(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Happy new year everyone!
May all of us have a fruitful year ahead with our babies, families, work life, health and wealth!!!

Smlow,
I should be going to your house!just across my place hehe

JAN GATHERING

1. smlow, husband, joshua & louisa
2. adeline, melvin and bb leon
3. piyo, hubby, megan & maid

13 JAN GATHERING @ smlow's place after 1pm

4. cocomo, husband & Jayden

Jasmine,
Yes, I installed 3 3G mobile cameras at home. No choice gotta leave Jay with maid. Shd not be too diffucult to install lo, coz my hb do it himself.

Hello Mummies, Happy New Year!!!

Hi cocomo,
So qiao, ur Jay also born on 2nd Aug. Have you start to wean ur bb yet.

I started to give my girl some Heinz rice cereal and she love it! Will cry for more when she finished her four tea spoon. In fact, i notice that my girl don't really like to drink milk. She drink only about 600ml a day only. Is this consider too little? sight... As i will see her PD next monday for her 3rd jab (6-1), i will check with her whether i can start introducing other foods to her earlier so as to complement her current milk intake.

Honeyhaven,
I opted for 6-1 for my giel. She took her first jab ard 1.5mth, 2nd jab ard 3 mths and 3rd one next week (ard 5 mth).

hello hello

cocomo,
sometime we have tried leaving baby at home alone for about 1-2 hours with maid only while i rush out to buy some stuff or eat w hubby. already short trips like that make my heart beat really fast... i keep worrying... if i can check with my handphone that be great!

mummies online on msn can add me? i am lucky now office still allow msn... [email protected]

i oso a bit blur about my son's jabs, seems like every month also have to go, he has had 1 jab at 1st month, 2nd - 3rd month, 3rd - 4th month, and now waiting to go for one when he is 5th month. seem like every month have to jab, i belive 6th month oso have ??

jesline
u can find it in all NTUC supermkts, giant, cold storage. it's called heinz white rice cereal. there's also an organic version. u can buy both.

Hi Jesline,
see that kelly already answer you.

Actually, the rice cereal is sort of tasteless (taste it before), don't know why my baby love it so much. But i guess it's because her milk (mamex gold)is also very bland. Hee..

hi Jes/Butter8

My PD also highly recommended starting solids only after 6mths. cos at this age, all baby's nutritional needs come from milk. by feeding cereal, u fill baby up n they r less hungry for milk, which is more nutritious

Thanks kelly & Isis.......had bought some baby cereal from Healthy Times.....

what is the difference bet Heinz & Healthy Times????

pups,
actually now cannot feed baby too much cereal only by one-two teaspoon and continue with milk for bb. i was thinking to start with my girl at 5mths. by the time she learn to eat more cereal it will be 6mths. :p

hi cat.
yah. i think kelly also mentioned before, there is no rush is feeding our babies solids.

ADVICE ON FEEDING
i realised something. leon feeds much much more when i'm around, he loves to latch on n feed. when i go to work, which means i am not with him from 130pm - 730pm, he only takes 2 bottles, each 120ml. but when im with him he will latch on at least every 2 hours. my sis used to joke that leon looks fatter after the weekend n skinnier during the week when i work. after this long public holiday break, leon really did put on weight. so its true, leon loses weight when i work

but how?? thing is, he dsnt even ask for milk much when im not around. when im carrying him he will always turn his head n want to latch on.

pups,
maybe u want to bottle feed him? but actually is ok sometimes baby not very hungry, my girl also happy she drink 150ml not happy she drink 120ml. its ok as long as leon is drinking well, dun think too much.

and BF the milk flow is slower then bottle feeding so maybe leon might not be drinking 120ml each time u feed him thats why he will be latch on at least every 2 hours. thats my point of view.

if bottle feed at least can last him for longer hours cos u know how much amount he takes so u only need to feed him 2 times during the time 130pm-7.30pm.

my girl routine was morning 8am or 9am one feed. then afternoon 12-1pm one feed, then around 4-5pm one feed and last feed is 8-9pm

Isis,
I intent to let Jay have solid after 6 mths, now he's on TBM. Jay's taking 150ml and 7 feeds a day. Dunno if 600ml enuf but I think as long as bb health and growing, it shd be ok lo. Despite my Jay taking more than your bb, but he still not growing a lot lo, plus he sick past few weeks, now lagi thin

Butter,
Just join us for the Jan gathering la. My hb said can view from HP but might not be as 'live' as it is lo.

cat,
he bottle feeds when he not with me. when im around he will totally reject the bottle, he can smell me a mile away. he jus likes to latch on i think, he will smile away...

leon is light leh ... 6.3kg at 4 mths ..

