(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

MAID
yes, all new maids must hv off-days now, and we cant "buy" their off-days anymore like before, with $20. my current maid came here b4 the new guidelines, tats why i'm reluctant to change even thou she "gek" me everyday!

crispyapple, of coz we rmb you! =) congrats!!!

catherine, call n ask. ask silly questions over the phone they wun know who u r or wat u look like, the most they say "some mummy called to ask funny question." Heck care lah, so long we get our answer ^^

hi crisyapple
congrats! u r e 2nd mummy who has 3kids. how's ur girl? u wanna PM me? i got a few TCM docs 2 share wif u. u decide which is e nearest or best 4 u.

Crispyapple
i was wondering if u r the one who hav a girl too after yr boy n u gave birth like a few mths after me ba...
Congrats....Wow yr girl n yr bb age gap is v close ah....do u wan a girl or boy this round ah since u alr hav a boy n girl...

Hi CrispyApple

My Elysia also having cough on & off... especially during sleeping time..went to see family doc.. think the med she areadi so used to it liao..not effective anymore..
On Tue we went to see Dr K Vellayappan frm Singapore Baby & Child Clinic (AMK).. he's good ley.. perhaps using stronger med??.. i also dunno.. this time round hope my girl can fully recover... decided to stop her frm going CC in June onwards...
Congrats to preggy mummies.. haha...

Hi MH,
Thanks for the TCM recommendation. But can you tell me which block and unit no is that? Thanks.

Hi leobbmom,

And I also dun know that all new maids must have off-days. Mine also came b4 this new guideline. So, if still dun give, is ok, right? No breaking of rules, right?

Hi SL,
Congrats on your no 2. So, when's your EDD?

Hi Kelly,
Sent you the PM already.

And I'm the 1st mummy in all my sec school and poly schoolmates to have 3 kids. All my friends, the most, are 2 kids. I too productive liao.

Hi Augbaby,
Yes. I have a girl after my boy and my girl is a few months after you. She's borned in end Nov 07. I have no preference this time round as I have 1 gal, 1 boy liao. If have girl, can accompany Avelyn. If have boy, can accompany Aden. But my mom does have preference. She still want me to have another boy. Typical old thinking.

Hi Doris,
In the end, I brought my boy to see GP but change another one near my place last Tues. The doc says that a typical child in CC can be sick for around 12 times a year, 1 every month. Cos' expose outside too much. He said if possible, should have an elderly to look after. But said easy, I have 2 so young kids and my MIL cannot cope liao, although I have a maid. And now 3rd one coming. Also, by going to CC, I did see improvements in Aden. Can't bear to stop him. And he would create troubles at home for my MIL and maid.

And mummies,
Actually this pregnancy I not very happy. Mood gets very bad easily, especially when 2 kids naughty.

And my PILs want to move out to stay with my SILs cos' they just bought a condo. But they would come every weekday morning to help me look at the maid but would go back home at night. And weekends, we have to look after the 3 kids ourselves. Reason is cos' my MIL is tired cos' my kids too naughty, thus, at least, she can rest at night and weekends.

To me is you are leaving us during this period where I'm having 3rd kid. And I'm not good at looking after baby some more. And she even feels that just nice. Me, Hubby and Maid, each look after 1 kid. That's why, recently I flared up very easily.

My hubby keep console me by saying that at least we have our own time and I can do whatever I like now cos' no more restrictions.

Yes. True. But I'm worried we can't cope. Anyway, she's bent on leaving so we just have to learn. Who told us to be too productive so have to see the kids ourselves.

When I realise that I'm pregnant with 3rd, me and hubby still decide to keep it cos' we do not want to abort as feel very cruel, although that time, we already know my MIL moving.

Sorry for the long post. Just releasing some frustations here.

hi apple,
think alot of new maids dowan to sell their offdays liao, coz they know they are entited. sigh... everything also increased prices, except our pay... =(

oh, i also hv a girl then boy, my mom also said if wanna try for #3, then a boy is better! haha... i dun dare to think lor, now i take care of #2 myself until face green green! some more this boy is a big BB, really cant cope alone, esp during outings, really must hv at least 3 of us to pass around.

when ur #3 arrives, think your girl shld be quite ok to take care? abt 2yrs gap, at least u dun hv to carry Avelyn anymore. but be careful of jealousy lor, which could be a sensitive issue, but sure u can cope lah! a mommy of 3 liao, even stronger than before! gan-ba-teh! anything just come here and share with us, we will try to share your ups and downs! =)

Hi Leobbmom,
Looks like your mum and my mum thinking the same. But I have no stress with the gender at all cos' even if it's a girl, my mum can't say me cos' I already have a boy. But my detail scan is this coming Wed and she's very anxious to know the result.

