(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

i havent logged in for a few days, very bzzzz...... my elder daughter feeling lousy and cranky for the past few days, spent time sayang her. She's probably feeling the impact of having to share her daddy and mummy's love and attention after being the only child in the family for the past 4 yrs. Wanli, u r veri rite to say that it's not ez being a parent.

Wanli and Chrys,

Congrats! Yeah! the wait is finally over and yes, the real work starts now, ya?
but it's going to be a rewarding journey!

Wanli,

Melody looks so sweet! Just like her name. My favourite Sanrio character is My Melody leh

I understand how u feel cos' my #1 was also hopspitalised for jaundice, in fact i was discharged without her, felt so depressed. It's important to talk to someone abt how u feel, dun keep it to urself, okay. We're always here for u...

Piyo,

Great that baby is gaining weight... dun worry to much, samll baby can be healthy baby too, they jus need more of your Tender Loving Care.

Btw, cold cabbage leaves work well as a cold compress for engorgement too. Cheap and good leh.

Butter8,

I used Gerber's Breast Therapy for pain relief, It's in a stick form, looks like a lip balm... works alrite for me. u maight want to consider to get one to standby, i was glad i did.

Hi Kelly,

How's ed's jaundice? Reanne still got jaundice, i went to another PD for review after i observed that she still look pretty yellow after 2 wks although Dt Tan say no need to. I was glad i did cos her bilirubin level went up to 12.9 from abt 12 one week ago. This coming Sat going for another review...

Hi Wanli,

Melody is so lovely!

Does she resemble u or ur hubby?

Hi augustmum,

My EDD is same as urs, also 14 Aug.

Like u, i also dun remember my last menstruation date. hehee

thanks, augustmum

i had packed:
1) 5 front button night gowns
2) 2 packs of pads
3) 2 packs of disposable pantries
4) admission letter & pre natal cost break down
5) 5 nursing bras
6) nipple cream (just in case)
7) breastpad
8) return home clothes

not bringing any baby's stuff as Mrs Wong said that all baby's stuff provided by TMC....

had asked Dr Ang & he said my stay at hospital will be abt 4 days 3 nights cos having c-section....

i am also getting very tired nowsaday & no mood to come to work.... so tiring... not sure whether want to take more annual leave for next weeks...

leobbsmum,
oh thats a good pt, will wait for gifts

btw my aunt is make some special wine for after birth, to cook with chicken or just drink i think. is this something similar? i know she making for 3 preggy ladies... me first cuz i due earliest.

thanks nurbates too

my friends got together n got me the manual pump too
so i have something stand by- thankfully, me so happy...
as the pillow would be luxury...

i got some gerber breast pads too..
only dun have cold/hot compress... will check it out.

does nipple cream work?
any one used any nipple shields?

wanli,
oooh so sweet n cute your lil melody

pupsncups,
i got pigeon baby wash i think.. n diapers i didnt buy (my mum got me some cloth ones) but my friends gave me a pack of nepia. i think my hospital gives me a pack of pampers newborn.

hi, White_lady

yes, i had decided on c-sect already.. it will be c-section with half GA... so i will be fully aware of the operation & my hubby will also be allow in the operating room with me.... my gynae said c-section with half GA is less painful...

did went thru c-section with GA before.... u will feel very drowsy & will need to stay in bed for the whole day... it also quite painful....

how abt u?

hi jesline ,

so what u saying , c sect with half GA , meaning , c section with epidural rite ? tink is the same , i am maybe going for c sect too , most pro going for epi c sect ... but wondering , will it be scarely , cos we will know what is going on , and i heard that , u will feel that they r cutting n pulling !

did ur gynae mention , how he goign to insert the half GA ?

Jeslin,
Can I know where you get your front button night gowns?

