(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Dino,
I believe you must be very exciting and happy when you see yr bb actively moving inside
. hmm.... seem like my bb is the smaller one, only have 58mm on 12+ weeks. I always forgot to ask her about the 3D scan, $300 is really expensive. You mean she can do the scan for us in her office? So did you ask Dr wong measure yr bb heartbeat rate? My next visit will be on next saturday which is my 16 weeks and will taking blood test.

Hi Sandy,
My tummy already start showing, now already start wearing maternity wear. I observe that my whole body and hip getting wider. These 2 weeks not only my pants but also my shirt getting tight.

omg,
My customary just 4 week more to go... i try very hard to maintain my waist but my hip cannot be control haiz....

I have also bought maternity pants from Spring. They have a variety of choice. My hip and waist also getting wider.My bb heartbeat is 157bpm. The 3D scan can be done in ACJ clinic. But there is only 1 machine in the clinic.

Thanks pebbles for info sharing. I am still waiting for direction from my gynae.

Hi Dino, feel happy reading ur notes.
My baby was 73mm at wk12, Dr Wong said it's the length of wk13, so my EDD might change to 29 July, but it doesn't matter lah.. She didn't tell me about 3D scan. I remembered i asked her before whethr her machine can do 3D, she said cannot. I dun really interested in doing 3D scan bcos the ultrasound power output is much more higher, though possible harm of ultrasound to foetus is still unknown.
My next visit is on 25 Feb.

Wanli, did u ask Dr Wong about the urine FEME test? U know, i didn't take the antibiotic given by her, have yet to tell her. My brother did urine FEME test for me again and found no infection this time.

I was trying to find out more abt Dr Joycelyn Wong, and found this thread has several mummies/MTB seeing her.

For those who sign a package with her at 12 weeks, may i know what is included in the package? Is it consultation + ultrasound scan + urine test + medicine? Or only consultation and ultrasound scan? What other extra u need to pay besides the package? What is the cost of the package now?

Hi Fiona

The package includes routine checkup consultation, routine general ultrasound scan, urine stick test (for protein + glucose only). I dun remember if it includes medicine, i dun think so.. The package costs $598 or so, for exact, i need to check it out. For other detailed scan, eg at wk 12, wk 20, need to pay separately. How many months are u now?

Maternity wear are really very expensive!! I have so far spent $800+ for it. But wat to do, need to wear to office mah.. I remember there's once when i only have 1 maternity pants, i wear the same pants to office everyday for 1 week, i also cannot tahan myself!

Hi Sandy and Catherine,
I think it depend on people, my mum and my aunts all said they even 4 mths hardly see the tummy. Dunno why I'm only 3 mths plus but tummy already show although not that big but as the whole changes including body getting wider, not difficult for people guess I'm pregnant. Yah, my EDD is on 2/aug. Think chrys will be the first MTB from this thread

Hi Dino,
Thks for infor, since the 3D scan so expensive I also don't think will take it. Spring maternity really not bad, now wearing maternity wear make me more comfortable. Other than that I did order some maternity wear from internet, if you all interested can check it out www.imaternity.com

Hello chrys,
I haven't ask dr wong about the FEME test, because will only see her next week. So strange, without medicine the infection can be cured? It so convenient yr brother can do the test for u
, yr brother is a doctor also?

Hi Fiona,
The package exactly as what chrys's told you but confirm not include medicine. Other than the package price you still need to add the price for medicine, blood test (either triplet test ($100) or OSCAR ($300)), details scan. The NT scan is free by dr wong
. Just my comments, Dr Wong is a very gentle and friendly.

my EDD is early August. Not confirm cos my baby size is not the size it shld be at 8wk. He caculated base on LMP is 17 July. After scanning at 8wk, then we manage to see only a dot, so he now don't dare to confirm. My mummy say i am late July or early august.

Hi wanli
I ordered from imaternity last month. The clothes are nice but the price is expensive after added all sorts of taxes and conversion rate. I bought a blouse at promotional price of USD$14.99, but end up i paid SGD$37, after added in Singpos postal charge, US side charge, etc.. The blouse/t-shirt sold locally in Sin almost cost the same, some more u can try it on. The blouse that i bought from US turn out to be too big for me even though it's an S size. However, if u wan to buy online, u can buy pants/jeans, it's still cheaper even after those additional charges (around SGD40+). Yes, my bro is a doctor, can't always go to him lah, bcos he is based in Malaysia.

Hi Sandy,
EDD based on LMP is not accurate, unless ur menstrual cycle is always very regular. It only serves as initial estimation, later on wil depend on ur baby size.

Hi Chrys,
yah that what most ppl told me. I have been telling my baby to be good. Grow slowly until pass 17 march then start to grow fast and also be the first NAtional day baby. Haha I know i a bit KS.... but it seem to work on me.
My HB help me talk to baby too when he apply oil on my tummy to get rid of the air in my tummy.