Avelyn can walk, but not very stable now already. I also hope when I give birth, she and Aden would be easier to handle. Aden recently very sticky to me, feed, change diapers, bath, drink milk all look for me. Make me more tired, especially, Aden need to use spoon to feed milk. He's 1 of those that reject milk at very young. So, feeding him is a chore. In fact, Avelyn is easier to handle than him.

Thks... My EDD is 19 Aug 2009... Another Aug baby.....

Hi Crisyapple

Take it easy. I do understand how u feel. Crisann is also v naughty especially now when I pregnant. Not easy to handle her....

Hi Crispyapple,

Now is starting stage so you will feel more mood swings and upset esp when both of your darlings giving you headache. If MIL can handle during the day, we also cannot do much lo. Better than none. Contd let Aden to school bah, after the transition period about 6mths in CC, they build up the immune will be alot better. Slowly "bu" him. Starting Natalie also sick every 2x in a month. Stop liao come, tiring for everyone and even spread to #2 meimei! So both kids sick.

If can... see whether Avelyn can go infant care or cc... maybe this will lessen ur mil burden too. During weekends I guess is bo bian one and tied down with 3kids. I believe there must be a way out. Let nature take its course don stress yourself and never think of abort or what. Its a god gift. I used to felt that way too but after having 2 kids now.. if financially allow I don mind have #3 but... too bad, I wanna do my own stuffs and HB is also pia his career now. So 2 is enough for us.

Maybe you can consider been a SAHM esp with 3kids. If I have 3kids, i sure contd SAHM. Just like what I am now.

Rest & relax okie. Anytime bomb here with us

Hi SL,
So, you know your bb gender already?

Hi Cynthia,
We also have decided to let Aden go full day CC, instead of now, half day. But haven't started yet. Cos' can't bear to start so early yet.

As for Avelyn, we also intend to put her CC, but half day 1st. Thinking of starting her after my confinement period. Also, can't bear to start so early.

I can't be a SAHM cos' we feel that if I also go work, then financially won't be that siong. Then we can still afford certain luxury items. And my character doesn't allow me to be a good SAHM too. I really very bad at handling kids. That's why my kids, when BB stage, dun quite prefer me cos' I dun handle bb very well. Aden becomes very attached to me after I gave birth to Avelyn. Maybe he see rivaly coming. Avelyn, now, I'm still not her fav. Her fav is my MIL. That's why she keep looking for my MIL. I very si1 bai4 hoh.... Hee....

Oh yah... I remember Aden last time also dun quite prefer me. His fav last time also my MIL. When I gave birth to Avelyn and went back home, he has a few occasions want me to carry him which in normal case, he won't. Especially if he's in my MIL's hands. But even once, he wants me to carry even when my MIL is carrying him. He made me so touched that time. But a pity, I can't carry him that time cos' mine is c-sect so can't carry heavy things. He must feel very disappointed. And I even cried a little cos' of his disappointed look. But when I well already, I start carrying him again and that's when our bonding gets stronger and stronger over time. And now, I become his fav.

Hi Butter,
Your 2 - 3 servings, do you mean 2 - 3 cups of yoghurt or 2 - 3 spoonfuls? If it's 2 - 3 cups, I would feel alot. Normally, I only give 1 cup per day. If he has taken 1 cup, I won't give him another cup within the same day.

Hi Erin,

H Mummies,
Any recommendations on confinement lady, please?

Hi Jesline and Erin

Thks....

Hi Crispyapple

I don't know the gender yet. Think will have to wait till next visit. How about u?

Hi SL,

Me too. But my next visit is this Wed. It's my detailed scan. Think surely can see gender by then. Let you all know when confirmed.

Hi SL,
congrats & welcome to the 2s club.

hi crispyapple,
jus pop in & saw ur post. congratulations! since kenna already we hav to accept it and make the best of the situation. but i do understand ur frustation as i also find my 2 kids already difficult to cope. however, dun blame ur MIL as they do need rest time and looking after our kids is not their obligation and is bonus to us. For me, i totally cant rely on MIL as she is too old liao. I sometimes need to hav some ME time also cannot. think positive and things will work out.

Hi cj,

Thanks. I also understand that my MIL is tired. Maybe cos' I also tired so I want more help. I would still try my best to survive with my 3 kids. So, now, I would rest more and tiao2 yang3 1st before my 3rd one arrive.

hi everyone! long time never come in liao...i've been very busy since start of the yr and now i'm alone with my colleague away on maternity leave. And of course with 2 kids, no time to surf net once back at home...

crispyapple & SL,
Congrats!!!

re: having 3 kids
recently alot of ppl keep asking me when I wanna have a 3rd, and i asked my hubby, "do i look like i want one again?"...hahaha
to be honest, both my kids are fine it's just that i not really keen on having a 3rd one maybe bcos i'm a 3rd child myself...kinda felt neglected during childhood so i got phobia leh...
but never knows lah..suddenly one day i come here to announce...hee

Hi CJ, Kelly & Fiona

Thks....

