(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

doris,
you sending elysia to full day cc? if just 3 hrly a day less contact may be better lo...

re: your toddler development
how's your toddlers doing? me & hubby has been shouting at denise quite often bcos she was so itchy hands all the time, but after that feel guilty about it lor...and think she still doesn't understands certain things like, when her bro is sleeping, she would go over to his bed and call him...*faint*

now our bossy little gal can pull me and tell me to wake up when i'm still lying on the bed, can tug at my hand and say, "mummy plssss take milk milk, take milk milk lah" if i delayed a bit.

and super vain leh, everyday insisted on wearing "mei mei"...haha

any parents here experience their kid have an accident? that needed hospital or stiches?

My boy had a fall at home that needed 6 stiches. I feel so lousy as a mother, even at home he can get so hurt.

I am praying that his scar will heal well. anyone know about these things?

hi, butter8
i feel so sorry for ryan. hope he will heal well. is he still attending class at kids loft? my boy just finished one term and we are waiting to see where the school will shift to. not sure if u remember who i am. my boy attended pats with ur boy then i went on maternity

Hi amberlyn,

ryan has stopped kids loft, but he is attending a holiday program there now. only for 2 saturdays. what days do you go to lavina?

ur boy is jordan?

how is your 2nd?

long time no see, catch up soon.

hi all mummies ,

help help ... my ray had been getting sick sooo offen , like twice a month ! fever , flu , cough ! .. when he was younger , he didnt get sick for 7 months leh ... then now getting older why sick so offen huh ? and he doesnt attend any school yet ... help help ....

butter8,
yup, that's my boy. he attended sunday morn but the termn has ended liao. currently not attending anything. waiting to start cc in jan.
the 2nd one is 6 mths...so fast...growing well

hi butter,
dun feel bad, accidents r times which catches us all by surprise, not wat we wanted. Denise ever rolled down my flight of stairs at home too but luckily there wasn't any injury incurred. Dun worry his wound will heal soon.

Cecelia,
haha maybe all gals r more bossy hor but so cute lo

whitelady,
anyone else at home is sick?

Cecelia , fiona ,

last week daddy was sick , might have pass to ray ? but ray cough very jia liat everynight , and wheezing ... seen doc 4 times liao ... still not getting better leh ... anyone have good doctor to recommend ? hai ~ stress .... and he dont want to eat ...

Fiona
ya... putting her full day... not too sure whether good a not.. but will try.. next yr will be employing a maid.. also dunno good a not.. so jialat.. give birth 2 kids..worry so much tasks.. haha...

hi butter,
dun feel bad la... hm.. sayang him more, kiss him more...will feel better...accident happen anytime... we also dun expect..

White_lady,
Wheezing? Is it bronchities? Maybe bring him to PD for a check. Normally for PD I go to SBCC gleneagles look for Dr William Yip. You can consider.

Fiona,
Toddler Development:
Natalie is still as noti as before and makes me so impatience with her. BB nicole also one kind. Her evil horn are out now!

doris,
thanks! ryan is doing well, and healing well. lucky surgeon work is very good.

but,

ryan is now really notti too... he has a fake cry and will fight over things with me. and refuse to change diaper when i ask him, and recently refuse to poo into potty.
he is really testing my limits.
he will spit out his food, and dont eat much too. very picky...
terrible twos????

cynthia, i think he's horns out too!!

everyone,
any christmas plans?

Butter8,
But it seems that Terrible Two last so long.. Natalie started it around 20mths or so.. recently is getting worst. Sometimes don even feel like bring her go out as she is horrible and i feel so paisay when she making alot of noises. I used to ignore her when she is at home whining non stop, or not cant get what she want.
Can be nuts for mi

Tot of getting a cane to "threaten" her but I don like the idea of beating.. trying to soft approach bt seems to burn out liao..