Wanli,
Your little Melody so cute!!! I wish I can hug my boy in my arm now like what you did . . . but dunno when I can la as my boy's not even engage yet.

white_lady

my gynae only mentioned c sect with half GA... not sure whether is it same as c-sect with epi.... but will ask him during my appointment with him again this friday....

my gynae also mentioned that we will be able to feel what they r doing.... ya lor... think quite scary too... but with hubby at our side & the thought of getting to see our baby asap think we can overcome the fear...

jesline ,

but i still feel scare ! imagine , can feel what they are doing , just that cant feel pain , so scarey ! haahaa ... after u check what is actually half GA , then update me ya ! so have u choosen a date ? will be doing on 38 weeks ? and at which hospital ?

white_lady

will keep u updated!

yes, had choose the date to be 11th August, friday... will be doing on 39th weeks at TMC

how abt u?

jesline ,

mine will be at TMC too , but have not choose the date yet ... think will have c sect at 38 weeks ... urs is set at 39 weeks , if BB come out early a few days , also will be c sect rite ?

and have u book a room at TMC already ?

white_lady

ya, if BB come out early, it will still be c-sect as not going for normal delivery....

My gynae, Dr Ang had already booked 4 bedded room for me but he said it will be upgraded to 2 bedded room

so how abt u? booked a room?

Hi pupsncups,
for me, i be using cloth diapers from pigeon for bb during the day and we bought mamy poko NB and Small size as standby to be used at night..as for bb wash, i bought Seba-Med too as i heard that it is reali good..N hubby bought avent shampoo wash for bb to use coz that time Taka got promotion...
I heard that petpet is also good to use for day...

me also looking around for nipple cream coz i scare got crack nipples..but dun noe wat brand is good to get leh...My friend recommend avent. Dun noe if good or not..i dun wan something that got a smell too...anyone can recommend?? N for those gowns that u bring to the hospital, do u all bring PJs that is a button down top n a pants or a bottom down gown??My friend recently tell me best not to bring those that have a pants bottom, coz it be too painful for u to want to wear..Mummies who gave birth, can pls help?? is it true?

I will also be giving birth in TMC, but till now i have received any letter from there leh..how ah? N is it true that TMC definitely will provide clothes for bb so we dun need to bring anything for our babies? Irregardless of how many bedders we r staying??

white_lady

me too send back the pre-registration form to TMC myself some time back.... in the form, it stated which type of room u will be staying too....

thanks for the quick feedback everyone

hmm, ok mb 1st month i invest in pampers premium, i know thats wat KK will give me, then after that switch to nepia.

seba-med sounds good, can get from any pharmacy right? cheap annot. so kodomo and j&j is for later and not newborn?

Augbaby,

I did not receive the letter from TMC too. For my first born, they provided everything for the baby. Don't worry. You can check with them on the first day in the hospital. If not provided, then ask hubby to bring.

I prefer top and pants as easier to breastfeed. Just lift up the top. As for the pants, it is rather loose so not diff. to wear. I'm going for natural birth so should be quite mobile after delivery. Think pants not suitable for those going for c-sec.

For my firstborn, I wore the bottom down gown with buttons in front. Find it very diff to breastfeed. However, you won't stain the gown easily.

As for nipple cream...I have tried nuk. Used only once or twice only. You may want to wait for samples. You will receive some samples..

hi, augbaby

for me, i am bringing button down gown as think it is more easy for mums who opting for c-sect..

maybe u can call up TMC or ask your gynae regarding the letter from TMC....

for baby's stuff, dont think need to bring anything as Mrs Wong mentioned that all will be provided....

butter8, u mean rice wine issit? coz my mom said we cant drink plain water during confinement period, so no water can be added to our food too. hence, she bought more than 10 bottles of rice wine for my confinement dishes liao. think mkt rate is $10 for 1L.

cocomo, i got my front button-down nite gowns from those shops tat sell undies n intimates, $9.90 each. thin material, but quite comfy. i'm wearing them now every nite, coz i hope to soften the material abit after a few washes..

augbaby, i heard from experienced moms tat medela purelan is the BEST. really soothing to the nipples. esp first time moms like us.. >.<

btw, we dun need any shampoo for NB so soon, or they might hv "dandruff" due to the soap residue..

as for the disposable diapers, dun buy too many of the NB or S size, coz we dunno how fast bb will grow.. if not, diapers will go to waste when bb outgrew them.

coz bb wont go out during first mth, so it's good to let them use cloth nappies.. if we use disposable diapers only at nite, then we can roughly gauge how many pcs a nite, n for how many nites..

