(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

erin00 - your books arrived. pls go to july thread to view details. thanks

hi mommies
first time in long time i had time to read thru some of the history of this thread.
is vvvvvv nice to see so many of you mommies having #2
for a long time i didn't feel v ready, i think esp cos i had such a sh** job with bad hours, but now i'm in my new job for 3 months, am not in a big hurry but can safely say i really look forward to having another one too
in fact i keep telling my hubby i want twins heehee.

hope to see all of you soon!

leobbmum,

your post made my day manz.... showed hubby also and he also cannot tahan...

Augustmum,
eh.. u cut no. 1's imbillical cord?? geez, if it was me, i don't think it would have been possible.. i didn't even see my placenta coming out last time even, i was creating havoc in delivery ward post birth and trashed about the bed even during stitching up due to medication reaction...had a damn super painful recovery manz..

Hi Cynthia

Crisann also same as Natalie. Recently she had been waking up 2-3 times during midnite for milk. Don't think she is hungry cos before bed time she had her dinner and drink up to 350ml of milk. See her drink her milk i also scare. Drink so much. She can't survive without her milk.

I really hope this is a passing phrase.

cynthia,

i guess, this is nat's reaction to no. 2. since mei mei wake up for milk, i also.. for mummy's attention.. it will pass.. in mean time, u prob have to bear with it for 2 months and menas someone have to help with one of them at night..

Jas,

oh dear. What medicine were you given, to make you so delirious post birth?

Yah. I cut the umbilical cord. Actually, it feels like cutting pig intestine

Cynthia,

it should be a passing phase. Jia You! Drink more chix essence since you have little sleep.

augustmum,

whahahaha! pig's intestine!!

oh, the medication was maxcilon.. the anti nausea drug that gynae always give preggie women, but my nausea was controllable, so i never took it last preggie.. until i reacted to epidural and puke lor.. and nurses hand itchy give me that medication.. still remember i ask hubby to throw jadelle out of the window cos she so ugly!! kekekeke.. but thinking back, yikes.. hope next time i dun go through that again.. that depressed feeling that descend instantly was very bad.. felt like dying..

augustmum,
I have tried some of the LUK with my elder girl. Although it looks easy, but she will still make mistake sometimes. Its kind of tricky

Cyn,
Kieira still wakes up throughout the nite for her feed. Abt 2X every nite but always dun finish the 240ml though. I think its more habitual rather than hunger. She also dun finish her day time milk feed and its getting so difficult to feed her solids! She's very clingy to my maid and will look for her when its bed time. i have intention to change maid b4 third one arrives (long story). So frustrating!

yoshi & cyn,

jadelle occassionally wakes up still for milk.. max 2x. sometimes 1x.. each time i give her only 120ml.. no more cos, anymore, she waste.. i think also habit leh..

but now, i make hubby wake up n settle her.. so not so reliant on me only..

hey cat,
it's not my birth story la, kekeke..... i just needed to share the birth story, now everyone knows why! =P

cj,
ya lor! hubby and i also laughed until tears come out on the phone! after he read, we talked on the phone, and still laughing away! beh tahan sia~~~

cyn,
i can imagine your frustrations, with nicole now, but still only ONE you. think your MIL is not helpful at all, and they dun hv the slightest idea of the PAIN they put us thru by giving in and starting the nite feeding habit again.

sherv also stopped nite feeding when she stayed at my mom's place for 2 weeks, but once she's back to my place, she started to ask for milk milk again. it's very siong for my mom, coz she already accustomed to NO MORE nite feeding after 2 weeks of good sleep thru.

can ur hubby help with the nite feeding for Nat? if not, i think u cant tahan this any longer, it's not a matter of getting used to...

if not, how abt setting up a small table in your room, just to put the milk powder n hot water flask in your room? at least u dun hv to run in and out so often, and meanwhile, try to wean Nat off the nite feeding. or just give her warm water then she will wean faster..

MUTIPLE requests for milk milk (even after meals)

i wanna know which mummies are going thru this phase, is this normal? sherv can ask for milk 1hr after her lunch or dinner.

e.g.
milk - 7am
milk - 10am
porridge - 1pm
milk - 3pm
milk - 5pm
rice - 7pm
milk - 9pm
milk - 10/11pm (depends how late she sleeps)
milk - nite feeding( once or twice)

i think she is SIAO already, can drink so much milk in a day!!!

so i hv no choice but to ask my mom to dilute her milk so tat she wont feel bloated. and also, she's been coughing for a mth now, dunno if it's due to the regular milk feeding.

leobbsmom,
Its siong on my maid. She usually prepare the milk powder, bottles and hot flask every nite and put it on the changing table. I think she makes it a habit for kieira liao

For sherv case, is it more of a comfort thingy for her? I experience this situation with my eldest dd but that was when she was abt 12 mths leh. I just make less milk every time she request. around 60ml to 120ml each time

Mummies , i need help !!

