(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi leobbsmom, every 2hr not me heehee. Don tink i can squeeze cos if too much i wil vomit n also heartburn too lo. So i stil eat 3meals a day, wit milk n light snack. Nw stepping 27wk n total gain 3kg. Cos 1st tri i hardly EAT N lose weight due to ms.

Hi fiona,
Understand ur anxiety. I m like u too abt sendin nat to sch etc. I been doing searching myself n hubby say i decide. Also i hv to plan our family expenses budget n plan moving hse end of yr too. So alot major changes end tis yr til next yr. Finally found a sch near my hse bt must waiting list again. So i hope b4 i due nat able to attend n adjust lo. I wil b taking both kids myself n mil didnt even volunteer any. Til i move near mil hse n nat have to change a sch again too. So many confusion la n we always worry our little one cant adjust n mre concern! Bt try stay positive too, i tel myself whenever wat comes jus accept n try our best okie
cheer up!

so is the gathering at my place confirm this friday? Timing 12 noon ok with you all. N also are you all coming for lunch? Coz i need to prepare food...let me know soon ya...

Augbaby,

I would love to join in this Friday but nowadays Hannah usually naps from 12.30pm till 4pm so I also don't know how to go, I'll sms you for your address if we can make it, don't have to prepare our share of food ok

Alternatively we can meet in the evening after the kids had their dinner say 6+ onwards? Wich timing do u all prefer...pls pls let me know ya...

HoneyB,
will evening timing be a better timing for u n Hannah?

HoneyB,
Jaz...no fix timing so diff to cater to her..haha..jay nap from abt 3pm to abt 5pm....He need to sleep for at least 2hrs in the afternoon lor...

Augbaby,
In that case suggest go with majority, see what time the rest of the mummies prefer. I'll try my best to join in ok. Dinner time can also be tricky cos if all of us start feeding, think we'll turn your house upside down hee..

Hi Cynthia..

thanks.. Zorian fever gone but he hates water.. sigh.. so super heaty.. trying to make him drink water lor.. u cheer up and look at the bright side okie..

Hi Fiona..

Cheer up.. do wat u can lor.. must take care of yourself and the baby in there.. wat about getting a maid to help ure MIL at home?? will tat work??

Hi augbaby..

if evening, have to check with hubby if we can make it.. i let u know again hor..

cynthia,
thanks for the encouragement. ya so much things is happening and very confuse at times...but we still must go on...

kris,
you wouldn't believe it...we haf a maid at home, and changed 4 maids so far and everything was settled by me too...i "bao sua bao hai...bao dou sai"

Yo Kris,

Wonder whatw wrong with plain water hehehe Natalie also refuse her water since young. Till last few mths finally she start to take water from her bottle. Maybe you wanna try put abit of ribena if helps? I try on Nat bt she don wan hai.. so we need alot of trial & error lo.

Augustmum,
Ya ya si be sian.. esp have to think of every singe details la etc. For me having a maid is out cos we don like maid & mil strongly opp it. Even get her a maid she will complain difficult to communicate and e cost. So rather we send Nat to childcare whilst she can manage 2nd one lo... I think tough side is me cos initially I will be taking care at least 2nd one turn 6-8mths before I work.. if not wait til 1yo..

Fiona,
We are like slave hehehe... Been a mum, a worker & a wife & a DIL & MAID too.... so sometime i tel myself future I wan to be a man! Just work work don care so much

cynthia,
high five! we really sama sama...haha

kris/cynthia,
re: drinking water
denise never likes to drink water too, i've even bought her a few bottles to trial...this is her 3rd or 4th liao...and the latest is from nuby, which has the best result, realised she prefers those soft & not too short straw kind bcos sometimes can chew on it...you may wanna try. i also tried ribena, rosehip syrup but none works.

augbb,
i think can't do house visit for a year leh...
maybe next round of gathering if all mummies agree, we can arrange to meet outside for dinner or something, then it should be alright for me

cynthia,

hi5! we dislike having a maid too and we also know getting a maid for mil will even create more problems for us. So, we chose to take care the kids ourselves. Don't worry too much. When there's a will, there's a way. Sure can cope. Be positive!!!!!

hi augustmum,

Can you share your experience dealing with zac when he has cough and phlegm. I have already brought rae back to see PD twice since she starts to have cough, running nose and phlegm. But now, though the running nose and cough conditions have improved, the phlegm sounds still quite bad.

