(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

wow chrys, the procedure takes so long! I am going for the same tests in 2 weeks' time also at TMC early on Mon morning. Thought I'd only be out of office in the early morning, but looks like now have to plan to be out for most of the day. Hope bb will continue to be cooperative with the radiographer has he/she has been with gynae.
out of interest, how big was your bbat 10 wks? it is fun to compare and contrast.

Sandy
I am now 13 weeks. Ur baby will be of the similar size as mine when u approach 13 weeks.

Zshih
Try to book the earliest slot lor. Will u be doing the NT scanning only or also including blood test? It will be fast if ur baby's cooperative. If including blood test, it needs time for the result to be out. If not in rush, u can see the doctor the next day, the result sure ready.

Dr Wong just called me when i was taking a nap in my chair in the office. She told me some bacteriuria was found in my urine test, and i need to go down to take my antibiotic.

Hi chrys,
The procedures take really long. So the radiographer took the neck thickness measurement instead of Dr Wong? because my NT scan was done by Dr Wong in her room.

Wah....why the radiographer so rude one.....lucky my NT scan done by Dr Wong, she is always gentle, my bb also not in good position at the first place but she is still very patient.

hmm, is that some kind of infection? When u took the urine test? is that part of yr OSCAR test?

Hi chrys

I'm doing the whole works I think. The nurses mentioned blood test too. Which floor is the scanning done on?

Take care with the infection - am sure it will clear up soon with proper medication.

heloo,

went for my 2nd scan, compared to the 1st the doc say baby growing fast.. anyone oso have like fat foetus? kekeke
i hope its nothing just fat... even my doc say baby head pretty big hehe ?

i dun dare measure my waist.. tho i am only at 9 weeks, i think i put on 3 kg too...
doc say i need to change my mindset, and be prepared to put on 15kg at least???? true ah??

so scary

Hi wanli
As I bought oscar package, so NT is done upstairs by the radiographer and the blood test also same level done all together, while if NT and blood test, NT scan will be done by Dr Wong herself.

I dun think the urine test is under oscar, bcos i got to pay separately for it, it's urine FME if not wrong. I asked for it few weeks back when my medical checkup result was out. I just happen to do it in Malaysia just before i knew i am pregnant, and my brother analyse for me. That's when i know i got some infection, so follow my brother's advice to ask doctor to do urine test. Doctor did it now after my 1st tri bcos it's not recommended to take antibiotic in 1st tri. However, it must be cured as it may post danger of premature delivery as well as infection to baby during delivery. Doctor said it's very mild, so hopefully be able to clear it after taking antibiotic. She said it's common in momen, we may not know it, as there's no symptom at all.

thanks chrys

yes wong li lin only put on 6kg. my gynae said she herself only put on about 6kg for her own pregnancy too, and her bb was 3kg. but i think about 10 kg overall shd be ok. it's not how much but how well you eat that will affect baby anyway!

Looks like most of you are going for TMC. Just did my NT scan, gynae said it's normal. Will have to wait for another month for blood test.

My tummy is getting bigger, especially my waist, can't really fit in my dresses. So sad, don't know what to wear during this coming CNY.

Hi chrys,
Thanks for infor. So the test is called urine FME? That's is difficult discover since no symptom at all, how much u pay for the test? Thinking should I take it or not.....

Hi Gal,

Yah, I read from magazine WOng li lin really only put on 6kg. My target also put on Max 9kg, afraid later after delivery will have hard time to get rid all those fat. Doctor said even you are not gaining too much weight but the bb will still growing :p .

For my last visit to TMC I saw ex-star "Wong Sook Fang", she also pregnant think should be around 4 mths plus, she still look very slim only can see the tummy. If you see from behind you won't know she is pregnant.

Agreed with what Zshih said "eat well not eat much", hahhaah....but just sometimes difficult to resist the temptation of good food :p

Hi bottle,
You are also in yr 12 weeks right? My next visit for blood test will be on mid-feb....... So how yr bb progress?

Same as you, that's why must buy some new cloth these 2 days before CNY.

Hi MTB,

Do all of you drinking milk that is for pregnancy? I feel nausea whenever i saw the milk but force my self to only drink once a day (normal advice is 2 glass per day). Morning drink liao then vomit all out. So sad, just worry if i dun drink the baby wont get enough vitamin like DHA.

E-ling,
I'm not a milk person when i was not preggie, so now having to drink it is a daunting task for me. I bot a tin of Enfamama, but to date only drank twice :p I prefer HL milk, but oso dun drink often. U can get the necessasy nutrients if u have a balanced diet. For instance, fish has DHA. In 2nd trimester, gynae will prescribe multi-vits n fish oil.

wanli,
U referring to Lina Ng? The actress who used to be wif Ch U?

bottle,
U can buy dresses for CNY.

Hi MUMMIES!