Me n HB really no patience towards ray . Recemtly he dont want to sleep in his sarong liao , and its so hard to make him to sleep in bed . Cos if he is in sarong , he got no ways to run out , BUT now in bed , when he refuse to sleep , he will just run n climb here n there ! So recently , he is not napping and sleeping only at around 2 - 3 am ! So last night i cannot tahan , at 11pm , i switch off all lights , close the room door , me n hb pretend to sleep in bed , and ray is at a mattress besdie us , instead of sleeping , he cry his lung out ! And cried till vomit ! and we got to clean him up and he stop crying , then i say the word :"sleep" and he cried and vommit , for 3 times last night ! And my mum call me and hear him crying and know that we beat him , she heart pain , hurry my dad and both of them come my home and fetch their bao bei grandson away ! i really feel stress lor , dont know how to handle him . Think is the Terrible 2 !

leobbsmom,

My son recently also asking more more milk ! dont know why , and have been coughing for like 2 weeks plus already !

re: nite feed
Kayden din wake up for nite feed liao. doesn't take in much milk during the day too (think he drinks 180ml 3 times a day). likes to take solid more.

hi cynthia,
ya, can set up a table in ur room to make milk. That's what I did for the past 20 months, as advised by my confinement lady. only got rid of it recently cos we don't find the need to make milk in the middle of the night. or else get ur hb to take shift. if really no choice, then consider getting a maid to help.

jasmommy,

How did you wean Jadelle off latching? And that happened at how many months?

White_lady,

What time is Ray's last milk feed? How about giving him his last milk feed after you switch off the lights in the room? Let him drink his milk while you pat and sing him to sleep.

Leia,

Justin has been relying on comfort sucking to fall asleep whenever I was around from 2mths to 1 yr. I used the act blur method when he turned 1. I did it the hard way lor by just refusing. It took me abt 1 mth then. He just fussed during bedtime and took longer to fall asleep by flipping here and there. At least till today, he has been weaned, but setback is I have to suffer his actioned pack sleeping routine, sometimes stretching to 1 hr.

HI there

re:nite feed
ryan takes milk about 3 times a day at 6am, 130pm and just before he goes to bed at about 930.

He can sleep on his own at nite after rolling around his mattress which is on the floor for about 30 mins

but for his nap he also wont stay on the bed. will walk around and try to get out of the room or play with his toys then start to cry...
I have been guilty of using car ride to put him to sleep for nap time

if not i plan his morning activity outside and come home after lunch and he will nap on the way home... i will carry him up and he will continue to nap...
he currently naps about 1.5 to 2 hours.

but one problem in feeding him milk at bedtime is he doesnt clean his teeth b4 sleeping..

leia ,

he didnt really have last feed , cos every 3 hours , he need to drink milk ! hai ~

Just now , he suddenly woke up crying , pointing his cheek , i wonder issit he toothache ...

BabyBrain flashcard Dvd
http://www.babybrainflashcards.com/

1)Kelly Level 1 & 2 Chinese & English - Total 4 Dvds $14x4=$56
2)Catherine - Level 1&2 Chinese & English - Total 4 Dvds $14x4=$56
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

Mummies i got to close the deal today if anyone interested Please add in by today. Thanks

BabyBrain flashcard Dvd

3)Babyboy - Level 2 for english,Level 1 & 2 for chinese - Total 3 Dvds $14x3=$42
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

alamak whitelady, u posted at 3am??!!!
poor mummy and me too! i was also awake at 3.30am until 4plus, coz sherv woke up crying again...
dunno if this is the cause of my migraine for the last one week..

i've been waking up in the middle of the nite, as sherv has been coughing for a mth now. she'll wake up and cry, n cough, n vomit, n cry for milk...etc. so tiring... really siong for me, even my mom sleeps with her, and attends to her, but i'm still disturbed with her crying and need to wake up just to check on her.

my mom always asked me to go back to sleep n ignore her, but how can i sleep when she's crying next door... @___@||| really irritating!!

Kelly & mummies,
Collection at Clark quey, Douby Ghout, Sengkang, Punggol, Hougang, Orchard, Raffles place MRT On weekdays. If not able to get to this places you let me know.

Payment to be by bank transfer 178-16110-5 Posb savings

BabyBrain flashcard Dvd

3)Babyboy - Level 2 for english,Level 1 & 2 for chinese - Total 3 Dvds $14x3=$42
4) Leia - Level 1&2 Chinese & English - Total 4 Dvds $14x4=$56
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

BabyBrain flashcard Dvd

5) Amy - Level 1&2 Chinese & English - Total 4 Dvds $14x4=$56
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

Guess I have to use this forum to speak my mind, if not, seriously.... i'm going to break down and need to seek psychiatric help! So bear with me, its going to be quite a long story.