Hi Kelly

Just sms u. Can u pls help to provide me the contact for the TCM as well. Thks...

Crisann has been having flu almost every mth. Really need to bring her to TCM and see if it helps....

i dunno leh, i haven't even gone to gynae yet just confirmed it at GP.
forgotten everything about pregnancy and breastfeeding and all that seems like a far n remote feeling ..

Hi Fiona,
Thanks. And I also look like a child myself. So, really can't imagine me as a mummy of 3 kids.

Hi pupsandcups,
Congrats.

Just went to my detail scan yesterday. BB is a boy. But my placenta is low and as I have a c-sect for my 2nd one and it abt 1 year+ only, the percentage of me having c-sect this time is 50%.

Now, hoping my placenta go up so that my chance of normal delivery can increase.

Recommending perth

I brought leon for his first holiday to perth a week back, and he super duper enjoyed it! it was his first plane ride, or trip out of the country and he loved everything about it. lotsa recommended things to do like farm stay, beach, bush walk, walk on rocky beach. we were on the road everyday and stayed in different sorts of places, from family parks, to even youth hostel with shared bathroom. i think at this age, they appreciate the different experiences.

hi pups,

Hi crispyapple
congrats to you... seems like this yr ox got alot male ox... lols... hope we enjoy the pregnancy period & born healthy strong babies ox...

ENGLISH SPEAKING CONFINEMENT NANNY
Hey can anyone recommend an English speaking confinement nanny? think i will go with a confinement nanny this time (that time financially stretched so didn't have but thinking back i really could with more help, could've prevented some post natal depression i had). also for the life of me i can't remember the name of the massage lady i used, nor her number! can anyone recommend massage lady? that one was a thin, strong dark skinned lady. cheap, good and really nice.

By the way sorry i missed the last gathering i believe it was in tampines, which is v far for me and it was leon's nap time too.
THANK U ALL

I finally got a place in child care for charlotte after going around so many childcare centre to source for a place for her.

This time was lucky the centre was newly open so had secure a seat for her. Otherwise i think is a fat hope around sengkang area.

Is a hard decision between childcare and my mum, cause at this economy now we really cannot afford schools and my mum to take care the cost will be very tight.

So i decided to put her in childcare to learn and have more friends. At least a childcare can let her learn more things instead of staying with my mum and only watch tv everyday.

No matter how i still feel that i want to educate my child before its too late.
For my mum i will feel sorry for her but for this situation i got to be selfish my girl will grow up no matter how she still need to go to school.

One thing i am happy that my MIL understand me maybe becos we alway communicate like friend which i also learn alot from her and she also learn alot from me.
So we had plan that if my girl were happen to be sick from going to childcare we will take turns to take leave to look after her. Even hubby also helping. With 3 of us support i guess will not be a problem for my girl and i can also reduce my leave cause my current company system is still not very stable. Will be very glad that My MIL can help me since we are staying together will be much much more convenient.

Sorry for the long story just need a place to talk to.

Catherine,
So which CC u putting charlotte?
Beginning falling sick is common. Treat as letting her to build immune system. Most importantly is your Mil support and having the feeling of having Charlotte with you more frequent and monitor too.

Now Natalie also nua at home. I do myself teaching with her like flash card, painting, pasting, coloring, train her motor skills in writing, button, blocks twisting etc. Though very tired and she have no patience but still I try my best to keep her occupied lo. Now meimei nicole as start to Join in with us sitting there looking at what I am doing. Its alot fun having to teach 2 kids instead of 1

Sorry mummies, i am silence reader lately. whenever have time, just log in look at any updates but no reply hehehe. Busy with sourcing contractors, running here n there dono do what also and occupied by the gals too. NO TIME FOR MYSELF

Fiona,
#3? Let natural take its course. Who knows you will announced to us hehehe but if have people to really look after and $$$ allow, I think its ok one. For me... I wont reject having #3 frankly speaking. But kind of tired liao & HB wants to do his own stuffs.. so he also felt that 2 is enough liao phew heng!