Been sometime i haven log into here... Recently jus visited my gynae n he mention i was into abt 7.5weeks.. hmm maybe some changes in my EDD too...
Gosh could be beginning of SEPT. But i think its alright cos all of us here sharing too!

Having less MS liao though previously was whole day man! Hmm better don say anything out n lets all faster get away all those MS & enjoy!

hi wanli
sorry, the test name should be urine FEME. Couldn't remember how much, but it's not expensive. I remember it will be tested for all preggies. Maybe u can check wif Dr Wong. I just came back from TMC, got the medicine.

Hi E-ling,
Maybe can take supplements if u dun drink milk? My gynae once asked if i drink milk, she said milk is important, else she'll give me tablets. I think natural food is better lah..

Hi bearybear,
Yes, is Lina Ng :p !

Thanks chrys, I will ask Dr Wong on my next visit

Hi CT,
Long time you never log in here
, how are you? Yah, MS will be soon disappear. My MS also improve alot. So you now resting at home? Is yr bb more stable?

I also dun like to drink milk. I drink the milk powder that Dr Wong gave abt twice a week. I am still continuing to take folic, multi-vit and calcium tablets.
I went to Kiddi palace last week. Saw the maternity pants. I find that their bottoms are too baggy and loose for me. Nowadays, I could not fit into my current working pants. I didnt measure my waist length, But I think it should be abt 29-30 inch. Any recommendations where to get the pants?

Helloe everyone! My EDD is 30 Aug! Been feeling very confused since i knew I was pregnant! Hope when I have questions, u all would be able to assist. hehee..

Anyone got spotting before? Wat's that exactly?

Hi Dino,
Yah, Suntec got more choice and better. I feel Kiddy Palace is too old fashion especially the pants.

Hi Mrs Chng,
U have spotting now? Normally spotting during pregnancy not that good, must bed rest. Did you tell yr gynea?

wanli... ya i had this brown discharge for one day, lucky now stop liao. i haven't told my gynae yet. I hope baby's alright.

My fren told me that u will get spotting if u had a tired day, had sex the night before etc... i think i was too tire out that day.

Hi Mrs Chng,
You can call yr gynea to confirm whether it is ok. Must be becareful especially during early pregnancy

Hi Mrs Chng
Welcome onboard.

It's better to inform ur gynae, he'll check if u still have spotting and also give a jab/ hormone pills to u. I had at early stage, but stopped on the same day too. Must take more rest.

Hi Dino
i got my pants from Suntec, Marton Bell @ Centrepoint and Sassymom, ranging from $25-$60+. When r u going for ur NT?

I will try. I got a few questions for u people. hehee

1) What milk to drink during 1st trimester? HL ok? Daisy? Anlene? Or any other brands to recommend?

2) What kind of foods to avoid?

3) What kind of food should I take more?

4) When should I start wearing maternity wear?

Hi wanli, ya. My next visit is end Feb. Feb is a short week. My baby is normal. Everything is fine.
How about you?

Now tummy not really showing, only the waist more obvious. When I tried the dresses, I am a bit sad, frankly. Think people will think that I am put on weight rather than expecting. "Not Up Not Down" in chinese.

Do I have to go maternity shop to buy pants?

CT,
Welcome back
Though ur EDD is now in Sep, who knows, mebbe u'll deliver early, then end up still have aug bb. Hehehe...

Dino,
If u're those petite kind, then Kiddy Palace maternity clothes may be too big for u. U can try gg to Perfect Mum to take a look. But at tis stage, if the buldge is still small, then abit difficult to buy maternity clothes.

Mrs Chng,
Spotting is not a gd sign. It's brown/red discharge. Varies from a little to alot. Sometimes, in the early stage of pregnancy, one has spotting due to implantation bleeding. If u do have spotting, best is to consult ur gynae ASAP cos it could be a sign of threatened miscarriage.

bottle,
R u referring to maternity pants? If yes, then u have to go to maternity shops to get one. It's most difficult at tis stage, cos old clothes can't fit in, wear maternity oso not appropriate cos like very baggy :p Haiz... Wat dresses did u try? Normal dresses or maternity dresses?

To all MTBs,
Have a Happy Lunar New year. May everyone have a prosperous year ahead, filled with happiness, good luck and good health!
Next yr, at tis time, ur little one will be going CNY visiting wif u, can collect AP oso. Hehehe...

Hi Wanli,

IM DOING fine now. BB now v good hope it will continues. I at home no work lo will try to rest but maybe after chinese new yr will help half day PM at my mum drink stall in PRI SCH. Was thinking when i get better abd get a AM job at MAC heheh... extra income lo...

Yesterday went to Causeway point SPRING MATERNITY, their clothings are so nice! I wish i can jus buy all but as i belong to plus size.. some around my breast area too tight :p BUT pricing quite reasonable & I bought 1 sexy blouse, 1 pink bottom & a small cardigan..

