(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

butter,
Yar, i had a confinement lady the other time. Recommended by my SIL. I'll be getting her again tis time. I tink a CL is necessary for 1st time mothers. She'll help you in the handling of bb, so dat u're not at a loss. Provide u with advice, cook nutritious confinement food etc. I paid $1800 (excl AP) for mine and she does basic housework as well. My hubby does the marketing and she'll cook wat he buys. Sometimes, she'll tell him wat to buy. As for strictness, it all depends on whether u wanna follow the rules strictly. I tink u shd get those who r recommended by frens or relatives.

thanks bearybear..
the extra help sounds impt... i dun think i can handle alone, even with my mum's help.

how much in advance must we book a CL? Have to start looking around i guess...

anyone got backache? what do u do to lessen the ache? i used to go massage but now cannot rite...
sigh

butter,
The best is to book ASAP cos gd CL r taken up very fast. If can afford, it's defintely betta to get one. Ur mum can help but it may have been some time since she took care of a newborn.

My grandma just pass away yesterday, can i attend the wake (funeral)?? I heard someone said cannot cos not good for the baby? Is it true?

Ms chng>> I am meeting my designer this saturdat to alter my gown bigger though i still can wear my biggest size jean that i have before i preggy. the jean is meant to be wore at the hip about 26 inch.
I just went to see gynea today, so surprise to see baby grow so big in just 4 wk time. Accorrding to the head measurement i already 16wk 4 day preg..
so i am an late July mummy or same as wanli.

Rain>>>> DR Chen at Bishan 8 women clinic.
Today do blood test, i few nothing after she draw blood from me . But a half an hour later, i few so nausea and tired.
E-ling>> i heard from old ppl, they say preg women better don't go funeral. Else u will miscarried. They say will "CHONG " the baby inside. U take care hor..

Hi Sandy,
I have to wait for next sat for my next appt. Also doing Triple test. My EDD is still 1/8. Will EDD change all the time?

Hi Eling,
I heard better not go. But this is your grandma. I think you should ask your mum whether to go to pay the last respect of her.

Rain, my sister-in-law say EDD is only estimate. Most of the time, u will either give birth two week early or later.
It depends... if the gynea see your baby not growing he/she will have to force it out.

Hi Sandy,
So how you feel after you see yr bb progress so well
? It is amazing right? Don't worry too much about yr size, I just ask my fren most of them said their tummy still hardly see even after 4 mths. Since you can still wear yr jean at this stage I think you should be fine during yr wedding, cheer up!

Hi Rain,
The EDD is just estimate, not that accurate.

Hi Dino,
I still taking folic acid. I did ask doctor wong and she said need to take throughout the whole pregnancy.

hi dino,
I've stopped taking folic acid. My gynae has given me multi-vits, calcium tablets and fish oil to be taken until i deliver.

I went for my checkup last friday. I saw my baby actively kicking.
I was at wk 13+ on that day of my checkup, baby measured at 6.8cm. BTW, has anyone manage to know the sex of yr baby.. My gynae tried to see, but he says not very clear yet...He says will be able see to in my next visit.. Does anyone know already?? I am still taking folic acid, multivitamin and fish oil.

hi dino,
I've stopped taking folic acid. My gynae has given me multi-vits, calcium tablets and fish oil to be taken until i deliver.

butter,
Ask for recommendations from friends, colleagues or relatives.

honeyhaven,
My next visit is tis thur, where i'm 14 weeks. Dunno and see gender or not. Will update all of u if my gynae can see the gender. Hehehe...

Sorry for the double posting earlier...

Has anyone tummy show already??? Mine showed already.. and although some of my office people knows that i am preggie...they will say i look so plump or fat..haizzz... Ask me whether i ate too much recently.. but for those ladies who have given birth b4 will says that my tummy just look right for the number of mths i am now.. But inside me i just feel sad for those stupid people who say that look plump or fat.. I have gained 5kg already, now already 57kg. Haizzz. Never gain so much weight b4. Is it really too much for now?? Almost every 2kg for every 3wk gynae's visit. My gynae still ask me whether i am eating well or not... haizzz. What is the rate u ladies going now??

Hi Honeyhaven,

I am in my 14 wk now. My tummy also sho already but only gain so far about 2 kg leh. You must have very good apettite is it? But anyway, good that you can eat, maybe can try to reduce your carbo intake though it is still a must to keep your energy going...

