(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Maggie & Pups

Me 2. I had been hesitating for quite a while. Cos worry nobody can look after and also dun wana get a maid. And think about going thru the whole process also scare.

Presbyterian Care Services (PCS) CHildcare Centre

Hey anyone's kids go to PCS? i'm thinking of starting leon asap at the one in holland village on flexi arrangement of 9-1, after subsidy $211.

Re #2.
My hubby & I didn't really think of having no. 2 till my son was around 2yrs old. As he was the only grandson on both sides of the family, it really pains us to see him always playing by himself, and he feels lonely sometimes. Yes, he gets our full attention and some parents feels that the child will have friends when he expand his social circle. But having a sibling is different. Parents cannot be with the child always, what happens when there are problems in the family or when we are gone. The child will not have anyone to share or discuss, he will have to shoulder all the responsibility alone. My hubby was not keen to have a #2 cos he & his bro is on bad terms. But I told him, yes, even then he still have a bro to quarrel with.

So we tried for #2, but that didn't materialized till 3yrs later, hence the 5yr age gap. I had very bad MS for my 2nd pregnancy, it was so bad that I was told by the GP that I had pre-natal depression. According to her part of the reason for my condition is also due to my age. The younger the mother, the better body to cope with the body / hormone changes.

So, I agree with Amy, if u do plan to have #2, better to start early. There's is never a right time & money will never be enough.

hi itsy bitsy and amy

thanks for sharing was useful and agree with you guys too. i want leon to have a sibling, and want to have another whilst i'm still somewhat young (31 not say that young either). i jus have this cloud of hesitation over me. with leon, when i found out i was pregnant, i was v happy. for #2, i will feel i did the right thing, but i dunno if i will feel the same way i did for leon. i dunno, lately my brain on overdrive about everything in life, worryin for nothing, and getting depressed about non issues without even getting pregnant yet. SIGH.

good afternoon mummies,

saw alot of mummies talking abt trying for #2, and i also agree with amy tat time is really not on our side as a woman. the age gap of our kids aside, but having at least a pair of kids really change the concept of family.

for me, just having one kid always gives ppl the thinking the kid must be very spoilt, doesnt know how to share, alot of pressure when the loner kid grows up...etc.

i also vexed over the expenses if i hv #2 when i was preggie, the expenses will go up alot coz of maid(her overall expenses staying with us), Sherv will start school, expenses of #2...etc. but i guess the fact tat my mum is willing to help out really gives me the peace of mind.

i really hope all mommies will find their peace of mind, and make tat decision soon! =)

hi mum of l&v

thanks for your feedback. i think i will have #2, just i dunno, thinking too much.
currently my arrangements with leon are 3 days at my moms place, tho my mom is working so just my dad who is resting at home from stroke, maid at my moms, my maid, and my sis/mom home rather often. then 2 days at my MIL which i disagree with everything she does. thot of giving up work, but i think i will b quite depressed and worrying over my dad if i don earn $, + my mom went back to full time work to support my dad so feel guilty if i dont work, hence working. quite happy i've found a childcare, PCS for leon, havent confirmed them but have a good feeling about them.

think i'm jus thinking too much. v annoyed with my MIL, but yet sympathise with her so really struggling over these things, altho i really shouldn't.

Re : #2

I also thinking whether should have anot . Expenses so high nowadays . So stress ... And i planning , if want #2 , shall wait till 2010 , when my #1 is 4yo . cos i prefer tiger than ox , hahahaaa ...

