(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

whitelady, dun hv to worry so much, some kids i know dun speak much but when they are ready, u will be surprised by how much they hv actually been "secretly" absorbing thru the yrs!

sherv also dun really like to learn A-Z despite of us singing to her, and playing the disc...etc. but one fine day, she just started singing the ABC song, but leaving out alot of letters. i'm happy already tat at least she can sing out the whole song with the tune...

sometimes worrying abt such things doesnt really help, so we beta just relax and let the kids learn at their comfort pace... =)

leobbmom,

ya, i agree.. jadelle surprised us with a sudden acceleration in speech pick up.. and this was over a span of < 1 month..

peer learning will help also, i think..i noticed my nephew learning very fast with my girl around him everyday.

Morning Mummies,

Jas,

I managed to catch the show last night, your Jadelle is so pretty, she look very much like your hubby hor? Were you very tense? Was great watching you guys on tv. Actually I find that show rather stressful, cos now I'm thinking if I have to sign Hannah up for Abacus class when she turns 4 haa...else next time how to 'fight' with the rest out there :")

honeyb,

i kanna alot of NG, my mandarin cannot make it. heng they cut it out mostly...

ya,
that topic damn stressful leh.. i see liaoz, i also faint... BUT, the other right brain training one, i hear is set up by shichida's ex-teachers.. and really, if in programme early, kids will find it fun..

hi jas,

caught the program last night too. and noticed most of the talking done by ur hb. his Mandarin is good leh, he seems very involved in teaching jadelle too. wow, jadelle is so smart.

Jas,

Hannah is currently attending a right brain class also taught by ex shichida teachers, we do nothing in the class but play games and Hannah likes it very much, even for myself I'm also looking forward to what other tricks the teachers can come up with, very interesting indeed. :")

HoneyB,

can PM me the details of the class? cos, i dun like something so rigorous like shichida where got homework etc, i don't like pressure on jadelle. but now she is the one pressuring me to give her more stuff.. i cannot keep up liaoz.. so need more new &amp; still fun lessons for her..

CJ,

haha, how are you? Hubby very "teng" Jadelle, but mostly whatever i intro new stuff to jadelle, jadelle will repeat it and insist he also follow along, so he got involved also lor.. alamak, my jaw almost dropped during the filming when his mandarin flowed out.. keke, cos we speak more english mostly.

Long time never pop in here..been v bz still...endless haha...somemore now jazzele is crawling all over the house and learning to walk a few steps unassisted already...anyway we have decided to put jay in a nearby playgroup for 2hrs everyday so i hav some time to myself...so need some advise from u mummies..he will only b starting playgroup next yr feb but wat shld i expect when he attend school? I shld be there wif him at least a week right and can i stay wif him or how? Afraid he might cry leh....

SuperDad,
Jay has been trying the CLO for some time already but i get my hubby friend whose family is staying in US to buy for me in the big 8oz bottle coz its much cheaper than buying online...think 2 8oz bottles cost me S$60+...Anyway wanna start jazzele on it too but not sure wat age can they start on it and how much? Any idea?

Jas,

PM you already! Haa, I lazy mum, don't like homework, this one is good cos play and play only, they always have a pretend play section and during the last lesson, we pretended to go to Macdonalds, where the kids have to fix the 'burger' and share the set meal with mummy/daddy, was quite funny and I like it that the kids actually learn thru play very naturally, no stress at all :")

Augbaby,
Vivian already start with this now, she like it very much..she will walk faster to us whenever we bring out the CLO bottle..haha..
but i only feed her with small baby spoon, as per the instruction is for baby that 1 yr old &amp; above.

Few weeks back she got flu, but notice that the flu will go off more faster as compared to before, not sure is because of this CLO not..

SuperDad,
Ok...think i will start her soon then..yr baby spoon is it consider the tea spoon size? 1 teaspoon? Coz now i feed jay will half a teaspoon only...

i am still trying to wean jazzele off breastfeeding leh..but not sure how too...now i pump 1x at nite and still eno to feed her n 1x for jay....i only latch her in the morning now...

yo jas,
was a SAHM for almost 6 weeks as it took so long for a new maid to arrive. envy u leh, got MIL to help take care of Jadelle n teach her many skills. Even though Kaefer at home, i hardly let him explore house things, he has not touched raw rice for sure, n if he play with the broom, we will quickly snatch away from him. realise i should let go a bit and there's plenty to learn at home.

i know of another right brain school, i will PM u the info. Have signed up Kaefer for trial next month.

honeyb,
can also PM me which program is that? thinking of sending Denise for some classes since i'm withdrawing her from CC.

