomorrow. I still feel nausea sometimes but don't feel easily tired anymore, now can stay awake until 11pm. Last few weeks before 10pm I already went to sleep :p.
Papaya I don't know why can not eat may be too "liang" but carrot is because of too many vitamin A.

hie Wanli, definitely your tummy will be getting bigger. its v normal. im only 9wks but tummy areadi quite big. i have burping prob sometimes. appetite is quite good. can eat 6meals a day. hehee.. i also sleep at abt 11pm everyday. but i tend to take afternoon naps during wkends. For 2 hrs!! I thot we need vit A too. that will help in the absorption of vit C.

Pple said these 2 items will cause jaundice, baby to be "yellowish" when borned..

Jasmine,
that is a myth. Old folk always link those color to Jaudice . 50% of the new born have Jaudice because their liver might nt fully develop . It will go off by itself unless it is really serious.
But eating over dosage of carrot will cause side effect to yourself - even to normal ppl. Your skin will turn yellow.
Hope this ans your question.

wanli,
I forgot how much i bought the maternity pants cos i bought these during my 1st pregnancy. But shd be below $60.

sandy,
Epidural is a form of pain relief. Old pple normally will advise u against epidural cos will cause backache thereafter. However, i tink it's the best pain relief ever, & i have no qualms abt having epidural administered during my delivery again.

jasmine,
Yes, i did hear abt these myths & i faithfully followed them during my 1st pregnancy. I avoided yellow noodles as much as i can, dun take much curry, papaya etc. This time round, i have craving for papaya & orange (which I oso heard is no gd cos may cause bb to have lots of phlegm next time). So i eat a slice of papaya after lunch each day n orange after dinner.

I went for 12 week checkup yesterday at ACJ clinic and did the oscar test and NT scan. 3 test tubes of my blood was sucked out to test for various disease, eg down syndrome, thalasemia, HIV, Hep B, etc, those stipulated by MOH. The result looks fine. There's a follow up checkup at week 20 for detail scanning only, no more blood test.

My baby's length is now 73mm at week 12. Doctor said from the length, it should be at week 13, but doesn't matter, only few days difference. Doctor congratulated me for bidding farewell to my 1st tri, which means i can start to enjoy my pregnancy. But she said, start shopping for baby stuff only after week 20 scan, when if the result's ok, the pregnancy is 98% safe.

jia you to all mummies!!

Oh ya, just to share. My gynae said folic acid is critical in first 3 months, after which we can stop taking it if we really hate swallowing tablets, and also we actually dun need such high dose of 5mg/day. If we r taking multivit, there's some little amount of folic acid too. However, no harm to take it also la, for mother's own good, as it's good for "bu xie" (to be more kiasu.. :p)

She said we should take more Calcium at 2nd semester. Drink milk everyday, else must take Ca supplements. Much later on, emphasis is on fish oil, she will give fish oil tablets bcos the normal old fisherman fish oil sold outside has too high dose of Vit A.

Hi sandy & Bearybear, thanks for sharing.
bearybear, does your 1st baby had jaundice when born?
yep, shld try to avoid oranges as it may cause phlemgn and baby may tend to coughing next time.
i tried to have a variety of fruits now.

hi chrys, so much blood was drawn from you for the triple tests?! is this the usual case for everyone? goodness then u must really eat more tonics to replace the blood.

Congrats Sandy Twin happiness!! Be a most gorgeous bride and happy mummy
Woman in wedding gown and pregnant woman are most beautiful. U have them both, so imagine how beautiful will u bcome!!

Hi Bottle,
Sharks meat cannot eat, sharks fin can eat? Well, i personally think there isn't much shark meat in sharks fin soup, furthermore, how many bowls of sharks fin soup can u eat one day. If u only take one/two bowl of shark fin soup during ur whole 9 months, i dun think it'll harm ur baby.

Hi wanli,
I personally find Perfect Mum's pants are not bad, my fren who gave birth before also said so, though is not cheap. I bought one at $60+ after discount. Another new outlet at Suntec Family Link, Spring maternity and few other maternity shops are at the same stretch.