Agree that only have 1 will be too lonely ... but am stress to go thru all those morning sickness , worrying for the baby inside me everyday .. and got to take care a new born ... OH my ... hahah

hi white lady

i think when we get there, and when we see our new baby, we will like with #1, realise it is worth it.
i'm mood swing today man, from want to don't want, to want, to keen, to scared, to want 3 ... haha can you imagine what my hubby has to put up with :p
sometimes i really get excited at the idea of twins too.

coming fr a mother of 3, go hv another one IF u only hv one and IF u can afford #3. u wont regret it n u'll definitely love ur #2. i hv 3kids so i can speak fr my experiences.

it is tough, very tough...e caregiving, discipline, attention-seeking, etc but e joy my 3kids give me outweighs all those troubles.

hey pupsandcups , hahaha ... me too ! suddenly crazy over twins ! how i hope i have ! hahahah .... but i cant imagine , my #1 is boy , if twins boys , wow , faint ... my hubby sis are twins , haha .. wonder my hubby got the twins " bullet " anot ! hahaah

HoneyB, pupsandcups & erin,

i understand what you feeling to some extent too.. after jadelle settled into some routine, i feel hesitant also to start all over again and with age creeping up constantly behind us, really dilemma!

i remember after i pop, i tell my relatives no way another kid!! Jadelle is only grandchild on both sides initially and eldest grand + great Grandchild also.. faint.. so, i can feel pressure also, though not vocalised to me, especially people asking for a BOY..

if you ask when is a good time, i say, never! but, as long as you think you still have small chance to cope and not 100% resist, i say take it... cos, you WILL learn to cope when you reach the bridge! I also no maid, no start Jadelle on childcare yet.. plus i just changed new job, and started studying for masters.. so it seems like timing not right to have no. 2..

but yet, here i am pregnant, i went through probation in new job and got pregnant halfway on our holiday in Australia with Jadelle and hubby, added alot of new experiences to my portfolio this year and never got fired for being pregnant.. started my masters in my 2nd trimester..more to come with exams, planning childcare arrangements for no. 2.. but i think it will slowly come, the solutions..

having another kid on the way, add a whole new parenting experience to our lives.. and in process of trying to introduce jadelle to the concept of having a younger sibling, i see the struggle she goes through emotionally and it is really emotional for me.. cos i also wish for her NOT to have all loved ones attention shifted to no. 2 leh..

Hubby & i agreed that with no. 2, we will focus on giving jadelle attention as much as we can during initial month, as no. 2 still young and can be handled by others outside BF.. hopefully, it will ease her insecurity..

Really unsure how Jadelle will react when i pop, even though now she is darn funny and attentive, talking to my tummy and telling baby that she is putting powder and lotion on him, and offers him her favorite CD to listen.. I constantly tell her to teach baby next time ok to do XXX and YYY and she says ok, she will teach when baby born..

Kelly,

I totally agree with you! Having more than 1 kid is realy different in the house! Though they drive us crazy esp SAHM no time to ourselves and sometime not getting enough rest.. BUT their laughter, their joy and smilies melted our hearts.. Though its tough from the newborn, to toddler to preschool so on.. I believe this created life & liveliness in the family

Well If really can afford and budget well we don't mind having 1 more but only wish to have a boy since have 2 princess liao. But CANT BAO have one so don't think of it hehehe

Jas,
Don't worry about jadelle about able to accept didi. SHE WILL no matter how. Starting Natalie was very jealous and she always freak and cry whenever nicole cry. BUT after 1mth, she simply love her lil sis! Go where will say meimei go. When nicole cry she is the first one to go and say Meimei cry. She be the one throwing her pampers, the one taking bb wipes, rash cream, milk bottles, bathing towel watching me bath her.. I am very glad she is very obedient and didint give me any problem now and I handle both of them myself without anyone help. I guess when time is ripe, automatically our #1 will accept and love them
Main is we must still continue to tell our #1 how much we love them, cuddle more, continue bring her go out shopping playing etc, so they wont feel so left out.

Catherine,
Mother instinct remember? You can handle it with yourselves and have more confident in yourself. For a start I am also but slowly sudden see that I can do it. Start is a tough one but slowly.. the more pressure you put on yourself, the more you will go hay-wire.. this is my thoughts.

Cynthia,
If i were to have #2 i will be very very tired. Now already so tired everyday need to clean up the house after work and cooking for hubby ( to save cost). i don't think i can do the cooking and looking after two kids.