Ai. . . Jay lose lotso weight fast few weeks, hope he can catches up soon.

1- smlow Louisa 4mths 2wks - 8.2kg 65.5cm
2 -Leia Jadon 4mths - 7.2kg
3 -Jokojoko Aidan 4mths - 8.2kg 64cm
4 -erin Kayden 4mths - 7.2kg 64cm
5 -kelly's edward 4mths - 7.5kg 64cm (now 5.5mths-8.4kg 66cm)
6 -Noelle's Julien @ 4mths - 6.9kg 66cm
7 -Piyo's Megan @ 4mths - 6.8kg 63cm
8 -butter8's Ryan @ 4mths 1 week - 7.8kg 64.5cm
9 -leobbsmom's Shervonn @ 4mths 3weeks - 6.9kg 64cm
10-Fiona's Denise @ 4mths - 6.8kg 63cm
11-Isis's Ying fei @ 4 mths 3 weeks - 6.8kg 63 cm
12-Cynthia's Natalie @4mths 1 week - 5.9kg 64cm.
13-Adeline's Leon @4mths - 6.3kg 61cm
14-Chloe @ 4mths + 5 days - 6.5kg 62cm.
15- cj's Kaefer @ 3mths 2 wks - 6.9kg 65cm
16- jesline's Jia Hui @ 5mths - 7.5kg
17- celine's yee leng@ 4mths 2 wks- 5.7kg
18- catherine's Charlotte @ 4mths - 7.2kg
19 - jasmine's jadelle @ 4 months 1 day - 6.5kg
20- Dino's Pierson @ 4mth 1wk- 7.4kg, 68cm
21 - Handi's Shyanne @4.5mths - 6.3kg, 65cm
22 - cocomo's Jayden @ 5mth - 7.1kg, 65cm

Yes, i also read from book that it is better to start solid after 6 months. But my bb is really not drinking alot of milk leh. At 4 month 3 weeks, she is only 6.8kg. So thought of introducing her rice cereal first (with milk) @ 5 month. Sometime she refuse to drink milk but when i give her cereal, she happily finish all. So i know that she just don't like to drink milk.. : (

But i'll monitor her closely and will stop if it is intefering her appetite. Thank mummies for your advises. : ) I will also ask my PD about this next monday...

Cocomo,
How is your jay now? Have he recover from diarrhea? Don't worry too much, with his current appetite, he will gain weight very fast.

Hi Dino,

Well my company banned all messenger.. i even try web! gosh cant man! haiz wat to do.. but anyway we cld still sms to meet up!

Jasmine,
Slowly ur gal will make plenty of noise. Different bb is differently. As long they are eating n growing healthy most impt!

Little Natalie has recovered! Though spend a big bomb on her this round BUT she is drinking more n in demand. she is gg to her 4mth jab next week so hopefully wont have any fever.. But i believe becoming more skilful after her diarrhoea event!

Was thinking to intro her some brown rice cereal after her jab... cos now she jus recover, im afraid her stomach will react more differently than the past..

How can we start to intro? I read from some website, we can gave a little teaspoon in the morning b4 her milk & after 1 teaspoon let her have remaining milk.. is this a nice way?

Its raining again recently! Hope by weekend weather is turning out good.. i cant wait to bring her for swimming!!!!

just rec'd the $10 ntuc voucher today...
heard the promo ends mar'07 so u can still collect 10 nepia seals for exchange... let me know if u want the address...

jasmine,
do u still hv spare bottles of goat's rue? i need 1 bottle. not urgent. u can pass it 2 me on 13jan or i can collect fr u somewhere else. let me know. thks!

honeyhaven,
my boy jab schedule same as ur kayden's. r u taking the modified 6-in-1 as well, total only 4 jabs including Hep B?

catherine,
it's not true tat BF is slower than bottle feeding. e initial letdowns during BFg is much faster than bottle feeding, hence some bbs do choke initially.