FYI - my colleague's bb grows so fast, her thighs are like big drumsticks now! hahaha!!! actually for her weight, she is supposed to use S size diapers, but coz of her thighs, her mom gotta start buying M size for her now..

so there are things tat we really cant stock up just as yet... but it's good to standby a tin of FM lah... =)

i'm also going to deliver at TMC...i dunno wat accessories will they charge us of.. like disposable diapers? maternity pads? any experienced moms can advise and share?

i'm gog for my week 38 checkup this Fri...Geez...so excited liao!!

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

noelle, i dunno abt contractions leh....but i do feel some pressure below my belly button..
i tried to do brisk-walking, coz alot of downhill slopes... =P it was helpful for me!
but my inner thighs suffered from abrasion...poor me!!! >__< since the weight gain, my thighs also put on abit now...i'm so sad!!<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hmm ... leobbsmom,
that sounds like the same experience we are having.
Yeah, I do have pimples between my inner thighs too !

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

for diapers - i'm using cloth nappies for first week, then start to use pureen (S size-3-8kg) disposable diapers for the nite. it's cloth-like material, very gd for NB.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Oh ... Both my boys have rashes after using Pureen diapers though. In fact, quite a number of mothers that I know of dislike Pureen.
The cotton becomes lumpy after it absorbed the urine.
Hopefully your baby won't experience the same as my boys did.
kao_sad2.gif

Hi pupsandcups,
I use Nepia for my boys.

They have -
Diaper
newborn 60-up to 5kg
S 54- 4-8kg
M 48- 6-12lg
L 42- 9-14kg

Diaper Pants
L 30- 9-14kg
XL 26- 12-19kg

You are aware that they do send to our doorsteps for $14 per packet (minimum 4 packets)?
We can mix the sizes and need not get the same size each delivery.
I will be doing that since I will be confined at home so will have them deliver instead.

I have their contacts in case you are interested.

hi noelle

ooh, sounds good, is $14/packet below NTUC price? otherwise can always ask my hubby to go out n get. but from what little i know, nepia isn't sold everywhere right.

pass me their contacts if u can,

thanks heaps!
im getting so excited preparing for bb

HoneyHaven,

Oh my appt is 4th Aug at CCk branch.. i gg to morning... too bad bt no worries, will have chances to meet up after almost all pop out n we can arrange to meet up wit our precious!

WHEN can wes start to drink coconut ah?
I heard doing squating do helps alot... maybe when we having contractions, must remain calm n no hurry bb wont be out so fast.. BEST we walk more bt not laying down. Walking more will help wit the e contractions n dilation.

pupsandcups,

i hv been using Sealer NB and EQ Size S, both cloth material, but i prefer EQ cos softer and no lumps after diaper is wet. Btw it's also cheaper, got them for 3 pkts $10 at the exhibition.

Baby Wash - i using Gaia organic.

hi pupsandcups,
me planning to use cloth nappies during the day time and for the initial 1st month or so, me using Pamper Premium Newborn and Mamy poko at night before I switched to other brands like Nepia later on...

Babywash- me using aromababy bath gel, aromababy moisturiser and some other samples I got to try out cos not sure which would my baby prefers... not using any shampoo till later on after her hair has grown...

Powder- anyone using talc powder?

apart from drinking coconuts that are supposed to cool down our bodies, are there anything else we can drink/eat to do so?

Hi Cyn,
Me going to start drinking coconut (those big green ones) from this weekend as I am crossing to 36weeks tomorrow.... but of cos must c how the gynae visit this sat goes....

Leobbsmom,
Thanks and I will go to those shop to look for the gowns this weekend.

When's your EDD ya? Mine is 5 Aug.

I will also deliver at TMC. We no need to bring anything for our baby as TMC will give them diapers (NB Pampers brand)and they will dressed fully in TMC brand when discharged, including clothes, booties and a receiving blanket. TMC will also give a discharge bag with J&amp;J rash cream, few nut and avent milk teats, left over pampers, baby wash, cord spirit etc.

jfong,
me too...i also using EQ S for edward now.
i swear by EQ cos cheap &amp; gd. i also bought a lot fr the motherhood exhibition.