Did you refrain Zac from any food when he has cough? I don't but my mil practically stop her fruits intake for this week.

kRis/Fio/Cynthia/leobbsmom & other mummies,
My appetite is ok now, no more MS. I am taking 3 meals as usual nowadays but sometimes does have tea break at around 4pm. I have gained 2kg so far. Will have my detailed scan end of this month and pray that everything is fine.

I am having heartburn nowadays, think quite early to have this feeling right? Tummy started to show since 2 weeks ago and now look BIG for 18weeks I think. Any of you having headache huh? I had that almost EVERYDAY le, dunno why also. This really make me worry. I made known to gynae but she said pressure ok and ask me to take panadol whenever needed. ai. . .

I used to be very energetic but nowadays feel very tire everyday, no energy to do things and to play with Jay. I always wake up middle of night and can't get back to sleep again after that, can lie on the bed for 2-3 hours sometimes. Anyone having this problem as well?

Re: Travelling during pregnancy
My boss just talk to me that he need me to travel overseas quite often started April (as I told him I can't this month as my hubby is aways till mid of Apr). I am really not sure should I agree to the travelling plan as I am pretty worry that it will harm my baby. Any opinion on this?
if I am going to travel overseas started April then I might delay Jay's enrolment for CC to May. Really dun want him to feel mummy dun love him anymore so just dump him at CC. Feel very fluctuated and discouraging nowadays over all these issues.

Cocomo,
Think you don't have enough rest/sleep lah thats why keep getting headache + you have many worries nowadays, have more rest my dear. As for traveling, I think it all depends on your physic as well as the country you are going to. If you are not comfortable about traveling, get your gynae to issue letter that you cannot travel within this period. I travel often and I feel exhausted after 2-3 trips, can't imagine if I'm pregnant and still have to make so many trips, will be tough.

Cocomo,
i did experience most of what u experience when expecting jaz so its ok..just that with ano older child around n work it gets tiring n u always feel permanetly tired plus like u i hav v v bad heartburn that it affects my sleep at night but cant do much things abt it lor...hee hee..yr signs almost same as mine so yrs might be a girl girl ya...
anyway try to rest as much as u can..as for travelling, my personal feeling is that i wont travel coz first of all its alr v tiring in sg n imagine having to travel n stay in hotel rm myself...think i be so depressed...maybe u can hav a discussion wif yr boss abt it...

so can we confirm the gathering for this friday for abt 1pm onwards...pls also confirm wif me if u all having a light lunch here n i can prepare the food accordingly...pls let me know by today can pls...tks

Fiona,
sure...i dun mind meeting outside too the next gathering...

think will cook light lunch like bee hoon n some snacks...so if anyone of u not coming to eat pls let me know so i know how much to prepare ya...hee hee...but hor my spread wont be as gd as yoshi one hor...:p

cocomo,
we are going thru' very similar symptoms(heartburn, lethargy, headache & waking up in the middle of the nite & can't return to sleep)...think it's bcos we are bothered by work or otherwise, "re you shuo si, ye you shuo meng"...haiz

you can take honeyb's advice and get a doctor's letter if you are uncomfortable with your company's arrangement. dun do something at the expense of your own comfort level, as it'll be more tiring for a preggy mum to travel about.

cynthia/augustmum,
i also super dislike having maid in the house, but FIL insisted on getting one(he's not the one having to go thru the process of hiring mah...say very easy), the only console is he's paying for it but dunno for how long lah... and i agree, having a maid can be more troublesome as they either not follow your instructions or elderly can't get along with them and end up with conflicts.
but my maid is solely meant for handling housework only, i've told my MIL not to let her handle denise accept for the occasional carrying. and if i'm at home, denise only wants me so it's not a prob.(we as mummy always more "xin ku" de)

Cocomo,
On the other hand, sometimes its good to get away for a while, helps you to re-think, re-charge and re-strategize hee. If you are going to nearby country should be fine as long as your physical well-being is good. Take it as a chance to have some time alone to do some shopping/dining/massage or just simply watching TV without disturbance. Just make sure that you have transport arranged to pick you up at all times, stay in good hotel thats convenient and pack light so that you don't have a heavy luggage to handle.

ya jay also nap abt that time coz now he only nap once in the afternoon so he need to sleep...if not he b v cranky...haha

amy,

I gave zac lotsa water and soup. Pd discouraged medicine so that him recovered on his own. I bought euky bearub from pharmacy to put on his feet before wearing socks. It's something like vicks but it meant for young children.