Augbaby,
If I not wrong when Feb09 Jay should be 30mths. You can try send him to those church kindergarten if you ok with the teaching. 3hrs and consider Nursery 1. If going to CC, depends on the school. Some school only allow 1 parent to be around for 1st 1hr 1-3days. As they want kids to be independant so wont be 1week to be allow with them. Can peek outside to see how they are getting on. If HFMD on the rise, sometime parents cant even go in and the most only stay 30mins. Best to check with the school policy.

Amy,

Good to hear that you bought the camera. Jadon had much fun with it but most of the time ended up taking pics of his feet. :D

I ordered the camera case from Fisher Price cos I don't see it here. But why keep until X'mas? It's another 2 mths away leh. Good things shldnt keep for too long, especially if it benefits the kids right now.
If any time is a good time to bring out the toy, it is NOW! :D

Hv fun!

Hi Mummies and daddy,

Long time never log in liao...just passive reading. Anyway, some updates from me....

I've already pop my little prince, Baby Taylon on 27th Oct
Now having confinement at home after baby is discharge from hospital cos of jaundise. However, super tire cos it seems like my MS have not kick in yet even though baby is one week old.
Have tried increasing pumping frequency, feed on demand almost hourly, eating oats, drinking lots of fluids = going to toilet very often. I wonder if my body cannot absorb the fluid to convert into milk production? Haiz....just very frustrating!!

Sorry for long winded.

Hi Amy,
Have u pop yet? I got the fisher price camera as present from the baby to the sister

Hi Cynthia,
Are u looking for CC? I just enrolled kieira into little greenhouse at Upper Thomson Rd, at Soo Chow estate. Very happy with the teachers and principal who took special care of kieira especially they know that i've just delivered. During the first few days, they either call or sms kieira's progress and update us on what she's doing cos we're afraid that she might wail.

Kieira is super upset with the arrival of the baby brother but given her character, she protest by tearing without sound. Aiyo...heartpain to see her sob but she'll still sayang the baby. Although I wish to pay more attention to her now, it seems not possible with latching on the baby

Hi Yoshi,
CONGRATS!
Don't stress about the MS okie. Sometime maybe tired could be a contributing to it. I was also with low MS this round but I just try till I cant and stop BF when bb nicole turn 2mths old. Chose to gave FM and chose more rest and again bond with Natalie as she is giving alot problem in her current CC.

I am looking around AMK area and must be convenient for my PIL to bring her back. Upper Thomson Rd.. convenient? We don't drive also so bringing her to school is my mission hahaha.

Is it advisable to get School Bus when our Toddler is only about 30mths? I was figuring whether she will be fine with school bus eithr both trip or only return trip inorder to ease my PIL without the need to fetch her..

CJ &amp; HoneyB,

got ur PM with thks!! but no time check it out, cos hubby quite ill with dengue now. kanna from reservist training..

me very tired out now.. hope things will be better.

Hi Amy

Yes, I saw him 2 wks ago.... How is he now. Feeling better.

Crisann has recovered. After visting the doc that Cythnia recommend. Find that doc quite gd.

Hi Jasmine

Take care and hope he get well soon.

yoshi
congrats. post pics of ur boy pls.

cj, honeyb
can u pls PM me ur lobangs? thks! me looking around for my 3kids.

augbb
hv u considered sending jay straight 2 a kindergarten? i m sending edward to a church kindy next jan. 3hrs daily. $500+ per term of 10wks.

am helping a fren urgently looking for a babysitter at Yishun area, preferably the nanny’s place nearby Blk 400+. Of cos, other yishun area is welcome too.

Prefer English or Mandarin speaking babysitter. Need the babysitter to commence on 1st week of Dec, Mon to Fri only. No overnight, my fren will bring her bb back every evening. Bb will start solid in Dec.

I will not follow this thread so pls pm me the details. Really appreciate! =)

Hi Yoshi,
Congrats on yr prince...Take good care and rest well ya...

I am looking for a nice sturdy kitchen set with lotsa items inside but dunno where to get..anyone knows or have one that can recommend?

hi all , long time no post ... my son just now suddenly high fever ! 39.4 ! really suddenly ! then the PD told me , is a virus , so all mummies , please take care of ur youngs one ... me now sooo stress .... hai ~

Hi Yoshi - Congrats !