Oh ya, i just bought 2 pieces of denim pants and capri online, and collect it personally at Queenstown, or u can ask for delivery with postal charge. Not exp, around $25 each, got $5 discount some more, material quite soft.
http://www.sassymom.com.sg/

I signed up package with Dr Wong yesterday, $598 starting week12, so from now on dun have to pay, except for detailed scanning.

Eating carrots, tomatoes, papayas and mangos (the red color fruits) is ok, though it has Vit A, but we r unlikely to take so much of it to get too much of Vit A. Eg how much carrots can we eat in a day? Even if we drink carrot juice, as long as dun take it everyday, it's still ok. Agree to Sandy that jaundice is bcos baby's liver is not fully developed, that's y they need UV light or can bring them expose to sunlight, but must take care of protecting their eyes.

Hi Makeupfairy,
Thanks for sharing the babaycare exhibition.

Has any of u signed up antenatal class at TMC or elsewhere already?

Hi Jasmine,
Haha. I wasn't doing triple test, it's oscar test, but the blood is also for testing of other disease required by MOH. One needle test all better than do it at separate times. It's ok, the blood is negligible compared to the delivery..
I'd gained 3-4kg, so it's ok for the blood lost, i'll get it back

Hi Wanli
I called the confinement lady yesterday. She has been booked till July so she can't help me. Anyway, she also mention that she is not able to look after 3 babies at one time. I guess I have to stick the original one that charges $2.8K.

Jasmine,
My 1st child didn't have jaundice.
I eat boring fruits like apple, orange and papaya these days. Watermelon looks so yummy but cos it's a 'liang' fruit, so i nvr eat.
Dun worry abt the blood test. Sounds like alot of blood taken but not much pain one.

If u're planning to sign up for antenatal class, I heard dat the one in TMC is very gd. But instructor must be Wong Boh Boh (not sure if i got the name rite). Anyway, she wrote a book on bbcare and was featured in the CNA show when Wong Lilin was preggie wif her 1st child.

My mother and the old folk banned me from eating mandarin orange which is my favourite. i wonder why they link orange color food to jaudice....
It is all myth, we need Vitamin C...

Hi chrys,
Finally you back from yr NT scan, waiting for yr update
. Wah, yr baby bigger than my baby alot although we r same in 12 weeks. Think because I didn't gain much weight that's why bb also small.
Is that you get to know the blood result test immediately? So yr next visit is on 20 weeks not 16 weeks?

I will do my triple test on 16 weeks together with all those HIV and Hep B together, heard the nurse said also need 3 tubes of blood......now already feel so scary
I afraid to see blood and needle. Is it pain?

So u still have any MS? I can feel my MS getting better these 2 days
, today will be my 13th weeks. Yeah!!

I also plan to sign up antenatal class in TMC but just thinking should we need to sign up so early?

Hi Sandy,
Can not eat mandarin orange? I still eating :p, think not too much should be ok. I did asked my doctor whether can eat orange or not but she said "Yes, why not?". She just afraid me eat too much will cause gastric because orange got alot of acid may easily cause gastric during pregnancy but she said if I don't have gastric then can continue.

Hi Wanli,
they scare later when baby born, the baby will get cough very often. Orange very heaty . They have alot of reason for stopping you. So sad, after lunar new year, the mandarin orange not nice any more.
I haven got a chance to upload my baby ultra scan pic. e-mail u asap k.

Anyone tummy started to show.. Me very worried that it will be very big & obvious during traditional married - held 17 March 2006 though most of my relatives & friends knows about it.

sandy,
Mine start to show abit oredi. By ur customary wedding, how many mths will u be? U stay wif ur mum? Eat secretly lah, jus dun eat too much. I tink scientifically, orange coloured food contains a substance call beta-smthg (forgot the exact name). N eating too much of such food causes discolouration of skin colour. Jus like if we adults eat too much carrots/papaya, our hands may appear orangey/yellow. Hence the connection to jaundice bah.

wanli,
The class by this popular instructor, u'll have to sign up earlier. If not, no vacancies.

Hi Sandy,

I am on my wk 13 now but it has not started to show yet.