I still give zac fruits like chinese pear, plums. Not sure can or not. However, I avoided grapes, citrus fruits, water melon etc. I avoided giving him chicken too.

hi augustmum,

Thanks for replying. So, you let him recovers on his own for how long (e.g 2 weeks) before you take proactive action again? Or usually by 2 weeks, he would have recovered on his own.

I'm also avoiding grapes, oranges, banana and chicken. But, my mil takes drastic measure by stopping all fruits which I'm still hinting to her to let rae has her daily supply of fruits in the forms of apple, pears, papaya.

Hi mummies - Im into my 33rd week now..gained 9kg so far. Baby been rather active. I guess its really not easy being preggy with #2 coz still got to work & manage #1. Gen still sleep with me so at night when she wake up, i wake up. I also hv to be carefully of her kungfu kicks. Worse still, i have to be awake at times to search where she is coz she sleep, roll & turn like nobody business.

Apetite wise..been eating lesser qty coz full easily but hungry often so substitute with snacks in between. I also must have cold gaseous drinks everyday..jialat lah.

Augustmum,
I think sometime we still prefer to do things ourselves hehehe "pai mia"

Fiona,
Now I am using pigeon drinking bottle for her. She also prefer those soft straw type can chew & bite! So she has improved in drinking plain water this few mths lo

Hehehe at least time being ur FIL sponsor e maid stil ok. Sometime having a maid depends on luck too.. whether the maid is good or not. Just by appearance cant judge much, need long term judgement bah.

Cocomo,
Heartburn! I hate this. Through out my pregnancy I keep having this. Only stop around 2nd tri and now is back again. My gynae told me to drink hot milk or milo and it sees to improve abit lo. No harm trying too
I also cant sleep well... esp with Nat around and i am a light sleeper. Recently not been so smooth for me. Now stepping 27weeks and been having pain & cramp. Gynae warn me to rest & if possible bed rest! How to bed rest I wonder with a toddler around... so now once awhile will have to place Nat at mil hse in order I can rest more...

MH,
Happy to hear things are getting well frm you too. Its tough to be preg & having 1st one around.. Maybe this is how mother behave, cant sleep well worrying etc. So fast u going to pop & finally all come to an end.. kinda don like the process of pregnancy (so tired & alot symptoms).. must inform us when you pop too!!! Take care.

amy,

I took zac to see the pd last thurs and he was okie today. Less than a week for this episode.

In the past, if he din recover by a week, I would then give medicine. My pd will give us medicine to standby.

However, not all cases are the same. If there's wheezing, then better go back to pd asap.

Hi everyone!!!
How's everyone doing?

Augbb,
me may not be able to make it in the evening cos planning to haf dinner with Megan's godparents and old friends
let me know the confirmed timing k?

kRis/Fio/Cynthia/leobbsmom/cocomo/MH & other mummies,
Just went for my gynae visit on monday @25weeks... so far ok but I gained 5 kg liao
must really control food intake for the remaining part :p so far so good, this bb ger is treating me well
but like most of you, feel tired at times cos maybe of Megan bah.. trying to spend as much time as I can with her b4 no.2 comes along then must still spend some time with no.2 privately too...I just got my 1st leg cramp this week, anyone experiencing this so far? occasionally wakes up in the middle of the night cos sometimes megan may disturb a bit...going into last tri soon... hope the pregnancy would continue to be good.. staying positive
My appetite sometimes good sometimes bad but tis time round I dun eat as much as Megan's time though...Anyone taking bird nest and/or other ho liao so far? me now waiting for my bird nest to be ready hehe

One piece of good news for me (mayb bad too but I thk pros more than cons), my parents are retiring end of this month, so it "self-solves" most of my worries - maid leaving, megan going to school, who to take care of no.2 etc
self explanatory right? *wink wink* BUT we also forsee problems like "they asking us to take megan out of school", "different parenting styles", "differences with new/old maid" etc but with old folks ard, definately better!

Cocomo,
if I were you, I would not travel. you preggie can easily get gynae to write you a letter for your company! so how? when is Jayden going to join megan? hehe

Fiona,
So you settle CC liao right? only need the MCYS to approve then can go in liao! School hunting is a big headache!!! Try to stay positive! Like what Augmum says, when there is a will, there is a way!

Cyn,
If you sending Nat to school, dun drag too long, they need time to adapt and can be 1 week to 3 mths.. sending early gives NAt and you more time to plan for contingencies

Amy,
Hope she recovers soon! hates to see babies sick! i was telling kelly this afternoon that i am still "waiting" for megan to fall sick (since she is in full day cc), just dunno when...

anyone organising spree to sambucol/cod liver oil? if anyone organising can text me? i wanna get some... thanks!

any mummies interested in signing up your kids for music classes? Been researching ard and think Mandeville seems not bad compared to other similar music schools. Me thinking of signing megan at Mandeville for baby music class (cos megan seems to like music and dancing). It's about $107 per month, 1x a week 45mins each time, 1 parent accompanied. If any of you interested, we can go join their classes together. let me know ya?

