(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi leia,

playmobil retails at most major departmental stores in singapor, but it's not cheap. Another similar one is the lego set, so far I've seen the fire station set, zoo set, supermarket set... about $70 to $250.

SL and HoneyB,

yr kids very noti during the trip? Oh dear, thinking of taking the kids to Japan in June to visit my sil.

Just to find out, did you guys bring a stroller along? How did you all settle the kids on the plane? Nite or day flight better? How did you guys settle the kids' food. Actually, thinking of letting Zac eat what we eat.

Really worried as Zac is in his horrible terrible 2 stage... but I miss travelling.

Leia,

think I saw in Taka. Why don't you try Lego instead? My kids love lego. So do, their daddy.

honeyB,

Re. shower head

try asking hannah to hold a container to catch the water flowing down her head. This way, she would bend her head and the water would not really get into the eyes.

talking abt phonics, can anyone tell me how to pronounce these 2 words-- 'gnome' and 'elves'. i tried reading this bedtime storybook to kaefer but dunno how to pronounce these words. also, he doesn't seem v interested in stories.

augustmum,
u mentioned ur kids hav a library. wat sort of books u buy for them n where do u usually get ur books?

leia,
playmobil got a lot of small parts, not so suitable for our kids now leh? how abt those mega blocks set. part lego part playmobile but bigger version. but it's quite limited choices too.

re: shower head
augustmum, oh... will try out ur idea cos kaefer doesn't like water in the eyes too. cries everyday while having his hairwash.

hi kelly,
pls count me in. thanks!

LEAPFROG DVD 5-PACK
http://www.deepdiscount.com/viewproduct.htm?productId=5788057

batch1 - PAID n ORDERED on 11Mar
1) rachel
2) SL
3) fiona
4) racoon
5) yoki03
6) honeyb

batch2
1) kelly
2) leia PAID
3) cecelia
4) augustmum PAID
5) erin - [email protected]
6) catherine?
7) jokojoko PAID ([email protected])

COLLECTION
1) pasir ris st71 - anytime
2) mount faber safra - sat 6-8pm
3) tamp st 82 - in e evening

To Account POSB Savings
107-47012-3 kelly
Amount S$68.00
Transaction Reference 1611508198

Quick post on Leapfrod DVDs to help out mummies here:

I read in other phonics thread that lots of kids learn their phonics from this DVD. Further to that, I got the Leapfrog DVD pad all thanks to Kelly :p Initially wanted to get and split the cost by making duplicates. Ended up this DVD can only play CODE 1 which means some branded DVD player can't play and can't duplicate! Ended up I told Kelly I wanted to keep the set cos megan loves the froggies and kelly was kind enuf to let me haf them...I bot it abt this time last year, that's when our babies are about 7mths? at that time, megan's too young to appreciate Phonics so din share this lobg cos I think too young:p So Augmum, I got reason de :p

I think now our kids are ready for Phonics and this Leagfrod DVDs would be effective in introducing and exposing them to phonics. It's cartoony all the way, no adult or real pictures involved... It's a cute story line and the smallest froggie will be brot to each alphabet room to listen to how that alphabet sound.. very cute... maybe next gathering I can being to Augbb house and play and you all can judge for yourself:p Personally after watching it everyday, we will end up knowing the sounds too if we are not exposed to phonics when young. I would say long run, more effectiive than attending zoophonics

Augbb, I think Jay will like it cos very cartoony, like Dora cartoon, Mickey mouse cartoon those types...

Hope my comments help!

21 March-gathering at augbaby place in Tamp..
1. erin, hb and kayden
2. kelly, hubby & 3kids
3. Piyo, hubby, Megan and maid (tentative but most prob ok)

Hi Honeyb

I almost miss the crab porridge cos most of the taxi don't know the way there. Travel during holiday alway got this problem. Actually staying at the Macau city is more convenient as more place to go. If u plan to go again can let me know. I will tell u where to go.

Hi leosbbmom

Hah sherv bite u. Think u must think of giving her something to bite rather than biting u. Crisann alway put eat her hand when she is teething.

Hi augustmum

Yes Crisann is v notti during the trip. She cry whenever she don't get what she want. E flight there she was alright cos she took a nap after her milk. E flight back the whole afternoon she just slept for half and hr. So hubby and me thought she will sure sleep but she never. She kept crying in the plane due to teething.

When the plane about to take off, I let her drink milk. Eating and drinking will help them to prevent the ear block.

I didn't bring along the stroller cos she don't want to sit since young. So I carry her for the whole day as she doesn't allow daddy to carry her.

For food worst she has been eating what we eat. Cos if she also v 'tam jia' one. Don't give her she will sure scream.

