(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Amy,
Thanks for the information on HFMD.

Aiyo I am not passionate at work, just that my company is expanding and has more plans coming up so it will be at my own risk not to know/aware of those plans/issues at my level. Very stress nowadays. If I can I rather be SAHM, but cannot lo coz no work no money.

ya.... I would also rather be a SAHM not because it is easier (before kelly and augustmum 'arbish' me) but because I believe that the first 6 years of our child are in fact the most important period to bring them up. Ideally, will be SAHM for their 1st 6 years than come out and work again. But, Reality bites.

hi amy,
Well understand ur concern esp 1st 6yr foundation n bonding. But not easy been a sahm cos i used to think its easy in e past. Till i personally experience it nw. Tends to worry alot n also temper can b short at times n impatience haha. Nevertheless, now just spend whatever free time available n don feel bad about it

amy,

i used to think tat SAHM will be ideal for my motherhood, but on second thot, i think i cant make it! coz if i face my darling all day long, i might not hv loved her the same coz of exhaustion n impatience due from taking care of her the whole day.

and the same applies to the children when they face us all day long, they would not hv missed us the way when we are not by their side for some 10hrs a day... and also the lifestyle can be better for all of us if there are dual income. it was after all these thots tat i console myself tat it's good tat i'm a working mom! hahaha... =P since i cant be a SAHM then i shall come up with many PROs to support my decision lor! =P

oh, here's wishing all of us a Good Friday and have a good rest for the long wkend! =)

leobbsmom,
i agree with your point. I started out as a sahm, and it was exhausting and totally challenging mentally, i was practically running out of patience at some point( i think it's just my impatient nature acting up on me...haha )

i get a lot more satisfaction being a ftwm now with the income i can plan more for my gal and now after a long day at work, we enjoy playing with each other or even just lay back and watch tv together is a pleasure. but of course, every morning i still experience "can't bear" to leave her syndrome.

yoohoo! happy holidays to everyone, here comes long weekend!

Hi Piyo

Glad to hear that Megan adapt so well. Hope Crisann is same like Megan. She suppose to go to CC this wk but still hv not recover. And also hear that quite a no of tod is sick at the CC. So had hold back and will only send her fm 1 Apr.

Think been a SAHM is not easy. For me think I sure can't. Cos I'm quite short temper kind. Like now my mum looking after her. Everyday when I'm back she will sure complain about how naughty she is. So if i will to be a SAHM think i will sure gone crazy. Hehehe.

Hi Cocomo

Don't think too much just try to rest well.

Hi MH

Gen is so pretty now. She seem to behave v well in the playgroup. can sit and listen to teacher. Don't think Crisann can.

Hi piyo,
glad that megan's adjusting well to playgroup. i'm hoping that Kayden will adjust well too.

hi MH,
Gen is so well-behaved. think kayden will be walking around or pulling the book from the teacher haha... but i think the kids are quite smart. I went to observe the playgroup where Kayden will be attending and the toddlers can all sit down quietly and listen to the teacher telling them a story.

hi cocomo,
me too. have a maid to do all the housework while i play with my boy. haha... can only dream of this. don't think it'll come true

SL,
Ya I will try. thanks.

erin,
high 5!! My hubby ask me to wait till next life to be a tai tai. . .

Weather is good these 2 days so brought Jay to Botanic Garden ytday and Zoo this morning. Now exhausted liao!!! We can have the gathering at Botanic Garden next time since always not successfully organise? Anyone interest?

Augustmum,
I am really happy everytime I look at the photos I have taken for Jay from my new Canon SLR camera!!! So happy to be able to capture his every moment CLEARLY! Normal camera really cannot fight!

Hi White_lady/Fiona,
The first one taken at Botanic Garden (got sand play as well) - Jacob's Chidren Garden, 2nd and 3rd were at Zoo. This one Jay with Sea Lion (real one). He looked scare as the Sea Lion keep kissing him while waiting for the camera to get ready.