Re: Megan in school

Not sure if I mentioned here, we actually decided to pull her out of school last tuesday but after talking to the teachers and all, we sent her back on Wednesday. Surprisingly, she did not wail big time and everyday seems to be getting better!

This is her 3rd week there. We have seen her progressing from hugging onto us like koala bears & crying big time to stretching out her hands for teachers to carry her and now to running from our arms to teacher's while whinning away. From teachers having to carry her the whole day thru to now running all over the shop playing with the materials and starting to play with her friends to now holding hands and walking/running with her friends and smiling. Told the teachers not bathe her though cos we observed that seemed to be her phobia. It worked! EATS alot at ctr too, always ask for 2nd helping but come back still goes "mum mum" "mum mum"...Lots of improvement within less than 3weeks! But separation anxiety is always there when we dropped her in the morning (but we not so heart-pain liao cos the cris only last till we are out of sight) or when my parents got spotted by her when they go peeped at her in the afternoon. haf just told them to stop popping by and let her settle down 1st. Now she comes home happy, smiling, sleeps well and all.

Overall, Teacher observed that she adapted very fast. She also observed that Megan understands quite a fair bit for her age but have yet to verbalised or show the outputs yet. For now, I am very happy with her progress in school and at least now I felt better compared to the 1st week of school! Now she made me feel we make the right decision! Heng never pull her out halfway else efforts all wasted
hopefully, she dun rewind to week 1's pattern next week else I faint:p

Hi piyo,

I did also consider Mandeville but it's a bit far for me so in the end choose Seimipi(Funan) but now still waiting for confirmation that the class is really going to start in Apr.

Which day and time are you looking at for Mandeville?

Thks for your concern. She still having flu. Its due to some virus and also because of weather.

Hi Kris

Glad to hear that Zorian is feeling better. Crisann also dun wana drink water as well. So what we do it dilute her milk. My mum also boil barley for her.

Hi Cynthia

Think postive. U will be able to handle it. Take care.

Hi Amy,
I heard reviews are not good for Seimpi.. you aware?

Our kids can only go into after they turn 2. There is a class starting on 16Aug Sat 2pm. Although Megan turns 2 exactly on 15Aug, I might not go for this one as she has class prior to that. Might go for the next one starting from oct 1 Sat 5pm
Still deciding..

Alternatively, have you considered Mac's music school at Forum?

piyo,
great to hear that megan is coping well in childcare, it acts as a motivation for me. really hope denise will adapt well when she start probably in a month's time.

yup it's good we've found a childcare ctr very near to our place (walking distance), so now crossing my toes & fingers the application will be approved by mcys.

i've always wanted to send denise to music classes but that'll be later since i'm sending her to childcare now, wanna give her a break during the weekend. but i'm looking at piano lessons kind so it'll be 3-4 yrs old bah..must go find out more 1st.

thou i juz let u all know that jay n jaz is having slight cough now...so i dunno of u all still wanna come..let me know ya..it seems for now it is kris, piyo, kelly, erin...cocomo say maybe cant coz timing is when jay taking his nap...so how ah mummies..let me know ya...

piyo,

I'm aware that some of the recent trials with seimpi are not receiving good reviews. It is still one of the better ones within a location convenient for me and has programme for kids before 2 years old. And has suitable timing that don't clash with her napping hours so thinking of just going for a few lessons first.

Mac's also has course only for kids 2 years old onwards. Will consider that after august.

Brought rae to a puppet show brought by ACT3 recently, she enjoys it for the first 15minutes then after that she's more interested in the chairs in the theatre.

So, you stopping Megan's SM lesson and going for other courses? I'm more into more music-focused enrichment programme now and when she's 3 or 4,will let her learn ballet. Music and dance are 2 areas which I cannot teach so got to send her to such programmes to cultivate her interest.

cocomo,

your symtoms are the same as mine when i was expecting Sherv... so i guess it's normal like augBB agreed too. BB girls are drawing more maybe?? i'm into my week 14 now, appetite still unstable. i wanna eat, but cant eat.

i think your waking up at nite is due to the worries u hv on your heart lately la, pls dun worry so much and let your body rest as much as it requires. with Jay around, you are already exhausting watever remaining energy u hv..