But do you feel abit uncomfortable with your tummy? i feel bloated, abit tingling pain/discomfort when walking..like many things inside like that..seems so fragile..

bearybear, the nurse there told me that the most accurate is when u are in week 20 then see the sex. Cos u will be going for the detail scan...
Wanli>>> feel nothing cos i cannot really see the full body of the baby, my placenta block me from seeing. Left 4 week to my wedding day.. i will go for detail scan on my next visit.

Hi yipee,
I guess i really gained too much weight for now... haizzz. I think i have to watch my diet.. Thank you for replying.

Mummy here,
Have u all tell your empoyer that u are preggy?? I am stuck
cos my contract end next month and i don't know whether they want to continue or not.. Hiaz how?

This week is Wk 16. My next visit is this sat. Doing triple test. Fr detail scan, i beleive have to wait unitl my wk20 which is my next next visit.

Hi Sandy,

I already told my boss when i am week 11 as he asked me to go outstation. My hb dun want to to fly as he say no good for the bb. SO I let him know my case lor.

Hi Honey,

In my 1st trimester, i gain 4kg.
But i am having bad flu for the whole of last week. I weigh during wkkend and i lose 1kg.. So now I keep on eating to gain it back. I am 53.8kg now

rain>> how do u pop the preggy news?? I really don't know what to do. Wait till they continue my contract or tell b4 they decide?

Hi Wanli,
I told Dr wong i feel very yacks after taking those pills. i asked if i could stop after completing the folic acid. She said ok and will prescribe fish oil for my nxt visit. I am currently taking folic, multi-vit and calcium tablets. When is your next visit? Do update me.
I have gained 2.5kg during my 1st trimester.

Hi Sandy,

I just told him that i have problems travelling bcos i am pregnant. He told me that he understand that 1st 3 mths cannot travel.

Hi Dino, wanli and all,

I just visited Dr Wong again on last Sat. Actually it's a last minute appointment, i called on Thurs but was told the app was very full. But Dr Wong said she'll asked Hazel to squeeze me in at 1.30pm, last app of the day. I'll be travelling to Malaysia this Fri, that's y i need Dr's advice on whether i m alright to travel, since it's second time flying in the same month. After routine scan, Dr said no problem flying, since travel time is only 1 hour and baby is quite active. My baby now measures 101mm, heart beat rate 157, still cannot see gender.

Hi Dino
Ur medicine all bought from Dr Wong? May i know what's the brand of multivit that she gave u? Calcium how many mg prescribed to u per day? As i got my medicine myself from outside, just wanna try to get the same brand and dosage as what she prescribed. Thanks! In last visit, Dr wong said no need to take folic asid also alright after 1st tri, as we dun need such high dosage of 5mg/day.

My weight before pregnant is 44kg, it's now 49!

I had to tell my colleagues pretty early (7weeks) that i was preggy cuz I cant travel. I missed an incentive trip
but everyone was asking why I didnt go & cancelled all my flights. Lucky my boss understand, so put on hold my flying for these few months. I need to fly early march, waiting for doc ok nex week to see how.

Anyone plan 4 a short holiday?

Hi Honey,
I dun dare weigh myself if not i get depressed :p I put on about 3kg in my 7 week but now I dunno how much more I put on, I crossing fingers I stablize. hehe next week i will get weighed at the hospital and will know.. :p

Hi Chrys,

I asked my gynae if i can stop taking folic.. He say it is better to continue for the whole pregnancy. I also eat multivit and calcium whch i dun like it

Hi Rain
The folic acid is crucial in 1st tri as it helps to prevent baby born with neural tube birth defects, so we need as much as 4-5mg a day. But after 1st tri, it's not that crucial. However if we dun hate swallowing tablet, we still can take as "bu xue" (blood). Anyway, folic acid also can be found in multivit, green leafy vege or added in antenatal milk powder.
Hee.. but i also continue to take it lah.. it's so small, easy to swallow. I am planning to replenish mine, saw it's selling at NTUC pharmacy, 100 tab for ~$2.15. What brand of multivit u taking?

Hey all,

I've stopped folic too. Now, on multi-vitamins, the pink tablets which contain folic, iron and calcium. Went to gynae just week when I was about 14 weeks. baby was 7++cm then. Doc said 60% boy.