Chys,
he is good at being nice & sweet hubby but when come to doing work.... he is a no no. He starts to be patient & nicer to me when i preggy. At first he don't understand why i easy get irritated & angry until the nurse at the clinic kept reminding him to be patient with him during this period of time. ( His shop is just next to the clinic, so my gynea actually kept asking me how i progress etc whenever he sees me ).

Hi chrys,
Thks for infor, I have ordered 1 jean and 1 pant from imaternity through VPOST, dunno the postage will cheaper or not. haha..now start worrying the size never think about this when order :p .....

Hi Sandy,
Yah, yr hb is really not bad lah. I asked my hb help me apply the stretchmark cream he also dun want. By the way, what kind of oil u apply on yr tummy in order to get rid of the air? I remember I asked my gynea before whether I can apply oil on tummy but she seem like not so agreed, so to play safe, u better check with yr gynea first before u apply anything on tummy.

My baby is 6.47 cm at 12 weeks plus. I guess small variations in size are to be expected

It was very nice to see baby swimming around. I got my blood test result regarding the Down's Syndrome test already. All clear so very relieved

I have been wearing maternity bottoms for some time already! Much more comfortable - the feeling of the clothes being so tight is not great. I can still wear some of my non-maternity tops but honestly, they are starting to restrict me and I am so much more comfortable in looser or stretchy tops so have been wearing those. My colleagues have already been guessing about it because I normally don't dress like that!! Put on 3kg plus so far. Hope I don't get too fat!! argh!

Hi Chrys and Wanli,

Thanks for answering my query
I m currently considering Dr Wong, but will chk on other doc as well. Thanks so much

Hi zshih,
So fast you have done yr triplet test? How long you need to wait in order to get the result? I will do the test next week. Heard the nurse said need to extract 3 small tubes of blood for all the test, is that true? I think 3kg still ok not that bad...... I guess because I only put on 0.5kg , that's why my bb's size is smaller.....

Hi Fiona,
You are most welcome
, what r the rest of the gyneas in yr list?

Hi wanli
My gynae said can do the blood tests, OSCAR etc from 11th week onwards, so I did it on the 12th week to get it over with. It coincided with my appointment too. I got my results the next day. Not sure if other places take longer, but TMC seems to be pretty quick. Yes, need to extract 3 small tubes of blood but really, it is a lot less than you think. The nurse just drew blood with one syringe and that was used to fill the 3 tubes. Are you doing just the triple test or also OSCAR (ie the nural assessment test where they measure the neck thickness?)
I envy you that you only put on 0.5 kg! I keep feeling hungry that's why put on 3 kg already. That's why it's more comfortable to wear the maternity bottoms. My tummy does start to stick out by mid-day so my colleagues can tell already. BTW, I am just into my 13th week today - is it considered past the 1st trimester already?

Chyrs the oil i apply is ' RU YI Yu ' the one u apply on baby tummy. My mother ask me to apply say it help relieve the air inside.

Hi zshih,
I didn't take up the OSCAR, I just do the NT scan and triplet test.

Envy? no no no, I feeling hungry often too but no appetite to eat in my first trim. Now my appetite back
hahah, will expect gain more weight. Yah, based on most of the books, start from 14th week will be going into 2nd trim. For me I don't really feel my MS so frequent anymore although sometimes I still feel nausea.

Hi Sandy
I feel that men are not as sensitive as we are. They can't understand why we act in certain ways, need not to mention in this pregnancy period when we ourselves sometimes can't understand ourselves too. Like myself, i have been having mood swings, sometimes for no reason, i cry and find it difficult to stop. At first DH pacified me (though he yi tou wu shui dunno wat happen), after a while he fall asleep, too tired waiting for my cry to stop!

Do u all cry too? Or isit bcos i suffer from depression?

I don't cry but very easy irritated when i don't get my thing i want or done up nicely. My sister-in-law cry too during her preg suddenly especially at night so it is common. DOn't worry so much.

Sandy 8 weeks should be able to know when is due date. my gynea when i was 8 week already let me see my baby heart beating and let me know my due date...now am already 12 weeks plus

sorry wanli, confusion on my part. I don't think there is a test called OSCAR ;p I think it's just the name of the service
Yes I think I also did the same as you are doing - the triple blood test and the NT scanning.