Thks for sharing the idea will try it out on crisann too...

piyo,

you are forgiven... just kidding... next time good things, esp food muat share huh?

cj,

I bought my books everywhere. Online (whoopiekiddies), sept 21, bookcove (think not around anymore), borders, kino, popular, mphs, times and during the bookfairs held in my school when I'm still teaching. I also bought scholastic books thru' noah's school. I'm book crazy. Can buy anywhere.

Sept 21 has good packages for eric carle books and other preschool books. It's an office located in a factory area in Toa Payoh. See http://www.september21dotcomdotsg/

Replace dot with . as not allowed to post the site here.

sl,

you carried her all the way? wow! The prob is my zac din want to be carried or sit in the stroller, unless we give him things to eat.

Hi Augustmum

That why I have body ache and even hand is aching. Sometime she wana come down to walk so have to hold her tight in case she fall. She tend to fall easily.

Oh ok... But that time during the gathering, Zac was behaving v well compare to Crisann.

Augmum,
okie! hehe! but this pac of DVD is good

will post on Megan's progress in school tomolo... sleepy liao...
overall she is ok in school, adapting quite fast according to the teachers, cry occasionally and wan to be carried almost 24/7. But we find her not as jovial as she used to be when she is back home... hmmm, just not like her, like unhappy and out-of-sorts...perhaps her way of adjusting/protesting/anger etc actually intended to pull her out of school today(we din let her go today) but felt quite assured when we spoke to the teacher in charge of her at length so will bring her back tomolo.. will continue to monitor and see...long story...think as parents we can't let go too...

Thanks for your advice.

I'm not looking for Playmobil, but something SIMILAR to Playmobil. I'm looking for individual figurines of people.

If you know of any, do let me know.

Hi, all

Pat's Schoolhouse - d'Story Club (for toddlers)
--------------------------------------------------
New class starting on 22 Mar 08 on every Sat at 10 or 10.15am (1.5 hrs class) at Ridgewood branch (at Mt Sinai Dr, near Ghim Moh/Ulu Pandan area).

There are currently 2 toddlers keen to start the class incl my son. The school needs a class of min 4 toddlers to start the class.

If u are keen, there is a trial on this Sat. You can call Pat's Schoolhouse at Tel: 6464 8951 to book a trial. Trial is $32.10 while actual class will be $321 a term. Below are some details on the prog:
--------------------------------------------
d'Story Club's curriculum is specially designed for children aged 18 to 30 months to expose them to the world of print through outstanding early childhood literature such as:

Dinosaurs Roar, The Hungry Caterpillar, The Rainbow Fish, The Three Bears, Guess How Much I love You?, Are you my Mother?, Sam's Farm, From Head to Toe, Over in the Meadow, etc. A parent or caregiver is encouraged to accompany the child for a critical time of shared learning.

Our activities include:
- Dramatised Stories
- Music and Movement
- Fine and Gross Motor Play
- Creative Arts and Craft
- Baby Gym
- Beginnings to Letterland (comprehensive phonics/reading prog)

The programme is also an ideal transition to Playgroup. With a parent or a caregiver around, the children can explore the new environment without fear or insecurity. Once the children get comfortable, they will be able to ease themselves into attending daily Playgroup classes.
--------------------------------------------------

SL,
I find Macau city very small and nothing much leh, the egg tart is very nice thou but if I ever go back to Macau again, think I will not bring Hannah, she was so attracted to the Casino lights and sound, she kicked and cry everytime we pulled her away at the lobby...and I can only watch from outside *sob*...can't go in too hee...

Augustmum,
Re Shower: thats a great idea, will try it out with Hannah this weekend, hope it will alleviate her fears

Re Travel: To Japan is at least a 7.5hrs flight. Personally I would prefer to take the night flight so that Hannah will be asleep most of the time else I will have to entertain her for many hours if it’s a day flight. Are your children light sleeper? The noise from the engine can be quite loud and people will be walking up and down the aisle to visit the toilet during the night so that’s one factor to consider, or other kids on board may start crying. Also if it’s a night flight, I will usually make sure that I have a place to rest the moment I touched down as night flight usually the mummy doesn’t get sufficient rest cos you’ll be constantly worried that your child might roll off the chair or get up and go somewhere wo your knowledge. If you are taking the day flight, I suggest you packed in some new toys to distract them when they are too bored or bring along a portable dvd player if you can get one, this little gadget really helps to calm the little monster on flight or in the hotel room haa…

We always bring the stroller along whenever we travel cos Hannah can sleep in there when we are outside else we will use it as a trolley to put our stuffs hee…June is summer and will be pretty hot in Japan so sleeping in stroller might not be ideal. Sometimes we will go out during the day and after lunch, go back to hotel to let Hannah nap. Hubby will watch over her while I slipped out to go shopping and we’ll venture out again when Hannah wakes up, at least we can guarantee that she’s happy after her nap haa…

As for food, we always order Jap food for Hannah when we travel cos I feel that it’s the healthiest compared to other dishes. I will give her white rice mix with some plain water from her water bottle instead of miso soup and cut up some grilled fish/meat and veges. Jap bento usually comes with fruits as well so its quite a complete meal and not too oily. There are a lot of nice Ramen in Japan, if the soup is too salty, just add some plain water to it hee, I’m sure your children will enjoy it.