1311651.jpg

augsustmum,
Really thanks for your compliment. Ya after seeing those photos my hubby has nothing to complain liao. Keep saying although the camera is heavy and ex but very 'zhi de'! ha. . .

Hi Cocomo

Nice pic taken. Jayden seems to be enjoying himself. Really pei fu u still hv the energy to bring him out for outing even though u are pregnant.

Hi MH,

saw your gal attends Kid's loft
my boy attended the holiday program last year. I quite like her.

May I know how often do you send her there? I am thinking of starting ryan on regular classes on weekdays too.

Are you workin rite now? maybe ryan can join the same classes, I am planning to call Lavina tomorrow.

amy
me busy cos stella got reflux problem, blocked nose n edward got bad phlegmy cough while gabe's giving me discipline problems and also busy organising/joining sprees.

fyi, i called hubby on thu & told him i 1 2 quit being a SAHM. long story but no fun being a SAHM anymore.

i was also down wif a bad flu since fri nite.

cocomo
HFMD can happen anytime but it usually "attacks" during mar-jun when e weather turns hotter. tat was when me & my 2boys were down wif HFMD n i had 2 move stella 2 my mum's plc for 10days. heng she didnt get it.

amy
btw, reality bites VERY HARD. lotsa sacrifices esp financial n personal sacrifices. i dunno if it's worth it now but i sure hope it is.

i dun expect rewards or accolades but e best i received so far was fr my husband who thanked me nonstop 4 being a SAHM 2 handle his 3 offsprings.

It was the long weekend but I still find it too short, like it happened too fast hee, guess its always not enough huh :")

Kelly,
Phew, I'm glad that Stella can still wear, was very worried that she may have outgrown already cos from her photos, she look very chubby mah hee. How's her blocked nose, hope it has been cleared. As for Ed's phlegmy cough, have you tried pearl powder, this thing really helps to clear phlegm.

MH,
Gen really looks like her dad hor, spliting image especially the first photo. Can share abit on Kidsloft's program, thanks. :")

Cocomo,
I like the Children's playground at the Zoo, Hannah's favourite is the baby swing, once she gets in she will not want to come out. Next time I'll let her play in the water fountain, I think she will enjoy it too. Jay looks like he put on some weight hor.

I brought Hannah to GUG last Sat for a trial class and guess what, she was crying and making so much noise in the class I felt so pai seh, she kept pointing to the door and want me to bring her out, all the other kids were quietly sitting down and enjoying themselves, think my girl really hates to be one of them, don't know if I should feel sad or what sigh. Looking at this, don't think she will like JG class as well or should I try again?

jaz is down with bad phlegmy cough and flu...me too now having it...
sigh...we got it from jay...this time is worst for jaz coz i think she has developed a fear of med....coz most of the time when i feed her med, she will puke out all her milk and i only just started feeding her a tiny little bit of med only and she will start puking...make me feel so sad...we got to change her clothes so often...but no choice...she got to take 5 types of med plus the phlegm is rather bad and u can see her coughing so often and when she is sleeping as well..

Hi augustmum and cocomo,

I really envy the photos u've taken, my hubby also bought a digital SLR but dunno issit he never explore how to set the setting properly or he plain lazy. I think its the Nikon D40, he lost it once and bought a repalcement and he now even bot an external flash so as not to flash at Justin directly, so troublesome and heavy but of course I know if u use it properly, the effects are so much better than a normal camera. Sigh, I kept nagging hubby to experiment more with the camera but he too lazy lah. End up I always see other people take better pictures than my camera. Then my hubby like to take pic where its scenery big big but Justin small small, so angry. I guess the only satisfied pic I have of Justin to date is this one I took myself during CNY.

1314201.jpg

mummies and babies,

i wish u all a speedy recovery and restoration of good health soon!

augBB, rmb to apply Vicks on the kids' soles and put on socks when they sleep. it helps to warm their body so tat they wont cough so much. can also apply a bit on their chests n backs. u take care too hor! hugzzz***

kelly, take care too! =)

To all toddlers and babies and mummies who are sick, pls take care and get well soon so we cna spend even more quality time with our precious little one.