The reason why we cannot eat oranges is bcos they are afraid that bb will cough and have a alot of phelgm after bb is born.

And yesterday my sis told me that my face is getting rounder and rounder although i only gain 2kg . I am so sad. My SIL told me that usually the first thing to get fat is your face.. Is it true?

Bearbear,
the correct term is beta - carotene.. My major is nutrition when I was in poly. Jaudice don't relate to orange color food but u know old grandmother myth. I will be about 4 mth plus when i do customary. My tummy now kept having ingestion adn bloatinf problem, when my tummy get bloated it look like as if i am 6 mth pregnant according to my in law. But when it is not, it is only just the small tummy i used to have.

My tummy is show although not that big but really can not hide. Totally can not see my waist already.......
look so fat. but dun feel my face getting rounder....

Hi Sandy,
It is really something you can not control. Just be more natural on that day if you feel nothing then people will not say anything. Just enjoy yr big day, worrying just can not help

My tummy has been obvious since week 7 onwards. Now my waistline is about 35 inches. I look like as if I am 4 to 5 month pregnant although I am only in my week 13. I wonder does melon seeds cause indigestion and bloatedness? I love to eat melon seeds. I thought my MS is over but yesterday immediately after my dinner, I vomitted out everything I took.

I just measure my waist yesterday, still the same 28cm so relieved but got to maintain it until 17 march . So everyday i tell my tummy , be good show only after my customary, don't grow so fast.
It seem to work. hahaha

Sandy, then u r still on the slim side, before pregnant my waist is 27 inch now already 32 inch especially in the afternoon with all wind inside look bigger......

Peacy, I think it is normal for you because u have triplets

Honeyhaven,
then we can celebrate anniversary together.. haha
Choose 17 March cos it is sch holiday easy for my parent who is driving children bus.
I still have 2 week more b4 i can see my baby again..

Hi wanli,
Maybe bcos my EDD range from 29/7 to 2/8 whereas urs is on 2/8, so my baby may be bigger than urs. But gynae said it's still ok for now, if later on she finds that my baby grows too big, she has to stop me for eating too much.
Too big baby cannot give birth naturally, must caesarean.

My appt at level 4 laboratory is the earliest, which is 930am. After registration, 10am the nurse took my blood, then the radiographer called me to the room and started to scan the baby. But the baby's kneeling facing downwards, the radiographer said baby no manner, showing pple his backside. Since the position not right, I rest outside first.

After 1/2 hr, i went in again, baby still the same position, but i dun get to see the screen as it's facing the radiographer. She pressed very hard on my abdomen until i feel painful, baby still lying upside down, she then bcame impatient and use the scanner to shake and hit on my abdomen, trying to make the baby move. I was frightened by her sudden hit on me, furthermore i was keeping full bladder, it really hurt me. I know the baby did move abit from my DH's expression, then i was asked to cough to make baby change position, and lie side ways. After a while, able to get neck thickness measurement at 11am.

While waiting for the blood test result to be ready at 4pm, I went home to rest. My appt with Dr Wong was 430 on the same day, but the report was late for 45min, so I waited till 5.15pm. I told Dr wong i didn't get to see my baby justnow as the screen was not facing me, so nice of her, she did another scanning on me and let me have the printouts as usual. I was the last patient for the day, the lights at counter were all switched off, all staff left except for the malay lady.

My next visit at clinic is on 25 Feb, follow up detailed scan at lab is on 11 Mar.

Don't worry about the blood test. It's really not painful at all. The needle head is very very tiny that u dun really feel the pain. The blood will just flow out slowly into the tube and not gushing out (not the pulling type tube).

I have not been having any MS yet till now. Dr Wong said it's unlikely that we'll have it in 2nd tri, but some women will get it back at 3rd tri as the tummy's big enough to press on the stomach.

I wanted to book TMC antenatal class too but dunno whether to book it now.

Chyrs,
How many mth are u now. It seem like your baby is big to me. Can take neck measurement already.
I am controlling my diet.. me not gaining wt but reduce instead, however the nurse there say it is ok . Cos my baby asorbing my food