Hi augustmum,
thanks. did this at home when washing Kayden's head but it din occur to me to bring a mug to the swimming complex when i'm bathing him. guess i'll try it out this weekend.

hi piyo,
i've signed Kayden for playgroup at a childcare near my parents' place. he'll start this june cos i can monitor him then. a bit worried cos he's very sticky to me. i just went into the office to pay for the registration and he was outside with my dad and he cried non-stop looking for me. makes me very 'bu she de'. actually, i wanted to try out this wk but think it would be better if he can communicate more effectively so i would at least know what's going on.

white lady
it says 10-20working days n it gets shipped directly 2 my plc. i no need 2 go thru CGW or Vpost.

erin
mayb u like 2 check e prices locally 1st.

Leia,

And you are already on people figurines? I'm still very much still at animals with rae. Not sure about the cost of playmobil but is cost the reason why you are looking for playmobil's similar?

kelly,
pls include my orders for the leapfrog too ya and i will tt to u the amt during my lunchtime later...tks..

LEAPFROG DVD 5-PACK
http://www.deepdiscount.com/viewproduct.htm?productId=5788057

batch1 - PAID n ORDERED on 11Mar
1) rachel
2) SL
3) fiona
4) racoon
5) yoki03
6) honeyb

batch2
1) handi
2) leia PAID
3) cecelia
4) augustmum PAID
5) erin - [email protected] PAID
6) jokojoko PAID S$68 ([email protected])

batch3
1) white lady
2) Augbaby
2) catherine?

COLLECTION
1) pasir ris st71 - anytime
2) mount faber safra - sat 6-8pm
3) tamp st 82 - in e evening

1. erin, hb and kayden
2. kelly, hubby & 3kids
4. Kris and family
5. Fiona, denise and hubby

Hi kelly,
think the wheels on the bus dvd costs S$13.90 per disc so the box set would cost me around S$42. the box set in the website is selling at USD18.22 which is about S$27.33 (based on uSD1: S$1.5). not too sure abt the shipping cost though.

Kelly,
have tt to u $67.49 already. Transaction no is 1612198812. Thanks...If the wheels on the bus DVDs is cheaper than in sg, i am also rather keen...

Erin,

Suggest you get the Wheels on the bus at local CD shops. I see alot of CD shops on sale here at Novena Square, storewide 20% discount, makes it quite worth it. I bought mine at Novena Square, yesterday during lunch I went in to see and they are still on 20% discount. I can help you to buy if you want but not sure how to pass to you thou. As for Veggietales, you can get that at this Christian CD shop at Suntec level 2. Each CD cost around $23 (I think).

fiona, Sherv is teething her molar now! tats why she's super beh song most of the time everyday... =( when lying on the bed, she wil kick my mom's face n tummy! until my mom's face blue black!! very notti! my mom gave in to her too many times until she's so spoilt now, and i told my mom to smack her whenever she does tat. so she did it again ystday, n my mom smacked her thigh once then she cried and then stopped when my mom lectured her.

this morning she threw tantrum again, and i told her off, but she dare dare walked away! faintz* think we must start the disciplinary measures now or it'll be too late. and with the no. 2 coming along, think i will surely neglect her so i beta spend more time discipling her now! haha!

augBB, what do u need us to bring?

1. erin, hb and kayden
2. kelly, hubby & 3kids
4. Kris and family
6. leobbsmom & shervonn

honeyB,

thanks. You have highlighted many important points. Ha... mummy here just want to know how to tame the kids so that she could shop, shop and eat eat in peace.

SL,

Zac used to be very manageable but has changed since. Now, really terrible.

Leia,

try lego. They have sets for young kids. Have noah's ark even.

HoneyB,
do they sell the wheels on the bus in a boxset or individual dvd ah? Any idea how much is 1 dvd? i am interested leh...

