(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

http://www.babiesonline.com/

Enter ur EDD, u can see your pregnancy Week By Week (baby and u). Or register as member, u can have website for ur bb...

HI jas,
I am also in my wk 21. These few days is the bubbles popping, or sometimes baby's movement. I think not exactly kicking. Only twice when i put my hand on my tummy, i also can feel baby's hand/leg brush against my tummy. hehehe. How abt u??

hi all..i've been wearing maternity clothes for the past 2 months already :p

Share with all....heard that Swell maternity @ paragon having 50% sale today and tomorrow....

Same here, trying to get more maternity wear now. Can not fit in to my skirts/pants now.

BloomingChic @ Delfi Orchard #02-20 got annual sale starts from 27 Mar. Not sure if it has ended. Just pop by if you happen to go Orchard.

Last 2 weeks went to OG near sim lim sq, some itmes half price, around $19.90.
I got a pant only $15, not bad..

Oh dear, so many of u still haven't started wearing maternity wear? I already forgot when i started to wear, is like very long ago, hmm, before CNY leh.. In fact i find that some of my maternity pants r too tight now especially when in sitting position, mayb bcos my hip has grown bigger. :p I m wearing dress today, find it very comfortable.

Hi Yipee & Jas,
Congrats on clearing ur detail scan & having a baby girl!

Update on durian feast. I went to Bugis last week but not much durian found, and it was raining. Finally I had my durian last night at home, DH bought from Giant. Surprisingly quite not bad, requested bitter taste ones. 1 packet $10, 5 packets $20 (funny hor :p), he gave us 6 packets for $20 in fact.

I have a question here. Can we attend other pple's baby shower during this time?

jas, catherine
congrats on having a bb girl.

looks like e mummies in 2nd half of Aug06 are mostly having girls.

chrys,
i didnt attend any bb shower during 1st trimester. i dun mind attending any bb shower now but i wont carry e bb.

Congrat Jas, Catherine & Yipee having baby gal
, more baby gals coming to the thread!

Hahha, my case is same as chrys. Already forgot when I start maternity wear, may be 2 mths ago. My maternity pants also abit tight after meal. I believe I put on a lot of weight again for this mth.

Hi kelly,

Got one question need yr advice. For the Avent milk bag, when we using it do we still need to wash it first?

as what i wished for a baby girl.....haha my hubby also very happy cos he aim to buy a very cute clothes if its a girl..

dear mummies, my boy is due in august & am still in a dilemma of whether to get a confinement lady because my mum will be cooking my food & ive a full time maid to help with the washing.
In my position, would i still need a confinement lady? i was considering a stay-in nanny for the first 2 weeks.

Another qn: Post natal depression - how often does it happen? i understand its a very subjective matter based on each individual, but with constant support and encouragement. I believe it wont happen. Am i right to say that? Or am i just being too ignorant?

Help - mum to be in need.

btw, ive been reading this forum for quite some time but never posted any questions. this problem of mine has been bugging me for the past few days & really need you mummies' advice & to share yr thoughts.

grateful for any advice.
thanks in advance....

babyboy, it depends. I think 3 persons at home should be enuf to help out with the caring of the baby. Is your mum or maid helping you to look after the baby at nite? If that's the case, i think a confinement lady is not really necessary.

post natal depression happens to most ppl, though not all have full-fledged depression. This is due to a mixture of hormonal changes, the external environment etc. So far from what i've heard, most women will get out of it from a few days to maybe 1 wk or so. And yes, support and encouragement is essential, the other members at home would have to watch out for symptoms like constant crying or suddenly the person's character change. Think the websites and gynaes would be able to advise better.

hope this helps

Thanks Sierra!
from my mum's advise, newborns sleep alot during the day so when baby sleep, mummy sleeps along with baby. maid is ard to do household chores only.
that is my plan come August.
alternatively, i get help in the day which is when i rest & at nite, i take care.
am planning to breast feed & would prefer baby to drink direct then to drink from bottle...

*had a big argument on this matter and its taking a toll on me*

Hi Babyboy,

I am in the same situation as you. My plan now is that my mum will cook for me and there is a full-time maid to help me out. But this maid is actually my brother's maid (i would be staying at his hse during my confinement) and would be looking after my brother's 1yr old baby also. I foresee i have to do most of the 'looking after' myself esp for the night time. Maybe the maid can only help out with washing, sterlizing etc... Actually quite worried if i can handle everything too but if i employ a stay-in nanny, also not cheap and my mum say not necessary...i also in dilema..just have to wait and see now...

is your tummy hard or soft? at times i will have a hard lump on one side of my naval... generally the below portion is pretty hard... like super bloated.