I myself finally recovering from my 3 weeks long flu, poor Justin got it from me and got blocked nose for more than 1 week. Doc now gave him those medicine to open airways and if still not recovered within a week, will put on antibiotics, I hope he doesn't have to take antibiotics cos its strong medicine afterall. He's now good at throwing tantrums and crying mroe to get his way and that makes his nose even more blocked when he cries. Sticks to me like superglue, I dun mind that but really tired for my arms to keep carrying him as he wants no one else. I really ask for more patience and energy and oh yah more arm strength.

Take care everyone.

honeyb,

U r not alone. Justin react the same way in GUG and JG. To think that I always they are quite well known schools who provide good quality education, but Justin simply did not enjoy and cry till I dunno where to hide but to quickly bring him out before the class ends. So now I think although I can give him the so called best schools, it still very much depends on how well he adapt to the environment so no harm going for trial to find out lor.

Dun feel paiseh, I believe a lot of mothers went thru that

kelly,

U quitting SAHM and submitting your resignation to your hubby. *Imagining big drops of sweat dripping down from his head.*

Take care and try to 'delegate' more out and rope in your parents to help.

hi white_lady,

I will brush my girl's teeth, twice a day. Once in the morning and once after her milk at night. Still using First Teethpaste.

kelly,
hope everything is fine for u...
being a SAHM is definately not an easy job, i didnt last as one for very long. but now my hubby is asking me to consider it again. gotta make choices again.

whitelady,
my kid refuses to let me brush his teeth. he used to let me when younger but now, he wont. he will chew the brush or bite it.

mummies any tips to encourage brushing? I have tried diff toothpaste, which he sucks away. and also brushing my teeth together with him.

also, sorry i have been not online here much. been extremely busy with work.
speaking about flu and inflamed throat, my boy came down with it 2 weeks ago. Dr gave him some antibiotics, and the poor boy has diarreah for almost 12 days.

so Augbaby,
i feel your worry and stress for your gal. Pray she is better already.

to all the sick mummies & babies,
hope you all get well soon, do rest more & don't be too stressed out.

whitelady/butter8,
i also use the First teeth toothpaste on denise. she did resist when i changed from finger brush to a bristle brush, but i tried to show her how mummy brushes her teeth and somehow she got curious and allows me to do it for her. now i only have a little problem with the upper row of teeth bcos it's nearer to the inside of her lips so i have to be extra gentle when i brush that portion.

To mummies & babies who are sick

Take care and hope u get well soon. Think is because of the weather. Crisann has been down with flu for 2 wks.

Hi HoneyB & Racoon

Crisann also the when i brought her to GUG trial classes. Alway point to the door and insist to go out. She don't enjoy the class at all.

Re: Brushing of teeth

I also brush her teeth twice a day. At nite after the milk she will tell me she wana brush her teeth. I'm still using first teeth toothpaste but i'm using Pigeon no 2 toothbrush. She don't allow me to use bristle brush.

thanks...

Re brushing teeth
usually hubby will brush jay teeth in the morning. We have switch to oralB i think stage 2 toothbrush...for his age one...but the first teeth toothpaste...he likes to brush teeth but he loves to bite the toothbrush...anyway i dun quite like the first teeth toothpaste..when can our todd use the normal paste? i feel the first teeth one like not so clean leh...jay front teeth like got some spots leh...how ah?

re: brushing teeth
I'm brushing Kayden's teeth once a day. Usong Oral B stage 1 toothbrush and First Teeth Toothpaste. He enjoys brushing his teeth but will want his daddy to brush along with him. I find it hard to brush the front teeth though cos he'll always wanna bite the toothbrush.

hi augbaby,
luckily, the gathering was postponed. Kayden also fell sick that day.

mummies looking for classes for our toddlers...

just update, i just tried Pat's school house d'Story Club which is a 1x per week program. I think its quite good, pretty similar format to the Kid's Loft class too.
- Starts with group play to settle in
- Teacher tells a story with pix and cut outs
- Art and craft time, last week we did painting
- wash hands in kids toilet
- out door play, either at playground or water play or sand box - anti mozzie provided
- wash hands
- snack time, cookies and milo
- music and dance
- cool down time
- bye bye song.