Pups,
Congrat! Do take care & becoming a mum again

i really need to get this out.
i've been stressed out by both work & family & the lack of rest & sleep has taken a toil on me physically & mentally...keep falling sick & finding it so hard to go on at times...just talking abt this is making me tear.

i can't get enough of rest at all with Lucien waking up for milk STILL & he always makes noise tossing around in bed & i'll definitely be up most of the time.

and the incessant ranting & noise from the kids just puts me off nowadays when i'm home from work. i dun have any 'me' time to cool down after a tired day...and this just keeping snowballing into something i can't take anymore.

i felt so bad as i can get so frustrated & shout at lucien when he's being difficult. what's worse is, i've been wishing he is out of my life so i can have some peace!!!

i never felt that way with Denise...and now bcos of her irritating brother, we can end up scolding Denise very often. At times i felt it's Lucien's fault that we are treating Denise this way...she would be so happy without the brother around.

Why am i feeling this way??

sorry for the long post & ranting...

Fiona,

PAT! PAT! PAT!......Breathe in and out.....
Maybe when you are travelling to and from work and home, just close your eyes and rest (shut your mind) if you don't have to drive.

Fiona,

Take a time off leave ur kids with ur In laws or ur parents go out with your hubby and relax. Guess you too stress up already.

Have a habit have having a day off from your kids you will find it more relax and easier to take care of.

Try to be cool the more you irritated or frustrated the more Lucien will get irritated and frustrated too.

You scold him also he won't understand much as he is still young. Do you think scolding can stop him? You scold him he will cry more right? Why not give him a hug and kiss.

Fiona,

u must really take a break..perhaps a 2hrs break with ur hubby... jus to relax.. not seeing/looking after the 2 kids..it's might works..
aiyo.. i also scared liao...2nd one coming soon in 3mths times..Elysia being so fussy/rather than seeking attention..1 day can throw thrumpet 3tims.. at times i wanna to drag her to the storeroom.. (BAD MUM)..sigh.. cant imagine one 2nd out, can i really handle a not... haha..

Hi Fiona,
Relax.

Dun blame Lucien. He's still small. Surely there are times when you find him very cute. Think of those moments.

And I agree that you take a short time off with your hubby a few hours once a week maybe? That way, while you are not with Lucien, you may miss him instead. Can you afford such time?

Fiona,

I am like you too.... I start to realise whenever Nicole is been difficult, my target will be Natalie. I felt so unfair to her... It seems so hard to balance having 2 kids. I can imagine how tired you are having to work n take care.

I am full time mum already cannot take it at times n blow my temper even to HB..

Even nat now she is 30mths liao, she will try to be difficult to me by waking up asking milk during mid night! sometime 2times crazy as Nicole also wake up for feed!

Nicole is still waking up for feed sometime 5hrs depending. So still 1 midnight feed. And nat also this pattern so basically no need to sleep.

Miss sleeping.....

Sometime i also feel that way just having ONE kid is enough.. but I console myself and try to see other views... been a mother is tough. Esp been a modern mother as now kids are different from our time. Now kids are so smart so active..

Think of their smile.. their laughter.... hope will drives ur anger.. worries away

congrats to pups and SL and adenmummy!

fiona,

u need a break from kids. take 3 hrs off. do what u want.

me, i now drop jadelle @ kindy. then ask maid stay @ mil home with ebm and AShton, and off i run for 3 hrs.. grab a drink, read my mag/ newspaper, shop alone (my favorite acitvity!), go post natal massage. i return to pick up jadelle and back to my hectic life.. really helps.

with hubby, got zero alone time with him.. now we agree set 9th of every month as our date.. and to travel without kids overnight 1x every 4 months..

hi mummies, been so long since i last log in

Congrats to pups, SL & adenmummy!

catherine, ya u need all the help n support esp on the first 6 mths as charlotte will be falling sick quite often. Its not bad now coz we have 6 days child care leave. Previously only 2 days so everytime when zheng falls sick, i have to take my annual leave...

And my mum same as urs, feels tt its no good to send kids to school so young. She even blames herself for being "unless" coz cannot take care of zheng, her age is catching up so always feels tired after taking care of zheng. However when she sees how much things he learnt in school she is very happy.

Wow, so many of u complaining abt lack of sleep, I am also... thou I only have 1 monster hehehe~ I think need time off, like wat jasmommy does, few hours alone, even to sleep also good. Sometimes on weekends I will go to my mum's place n let the monster disturb his granny or uncle while i steal some sleep hahaha~ so bad hor.

But if really no one to help take care of kids, maybe let the older one play at those kids explorer place, dunno whats the name but think Downtown east have? Those place where kids can climb up n down n be wild? Anyway throw them there then u go shopping for a short while?

Doris, u mean u realy throw Elysia into the store room?? I thot me throwing zheng in his room with door closed is bad enuf :p I think I wun throw him into my store room coz its those boom shelter, pitch dark n no air inside.... think he will freak out n hve nite mares.

Every one, hang in there ok! Bad thought went across our mind when our kids misbehave, but then who wun have evil thoughts? Think good thoughts abt them n it will be all worth it. Cheers!