Hope it will end when she turn 30mths as someone told me normally terrbile two could be alot better after 30mths

cynthia
oh dear... count down to 30 months then.. pray that we have patience

my boy seems to catch the cold pretty often, he had it last month, 3 weeks later had a bad bout, and just 1 week after recovering, i notice he has a stuffy nose again.

could it be his milk? could it cause him allergies?

do u al think it could b because he is not weaned off the milk bottle?

can you al share how to wean off the bottle? my boy is off his avent milk bottles, but he is still sucking from a nuby bottle, the teat is not really like normal milk bottle.

should i start over and put him back on a sippy cup? any tips or recommendations on what cup?

he dun like to drink water. i have tried various cups, straws etc.

Butter8,

think there are many factors that contribute to kids falling ill. Better discuss with yr pd.

As for bottles, Zac did not use bottles and teats at all. He uses straw to drink his milk. In the beginning when he was one, I just put a straw into the milk bottle and let him drink from it. Now, he drinks UHT milk from packets, no more formula.Thinking of switching to fresh goat milk actually.

fiona,

ha... my zac is also the impatient type. If I refused to get his milk, he would go to the cupboard, open it, take a packet of UHT milk, insert the straw and drink it. Very independent hor?

Now, in order to steal a few more minutes of sleep, we put puzzles on the low table outside our room. When he found that he couldn't wake us up (most of the time we were pretending), he would just go and play with the puzzles.

Augustmum
wow.. amazing ley..ur zac so independent ley.. hm.. maybe can try this method on Elysia.. let her drink UHT milk too... haha.. good idea to put puzzles for him to play...think i going to get a low table to put toys for her too.. haha.. sometimes really so shack when she woke up so so early...haha

cynthia,
don't be to harsh on nat ar.. you try too cool yourself down b4 beening harsh on her. the more u get urself angry the more u will hit. so why not talk to nat i believe she will understand even she don't anwser u.

trust me i always talk to charlotte and she understood next round i see some changes from her.

doris,
dun worry too much, sometimes juz relax when things happen then see how. Now got 2 kids i tend to close one eye liao. As for maid, i changed 4-5 maids leh..

Whitelady,
ya dat could be the cause of his cough but kids tend to get bronchitis easily bcos their respiratory system is weaker. I would suggest bringing him to see tcm if u r alright wif the idea. I myself is one who only recover when take chinese med, western med can only stop symptom but not cure.

Cynthia,
then i'm really forward to 30th mth haha.. Denise can really makes us pull hair nowadays. Sometimes i would beat her too after talking to her many times but still misbehave.

Augustmum,
wa sei zac very solid leh. Denise is very good when it comes to yakult, she'll grab one, poke in the straw n drink. But i dun give her uht milk bcos she gets lao sai from it..

hi there

fiona,
ryan is ok, a bit more whiney and clingy. his cut has healed on the surface, but inside not yet. so he cannot go and swim till almost chinese new year.

lucky he is a boy and will look 'tough' with scar.

i've got a Similac follow-on $3 off voucher, and a Similac mum $5 off voucher. anyone needs this? pls let me know...

thank all mummies for your reply ... his cough is better now . BUT but but .... after he recover , OMG !!!!!!!!! he is soooooo naughty ... i think the T2 start liao ... he will purposly do thing that you ask him not to do . and when we dont allow him , he will cry , and follow by vomit ! so its very hard to scold n beat him outside , cos we very scare he will vomit , how how .. really dontn feel like bringing him out

Fiona
tks for your advice.. haha...I'm happy to say Elysia is coping well in the childcare for the 1st 3 days... today is her 3rd day, she's looking forward to the school happily... i left her there & went to work.. quite daring rite.. haha.. today will pick her up in afternoon 3plus.

fio,
u changed so many maids liao?! i wanted to change mine but i know the new rules are tat there is a forced leave for all maids(even indo/myamar). and i dowan to let my maid hv any leave or she'll learn alot of funnie things out there! =P

another reason is tat we hv taught her how to cook already and she's able to cook for the whole family now, so dowan to re-train again.. apart from cleaning n cooking, we dun let her touch the bb's stuff.

hi fiona,
i just went to check tcm medication for myself and my boy yesterday. its hard to give my boy the chinese medicine.