Catherine,
Maybe try work things out with your hb in terms of kids. Maybe when charlotte adapt to school will be alot easier for your mum taking care too

Its like this... have so much to consider which financial is main concern. Now Singapore Kids like so stress.. cant let them slacken! Very poor thing

Maybe if i have better income then i will consider having #2. Otherwise i will be slogging.
Thats Is why singaporean so kiasu All must be no.1.

i checked out the childcare PCS holland village today, think leon likes it, he was immediately playing with the kids already.
turns out with the new subsidy 6hrs a day, which is considered flexi arrangement, is $208 a month. it's not a swanky childcare, but i feel the teachers r sincere, and actually i just want leon to live a 'regular' life
now my maid has nothing to do .. suggestions on what i should let her do? i think she will b bored

Sorry to disturb.
Anyone uses Bliss confinement agency before? Any feedback? Appreciate with sharing ur experience with me. Pls PM me. Thanks!

hi kelly!!
we haven't chat for so long, only the last week or so i've started to become more active again on the comp :p
ya i think when i do have another baby, these blues will go away. i really like kids, and leon is really such a true ,joy, the voice of kids, the hilarious things they say, make my day.

we should all arrange a gathering soon!

I finally downloaded my Japan trip photos. No time to touch up all, here's some shots of Hannah with her idol :")

1703994.jpg

1703995.jpg

And this is my all-time favourite...Hannah enjoying the in-flight entertainment system!!

Look ma! Kung Fu Panda! Now how do I tune it up... :")

1704037.jpg

honeyb,

hannah's so happy to see mickey! and she look esp grown up on the fight seat. and i love the jap style clothes she's wearing on flight, did you buy it on the trip?

i'm embarassed to say i haven't made leon's passport! we r considering a trip early next year tho...

hannah is v sweet, i would so like to have a girl next ;)

STOP SAYING NO CAMPAIGN
After much arguing with my hubby, over as usual my MIL and her way, i have started a stop saying no campaign in my household haha.

I have made utmost effort on positive parenting, but if my MIL and even my hubby doesn't do likewise, the impact is not as desired.

the following article spoke clearly to me, and i hope you mummies will find it useful too:

How to Say No (Without Saying No)
"No." Kids hate to hear it, and you hate to say it — but how else can you keep them safe and well-behaved? Try one of these smart alternatives to just saying no.
Add page to favoritesBy Barbara Aria
The average toddler hears the word no an astonishing 400 times a day, according to experts. That's not only tiresome for you but it can also be harmful to your child: According to studies, kids who hear no too much have poorer language skills than children whose parents offer more positive feedback. "Plus, saying no can become ineffective when it's overused — a little like crying wolf," says Claire Lerner, director of parenting resources at Zero to Three, a nonprofit that studies infants and toddlers. Some kids simply start to ignore the word; others slip into a red-faced rage the minute that dreaded syllable crosses your lips.

So what's a mom to do — let her child run amok without any limits? Well, no! "Parents can break out of the yes-no tug-of-war by coming up with new ways to set limits," says Howard Gardner, an adjunct professor of psychology at Harvard University and author of Changing Minds. Here, five positive ways to answer your child in the negative.

Say yes, sort of
Your kid asks you for candy while you're shopping. You say, "No candy before dinner." He stomps his feet. You say no again, more sharply this time. Before you know it, he's having a five-alarm tantrum in aisle four. Sound familiar? "Some kids can't understand or learn the reason for the rule if they only hear the word no," says Bruce Grellong, Ph.D., chief psychologist at the Jewish Board of Family and Children's Services in New York City. So next time, try reframing your no as a yes. For example, you could say to your child, "Yes, you can have candy after dinner. Let's go look for an apple for now."

Explain yourself and your feelings
Consider explaining to your child why her behavior — such as banging on the table over and over again — is so bothersome to you. You might tell her, "You're hurting the table when you bang on it, and that makes me sad. Please stop." Although it may feel futile to reason with a toddler, you're actually teaching her something: "You're showing your child that what she does affects other people around her — and you're giving her a crash course in empathy," says Leigh Thompson, a professor of dispute resolution at Northwestern University's Kellogg School of Management and a mother of three. "It may take a while for your kid to develop concern for others' feelings, but reminding her of your perspective will help her along," she says.