Gen also had fever on Wed..40.6 deg.She gave us a scare when my MIL called her &amp; she didnt respond &amp; lie motionless on the mattress face down.My heart almost stopped when i rush into the room. Luckily she turned around &amp; her cheels were so flushed &amp; her temp shot up. Quickly bring her to see doc. her fever finally subside today but i think its due to her teething coz she keep complaining mouth pain.

kelly,
i thou kindergarden is when they r 4yrs old? My area playgroup only accept kids from 2.5yrs old onwards so going to start jay in feb next yr

yup a virus seems to be spreading..
i've been coughing like 3 weeks liao and even passed it to bb Lucien, brought him to PD yday when he coughed with so much phlegm stuck in his throat. He seems better this morning, hope we all get well soon.

MH , i can feel how worry you r . cos we brought ray out for dinner , half way , his eye going to close , like going to faint ! we scare to our death too , stop eating n bring him to PD immediately . i also think might be teething . Cos this few night , his fever ok already , but every night cranky , cry when sleep . And whole day look restless ....

augbb
nope, u can send ur kids to a kindy once they hit 3yrs in tat yr.

eg gabe is born in 2004, he went 2 school in jan2007 at 2yrs 2mths old. i was worried he wont b able 2 adapt but he's doing very well now.

edward is older when he goes 2 a daily 3hrs kindy next jan. he'll b 2yrs 5mths old. i hope he'll b alright too.

y dun u check out e kindergartens in ur neighbourhood? there r a few gd ones around. soka, pap, etc

augbb,

MOE's definition of a kindy is a "school" that provides a structured 3 yr pre-school education and it starts from Nursery which you will enter if you are 3yr old on 1 Jan in the year of admission (ie. If you're born in 1 Jan 06, you'll enter Nursery in Jan 2009. If you're born in 2 Jan 06, you'll enter Nursery in 2010. See the diff?)

Some kindies have pre-nursery class that accepts students when they turn 30mth (some MOE requirement). Some will accept students in the year they turn 3 yrs. I have personally encountered 2 kindies that have the different criterias as mentioned above. I still hv not figured out why this is so.

Thank you for all your well wishes

Hi Cynthia,
The CC at Upper Thomson Rd not very convenient if you don't drive as its located in private estate leh. Furthermore, i don't really like the idea of school bus as our toddlers are still very young. I rely on hubby and FIL to fetch to and fro lor.

Hi cocomo,
Ya lor, he's overjoyed but i'm the one suffering man. He can sleep like pig while i have to wake up several times to feed the baby or pump and still don't have good supply of BM. Really frustrating!!

Hi Kelly,
I really wonder how you cope with 3? At least my eldest is 6, so she doesn't need much of my attention. But Kieira is so clingly suddenly!!

Anyway......here's a pic of Baby Taylon :
1876261.jpg

Cynthia,

Justin takes the school bus back but my maid and FIL will bring him to school on the public bus. Initially, when I was on maternity leave, I was the one to bring him to and fro on the public bus but it was more tiring if it rains cos I have to struggle with umbrella on 1 hand and carry him on the other.

So to minimise the hassle of my FIL as he's already an old man, I get maid to follow him on the trip there and let Justin take school bus back.

There's only 2 kids on Justin's school bus so we dun get an adult to follow. But Justin just sat obediently with his seat belt on.

Of course if given a choice, I would prefer to send Justin there and back myself as I get to talk to the teachers on his progress. But since I have to work and my in laws are old, plus I dun want my maid to be out alone with Justin, so school bus is my only way out lor.

How are your? Hope you and ur precious ones are doing fine.

I enclose herewith an article for your info (from today's Mind ur Body)

Nov 13, 2008
Doc talk
Spare the rod
I am sure many of us parents wonder if we are doing the right thing when we cane our children for misbehaving.
Are we doing them more harm than good?

Generally, professionals working in the child mental health industry do not advocate caning as a way to discipline a child. When a parent is angry or distressed over the child's misbehaviour, he or she is unlikely to make a good judgment or an objective assessment.

Also, the child might learn from his parents' harsh discipline style and use violence to resolve his future problems.

However, there are exceptions to the use of the cane. When a child is involved in an extremely dangerous behaviour such that he is likely to cause injury to himself and to others, or cause huge irreparable damage, caning might be an effective and swift method to stop the misbehaviour.

Otherwise, caning might be counterproductive and can constitute a form of abuse if meted out in an unjustified, unwarranted, excessive or extreme manner. When this happens, caning can traumatise children and make them feel unloved by their parents.

I once saw a girl who was abused after her parents' bitter divorce. The man harboured anger and resentment towards his ex-wife and picked unfairly on the girl, who was very close to her mother. Subsequently, the girl had to be treated for post-traumatic stress disorder.