Kid's loft progam also the same format.

Re: Brushing Teeth

We brush Justin's teeth using the Oral B Stage 2 with First Teeth too at least once per day. He bites the toothbrush very hard till the bristles went sideways. My MIL is scared to make his bao bei grandson cry so anyhow brush for him, but when I'm around I really make sure i brush thoroughly all the teeth I can reach. I have to kind of fight with him to brush as he bite on very hard. The only trick is make him laugh then he'll open his mouth bigger exposing his upper row of front teeth then i quickly brush.

I also find the First Teeth toothpaste not very effective cos i found Justin's teeth a bit yellow and translucent leh.

My friend told me her friend's 3 yr old kid never brush properly for 3 yrs then 1st visit to dentist found 10 cavities. The dentist put the kid on GA to have all the cavities fixed before it worsens. The dentists also commented only toothpaste with fluoride is effective in fighting cavities but First Teeth got no fluoride leh. Sounds very scary to be put on GA for a kid.

That's why I also very scared to expose Justin to too much sugary food since he doesn't brush his teeth that well and there's no fluoride in his toothpaste.

Racoon,
Ya loh, my hubby and I also thought about it, we felt bad in a way cos it seems like we are 'forcing' her to attend class to do something that she doesn't like. Think we'll let her try out some music/dance/art & craft type of lessons and see if she prefers those. Hannah's PD reminded us that we should try to make learning fun and if the child does not like curriculum type of activities, then leave it for a while and revisit again when the child is older. She also mentioned that some child learn better through music and play, guess we'll go that direction for now. :")

Butter8,
I think Hannah will prefer the activities at Pat's school house or Kids Loft haa, she's the type who cannot sit still. Trial class anyone? :")

Hi Butter8

After reading your description, think we are at the same branch and class for Pat's D'story... haha!!! I'm the "harassed" mummy with two boys. Haha, elder one insisted on following and teacher very kindly agreed. He even ate extra serving during break

I think the programme is quite good as well. Elder boy was on their enrichment programme, but another branch, also until he entered pre-N proper. In fact, I prefer it to GUG which elder boy was on for two terms. The main thing to me is that the teacher is genuine interested in the kids, that matters more than any syllabus.

If I din remember wrongly, your boy's name is Ryan? He's very adorable and kwai not like my little terror who is so opinionated... cannot tahan ... haha

hi, butter8

i was at pat's too last sat going by the description. went for trial beginning of the month and decided to sign my boy up for the new term. i'm the mummy of the other boy (besides ur boy and blanche's boy) who kept going to the front during story time to touch the blue cloth.

ur boy's hair is very cute. like a bob. i felt a little embarrassed by my boy's behaviour. doesn't listen to instructions at all. my hubby and maid have to chase him all over the place

have u been to kids' loft? how does the prog/teacher compare to pat's? haven't tried out their class yet.

Hope everyone get wells too! Should b drastic change in e weather tat causes all these. Now i only try to give nat more fruits, drink more water n less heaty in case she fall sick touchwood.
Kelly,
I m impress wit u been such a long time sahm. For me, only hardly half a yr now i surrender to hb. Partly i preg den nat always wan me carry even at hme when i was cooking or doin simple chores. Wonder y she like to torture me instead of mil n cling to me too much. I cant imagine hw m i gg to manage when 2nd arrive n i m al alone til at least next yr when 2nd gal turn one b4 i go work! Think i will surrender v fast. Sometime work satisfaction is different from takin care of kids. Stil feel mre contented n full of achievement at wrk than stay at hme at times though joys get from kids r fantastic to c them grow but there temper n demandings was crazy.. Hope u get a new life which u lookin forward
enjoy rest well meantime okie.
Brushteeth,
Natalie don like me brush even though she only have 8front n 2 top molar is out recently. She only action abit n throw temper! So i can only try to use cloth lo n let her bite me

hey gals,

missed u all manz. so sorry long time no post!