Give him a choice
Your preschooler is throwing his ball in the living room, and you're bracing yourself for the sound of something crashing. Instead of saying, "No! No balls indoors," try saying, "You can roll the ball indoors or take it outside and throw it — your choice." Why? By offering him an option, you help your child feel like he has some power over the situation. "For kids between the ages of 1 and 3, this also encourages them to make simple choices and develop a sense of independence and competence," says Lerner. Just avoid overwhelming a young child with too many options: For toddlers and preschoolers, two is just right.

Show and tell
Two-year-old Henry keeps poking his baby sister; his dad keeps telling him, "No, stop." Why won't he? "Some children can't stop what they're doing, even when you tell them to, because they don't know what to do instead," says parent educator Elizabeth Crary, author of Without Spanking or Spoiling. You may have to help them figure it out. Henry, for example, needs his dad to say, "Give Sarah a kiss," or some similar suggestion; then he'll have an image in his mind of something to do instead of poking. Younger toddlers might need you to actually help them do what you're asking of them as you make your request: If your child's hitting the cat, say, "Gentle," while you guide her hand in a stroking motion. Do this enough times, and she'll begin to figure it out for herself. Same goes for kids' unconscious and often excruciatingly irritating kicking and banging — on the table, the back of your seat, whatever. "Often, kids are not doing these things on purpose," says Lerner. "Some children are very active and feel best when their body parts are moving — they're doing it unconsciously." Help your child connect with what her body is doing. You could try a humorous approach: "Tell that foot to stop!" Or simply help her figure out what else she could do with the offending body part: Perhaps your daughter is willing to make quiet little circles with her foot. Since long phrases are hard for the very young to process, you could simply tell a small toddler, "Quiet foot," and place your hand on her foot to show her.

Sound like you mean it
"Kids initially learn the meaning of the word no largely from the tone of your voice when you say it," Lerner says. "So you can communicate what you need to say by using the same firm tone without the negative word." Reserve this strict tone for those times when your child needs to know not to mess with you. Likewise, you can also develop a "look" — or a penetrating glare — that immediately signifies to your child, "I don't like what you're doing, and you'd better stop."

Avoid being a party pooper by helping your child find an activity that's just as much fun as the one you're putting off-limits. Instead of freaking out about the mess your toddler's making when she dumps a box of cereal on the floor, distract her with something else that's just as entertaining for her, like a favorite toy. "If you stay connected with your child and the fun she's having, she'll be more apt to cooperate with you," says psychologist Lawrence Cohen, Ph.D., author of Playful Parenting. And turning her attention — and your own — to something pleasurable will help you relax about the cleanup job ahead, as well as the mischief and mishaps yet to come

hi pups,

Me too. Haven't make passport for my girl. Wanted to do it during her bd this year so that the issue date and expiry date will be the same as her birthday but in the end.... too lazy.

Stop saying 'No'
I also observed that if I straightaway say 'No' to certain of rae's undesirable actions, she tends to react aggressively to it. If, I give her reason first then tell her to do the correct thing, she's more receptive to the instructions.

For example, she's removing the pillows and bolsters from the bed to the floor. Instead of saying 'No' first, I told her, the floor is dirty, by doing this, the pillows will be dirty, so can you put them back on the bed. She obeys and do it without fuss or say 'don't want'.

However, certain actions such as 'hitting' / 'beating' whether for fun or when angry, I usually will immediate say 'No' because I want her to remember that such actions are wrong no matter what reason you may have.

Similarly, while playing with your child for example identifying pictures, instead of saying 'no, that is not correct', we should identify the correct one and tell the child the name of the wrong picture that they pick up.

