(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Congrats Chrys! Let me know your baby's name then I can update k?
You are so brave did it without epi! Pei fu!

Hi Cecilia,
thanks! I hope it will be an uptrend for these few weeks and no downtrend....else I will have to go under the knife liao

hi leobbsmum,
but if we are planning to bf, we can drink wine?

Cecelia: i've read that hair loss is natural due to the hormonal changes, not necessary a side effect of epidural....as for vomitting, my understanding is GA is the one that has higher possibility?

Chrys,

Congrats...

Piyo,

Good to hear the good news. Don't worry too much. Just rest. My 21-day hospital ends tomorrow and still has yet given birth. Think bedrest is realli good. Tomorrow, seeing gynae. Can't wait to find out baby's weight.

You better don't do squats now. Wait till 37 weeks if you want baby to be good and stay in your womb till then

Jeslin,

Won't be seeing Dr Ang on Wed. Decided to see him tomorrow as I realise I've to report to work on Wed. Hope it won't be crowded tomorrow.

Butter,

Don't buy first. Your frens may give you as presents. My previous stock of DOM, since two years ago, still in cupboards. Now and then, when my mother needs to give DOM as gifts, I just ask her to take from me

Congrat Chrys

Butter8 you can stock up on the ff items:

1. <font color="0000ff">Breastpads</font>

2. <font color="0000ff">Hot/cold compress</font> to soothe engorgement

3. <font color="0000ff">Breastpump</font>

(in case you aren't feeling well, can pump out milk, or if you have badly engorged breasts. I have a manual Avent which helped me ALOT when I had fever before milk came in for the first baby)

4. <font color="0000ff">Nursing pillow</font>

(a luxury but helps in getting baby into position for correct latching, reduces backache too)

Pupsandcups heh...heh....you can start boot camp for all MTBslah...maybe can part-time as squat instructress..ahaahaaa.....kidding dah...
But I realllllyyyy salute you...five minutes..wow!!!

Think last time our mommies have more squatting practice cos their toilets are those kena squatting range...now our toilet luxurious sitting types that's why must squat extra time...haaaa......haaa.....

hi Nurbates,
what are hot/cold compress? where to get them?

Hi Augustmum,
Do update us on your baby's weight! I believe your baby sure got good news for you

Hi Piyo ,

congrats to you that ur bb put on weight ! Try to rest more , in order to let BB gain more weight ok ! take good care !

Wow , another mummy have pop ! congrates chrys !

piyo, wat the mommies i noe did was tat they will BF first, then they hv their meal with wine. so tat there will be at least 2hrs btw the next feed..

and 2hrs are enuff for the wine to be passed out. but be sure to drink lotsa of fluid after each meal with wine.

btw, 30days of confinement is really needed, coz after 30days, our bodies cant seem to absorb any heatiness anymore, and we will feel feverish if consumed too much heaty stuff.. so the best is, take all teh heaty stuff during the 30days of confinement.

also, drinking stout 12 days after delivery will help to flush out the dirty blood clogs inside.

Hi piyo,

Gynae told me the head engaged 2 weeks ago. until now still no news lei.
And he do not wan to induce for me. he say wait until my wk41 if i did not pop on my EDD

Hi ladies..

talking abt squating for dilation..
we just squat there for 5 mins or we have to do the real up and down squating for 5 mins?

Rain...think.... we first squat.... then get up and do a <font color="ff0000">STAR</font> jump...waahaaaahaaaahaaaa....

Actually I also don't knowlah...heee...heee...

Went for my week 35 checkup this afternoon and did a swab test. Hate the feeling of having some foreign object stuck in there. :p

Was telling a friend last night that if bb weighs 2.3kg, then it's "to specs", according to some chart I see in some website. Friend teased me saying I made myself sound like some "factory".

Coincidentally, that was the weight reported by the gynae today!!! Buy 4D/Toto also never so accurate! BB is up by 0.6kg while I'm up by 0.2kg since the last checkup 3 weeks ago. Both weight gains are not proportional. So does it mean that effectively, I've lost weight? Musings aside, my take is that the amount of food intake, beyond a certain point, does not influence the weight of the bb.

Rain,

Actually, I have the same question too! Do we just squat there? Or squat and get up and repeat X times?

nurbates,

Hahaha! STAR jump!!! Later bb somersault, head turn facing back up... then that's it man! :D

piyo,

BB's putting on weight and that's a good sign.
Don't let the thought of c-sect bother you either. Know that whatever the gynae recommends, it's for the good of bb. Everyone's different and grows differently and at their own pacing... just like everyone have different heights, different metabolic rates...

Eat moderately, and a balanced diet. Check this out. Stay healthy and happy!

Hi Piyo,
So happy to know that yr baby gaining weight
. My baby name is "Melody Ho". Thanks for update.

Hi Kelly,
Really thanks for yr call. I'm not so stressful now
. As expected my baby admitted to the hospital because of jaundice, hope she will getting well tomorrow...really miss her.

Hi Dino,
How are you feeling now? Waiting for yr good news

Hi chrys,
You are great without epi
!