for bottle feeding, e baby can control e milk output but for BFg, not so in e beginning, esp when there r a few letdowns. e bb only need 2 suckled a lil n there'll b so much BM spurting out.

pupsandcups,
leon could b suckling 4 comfort. try 2 stretch his hrs longer when u r BFg, if he can.

i read fr Super Baby Food tat it's ok 2 give cereal 1st, hence i gave e Heinz Rice Cereal. I prefer tis brand & gerber. Not sure abt giving bananas mixed wif BM as 1st food.

as 4 mixing cereal wif EBM, i wont do it cos e cereal gets very watery as u feed 2 ur bb. i tried a few times n got very frustrated cos it gets so watery, making it very difficult 2 feed gabe back then. i had 2 keep adding cereal 2 thicken e mixture. i asked around n realised tat BM has some kinda component which makes cereal tis way. i cant recall wat component & wat BM does 2 cereal. ever since then, i use FM 2 mix wif cereal 4 gabe.

edward ate a lil cereal 2day
. i bought him a new pigeon spoon (more suited 4 bbs his age) n he ate willingly. i guess it may b e spoon which he didnt fancy in e beginning.

637193.jpg
637194.jpg

jesline,
tis is how e heinz rice cereal looks like. i swear by tis brand of cereal cos it's not sweet, unlike dumex or nestle brand of cereals. i very very very particular abt giving sweet & salty stuff 2 gabe so will follow e same wif edward.

like wat ISIS hv written, heinz rice cereal plain plain 1...IMO, very gd cos e cereal can b sweetened by fruits (such as apples, papaya, apricots, etc) n veg (carrots, broccoli, potatoes, avocado, sweet potatoes, pumpkin, spinach, etc).

i dun give Nestle cereals so it has added sucrose which (IMO lah) isnt gd 4 bbs. i also bought organic cereals (HT) 4 edward. will mix wif tis heinz rice cereal 2 feed him.

Hey Isis, ur bb is not small leh..mine is 4.5mths, oni 6.3kg. My gal oso not interested in her milk. her intake now is bet 450-600ml a day...sometimes even lesser...but i guess as long as they are happy and still active...not cranky..then it's ok lor..

Been a long while since i post...A late Happy New Year to all..Hope this new yr, all our babies will be strong n healthy..Have been clearing of my maternity leave over the christmas period plus i had been sick for a long while..
seen 3 docs, the latest is yest...Doc say i got bronchitis...coughing non stop..think i spread to jay as well as he has a little cough too now..sigh...Anyway i also got a scare lately coz jay nearly fall off the bed..thinking of it now still makes my heart beat fast...he has been moving around the bed lately and can change directions..i left him on the middle of my bed and went to wash my pump after pumping...i did put a booster at the end of the bed juz in case..and when i came bk from the kitchen, i saw jay at the edge of the bed with his legs dangling off and i ran there n juz nice manage to catch him!!! Gosh...i cant imagine if i was in the kitchen a second longer, how!!! I dun noe how he manage to move himself backwards instead of infront...SO scary!!!! So mummies, u all must be careful as well. I kept saying sorry to him and that i wont do that again..

Jay already has been laughing out loud for a while already...he been doing so more with my dad that time coz my dad can play wif kids n babies and they love him..haha..but lately jay has been responding more to us coz i guess he started recognise us already...so nowadays when i sees him n i smile at him, he will smile back happily and when i play with him he will sometimes laugh out loud happily..so cute....:p

anyway did any mummies start feeding their babies with powdered brown rice? I was thinking of mixing a teaspoon into his milk and let him drink...not sure when to start him on cereal as well as i dun noe anything abt it, like when is the best time to feed him, how much to feed etc..is there any book that educates us on it...is feed yr child wrong recommended by augustmum good? does it tell us how to go abt feeding our baby n how we shld go abt doing it...i am totally blur...also when can we bring our babies for a swim ah..thinking of doing so soon when the weather is not so rainy...do we need a swim diaper or a thermal suit etc? will the water be too cold for them? Can any mummies pls advise me...

kelly,
check wif u ah coz i think u mention that ed jab is always delayed by half a mth..now jay is still having cough n hence he has not gone for his 2 4 in 1 jab suppose to be on 30 Dec...how ah?? Is that ok? coz he is turning 5mths this sat already and the 2nd jab shld be taken when he is 4mths old..worried sick whether is it ok...Anyway on a lighter note, i think ed is doing so well n smart...saw the pics that he can sit n support himself so well..so nice..cant view the video thou coz i am at hm now on mc...think PC is too slow..haha...anyway jay has been lifting his butt high up in the air too and using his legs actively...also regarding the heinz cereal, is the pack sealable since we only feed baby a little cereal at a time?? how much cereal do we mix with water etc??