Don't worry too much about your MIL and hubby, just continue to be consistent in your own effort for positive parenting, you will still have desirable results, believe in Leon.

pups,

Re your article, yes, my mom and myself hv learnt to tell the boy to

"walk slowly" (instead of "don't run")
"sit still" (instead of "don't move")

And it works better that way.

sigh, really dunno what to do with my MIL, i think i have to learn empathy too, so i accept the way she is, but i really don't feel comfortable with the way she treats leon.

parenthood is truly a test of marriage and bringing the differences of our upbringing to our table. my parents r liberal, positive, but then again, i think i had too much of my way as a kid. my hubby, is everything cannot, jus study hard don think about anything in life but bringin home good school results to mommy, and that certainly didn't have good impact .. so balancing both views with the fact we both want the best for leon, is a daily challenge that brings the love to test, and hopefully the reward is a stronger love.

pupsandcups,

thks for article.. didn't realise that there are more that we can do to do positive parenting!

we have some of the ideas in place already.. like when jadelle throw her toys aggressively, we ask her to check if they are ok and tell her that the toy feels pain and will be sad when she throws it..

she was also taught not to poke her cousin, but to "sayang" him and hug him instead..

i agree that saying no gives rise to aggressive behaviour. same with snatching a favorite item of the hour out from her hands, as it teaches her that it is ok to snatch.. now, we reason with her and find excuse to distract her & get it back..

recently, she insisted on holding on to MIL ez link card.. MIL brought her to play @ Fountain @ Clarke Quay and suggest ot her to play with 2 hands and to pass over the card, so it will be more fun.. she really considered it and hand over readily, even nag grandma to keep properly inside pocket.. faint..

HoneyB,

Hannah very tall & grown alot.. love her cute expression on the plane!
did you enjoy this trip?

sigh, wondering when i can use my tix to japan..

i took leave yesterday as Jadelle was asked to do abit of TV filming for Evelyn Tan's toddler show.... it was really tiring and it took half a day and she was co-operative mostly throughout..

but i was so tired after that, i cannot imagine when the producers & directors say Jadelle is one of the most co-operative toddlers they filmed recently.. their jobs not easy manz..

cocomo,
it reminded me last time when u did it for Jayden.. i wonder how you did it leh.. anyway, once is enough for the experience!

Fiona,

Yes, Hannah was indeed happy to see Mickey. She was so excited and couldn't stop smiling, insisted to come down to give Mickey a hug. I bought her clothes from a US online store. I did get her a Yukata from Japan, quite sim tia thou ha cos it was very expensive.

Jas,

Wow you become 'Sing Ma' already haa, I bet its a wonderful experience for both Jadelle and yourself huh. The Japan trip was good, go after your delivery else you'll miss out on all the yummy sashimi hee...

Pups,

Thanks for sharing on the article, its a good one. The role of a mummy is indeed a tough job with so many factors to consider, so difficult to find a balance.

morning mummies..

pupsandcups,
thks for sharing the article..

honeyb,
yes, agree that hannah looks tall.. do you knw her height now?
saw ur pics & made me v tempted to bring my son go holiday as well.. =P

jasmommy,
when will the show be aired ? wanna catch jadelle on tv..

re: gathering
any gathering soon? =P would like to bring my son to join u gals & ur kids..
i was not active in this thread when preggie with my son due to heavy workload.. when i m more relieved, i found myself preggie with #2 & thus more active in the other thread.. so my son missed out on getting to know more frenz ard his age.. haiz..
hope its not too late to try to know all of u & ur lil ones..

i guess the tough part is i do a lot of positive parenting, but i can only do so much about the other people around. strangely, i trust my maid (who is a vv good maid) more than my MIL. my MIL says things that don't be me in a positive light, eg, if u notti mommy/daddy will beat u, like hellooooo???? or 'mommy too busy at work to play with u' .... i can't articulate in black font here how much that angers me. SIGH. but she is also v poor thing, cos she is alone all the time, and leon is her one and only pure joy, so sigh. but as leon's mom, i have his best interest at heart, so he doesn't see her everyday and what more i've decided to start my daily childcare 9-3

pup,
Its like this la. Sometime what words come out from MIL does affect and also now our toddler learning is the most powerful from 2-4years old! My mil from birth till now still talk nonsense like " oh you don't want mummy ah want ah ma and stay here lo". THIS HER MOST COMMON WORDS! But ever since birth of #2, I stay home taking care while Natalie go to childcare, MIL has nothing more to say
Even we bring them visiting every weekends, Natalie just greet as per normal and ignore her whenever mil ask to carry etc.. So big gal still carry tired man!