sad 2 hear abt reanne's jaundice...edward's jaundice seems 2 b improving. he's drinking 60-80ml EBM/FM every 2-3hrs. i've been sunning him every morn for abt 30-40mins and his poo poo is also fresh yellow (dr lee said tat fresh yellow poo poo is a gd sign of the bb clearing e bilirudin)

btw, when u asked me abt dr tan &amp; dr lee's practice, i typed a long post 2 reply 2 u but somehow i cant find e posting anymore. i tik different PDs work differently. mayb 2 dr lee, jaundice level of 15 warrants 4 hospitalisation but for dr tan, he's comfortable wif e level hitting 16.

pupsandcups,
i swear by EQ, pet pet &amp; nepia. when i finish my EQ stock, i'll use pet pet in e day &amp; nepia for my boys at nite. tat's wat i'm doing for my 1st boy now.

My baby is FINALLY engaged..YIPPPPPPEEEEEE!!!!

I was worried we had to do a c-sect cos of her breeched pstn. My obgyn told me her head is very low so I might be popping anytime this week or early next week. She added tt since it's my 2nd baby labour would be shorter...my mom freaked out when I told her abt it...so scared I pop at home...heeee....heeee.....I was the result of induced birthlah just like my first baby....heeee...heeeee...but I guess my MIL would prefer for me to have a show and consistent contractions first before rushing to hospital. Aiyoh...these veterans sooo worlds apart...hard to please mannnnnn.....can go gila sometimes!!!!

Baby's weight seems good too at an estimated 3.2kg for the 38th week.

Sure am glad tt I probably need not go under the knife afterall....phew!!!!

Thanks for the encouragement!

Hi Noe,
thanks. Life like changing so much, sometimes I may think am I dreaming??!! hahaha....my life now is so much different from last week. Especially mother in law started staying with us for confinement, suddenly my house become so many people. really need some time to get used to it.

Hi catherine,
yah, trying my best not to think so much

Hi honeyhaven,
Do 1 time hold it there for 5 to 10 seconds, total I will do around 15 times per day.

Hi Jfong,
haha Melody is my favorite sanrio character too!

Hi ningyo,
She look more to father :p.

Hi cocomo,
It is difficult to say, I remember last week chrys also not engaged yet but suddenly heard she poped already

nurbates,
happy 4 u...we shall await 4 ur gd news. how long was ur 1st labour? mine was abt 10hrs, 2nd labour was abt 4hrs. it's very true tat subsequent labours tend 2 b faster.

pupsandcups,
i using J&amp;J top to toe body wash for 2nd son. for 1st son, i using gaia organic body wash, like jfong too.

CLOTH DIAPERS - had bad experience wif it for my 1st son. wont b using it anymore. too much hassle!

Hi Kelly,
no lei......her jaundice just drop a bit only, from 16.4 to 15.5. Hope it will less than 10 tomorrow, if not can not come home yet
. My PD said she drink milk quite alot, 70 - 80ml every 3 hrs.
I never know she drink so much as I usually just let her latch on based on her demand. So seem like my milk supply still not enough to feed her.

Kelly, my labour was <font color="0000ff">28hrs</font> for the first baby <font color="119911">****faint****</font> but cos it's inducedlah...

Hoping to pop soon..now in real pain...pelvic area creaking....feel like old lady wif rheumatism

How are the rest of you coping???

Wanli,
I hope I will be the same as Chrys lo ;p

Wanli/Kelly,
Did your doctor tell you why babies tent to have jaundice? Lots of ppl adviced me not to take Carrot and papaya during pregnancy coz they will cause jaundice, is that true?

wanli,
the nurses told me tat bbs under photolight will drink a lot more cos they r "dehydrated". my 1st son, gabe was drinking 90ml when he was under photolight treatment, shocking me &amp; husband. when gabe was discharged on a sun morn, he only managed barely 30ml at each feed. after 24hrs, i panicked cos he was still drinking 30ml (when e nurses told me he drank abt 70-90ml). i brought him back 2 e PD again n e PD (Dr Lee Chien Yee fr KinderClinic) sent me 2 a nurse fr the nursery who showed me how 2 feed my bb.

after e nurse showed me, we went home...my son was still drinking barely 30ml. only when he hit 1mth old, he was drinking abt 45-60ml. my 2nd son is different...bigger appetite (mayb bcos he's of a bigger birth weight so needs 2 drink more). he's managing abt 60-80ml EBM/FM now at each 2.5-3hrly feed.