Augbaby,
They sell as individual CDs, I cannot remember the price, I think its $14.90 per CD, after 20% will cost about $11.90 each. They have Hi-5, Barney and all other Children CDs at 20% too so pretty good deal. Let me know if you want, I can help you to get it.

fiona, Sherv is teething her molar now! tats why she's super beh song most of the time everyday... =( when lying on the bed, she wil kick my mom's face n tummy! until my mom's face blue black!! very notti! my mom gave in to her too many times until she's so spoilt now, and i told my mom to smack her whenever she does tat. so she did it again ystday, n my mom smacked her thigh once then she cried and then stopped when my mom lectured her.

this morning she threw tantrum again, and i told her off, but she dare dare walked away! faintz* think we must start the disciplinary measures now or it'll be too late. and with the no. 2 coming along, think i will surely neglect her so i beta spend more time discipling her now! haha!

augBB, what do u need us to bring?

1. erin, hb and kayden
2. kelly, hubby & 3kids
4. Kris and family
6. leobbsmom & shervonn

oops, sorry for the double posting.

SL and honeyB, thanks for sharing the travelling tips, you hv prepared me how to handle Sherv when we go to Perth in April. i'm bringing a lightweight stroller along, coz like honeyB, i'll use it for her sleep. i'll be travelling in the morning, so she'll be awake then, cham liao! must bring her stuff to entertain her liao.

Kelly,
I'll try Pasir Ris cos I want to see your girl leh, will confirm with you again when the CDs arrive can :")

Augustmum/leobbsmom,
You're most welcome, traveling with tods is really a difficult task. I always think that children are very smart, they know when they are in a foreign land and will stick to mummy dearest like glue for security and protection thus, be prepared to 'sacrifice' and have absolutely no time to shop or do your own things ha, not trying to scare you lah but good to be mentally prepared, you will enjoy your trip better this way :")

Leobbsmom
u going perth in april...hee hee...we r planning to bring jay to melb in end april too and now i am concern abt how to handle jay on the plane n what to bring etc...alot of things to consider...

do yr babies still take healthy times pdt? Coz i need to get some cereals and hence hav actually email the supplier in sg to enquire if there is a discount if i buy more and orders above $100 there will be a 10% discount..But delivery is to 1 location only..hence do u all want to order anything and since there be a gathering at my place, i can pass u all the items..anyway the website is http://www.healthytimes.sg/store.php

Let me know yr orders here if anyone of u r keen...thanks...

Honeyb
i am also thinking of getting a portable DVD player so can play dvd in case jay cranky or cant sit still...wat brand did u get n how much n from where ah?

Augustmum,
Btw, if you are booking airline tickets for Zac, you can still purchase infant fare for him (which is 10% of the original fare + fuel surcharge, there's no airport tax for infant). Do request for an empty seat if possible cos don't think he can fit into the bassinet already else he will have to sit on your lap throughout the flight. Also, you have to request for toys or children's meal for Zac upon booking of the tickets else the airline will usually not prepare any toys or extra children's meal on board if the flight mainly carries adults.

1. erin, hb and kayden
2. kelly, hubby & 3kids
4. Kris and family
6. leobbsmom & shervonn
7. cocomo, Jay & maid

hi honeyb,
oic. will check out the shops later. if can't get them from the shops nearby, can get for me? thanks in advance.

hi augbaby,
are u using singnet broadband? now they have promotion. if u sign up for 3Mbps broadband package, can get LG Portable DVD player.

Augbaby,
I borrowed the DVD player from my inlaws, they usually put it in their car to watch their soap operas while traveling, they are using Sony and I find that it is really good and sharp! I saw a couple of portable DVD players at Courts the other day, nowadays the cost is more afforable compared to those days. Remember to bring CDs also hor, my last trip hubby insisted on choosing the CDs but he forgot to bring the CDs in the end, I almost strangled him to death haa...

HoneyB,
u mean infant ticket do not have airport tax? Does the 10% calculation is after the normal price + fuel charges or is it just 10% of the normal ticket price? Am intending to go wif jay but i hav alot of concerns abt the trip..
I dun wish for jay to hav all his meals outside coz of all the seasonings n all...so wondering how i can do it...my plan is for breakfast he can hav milk or maybe cereal wif fresh milk or bread n dinner cook porridge for him...but with the restrictions in aussie, i dunno if i can even bring those cereals for him n all...Ya i think i gotta go get a portable dvd player alr..

Anyway mummies,
do yr todd now takes normal food wif u all already? My in laws n hubby saying can alr n last time during their times, they took n they r fine..but i am concern coz jay gets sore throat v easily and then he will hav mild fever for a few days till we load him wif cooling water...so i dun wish to let him take the normal food we usually do...wat is the gd idea to start ah?

Erin
ya i am using singnet but i think last time i got sign up wif a promo when they give free laptop alr so dunno if i can still...anyway tks for the tip...:p

hi honeyb,
keke... ur hb so cute. ur hb's a bit like me. my hb will always double check after i packed everything in case i missed out something. haha...

hi augbaby,
Kayden's taking normal food liao. in fact, it's difficult to get him to eat cereals nowsadays.