BabyBrain flashcard Dvd

6) Amberlyn - Level 1 & 2 Chinese & English - Total 4 Dvds $14x4=$56
7)
8)
9)
10)

wassup yogi?!?! if u need to "offload" your grievances, this is a good channel i tell ya, coz alot of mummies sometimes go thru the same thing, but dunno how to share... u take care and take heart gal!

BabyBrain flashcard Dvd

7) White_lady - Level 1 & 2 Chinese & English - Total 4 Dvds $14x4=$56
8)
9)
10)

racoon,

haha.... I know what you meant by action packed sleeping routine. My zac sama sama ever since he switched to a toddler's bed. Mine lasts abt an hour too. However, I realised that when hubby was with him in the room and not me, he would doze off faster.

)Kelly Level 1 & 2 Chinese & English - Total 4 Dvds $14x4=$56
7) White_lady - Level 1 & 2 Chinese & English - Total 4 Dvds $14x4=$56
8) jasmommy - Level 1 & 2 Chinese & English - Total 4 Dvds $14x4=$56
9)
10)

Leia,

jadelle mostly stop latching liaoz.. what i did was to fill her tummy with milk from milk bottle. initially she fusses and cry to latch.. but i ly down next to her and offer her milk bottle and hugs.. when she really tired, she slowly took the bottle lor.

now, when she is done with milk, she will push it away or give it to us and turn around and hug her bolster and nod off. i have to pat her butt occasionally.

She now only comfort latch when she have nightmares or feels insecure. so, my milk actually stop liaoz. when she latch, not much milk one..

I did tell myself if she still insist latch, i put bittergourd juice on nipples..

whitelady,
persist and ask grandparents not to interfere. no choice when establishing new routine. offer him lots of hugs and kisses and be patient and don't lose your temper. Let Ray have comfort items around him. Dim lights and you pretend to sleep also.. think he will slowly get used to the new routine.

My mum is looking after my son (23 months) and my nephew (20.5 months). Right now staying with my mum cause hubby don't want me to get so tired going up and down everyday. So weekend I will go back or depending what is the plan for the weekend. Hubby goes home everyday as he doesn't like staying in a place he is not welcome.

It all started happened early last year. My sis and her idiot hubby confronted my parents. During the confrontation, they claimed that my parents didn't give enough attention to their son. Accused that whenever my son cried, people will run there to tend to him. It is not true, her son tends to be much quieter than my boy, even when he cries, it tends to be much softer and normally we will just step back and listen. It is not healthy that whenever the baby cries, you cry to it. The baby will take it in the wrong signal and will crave for attention that way. As for my boy, whenever he cries, he literally scream at the top of his voice and he always seems to have lots of nightmare. That's why my bro give them an example. Just like in the working place, problematic, vocal workers tend to get more attention, but are they in the boss's favourite list? During the confrontation, both of them do not listen to reasoning or logic and stick on to their beliefs. After that, it was cold war and it lasted till beginning of this year, when she decided to talk to me. Even talking, it is only on very quick response and comments here and there. Her hubby is even worse! That was the time when her son is 2 month old and mine is 5 months old. My boy at that time tends to be noisy and I admit he is. But what can I do? Is it my fault? Should I just take a tape and seal his mouth? He is a very active boy and at 4 months, when he discovered he has a voice-box, he has been screaming and talking to himself. When he is 5 months old, my mum put him on the baby-walker as he can sit on his own, to let him have some fun, let him move around but under watchful eyes but only in it for 15 mins. Guess what that man did? Whenever he made loud noise as in screaming and getting excited, he will literally STARE hard at him with a very fierce look and it scares him. He cried loudly that my mum turns around to have a look thinking he had fallen. As he cried, he kept looking at him. My mum said that man just smile and pretend knocking on the table to try to pacify him! What type of person is that!!!!! My mum is not confirm, so she pretended to have her back towards my son and packed her stuff and look at him from the corner of her eyes. True enough he did it when my son made noise. My so called brother-in-law did it because his son is sleeping nearby in the hall. But my nephew is so used to the noise that he doesn't woke up at all. Not even once whenever my boy made noise. Even with him screaming in his own playpen and with my nephew beside, my nephew really sleep soundly. Why is he so mean? Even a baby of 5 months old, he had the heart to scare him???