i forgot 2 reply 2 u...FM is also considered fluids. i dun hv e practise of giving water when i'm BFg but if u want to bcos melody's drinking FM, go ahead. edward's drinking more EBM/"fresh milk" (direct latching) now so i c no need 2 feed water. u r the mummy, u decide urself.

i'm not sharing wif u how much EBM i'm producing now. it'll stress u further. e key thing abt BFg is latch latch latch. if u hv no choice, but 2 pump, when u look at e amt u r producing &amp; u compare wif other mummies, it'll do u no gd. 2 produce lotsa milk, sometimes lotsa rest &amp; a positive mind helps too.

hi wanli,
bb melody's cute. u must be very contented when u see melody. me now even more eager to see my son now. seems like more and more people popping soon.

hi pupsandcups,
I bought pampers premium (newborns)cos kk will be giving pampers. but i'll be using cloth diapers for the 1st month during day time. after that, when baby is bigger, then might try out other brands. heard mamypoko, huggies and nepia are also good.

also using j &amp; j milk bath for baby. dun know whether it'll be too dry or not for bb.

hi piyo,
me also going to start drinking coconut drink this weekend. a lady just informed me yesterday that drinking sugarcane juice for 5 consecutive days before bb's edd will help reduce jaundice to a minimal level. not sure whether it's true.

hi nurbates,
that's good news. glad that everything's going smoothly for u. m going for checkup tmr. hope bb's weight will be ok and that everything's fine too.

wah, 28hrs! me faint liao. dun think i can stand the labour pain for so many hours. hope mine will be short.

hi cocomo,
learnt that one of the reasons for jaundice is thaat mtbs take too much iron during pregnancy so bb's liver is unable to cope with it. nurse said it's not related to carrot or papaya. My colleague has been taking papaya to help with constipation and her baby does not have to be hospitalised for jaundice. Hope it helps.

wanli,
my 1st son was on EBM/FM &amp; latching for his 1st 3mths. when he turned 3mths old, i cut his FM by just latching him nonstop. ever since then, he was on "fresh milk" (he also refused EBM...simply refuse bottle) til he was 14mths.

dun worry if u hv 2 give FM, e most impt thing is 2 get rid of ur girl's jaundice 1st. if ur BM supply not there, ur girl is hungry &amp; has jaundice, it makes no sense 4 u not 2 give her other fluids rt? of course if u can pump out decent amts 2 meet her demand, by all means. if u cant, no need 2 feel bad...just make sure she's well-fed.

if jaundice is not cleared by 6wks, e PD may suggest ur bb 2 do a liver function test...lagi worse rt?

cocomo,
it varies fr bb to bb. usually for 1st born, e jaundice kicks in on the 3-4th day. if urs is a natural delivery, they can only check ur bb for jaundice when u r abt 2 discharge. then when ur bb is due for his 1st checkup, u can tell if ur bb kenna jaundice bad enuff 2 warrant for photolight treatment (hospitalisation).

for my 1st son, i also didnt take much "orangy-yellowish" stuff in my last trimester. he kenna whacked wif very severe jaundice. likewise 4 my 2nd son, he also kenna jaundice but i smarter tis time round, make sure he gets fluids so i fed him FM

augustmum,
u may 1 2 bring ur savings a/c bank book or statement IF u 1 2 submit the docs for the bb bonus while at the hospital.

hi mtbs,
anyone keeping in touch with peddie? a bit worried abt her cos no postings from her for quite a while. any idea whether she has popped?

pupsandcups,
i bought nepia brand of diapers at the fair to standby. oso got washable nappies if CL wan to use while she's here.
for bb wash, i bought medela non-rinse one during taka sale. dunno whether it's good though.

butter8,
for nipple cream i bought medela purelan small tube to try. it's smell-less, transparent color n a bit sticky type, but seem to keep nipples moisturised alright for now.

cocomo,
u can get button front gowns fr John little specialist centre abt $16.90. or if u go people's park centre, ther's 1 shop on 2nd/ 3rd floor near lift selling $6 per piece.

Hi Wanli,
I am still waiting for the moment.
Your girl is really beautiful, and she got some of your features.

Can you advice on the squatting? Is it squat and stay a while before getting up?