Dear gals,

I am bk from my scan...Everything went smoothly and bb is fine and weighs 329grams..Hee hee...First time at TMC and hubby n me is very pleasantly surprised by the nurses there..They are all very pp oriented and very nice and friendly thou the hospital itself is rather old and the ward seems old..First visit to my gynae newly opened clinic and it is lovely n cozzy..hee hee..n i din even have to wait long for scan and seeing doc...detailed scan was done in 30mins and the lady is very nice and show us bb pics and explain everything...
Am reali happy...anyway i am so super relieved that my sugar level now is normal..thru the normal urine stick test lor..but still have to monintor lor... :p

Yest nite talk to bb n this morn talk to bb too n b4 we go in, hubby talk to bb too..hee hee...must use soft approach...coz think bb is being playful n hence i told bb not to be playful today n this scan is very impt to mummy n daddy and bb need to be in good position to let doc see and this is a time to be serious..hee hee..coz i feel bb is like hubby..like to play n be funny so i tell bb this time not to be playful n it works...hee hee...n of course i tell bb i go buy nice nice clothes n adidas shoes for him...n i juz went to buy my first present for junior..hee hee...
guess it works when i talk serious to bb..last time juz say will buy nice things but dun work...haha

Dear piyo,
pls update the chart..our bb is a boy...heehee...

erin,
keep us update too ya...

HI YIPEE!am in the exact situation as you. except that am staying with SIL and the maid is looking after her 1yr old girl. so she helps out with the washing & all. i've been figuring out on my plans and how to go about w/out confinement lady.
as much as i keep telling myself i can go thru everything and be independent enough, most importantly tell myself not to go into any major depression, then everything will be alright. am so lost in btwn now, on whter to engage at least day time help....then at nite i look aft baby... am so lost.

augbaby,was yr scan done at the 4th floor? my gynae is dr joycelyn wong at the 3rd floor... the nurses there are quite friendly and nice....

Hi yipee & babyboy,
So fast you 2 already started worry on taking care of the baby. Both of yr situation already better than me at least got a maid to help out. My MIL will help for my confinement and we don't have any maid. So far haven't start worry on taken care of the baby because I really hope I can even take care of the baby at night because intend to TBF so at night every 2 hrs may need to wake the baby up for milk. I may say don't worry too much loh, should think positively. The more you think the more easy to get depression.....

Wah...this forum already total have 5 mummies with Dr Joycelyn wong
. babyboy, when is yr EDD?

Ya.. agree wif wanli - dun worry too much. I used to break down and cry in my 1st tri due to hormonal change i suppose, which i thot i was having depression. The more u think of it, the more u'll get it. Most importantly is to voice out to ur love ones, hubby's support is very important.

I get a confinement nanny to help out, she charges me $1.7k + permit which she insisted on (another $100+). If ur mom/MIL can help out in this month, u can save alot. My MIL cannot help me bcos her health condition not very good. She told me her fren fall sick after taking care of her sifu in confinement month, only managed to do halfway. So she advised me to get a proper confinement nanny.

Anyway, this is only 1 month. What i worry more is taking care of baby after my maternity leave.

wanli...have to plan as to who is going to take care & help and just afraid that there isnt enough help.the worry is that may have to end up depending on myself...

edd-10th august
who else is with dr joycelyn wong?

babyboy,
why are you so worry? u have your mum and Maid of cos they first prioty look after your baby when you need help. at least your mum is cooking she cfm will look after own daughter more...don't worry so much ok? don't waste the $$ for confinement lady as i can see you don't need at all...cos baby sleep most of the time if you get confinement lady wats is she going to do when baby is sleeping?

cath,
am worried because iam living with SIL and she insists that a CL is needed cause during the inital few weeks i would require my rest. the maid is there to look aft my niece & the house and due to the distance i live away from my mum, she may not be able to come everyday.
so it means am left alone on days my mum doesnt visit.
secondly, with the constant nagging and 'advice' from SIL who insists that i engage a CL, shld i not be able to manage then the constant nagging will be a 'see I told you so' situation.

am so frustrated! as much as i want to be independent & do w/o confinement lady, i keep getting nagged at for not getting additional help. whether or not she has my interest at heart, its really tiring hearing it over and over again.
need a place to vent out my frustrations...

babyboy,

than ask your mum don't cook you engage a CL to cook for you and look after baby....then its worth the $$......

I have just done my detailed scan on Mon.. However the scan reveals that my bb boy (we named him Ethan) has a serious congential heart defect and if he were to be born, he will have to undergo various operations to correct the problem.. We have consulted 2 doctors and the results were consistent..

My hubby and I have decided to terminate the pregnancy and the procedure will be done on Friday.. It hurts a lot and I know this wound will never ever heal.. I had just felt Ethan's kickings on Saturday and my hubby managed to feel it thru my tummy also.. he was so excited when he felt those kicks.. We even bot fairy tales books and read to him.. He was so active during the detailed scan, he was busy moving ard his hands and legs, touching here and there.. so cute yet such thing has to happen to him..

I know it is a painful decision to make but we are doing it for our bb's future. We dun want him to lead a life having to go in and out of hospitals and not being able to lead active lives like other normal kids... Right now as i am typing, i can still feel his kicks, i dunno if he is trying to tell me not to give up on him.. I am really very tramatised by this and I dunno how long it will take for me to get over this...