Travelling
I think u shld choose to travel selectively! those nearby countries shld be fine but places indo n india, think will be too tough for your stage now. also must avoid long trips coz u need to pack heavy n this will exhaust u. try to get gynae to write stating u r not fit to travel, but tell your boss u will consider some trips at the same time. at least it seems u r willing somehow and boss will undstd why u reject some trips.. just my sugg.

My daily routine after work
i'm also tired everyday after work, but i still try to watch barney with Sherv, then feed her, then bathe her, then play with her, then watch tv or lie on the bed with her, sing songs n talk to her, then feed her milk, then it's considered a day for me..

Addressing me
she keeps calling me, "mummy" once i'm home. every little thing also "mummy here "mummy" there! but i enjoy hearing her voice...! =P she will outcast the rest once i'm home, so it makes me quite tired also coz she only wants me. >__<

Piyo, i'm proud of megan for U! glad to hear tat she's adapting so well at her age, n u can rest assured tat u didnt make a wrong decision for her! think i will still stick to enrolling her when she turns 2.5yrs. meanwhile, she's attending the sunday school at church.

Piyo - Glad Megan is adapting well in CC. Guess its really a big relief.

On Cramps - I got it once every few days when i sleep at nite..will wake up &amp; moan in pain. I dun experience so much with Gen but this #2..almost every other nite.

Anyway below are some pics of Gen in her playschool at KidsLoft

1308656.jpg

Trying to cut the fruits...

1308657.jpg

Gen paying attention to the teacher telling story..surprisingly..

I've been nursing a terrible flu and cough for 2 weeks liao. Justin caught it from me in the 2nd week and he also has slight wet nose, just gave him some medicine from PD last time on and off but giving barley water everyday.

Re: Pre-School
Piyo, great to hear that Megan is adapting well. You made the right choice. I just checked out the MMi in Sengkang, and like what Yoshi said, very chaotic and messy, kids were running around barefooted on the outdoor pavement which can be quite hot under the sun. But they have very good facilities like gym, yoga room, and swimming pool. But problem is teacher to student ratio is too high 1:10. Hubby said will send Justin for half day pre nursery but not MMI Sengkang when he turns 3 and can take school bus cos he's heartbroken to see him away from home at such a young age. I also feel the meals in the school can never compare to home cooked ones. So will scout around for better schools again.

MH,
does Gen also snatch your book when you try to read to her at home? i was also surprised when denise can sit quietly in class(during one of the trial visit to cc)when the teacher was reading a story, bcos she always snatch my book away from me.

racoon,
take care of yourself and justin, many ppl tend to fall sick during this terrible weather time... hope you get well soon!

HoneyB/augbaby/Fio/Cynthia/Piyo/leobbsmom,
Thanks for your advice. Maybe you all are right that I might be thinking too much that's why causing me can't sleep well at night! Will try not to think for the good of myself and my baby. As for the travelling, very difficult to decide as I have the responbility to travel coz it is part of my job and I wish I could be more hands on and understand more of my Group's overall operation and strategy. But on the other hand I wish I can dun travel for the good of my baby. Mostly I will be travelling to Shanghai so environment should be ok. Just that I dunno if I can handle it at current preggie condition or not?! My parents and hubby all ask me not to go lo. But if I dun go my boss will not be happy I think. sigh. . .

Re: Hand foot mouth disease
I heard from my colleague that her son's CC called to infor that there is hand foot mouth disease in his CC. Does this disease has season one or all around the year has the possibility to infect huh??

counting down to the long weekend, can't wait. Hopefully I will be able to 'nurse' rae back to cough free state of health with 3 full days with her....

Where's kelly? no updates on Ed and Stella?

hi cocomo,

Read from KKH's website that HFMD is present all year round not a seasonal thing.

But, since HFMD is spread from person to person by direct contact with the nasal discharge, saliva, faeces and fluid from the rash of an infected person. Thus, it tends to get more infectious during the flu season.

You seems to be quite passionate in your work so now that you are still in the early stage of pregnancy, go for the travelling opportunities.. I very bad, sometimes I'm just thinking that as working mother, I want to be in that state of mind that i can still work to my best so that the boss won't shortchange us on the salary/bonus/opportunities simply by brushing us aside because we are mothers.

Fiona - Ya..Gen cant sit still to hear me tell stories..will move here &amp; there &amp; snatch the book. But at the playgroup, she can sit still longer &amp; whenever i say "teacher scold ar" she will quickly sit down. Wonder why...