Sending to childcare we will tend to worry too. As alot of kids are there and they might learn what the kids are doing there. sometime what we can do at home is when we saw it and try to get it change if possible lo. But still going to childcare makes them learn bit more and more independant bah. Sometime maid is just like a sideline. In case anything help us and listen to us but again also a limit to it.

i guess at the end of the day, i'm a working mom, the best i can do is exercise my autonomy of who makes me feel comfortable looking after leon. at least my maid, when i come home, she will say run to mommy n daddy, they miss u v much at work. my MIL, will cling on n be v happy if leon doesn't wanna run to me, which tends to happen whenever he goes to her place. at this age, it is v apparent, the behaviours that come out of his r/s with her, and rather than rant about it, i decided to take things in my own hands and send him to childcare ...

<font color="ff0000">gathering</font>,

wah, yah hor, long time no gathering.. but i think hor.. cannot leh.. bedlam with kids dashing all over the place... max only 10 kids and i think the parents will faint already..

<font color="ff0000">happymom2b</font>,
i think will be in oct lah.. i also not sure, maybe after edit will be a short while only.. they will keep me informed.

dun worry, now most of us preggie/ busy with work/ coping with 2 or more kids, we really seldom meet up lah.. n mostly in smaller groups..

<font color="ff0000">HoneyB</font>,
please dun talk about sashimi to me now leh.. drroolzzz.. it is one of the facts that annoy me about pregnancy.. cos i love salmon sashimi! i dunno leh.. after pop, how to travel with 2 kids?? sounds tough!! Must ask Kelly how she did it!

jas
strangely my boys behaved well n stella was an angel so e trip was very enjoyable n manageable. it's not so bad. e only grouse i hv is e packing &amp; e amt of stuff we bring 4 kids. so go travel wif ur 2kids. it's really aint tat bad. there's always a 1st time 4 everything so try then u'll know.

we r going 2 taipei next feb when stella's 13mths old. i forsee tis taipei trip 2 b more difficult than my perth trip cos stella's probably learning 2 walk, i hv 2 handle 2boys' small &amp; big biz needs (cos E's almost toilet trained now) n more stuff 2 bring too.

Kelly,

jadelle still not toilet trained leh.. she can tell us but really really refused to do her biz on toilet bowl. if we force her, she will withhold her poo!

from what you said, i better make plans go japan when no. 2 is 2 months old. cos i been meaning to go for years and my free tix mileage is growing mould lor...

jas
er...mayb u 1 2 wait until ur boy is abt 5-6mths old when he has taken some of his compulsory jabs. a bit risky 2 bring an infant out without his jabs. i was kinda worried when i brought stella out at 5mths old so i was very careful abt hygiene for e kids.

h@ppymum2b,

I wanted to measure Hannah's height over the weekend but forgot about it, don't really know how tall she is now hee, will let you know if I get to measure.

Jas,

Wait till you try their Toro (tuna belly) sashimi, the texture is so nice it just melts in your mouth. Yah, go when your no 2 is still young, by then Jadelle will be more independent too.

Kelly,

Feb will still be cold in Taipei, I bought alot of winter clothes for Hannah when we went to LA last year, she has since outgrown them, let me know if you are interested, I can pass them on to you for Stella :")

ya, catch up would be quite hard to arrange, unlike when we first all met, and babies just stayed where we left them :p

there is this new cafe at the turf club called Scrumptious, is quite a nice place to catch up,but don't think it can accomodate that large a group ...

botanics may be a good idea.

kelly,
wow, another family vacation again..
really pei fu you as it's not easy to handle 3 kids when in overseas.. =P

honeyb,
sure, share with me Hannah's height when u hv a chance to measure her..