My tummy is also showing, which could be much earlier than some of you cos it was my second pregnancy. Feel very bloated and tight after meals too. The good thing is my appetite has returned and am gaining weight.

But huh, tummy is still not big enough for pple to give up their seats to me. Strange, my relatives and frens could see my bulge and guess I'm pregnant but not those on the train.

Hi Augustmum,

Well as for my experience, i wear preggie clothing to show im preggie in case ppl jus knock mi esp in train.. as so kiasu without looking lo... as once there is a young couple nearly make mi fall!

Sometimes ppl will not give up seat esp guys or young ppl. Once i was realli feeling sick on e train.. lucky a auntie of late 50s give up to mi cos she saw that i was in preggie clothings. Of cos we must be polite to thank her BUT not feeling its right for them to give lo.

Its such a scary society.. being preggie seems so tough too n no one can understand till they experience it bah.

Im now into 12weeks... hmm sometime even forget or maybe lazy to take folic acid. So while i jus find source from green leafy vege, unsweetend soya milk, antenatal milk which i take once a day as i have more serious MS (should be MS, AS, NS!) Hope it will go away soon..

Cant wait to see e sex of my baby

I agree that the pple in train just being ignorant/ pretendous to give away their seat to pregnant women. Well, when i am wearing loose T-shirt still can say i am fat and not pregnant, but recently i have been wearing maternity clothings, the pple sitting comfortably in train did look at me, look at my tummy, observe, but close their eyes and pretend to be asleep!

cos i'm abit fat, people thought i'm just fat and not pregnant. Looks like I must buy and start wearing the pregnancy clothings liao... every morning the crowd in the train SUPER kiasu, run and push their way to get seats... I really ashamed of them...

Hi Dino,
Read from many books after 1 trim, folic acid already not that critical. but i heard many people said fish oil more difficult to swallow that's why i ask Dr wong give me when she think it is really needed. I will go to see her this weekend

Hi chrys,
So the extra visit is not included in the package? I bought the folic acid from Guardian, it is exactly same as the one precribe by Dr. wong.

Hi wanli
I think whenever and whatever we think uncertain, we can always visit her, but before that, just make a phonecall for appt time. It's not extra actually, I cancelled my appt on 25 Feb and made it earlier on 11 Feb, bcos i have somethng to consult her. I did write email to her too, and surprisingly, she replied emails almost on the same day! Anyway, after my visit on 11 feb, she said i can come back again after 2 weeks if i wan, since my next appt is on 11 Mar, still a month away, so nice of her.

my appt is also end of this week. And is on my 16weeks going to 17 weeks by then. Hope to see the gender of the bb too. Doing the triple test and my detail scan will be on my week 20 visit.

I have not felt any bb movements yet.. Right now at my stage, i actually dun feel preggy anymore. only a small bump like my tummy.. So I am quite worried.

Saturday seems to be so long way to go.. sigh

Hi Rain,
I have the same feeling as you, so don't worry
. At this stage we don't have anymore MS, everything look like normal. I also don't feel any bb movement yet, but my tummy still quite bloated sometime.

I'm 13 weeks pregnant. I feel worried too as I don't feel I'm preggy too. Except feel bloated. Is it normal?

Jas, it is normal for being bloated. My Gynea ask me to go parmacy buy Gavicon . A Pill that help relieve ingestion & heart burn.
Wanli>> I still feel like vomiting even i already reach wk 16. haiz....

Hi Sandy,
I only feel nausea when I'm very hungry
. As long as I make sure I eat something before I feel hungry then I will not feel nausea. but I think we r still lucky because I have fren already in her 20 weeks still vomiting.

Have been reading the thread lately. I think it is fine to put on weight as long as you have healthy diet. I am going into my week 16 now and I have already put on 10 kg. My tummy is around 37 inches so I believe all of you can imagine how big my tummy has grow looking like 5 month size. If I don't tell people that I am expecting triplets, most of them thought that I am delivering soon. I am having bad leg cramp and some backache lately. Bought a maternity support belt yesterday to support the weight to relieve the backache and it really works. I also can't wait to see my babies gender.

Hi Peacy,

Can imagine ur back must be very tire, or can say ur whole body must be very tire...

Are you still working?

Hi peacy,
I really salute u, must be not easy for you... Yah I also can't wait to know ur baby's gender, very interesting isn't it...3 babies.
When is yr EDD?