You may delete me from the list...

Wishing u gals all the best.. And cherish the little ones inside you coz they are the most precious things that could ever happen to you..

Yah, agree with Catherine, for your case, it is better to emply a confinement lady. There bound to be dispute if you over-use other people's maid...and if your SIL baby is not well taken care of because of you, the situation may turn sour. For me, my mum is just walking distance from my brother's place, so she can come everyday, though may not be with me all the time...

Michelle,

sorry to hear about your baby's situation. You must be strong..i know it hurts but for your child and also yourself, you are doing the right thing. Sometimes things just happen and we just have to face it strongly. Wishing that you have a healthy baby very soon again...
398686.gif

michelle,
don't be too sad over it.. its good decision actually not only you will suffer when baby is born, the baby will also be suffering so rather let the baby go then suffering...
remember to buy paper clothes and shoes and burnt for ur boy..

yah, babyboy,
since your SIL nagging then ask your mum don't bother to cook for you.. you just engage the CL to cook and look after you and baby...moreover u had said ur mum won't be there looking after u and baby so is a must to get a CL.

It hurts so much... its like a knife stabbing in my heart... I dunno wat to do and could only cry since Monday when we knew the results..

It made me lose confidence in having another bb coz i am terribly afraid that something will happen to the bb again...

thanks for all yr advice.
currently, the maid cooks & washes our clothes... i wont be asking or have even thought of using her maid to look after my baby or even after myself.
there are extra rooms for the CL, so no problem.
ONLY problems are that there are too many ppl involved that everyone wants a say and SIL thinks that everything she says is correct.
she even told me bluntly in my face that i am the kind who would probably fall into depression.
i hated the fact that she said that! it made me very angry, who is she to say such a thing? i am a very calm and strong person with my own views but bcos am staying with her, i just kept my mouth shut and still got to look like am keen to continue to listen to her negative comments.

i would say am still young and strong enough to recover quickly shld the delivery be smooth, so i also have plans to drive back to my own home with baby once i feel that am fit enough...
just irritates me that SIL gives me such negative 'advice'
APOLOGIES, this place has become somewhere for me vent my frustrations....

when is yr next visit with Dr wong?

michelle,

i understand your feeling...must be strong ok? you got to be strong and regain your health back so that your next baby will be healthy too....
never give up hope on having another baby.. tell you and ur baby maybe you have no fate with him..
hope that theres another chance to be his mum again when u get pregnant again...

Hi Michelle,
Am very sad to hear about your baby. It's not easy to get through this difficult period without grieving. Pls be strong, be brave and take very good care of yourself. *hugz*

Hi Michelle, i m so sorry to hear that.. i can feel ur sadness, reading ur post made me cry too.. Hope that u are strong to face it. U are still young, try again next time. Maybe ur boy will come back to u again in a perfect body, in ur next pregnancy.

Dear all Aug MTBs

Thanks for your concerns..

This will be my last post here, as i do not want to bother u guys with such unhappy messages..

Pregnancy is a wonderful thing and its important that each and every one of you should remain happy and cheerful.. Enjoy your pregnancies and may your babies be cute, happy and most important, healthy!!

Take good care gals!!

Hi Babyboy,

As for Post Natal depression.. it comes when u don even realise it. Most impt is to have supportive family n UR HB whom is the VIP!
I have gone through Post Natal Depression b4 wit my 1st bb gal. Just stay cool n be happy n positive thinking is the best.

SOmetime crying out is normal so don worry.. if excessive crying , suicide thoughts, low self esteem, moody.. u shld talk to ur hb or ur family n seek treatment for psych...

Wan to know more jus buzz me hope i could in help.
I have recovered few yrs back n though ppl say it mayb come again BUT as i mention e above.. nw i coping on well.

chrys, amen to that!! yes, Michelle's next pregnancy will be a healthy one! and she will carry the baby to full term.

michelle, my prayers are with u! i pray for God's strength and healing grace to be upon u and your family. be strong and speedy recovery for the op later. your little boy will be well-taken care and loved by those little angels from Heaven!

God will provide you and your hubby with a healthy baby soon in His due time!

Take care and God's blessings with you always!

always in His love,

back from my detailed scan. cleared everything. confirmed it's a boy and everything is ok. phew! was so worried yesterday. piyo, could u pls update the table? thanks.

hi catherine,
oh u went in the morning. mine was exactly at 2pm, just after their lunch time so no waiting. took about 30 mins to complete the scan. I'm so blur. Din pay for the detailed scan and went to the pte suite to see my gynae as the staff said the scan is completed. Only ask them abt the payment after my checkup.

hi michelle,
i'm so sorry to hear abt wat happened. Ethan knows that you are doing what is best for him. Take care and be strong. If you need someone to talk to, we'll be here for u. Will pray for u and ur family.