Was supposed to be a september mommy, but baby decided to come out earlier to be an august baby. So here i am... Been reading this thread for a while, and now have decided to join in the fun! ;)

Guess now the talking point is on introducing cereal to baby ah. I did ask 2 PDs on when to intro cereal and they said to wait till 6 months because my baby is gaining weight well on breastmilk. But then again, few people hv been telling me to intro now cos baby will get used to the taste. Hmmm...

Oh by the way, Heinz or Healthy Times ah? I haven't bought my baby's first cereal. So just wondering which one i should get.

Oh... For the list:
1- smlow Louisa 4mths 2wks - 8.2kg 65.5cm
2 -Leia Jadon 4mths - 7.2kg
3 -Jokojoko Aidan 4mths - 8.2kg 64cm
4 -erin Kayden 4mths - 7.2kg 64cm
5 -kelly's edward 4mths - 7.5kg 64cm (now 5.5mths-8.4kg 66cm)
6 -Noelle's Julien @ 4mths - 6.9kg 66cm
7 -Piyo's Megan @ 4mths - 6.8kg 63cm
8 -butter8's Ryan @ 4mths 1 week - 7.8kg 64.5cm
9 -leobbsmom's Shervonn @ 4mths 3weeks - 6.9kg 64cm
10-Fiona's Denise @ 4mths - 6.8kg 63cm
11-Isis's Ying fei @ 4 mths 3 weeks - 6.8kg 63 cm
12-Cynthia's Natalie @4mths 1 week - 5.9kg 64cm.
13-Adeline's Leon @4mths - 6.3kg 61cm
14-Chloe @ 4mths + 5 days - 6.5kg 62cm.
15- cj's Kaefer @ 3mths 2 wks - 6.9kg 65cm
16- jesline's Jia Hui @ 5mths - 7.5kg
17- celine's yee leng@ 4mths 2 wks- 5.7kg
18- catherine's Charlotte @ 4mths - 7.2kg
19 - jasmine's jadelle @ 4 months 1 day - 6.5kg
20- Dino's Pierson @ 4mth 1wk- 7.4kg, 68cm
21 - Handi's Shyanne @4.5mths - 6.3kg, 65cm
22 - cocomo's Jayden @ 5mth - 7.1kg, 65cm
23 - butterfly's Noah @ 4mth - 9.0kg, 65.6cm

jokojoko,

what do i do with nepia seals? and what do i get?
i have been using nepia all along, n didnt know :p thrown away all the packaging.... do share w me = thx!!

augbaby,
i checked with my PD at ryan's last check, baby can go swimming anytime but just don't let them swallow any water.. dun need wet suit, swim diaper is fine... advise to go swiming in late afternoon, when its warm but not scorching hot.

augbb,
it'll b gd if u do some reading up online or read some books abt feeding solids 2 bbs. it's a totally brand new experience 4 1st time mummies n it can b rather nerve wrecking at times (esp when ur bb dun eat). the other mummies including me can help further by chatting wif u abt it when we meet up. u asked so many questions...a lot of info 2 tell u. me very lazy 2 type here.

2 answer some of ur queries...
1) cereal in milk = NO NO!
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/formula/addcerealtobottleexpert/

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/formula/sleepbettercerealexpert/

2) feeding solids
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/startingsolids/introducing/

http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/
i find tis website very informative. do check it out

3) books
i've recommended b4..."super baby food" (cant recall e author as e book's wif my GF now).
e other book i like is "the healthy baby meal planner" by annabel karmel. i not sure abt e book recommended by augustmum but i ang-moh mummy, prefers 2 feed ang-moh type of bb food.