The sad part is.... I shared almost all my stuff with them. Reason is they are also staying with my mum. I purposely bought 6 bottles of Bfree so we can shared. Even when my sis didn't produce enough milk, I gave mine to hers and I have been giving my supply to her for close to 1 month before the confrontation. On top of it, I bought a freezer to store my milk. Of which, I also asked her to store hers there when her supply is up. After the confrontation, they are still using my milk bottle. Then one fine day, I saw new milk bottles and I thought I can use as well. GUESS WHAT???? She asked my mum to tell me that I am not allowed to use, these are meant for my nephew! I am so angry!!!! I threw away all and bought DR BROWN. During those times when we are staying together, she will keep all her son's toys in the room. While those that are outside, are all MY SON'S toys! My hubby was asking, why are we so generous??? On top of it, my mum will tell me just ignore! Ignore I did. After a few months, they started to treat my mum real good. Offered her wine to drink every night. My hubby is not the type to boot-lick. So of course, he is the thorn in my mum's eye.

Over the months, my boy is really quite scared of my brother-in-law. Especially whenever he see anyone wearing silver frame specs, he will not allow the person to come near or even look at him. If the person does, he will make lots of noise and will cried. I literally have to expose him to lots and try to get him overcome his fears.

When he is around 8 months and very good in controlling his walker, whenever his "yi fu" returned, he will go to him to greet him. My bro-in-law will ignore him! It happened right in front of me. What do I do? I said nothing, but just tell him not to disturb him as he is not free.

yogi,
i think problems will arise when the caregiver has more than 1 kid to take care of, and due to the age gap, there must be give-and-take mindset. and i think your sis-in-law n her hubby are too calculative n mean to your son. they shld not obscure the growth or developement of your son in this manner.

i also hv a colleague whose son likes to slap her bro's NB girl! it's been 5 mths now, and until today, the girl gets slapped at least once everyday! and it's those powerful slap tat will leave palm print on her face! and guess wat, it all started bcoz of the mother of this NB girl... she likes to scold my colleague's son very much! and she watches his every move whenever she is at home, and my colleague has to send her son there everyday for her mom to look after him during the day ma...

until now, the girl's parents dunno tat she's kenna slapped everyday! no way to prevent, coz the boy is 3yrs and he's very fast with his slapping! just slap n run! and the girl is 5mths now, dun like to be kept in a playpen... so it's hard to keep her safe from the slapping...

Jojo,

hope you are fine...

i think the best person to solve the problem is yr mother as she's the senior and hence in a better and respected position to talk to yr sis and bil.

As I was reading, a few solutions came to my mind but not sure if it would work as I'm not in yr shoe.

Possible solution:
1) Are you happy with the current arrangement of living away from hubby during weekdays? If not, move home and take care of yr kid at night and send the kid to childcare in the day.

2) Ask yr mum to talk to yr sis (without her hubby around) personally and ask yr sis what she really wants.

Perhaps yr mummy could also let her see the difficulties that she has taking care of two young toddlers and ask yr sis to come up with ways to help her to cope.

3) Buy a play station at home (if your bil likes to play games) so that whenever yr bil is at yr mom's place, he would play the games and mind his own business. I'm not kidding. Many men actually do that.

My SIL says they supplier will collect stocks today and will be ready to collect by this week thats why i need to get orders by today.

Those Who had order please transfer to my account 178-16110-5 Posb savings. Need to gather all and transfer to my SIL to make order.

When my brother-in-law went to Chicago for business trip, he came back and showed my mum what he bought. Lots books and clothes, commenting that it is very cheap. He came back on the day of my son's birthday, he didn't give him anything, not even 1 piece of those stuff he bought! My sis only give red packet. I am not bother about money or anything... what I am questioning is, where is their heart? Used so much of my stuff, I didn't once asked for payment or share in paying. Such behaviour is really disgusting!

Just recently like last weekend, my son requested for one of his toy while he is eating his dinner. My mum commented that it is not good to have toy nearby as he has already washed his hands and he is going to pick up ice to suck. My hubby is in the room, just when he is out and I told him so, my boy saw and asked for it. So my hubby just put on the table next to him. At that moment, my dear sister, passed a comment that it is not clean to have toy nearby, echoing after my mum. I knew she did that on purpose, because she is unhappy of my hubby imitating my nephew's movement making the gagging movement of want to throw up in the middle of the meal. It is just my nephew's bad habit of doing so. I told my hubby when we are alone not to do that. He did it because he finds it funny, also he has been tolerating too. Both of them have been passing unnecessary remarks at him and to give me face, have been keeping quiet.

Just that moment, my son used a spoon and knocking on the ice-cube and wants me to break the it to smaller pieces. My hubby used that opportunity and knocked on the ice-cube and said "idiot, it is none of your business!" That started the war! I know that he is not right to pass such remarks, but it is really beyond him and over his tolerance over these 1 year of those necessary remarks they have been passing at him indirectly! Anybody has his own limit of patience. At that moment, it is really too much for him to bear! Let alone he is a man.