Catherine,
the gynea answer me when we question him my scan to the poster which show 8 week ( already can see head) he say to avoid any problem , he base on my LMP first then see i progress...

ahh my hb driving me crazy.. he never type out the name and e-mail his friend for printing. We are rushing out of time already. I thought he apologies and he will quickly do but still the same. Nag at him, he ask me to keep quiet and give me sulky face. 10 working days to print after we check the work. haiz how?? i need it by 25 Feb.

sandy,
okok relax.... don't worry ok actually how u all print the cards?
for me i asked my aunt to print. mOst import the card must have u and ur hubby names, FIL N ur father's name date, day and time of ur wedding dinner.
for guest list u can write in myself,
it was printed in a piece of pink paper with red words, i tie it with golden string to the card provided by the restaurant.
this is my idea.
if u need samples of the wordings i can scan and email you...

Hiaz,
I scolded him yesterday night... I seem to be like a very bad woman who kept bully him & he is always the nice & sweet guy. There is alot of thing we yet to done. After sending for printing, we still need to confirm the final no. of table with the restaurant. My IL still haven get her list done. In 2 week time will be "kuo da li". She is totally not sincere at all. She don't even bother to bring me go buy some jewellery, I preg till now all she do is like a radio broadcastor. Tell her mother & relatives but never show a bit of concern.
Planning for ROM was so easy but this customary, i really at lost when ppl don't cooperates with me.. It look like as though i force my HB to marry me.

sandy, u and ur husband should just book the tables like 20-30, then ur IL and parents wont invite unnessery ppl. i only book 20 tables, squeeze in all relative and add in some friends.....
don't want it to be too big....

my MIL WORSE hor,
she has no $$ to buy all those customery stuff,
Like cakes, Pig trotters cans, oranges and 4 dian jin. mostly is my hubby give them $$ and buy.
by right all this is MIL buy one.

then my MIL can see tat she is not worry bout the wedding at all... anyhow do things for us.. example like AN the bed, by right.. she cannot anyhow AN the bed, my mum say she and FIL cannot AN the bed, cos they are poor ppl. if they AN the bed infuture we will follow their path way, must find those Rich ppl to AN. my MIL also don't know well of customery things. Ask her rather ask god....

but in other ways FIL very concern about us..and he very concern about me....

just relax.... let them do wat they want to do, u only need to wait for the day to come.

Catherine, at least your HB take iniative to buy for you on his mother behalf. They are poor, you can't do anything. My HB brother-in-law did the same too when he marry his sister.
My MIL is not poor, but just stingy and not willing to help fork out $$. Reason, her son never give her allowance after bringing him up till he can be independent. She even wanted to take ang bao $$ from our wedding dinner.
I really don't know how to relax, it affect my work performance. I got alot of mistakes today at work haiz...

Hi Sandy,
Try not to think too much personal things at work. Some guys do things at the very last min. I wonder is your HB like that. As for my case , my hubby only went to purchase those items 3-4 days b4 the Gu Da Li.So maybe he will only panick when the day is coming. Dun worry too much. Preparing for a wedding is not easy. Plan well and do one thing at a time. Try to think of the brighter side. Let your MIL and HB handle those things. You will get the cards to be printed and dun wait for the guest list frm them 1st. After printing, then u chase them for the guest list.
A cheerful mummy = a healthy baby

sandy,
MIL also said tat my hb nv give her $$, infact he has been using his Cpf to pay 4 house loan. so his mum cannot say he nv gv her $$.
if they pay for the WD then Ang Bao its ti return to them,

Catherine,
they never fork out a single cents. Now the problem is if I don't look for my HB 's friend to print, it will need take 10 working day to print after confirming on Artwork.
Dino,
very hard to be happy mummy... buying those stuff is easy but those that need to be done must be done early so that we can change if we need more.
haiz...

Don't worry, gals! Take it easy and slowy.

I will be doing blood test end of this month, would like to find out from you gals, what is the test covers? Is it only triple test - test for down syndrome? How long to take to know the triple test results?

How about HIV and other kind of blood related test?

Thanks gals!

Mummy here,
Anyone still having MS?? I still feel nausea off and on. my tummy is always bloated especially after food. haiz....

I got MS during my 10th week. everyone keep asking me if i have MS then end up i got MS, AS, NS (whole day, morning afternoon and night) till i got no appetite. Aiyo, this happen to pandang people... hehhee then i told myself, if i think i have MS, I will continue to have, if i think otherwise, i will stop. And Thank God, it stopped. I played on my mind.

mrs chng,
me same too kekeke, everyone ask me - n i say dun have, then suddenly i will will sick & nausea.. :p
lately get more bloated too...sigh... dun dare to weigh myself again...

any experienced mummy here, r u getting a confinement lady or no?
i 1st time mum n noone in my family ever had one, so we all blur blur.. wonder if its good to have help during 1st month & where to find & how much...?

Butter8
I'm getting a confinement lady - think she will be very helpful especially for first time mums and certainly will your meals will be settled! Think it normally costs in the range of $1,700 plus angbaos thereabouts.

we still have to give the confinement lady money to buy marketing yes? since they take care of the food...

she will need a place to stay etc... are they very strict? cannot do a lot of things?