4) swimming
i only started gabe when he was 5mths+ cos i was afraid of ear infection (skarly water go in n hard 2 come out). bbs get ear infection very easily. i wanna bring edward lately but weather VERY UNPREDICTABLE. dun 1 2 raise gabe's expectations, bring him 2 a pool then in e end, he cant swim if it's raining. my gabe would b so disappointed n probably throw a tantrum at e pool area or INSIST on going in, despite raining condition (yes, do expect such behavior fr ur boy once he's >1yrs old).

for gabe, he wore disposable swim diapers fr huggies. i didnt buy any swim diapers (there r some being sold) cos he kept growing so disposables r e best. he started wif M when he was 5mths old, L when he was abt 9mths old n XL at 1yr old.

for edward, sama sama lor...disposable swim diapers BUT i adding a Old Navy swim top (i bought it fr yahoo auction) cos weather may still b chilly, scared edward catches a cold then.

5) jabs
it's ok 2 delay but dun delay too late. if in doubt, betta consult dr loke who can advise u betta.

6) heinz rice cereal
e pack isnt resealable but i keep it in an airtight container. likewise wif e healthy times cereals, once it's open, gotta transfer it 2 a airtight container.

augbb,
gd 2 invest in a few books on feeding solids 2 bbs cos it comes in handy when u need some info, receipes, etc. i myself bought 3books.

butterfly,
welcome. noah's a big bb. when's his bday & his birth weight? was he a big bb at birth?

Hi kelly,
Thanks for the warm welcome. And also for the advices you gave above. They're really helpful, especially for 1st time mom like me.

Oh yes i realised that Noah is the heaviest in the list. ;) He was born on 30th Aug 06, 4.17kg, 53cm. Thought that mine is big, until i heard of someone with a 5.5kg baby! Wow!

hi, augbb

this is the book recommend by augustmum

if buy from kinokuniya, is $20.90

not sure abt Popular... is available in the branches listed below.... can called to make reservation
1. Bras Basah Complex. 6-338-1350
2. Jurong East MRT- 6-665- 1292
3. East Point. 6- 788-9759
4. White Sands. 6-581- 9011
5. Jubilee Centre. 6-555-0462
6. North Points. 6-852-2106
7. Marine Parade Central. 6-344-8987
638129.jpg

Hi jesline,
Wow..thanks so much for the tel no you provided here...it is so helpful..tks dear!

Kelly,
U as always have always been a great help to me with all yr advise..will go thru it and read the links u posted..ya i guess i gotta get a few books on hand liao..but need to decide wich is the best books to buy..:p

hi butter8,
u can exchange 10 nepia seals for $10 ntuc voucher for free.. you will find a "1 point" with a baby face on the right side of the packet.. just cut out the little square and paste it on a piece of paper (have to collect 10 seals) and send it to: nepia (hong kong) ltd, branch office singapore, 101 cecil st. #23-07 singapore 069533. write down ur name, contact no. & address and they will send the voucher to u...

hi kelly & joko,
i've brought denise to see prof giam today, she's a really gentle lady... by the way, it seems that her eczema looks pretty serious, was given an appt to do skin prick test for allergy next week. i'm crossing all my fingers that it's not some allergy but juz sensitive skin, or else have to avoid alot of stuff. anyway i've decided to exclude egg & dairy product in my diet for the time being till further confirmation...and lastly, thanks for the help!

augbb,

Posted on Thursday, January 04, 2007 - 2:32 pm:

jesline
u can find it in all NTUC supermkts, giant, cold storage. it's called heinz white rice cereal. there's also an organic version. u can buy both.

20% OFF KINOKUNIYA

i'll be buying 'Feed Your Child Right' from kino, my hubby's sister works there and can get a 20% discount.
Anybody who is coming to the gathering next week, want me to help u purchase a copy too?

let me know

Hi mummies, my baby is born on 31 July, so he is the youngest in the July thread but oldest here...hee.

He is 6.2kg at 5 month. So Celine, don't worry, yours is not the smallest.

fiona,
glad tat u consulted prof giam. after seeing prof giam abt my elder boy's condition, i've learned 1 lesson. bb sick, c PD. bb got skin problem, c skin specialist straight away. shldnt hv waste time seeing PD, GPs, etc. waste $$, time & effort. hope tat denise's condition isnt tat serious.

julie
welcome! ur son aint e oldest here. there r a few of us who popped in jul too. jfong & me r some examples.

Hi, pupsandpups

can help me to buy 1 copy of "feed your baby right"

13 JAN GATHERING @ smlow's place after 1pm

4. cocomo, husband & Jayden
5. jesline81, sis & Jia Hui