Studies have suggested that adults who suffered long-term physical abuse as children tend to make poor judgments in adult relationships, re-enact their traumatic experiences and even inflict self-injury to cope with their emotional turmoil, leading to tragic and disastrous results.

Below are some tips that parents can use when disciplining their children:

Give clear and specific instructions
Tell the child what he can and cannot do. Say it in a calm voice when he is paying full attention to you. Using threats would only instil fear and cause the child to lie and keep things from you.

Explain your expectations and the consequences of misbehaviour
Setting ground rules and limits from the very start will ensure that your child is aware of your expectations. You can also demonstrate how you expect things to be done. If your child wants other choices, give him a few simple ones to choose from.

Reward and encourage good behaviour
Make sure any rewards or punishment meted out are immediate and effective to reinforce positive behaviour and discourage bad behaviour. Use creative methods to reward good behaviour, like awarding privileges and extra time to play. Rewards need not be monetary.

Ignore minor misbehaviour and temper tantrums
Let your kids know that bad behaviour will not get the attention they want. Pay attention to them only when they talk nicely and behave properly.

Handle bad behaviour effectively
Withdrawing your child's privileges or implementing time-out sessions are some consequences that can be meted out to let your child learn that his behaviour is unacceptable. Reassure your child that he is still loved and explain your actions after he completes the punishment.

Target wrong behaviour and scold appropriately
Telling a child that he has been a bad boy is unhelpful and might reinforce incorrect attitudes the child might have of himself. If you need to scold, do so privately to avoid causing him unnecessary embarrassment. Always maintain eye contact when you reprimand him so that he knows you are serious about it and gives you his full attention. If you have problems managing your anger, turn to your spouse or family members for support and assistance. Seek professional help if necessary.

Children are to be enjoyed and seeing them grow up is one of the greatest joys of being a parent. Disciplining kids need not be a tug-of-war and your home need not be a battle zone with caning. It is definitely not the best punishment method as there are better and more effective ways to discipline a child.

While the phrase 'spare the rod and spoil the child" is familiar to many of us, it is perhaps time to rethink and refine our concepts of disciplining our children.

Dr Ong Say How is deputy chief in the department of child &amp; adolescent psychiatry, Institute of Mental Health. The department provides psychological and psychiatric services for children and adolescents up to 19 years of age, most of whom have emotional and behavioural problems.

Long time never login, how's everyone?

Yoshi,

Congratulations!! Your little Taylon looks very fair and alert huh, a handsome prince up and coming, you take care and don't stress over BM, FM is equally good yah! :")

Fiona &amp; Cecelia,

Sorry, will pm you the class details in a while.

Racoon,

Justin is attending half day class at Pat's Schoolhouse? Which branch is he at? I'm still wondering whether I should put Hannah at Pat's next year, would prefer half day but no one is available to bring her home so don't think its feasible. :"(

yoshi,
that's a nice pic of Talon, he looks very sweet

cecelia,
thanks for sharing the article. how's life? me coughing for 3 wks liao and Lucien also coughing...so now both of us are throwing tantrums. so the person who gets it is my poor hubby...

honeyb,
hey no prob and thanks.

jas,
how's you and your hubby doing? i guess you must be really busy right now with him down with dengue. do let me know again when you can come pick up the milk powder ok?
you take care.

Hi Augbb,
You can try getting a kitchen set under Little Tikes, ELC etc. They are quite sturdy

I agree with the rest. You can send Jay to pre-nursery/nursery in kindergartens. Megan is starting pre-nursery in kindy next Jan

I AM SO GLAD I CAN ACCESS THE WEBBY HERE! Cos by the time I go back home at night and spending time with the 2 lil ones, the next thg I wanna do is sleep! I have not accessed the forum for months!HEHE

Piyo,

Good to have you back hee! This place has been so quiet...I always have this fear that one day my company will ban Motherhood forum and I can't access hee...

Fiona,

Poor thing, you have been coughing for so long, take care, I've just recovered from mine, luckily only lasted for a week.

Hi Fio,
Same here me also coughing for 2 weeks liao..... ehm.... aft medicine but it still persist maybe due to wet weather.

Yoshi,
Baby Taylon is so handsome.....

Piyo,
i oso cant access internet when i due back home..... of the 2 monkey that i have..... my hand really full.

Any advise on tacklings the T2 syndrome? am really up to the wall with my gal. So clingy.... until i cant breathe and my poor ds being abandon.