Yoz Bearybear, thanks for wellcoming! Gosh Hope bb will jus be smooth smooth land on earth no doubt when also can but of cos prefer Sept cos mum having sch holiday can do confinement for mi a week.. I don intend to get a CL.. so costy leh! So thought of jus Do myself with MIL come over during e day & HB taking leave lo.

ITS A MERRI MERRI HAPI NEW YR!!!!!! Bless all MUMMIES eat what u like & don worry about the gaining! Of cos must control some la or else too heaty! BB inside our stomach is enjoying too!!!!

C YA SOON!

Hi bottle,
Everything so far so good
. Don't feel sad, you are not alone. I am same with you look fat rather than preggy.
If your pants make you feel tight then i think u should buy maternity pants.

I must just caveat. I met an old friend yesterday who said she put on 22 kg during her first pregnancy!!! But she managed to lose it all quite quickly.
SO I guess there is no right or wrong amount of weight to gain. Just hope that can lose it all.
That said, I crave very strongly for carbohydrates like potatoes and noodles
sure put on a lot of weight like that.

Hi bearybear, I tried normal dress, it doesn't look nice on me now. Maternity dress not very appropriate now also, like what you said.

Hi wanli, agree with you. Have to slowly buy maternity pants/dresses. Went to Kiddy Palace yesterday, don't really like their design.

Gong Xi Fa Cai to all of you here!

I have been living in normal-sized longer empire cut tops to help. For bottoms have been wearing some maternity skirts and some of my looser hipster jeans (without buttoning top button)

tried some maternity dresses yesterday - looks a bit weird leh - still got a lot of space at the tummy

hello everyone!!

ya my gynea oso say i must change my mindset.. i oso hope to put on not more then 9-10 kg, but at my 9 weeks have already put on 2-3kg more..

my pants and skirts all too tight now, only been wearing my hipster stuff.. but went crazy shopping and even bought some stuff i cant quite wear yet kekeke like maternity pants and jeans skirt.
but after getting the pants and feel so much more comfortable, i happier now.. rather then tight tight - make me grumpy...

i actually got some baby doll tops for new year.. cuz still cant fill out the nice maternity dresses yet :p

i feel the pinch spending now, but hope the clothes will last me.. better be happy and feel good, if not so depressing to feel fat :p

Happy Lunar New Year! Gong Xi Fa Cai!

May we all have happy 'babies/puppies' this year of the doggy!

bottle,
Mebbe u can try Spring or other maternity boutiques for more fitting maternity dresses. The one i got at Perfect Mum dun look weird at all cos there're gathers at the back, then in front got smthg like ribbon to tie.

MTB, is it ok for pregnant women to eat maggie mee? I just taken cos very hungry, went to many stall all close cos bobian eat that. Now feel so regret, worry no good for baby.

Hi MTB,
I just met one of my relative who is also pregnant. She is now in her fifth month and her tummy is big.
I am in my 2nd trimester now but my tummy still small, and my waist still manage to maintain it at 28 inch.
My customary is 17 march.... will i be that big?? I got to maintain it for 6 more week. arhhhhh

So quiet our thread...

Hi sandy,
By then, how many mths will u be? If u're petite, then mebbe tummy won't be dat big. Most will start showing by 4-5 mths. But then again, it all depends... I have an ex colleague who didn't look preggie at all during the entire 9 mths.

E-ling,
Eating maggie noodles once in a while is okie. Won't hurt bb...

hehe
read this and now i feel like eating instant noodles, esp the korean sour hot type...

do u know if there is any problem with eating chilli or lots of curries like rendang, curry chicken etc?

Hi Butter8

I ate too much spicy food yesterday and felt super uncomfortable last night! A lot of gas and too much churning in the tummy. So I have learnt my lesson and will be avoiding too much spicy food in future. :p

for me, suddenly stuff with lotsa garlic puts me off.. i feel sick after eating stuff like chilli with garlic which leaves after taste in mouth..

hmm so i notice that blood test is not a must.. my gynea didnt give me a choice, should be doin it in about 2-3 weeks. blood test then scanning..

so xian to be back at work... sleepy...

thank bearybear, haha cause i craving for maggie mee and spicy food leh so i ate alot of that. Hope wont hurt the baby too much.

Went for my visit last saturday. the baby is 2.4cm and the heartbeat is 169 per min during my 9th week pregnancy. Is it ok?

i worry that the gyna might scare me worry so dun want to make me worry more. Think i am just too paranoid abt it. Cause 2.4cm like very small leh

Hi E-Ling

Why don't you look up information on websites or from books on the devt of the baby? It might help allay your fears. They normally quote things like estimated baby size, what you would expect to see etc. Think you would find it very useful

do u think its too early to buy more clothes.. i cant resist, and oso running out of stuff to wear for work. my previous tops mostly fitting or short, so dun go well with my tummy or maternity pants now

i hope i dun spend to much too early.. not that i think anything negative will happen..*touch wood*

wont be another 2 weeks till i can visit gynea.. cant see my baby.. start to worry again heehee *blushing* always think too much hor??