<font color="ff0000">pupsandcups</font>,

is it the one with a private playground?

<font color="ff0000">kelly</font>,
oh yah.. feb will be quite cold yah? last time i bring jadelle overseas already from 2.5 months, since then she followed us to malaysia, indonesia, darwin, bangkok... as me was BF that time, i took extra vitamins lor..

but yah.. maybe this round better be less garang..

<font color="ff0000">lao sai</font>,

Jadelle been having loose stools and LS every 2 hrs.. until her butt got super bad diaper rash.. put desitin or calendula also will cry and scream...

We keeping her hydrated, changed her milk to lactose free, we try to feed her as per normal, as she keep telling us she hungry but in smaller portions, we worry over her food intake and give her bits of glucose water. She complains that her stomach hurts (you know when one has gastric?) she presses there and tells me " mummy, jadelle stomach pain"

Seen a doc, but no fever, he asked us to keep her hydrated and wait it out gave us some diahhorrea medication and since already using desitin, keep it up.. when brushing her teeth with my fingers, i felt a molar cutting out at the back...

Now, we keep her not in diapers in the day but in panties... cos when she wee wee in the diaper, she cry cos it stings.. so we let her wear panties and keep her sore butt well ventilated and she is scared of the sting so will ask to go toilet wee wee and squat (again, on the shower area toilet floor).

What else can i do huh? i see her like this, so heart pain..

friends with previous experience tell me that it will last 2 weeks.. today is day 8th liaoz.. sigh..

jasmommy,
poor jadelle.. ervin also had severe LS abt 3 mths ago and was admitted to hosp for fear of dehydration..
yes, the skin around his butt also tore, no matter hw much desitin we applied oso no use.. he will cry &amp; scream &amp; refused to let us clean his butt.. so the senior nurse suggested to apply a layer of "skin" (tis is actually a transparent gel) around the affected area so as to reduce his pain.. it really help indeed and he was crying &amp; screaming lesser when we cleaned his butt..

happymum2b,

how long did u guys take before go hospital to be admitted?
jadelle still taking alot of water.. i also dilute her milk so less lactose intake n more water...

now i dilemma leh... can i get this gel thingy outside?

jasmommy,
Is it stomach flu? Doctor didnt say what? about 1month ago Nat also have diarrhoea cos at school she caught viral infection. I change her milk to soy and also make slight diluted. I gave her more porridge and drink more porridge water which helps too. Don't give her any fruits time being. You bring her to PD or? If still diarrhoea so long not good.. maybe you see if wanna visit this Doctor at Upper Bt Timah. Not bad. Alot recommendation lo. But have to wait very long. Give you the address over here. I may not log in... COS NATALIE JUST DIAGNOSE with HFMD!!!! DAMN! Yesterday she fever at school I bring her back. Today still fever and when bring her see doc realise ulcer in her throat and 2 small little blister! OH MY GOD.... Lucky BB nicole already at MIL hse.. if not scare will spread to her.

This is the clinic you can consider...

Nam Seng Clinic
Tel: 64682824
Beauty World Centre #01-22
Consulatation hours:
Mon-Sat: 9.30am - 1pm / 3-5pm / 7-9pm
Sun/PH : 9am-1pm

jas,
aiyo i sim tia for Jadelle when you mentioned the diaper rashes...it must be very painful. Denise also seems to be teething, can see a bit of the molars sharp edge trying to surface and 2 days ago started having bad running nose and drooling alot suddenly...hope this period gets over soon for our kids.

cyn,
hope nat gets well soon. Denise's CC also came down wif cases of HFMD in Aug, fortunately she didn't contract any but i kept her at home for 2 weeks anyway just to wait till there's no more new cases before i sent her back. how long did nicole stay away from her sis? try to monitor nicole for the next few days as well.