I am having problems with my boy and his milk and food again.
meals wise, now he dun wan rice, only will drink soup. that means, more nite feeds for me... cuz he gets hungry.
(he doesnt snack, but also dun like fruits n vege)

one day, we ran out of milk, i went to ntuc and they didnt have this type of milk. i had to pick up a diff tasting one... he drinks the new one.. but when i got the old brand back, he dun drink now. argggh.so got 2 types of milk.
wat brand of milk is tasty and he will like to drink?
as for fresh milk, he prefers HL and must be warm.
so lechay!

yes he does, however recently i cut down cuz i thot it will give him phelm or sorethroat.
looks like i have to give him more cereals...

he just went to nap without milk. so i am not sure if its cuz he dun like milk brand. i gave him both. but i think now, could be he is off milk for a bit.
could b rite?

and i got 1 more thing to complain , my son still wake up at night ! sometimes like 1 hr 1 time ! i am going to die .. he wake up for pat pat or milk , and if i refuse , he will cry n make a fuss !

hi butter, how old is ur son? maybe can make the rice "wet" by adding alot of soup in it?

For his milk u mean he hv 2 brands now n he will take which one accirding to his mood? I guess u hv to monitor n see if he is already rejecting FM n taking HL milk instead.

I agree biscuits causes more phlegm coz my GP told me so hee~

Hi white_lady, how old is ur son? if he is on solid already maybe its coz he din have a full meal before his bed time thus waking up more?

Well think now is not either our kids going T2 if not sick from this and that.

I have decide to withdraw Natalie from CC after the visit to doctor (TCM). I come across the TCM in kelly blog and finally bought Natalie to see him and what he say gave me alot of sense and realise natalie has been so unhealthy n change alot ever since she go CC.

So after visiting the doctor makes me finally felt I will stop her and continue her with TCM and build her health. She also one type always having runny nose, cough and phlegm. Recently stop and don't know why this round is more serious that she wake up every night with cough & some difficulty in breathing cos her nose causing alot irritation.

The TCM doc told me her lung is weak. (she was a bronchitis victim) and others.. so now he want me not to gave her biscuit, sweets, A-Z fruits cannot take and alot alot other stuffs. I am required to draw out a list of food I intend to gave nat and let him go through and advise accordingly.

Maybe mummies here kids if keep having such problem,can consider TCM as I felt western medicine is too strong & only temp curb the condition..

cynthia,

check with you.

Just read yr blog. The rule of no fruit and no chicken and pork (except to cook soup), is it for all kids or just for nat?

augboyz,
my boy is 2 years..

latest update, he is ok to drink new milk now. so I am monitering how that affect his poo and his phelm.

as for wakin in the nite, I am going to try, the give water, comfort and then ignore method hehehe
see how he goes.
but usually cuz I am tired, I end up giving milk so he will go back to sleep.
I will try to do it next week when I am more free.

augboyz,

my boy is august baby lor , 28 months . Normally he eat dinner ( porridge ) at 5pm . so i should make his dinner time later ?
but last few months , he can sleep from 10 plus till 5am without waking up leh ... also same dinner timming .
Like last night , we had dinner at 7pm , spagatti and pizza , n he sleep at 10.30pm , wake up at 3am , then 4am , 5am , 6am for milk ! faint

really need help !

HEY~ I forgot I m in Aug mummy thread!! HAHA~ wat a stupid Q i asked Butter n White_lady @_@

Butter, aiyo tired mummies always take the easier way out. On rare occasion when my son ask for milk like 3-4am, i will tell him drink n go back to sleep, otherwise no milk. He will say ok, finish him milk n kongs off again.

White_lady, dinner at 5pm? Porridge only??? No wonder he wakes up lah hehehe~ My boy's dinner is 7pm+ then 8.30pm+ 230ml of FM after tt zzz till next morning. I think its his habit to wake up hourly. Be "cruel" abit, when he wakes up pat pat him or threaten him, say dun sleep kena cane *tts wat i did to my son haha* When he wakes up asking for milk, tell him not time yet, later will give, then pat pat him to sleep. Each time drag about 5mins extra, see whether this works or not.

augboyz,

yes , wake up 1 hour evrynight , last night i pretend i didnt hear him calling , so can drag 2 hr , shall try again . And for his dinner , he dont want to eat rice , so i got no choice but to give porridge ...hai ~

Cynthia,
just don't let Nat have any sight of biscuits or those sweet drinks if they don't see it they won't think of it.