cynthia,
kudos to you for even considering SAHM. and Also to kelly for lasting so long, cos i know i cannot last too.
I am the type of mum, who have a better temper if i work then if i stay home all the time. I don't wish to nag and snap and scold jadelle everytime leh.... better i go work and spend quality time with her!

raccon & Honeyb,
Jadelle went for JG's bilingual playclub.. just started..i was afriad she cannot adapt from playnest to playclub cos of the feedback i have seen, but so far, ok.. she wasn't sure what's going on in class during mandarin section! She got grumble abit and wanted to go out and play the slides! but i didn't get a meltdown.. so, i am lucky! will continue going 1x a week, mostly is for hubby, he missed bring his girl to class himself.. last time playnest only weekdays..

Hi Jas,

Good to hear that Jadelle adapted pretty well in JG. Every kid is really different hor. My friend's kid who's always scared of puppets surprisingly took to the class well too and enjoyed the whole session. We must really go with the flow of the child's interests and mood sometimes cos once they like the environment, their mind is relaxed and heart is open to learning. I learnt a lot from all my experiences with bringing Justin to classes and it helps me understand parenting more and my child's personality more.

Kelly,

I always look up to you as a very dedicated and strong mummy so for being able to hold on so long as a SAHM is really very good liao. I kept telling hubby that I want to be a SAHM cos of all the influences from media, friends etc etc that 1st few yrs of ur child's life is the most precious blah blah blah, but I really don't know would I do a good job being a SAHM. I would say I don't mind trying but of course my temper is definitely shorter than my MIL who's much more patient, maybe becos I always expect results from Justin and I always have this pressure to have to teach him the right things, speak the proper language, makes me very stressed and conscious all the time.

I also know if I become a SAHM would make the burden on my hubby heavier and not sure if we would end up quarrelling more. A lot of issues to consider so its really a big step to take for me.

So now I try and spend all my time after work and on weekends with Justin, even all my leave is dedicated for Justin, basically no "me" time. Even on my leave, I would plan and plan on what to do with Justin so as to maximise our quality time, can be quite stressed on myself.

Even now I still try to play as usual and hard with Justin till I forgot that I have a little one inside me who needs my bonding too. I hardly just lie down quietly and feel the little one so I'm scared I'm being unfair.

Motherhood is never easy and I think I made it harder for myself by giving myself all the unnecessary pressure and stress, so we mummies must really give ourselves credit and take care of ourselves

Sorry, a bit loh soh this morning cos suddenly a lot of thoughts to share....hehehehe

Ask you, do you all in the event of trying to spend more time with your child, neglected your hubby? I think thats happening to me, I'm always so tired from work/traveling/looking after child that I think I'm not spending enough time with hubby, he used to complain but I think now he Kan Kai already, not very healthy hor, is this normal for the first few years when a child enters our lives or its not? sigh, I also don't know what to do...

racoon,
dun put too much pressure on yourself ok? sometimes i feel the same way too, i can be very demanding on myself. but after i cool down and think think...it's better to be happy and enjoy time spend with your boy rather than get affected by all these vibes coming out of our system.

actually i seldom bring denise out de...we may just end up spending the whole weekend at home playing or lying around talking and singing to her, but i think that's also considered as quality time spent right? just have to take things at your own pace, dun get affected by others' opinion(that's what i learnt during a parents' talk).

honeyb,
i'm not sure whether this help. i usually like to involve my hubby when denise and i are playing, on & off i'll ask denise to go give her daddy a hug & kiss, which simply brightens him up lor... think man also like to feels pampered..hehe