I think becos i seldom give charlotte biscuits thats why she never really ask for it unless she sees it I will give 1-2 pcs only. And i don't really will give charlotte yakult or other sweet drinks. Till now she mostly drink is milk and water. Some other drinks maybe is Liang char my mum will boil crysthumen, barley, or yang sheng once a week for charlotte to drink. all this is home made and no sugar added. u can try this.

Whitelady,
I think is common for our T2 to sometimes wake up in the middle of the night might cry and their eyes still close. Charlotte still using pacifier so normally i will give her pacifier and she will go back to sleep. U can till giving some water or ignore the cry unless is very loud. Sometimes i just ignore cos her cry is just for awhile and she go back to sleep.

Just have a peep and ignore if cry is not loud.

white_lady, ya drag n drag then keep saying later mummy make hee~ then if he tired he will doze off

catherine24, ur ger dun go cc ya, my boy does n cc they give biscuits etc, especially when there are birthday goodie bags.... I never encourage him to eat biscuits or sweets or chocolates at home but he will ask for it when he see any of us eating. There was a period of time he keep asking for biscuits even for dinner!

Cynthia,
sorry just read ur blog realise nat also can't drink barley and chrysthemum too liang for nat. Not to worry i believe TCM will help.

I remember i had very high fever for a week even went into hospital also can't heal end up MIL bring me to TCM only after taking TCM medicine then my fever goes down.

hi catherine24 , augboyz ,

sometimes i really want to ingore , but my boy got a very bad habit , once cry and if no one attend to him , he will vomit ! so he got this powder and he win ! cos u all know lah , if vomit , will be very troublesome and he will wake up for sure , hai ~

hi, to those mummies whose kids wake up at night to cry/ask for milk. i thot i was the only one suffering until i read some of ur kids also the same. cos my son does the same thing too. over the last mth the crying got worse. can cry for one whole hr. his eyes are closed and he will cry until very jialat type with head tilt back. totally inconsolable. thing is he will wake up in the morn very happy - his usual self. i asked his paed last week. he said its likely night terror and is part of a child's development. nothing wrong with him. u can try to google for night terror. got some interesting reads. now he's better. think its a phase thingy.

for my son , i think is not night terror , is his BAD habit of waking up for milk ! hai ~

and i have 1 more question , my boy hair drop , is it normal ??? thank ~!

Amberlyn is right too During the day they might have too much fun or over tired so they might be having nightmare or too tired.

Whitelady,
Maybe u try to different his way of cry. He sleeping he cry also will vomit?
I understand that kids they cry too hard they will cough or want to vomit
but err when sleeping unless is those very very serious cry otherwise abit of cry i think should be ok

white_lady, YA! I totally agree! My boy's recent stomach flu caused him to vomit anything he eats... so troublesome n so stinko!

amberlyn, my son used to cry with eyes closed. We very power, we ignore haha~ he cry n kick or put his hands onto my i just push them away n cont zzz hahaha~ If he cry too loud n long my hubby will scold him then remove him fm our bed n out to the living room to zzz on the mattress, usually he can sleep well after tt.

As for dropping of hair, white_lady, maybe changing of hair? My boy oso drop but i just ignore coz I drop more the him *sob sob*

Augbaby is organising a spree for shooshoos shoes, anyone interested?

1. http://shooshoosusa.com/products.php?cPath=51

2. 20% off for : shooshoos smiley rubber flexi sole shoes -
http://shooshoosusa.com/specials/dec08/default.htm
Exchange Rate : Will inform later coz depends on actual credit card bill

FORMAT OF ORDER:
Nick:
Email:
HP No.:

1.Item Name:
URL: (pls ensure link is correct)
Size:
Colour:
if OOS: (if not indicate, will drop the order when oos)
Qty:
Price in USD :

Total purchase = USDXXX