Here is my little angel Melody:

471032.jpg

471033.jpg

wanli, chrys,
congrats! n wanli, thx for the birth story. the way u describe it really enable me to run thru' the process in my head now.

btw, wan to ask all those dat popped, did u bring CD player/ aromatherapy etc into the delivery room. was ther time to bring these so to distract u from the pain? is it going to be useful? pls advise cos i not sure whether to bring along my CD player.

augustmum,
me seeing dr ang 2mrw too. wat x will u b there? i'll b there abt 1130am. i'll b bringing my 1st son there. if u c a fat mama &amp; a nonstop monkey, tat's me. anyway, the nurse will call my name when it's my turn, u shld know who i m then IF u r there abt the same timing too.

wanli,
melody is such a pretty girl, love her features...big eyes, defined brows, sharp nose, cute lips.
no worries abt e call. u got my no, call me if u need help. I'll help wherever possible.
did u cry when melody is hospitalised? for my 1st son, i went thru wat u went thru...he's crying every hr, stressing me &amp; probably he's stressed too cos I couldnt rest and he couldnt rest due 2 hunger. i cried when e PD instructed us 2 hospitalise him. at tat moment, i felt as if i failed as a mother, for not keeping him full &amp; taking gd care of him.
dun worry abt her, she'll b pink &amp; rosy when she's discharged. just make sure she get lotsa fluids. e hospital stay may fix her jaundice but it doesnt mean it wont come back.

cj,
i've come across a few mummies who bring CD player in. it's all personal preference. for me, i doubt it'll work so didnt bother. i'm the sort who'll b too caught up in my pain tat nothing can distract me fr e pain &amp; hunger pangs. when i popped, i'll b too eager 2 know wat my gynae's doing 2 me, wat my bb is doing, is my husband taking pics, etc.

hi kelly
me too cannot take pain, in fact Hb is the 1 who inform gynae to confirm the epidural for me cos he noes me well. 'a hungry man is an angry man' is oso very true for me. now i wori cant tahan the hunger too...

i jus hope the TV is showing something v interesting or a handsome actor on screen wen am in the delivery ward, provide some slight distraction for me.

me started taking leave today liao, as gynae predict i will be 1 week earlier than EDD.

Hi, augustmum

my appointment tmw with Dr Ang had been changed to this friday as went to see him yesterday due to severe pain on my back,left side of the body &amp; lower pain from 3am to 7am....

had VE &amp; CTG &amp; baby is fine &amp; cervix is not dilated yet... so Dr Ang asked me to see him again this friday...

Do keep us updated abt your baby's weight gain... did not get the chance to measure baby's weight yesterday as Dr Ang said there should be no differences as only a few days... so got to wait until this friday.... increasing my milk intake &amp; hope baby will grow faster

Hi, Wanli

Congrat to u! your baby Melody is so cute..... also hope to see my baby soon

Hi Wanli,
Your baby girl is so cute and sweet looking..Dun worry too much abt the jaundice..i am sure it will clear up v soon..Take good care of yourself during yr confinement..Yr little girl have lovely eyes..

hi wanli, your princess is so cute...she is so "awake" liao hor, hee....so lovely! =)

u must be feeling the top of the world now!! =)

hmmm......i cant wait to see mine too! =) been walking alot to help bb get engaged!

Hey Mummies,
Thanks for all the compliments
. Every mummy will feel their baby is cute and adorable, believe me you never feel enough to look at her.

Hi Noe,
Yah, now feeling better already
, thanks for yr help.

Hi Kelly,
hahhahah...you really read my mind :p, ya...I did cry in the toilet when I know baby got to admit to hospital, so heart pain. In fact she not at home I also can not sleep well.....miss her alot.

By the way, you said let baby drink lotsa fluids. Is FM consider one of it? DO I still need to give extra water?

I feel very happy today, I can pump out 70ml milk :D. but really time consuming, spend an hr to pump it.

Hi cj,
I did bring my CD player but never used it. Too many thing happend on that day, totally no mood to listen music. I will suggest if you take epi then no need bring CD to distract the pain because after taken epi you will not feel any pain
. Try to sleep or rest so that you have more energy to push.

Leobbmums,
try to do more squatting......it help for dilation

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

hmmm......i cant wait to see mine too! =) been walking alot to help bb get engaged!<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi leobbsmum,
Hmm ... Do you feel contractions while or after you had your walk.
I have been having many bouts of that. Especially after I ran after my #2.

Hi Wanli,
Glad to hear that you are better already.
I understand how you are feeling.
Heh heh ... Yeah, I cried a lot too when #1 was admitted for phototherapy.
I can't rest well and even thought of sleeping there in the hospital with him. Haiz ...
kao_sad2.gif

#2 was also admitted for phototherapy then.
In fact, we couldn't go home with him as he was in Special Care Unit (SCU) due to his jaundice &amp; low blood counts.
However, with #1 around, I think I was more occupied to think &amp; feel otherwise.

noelle, i dunno abt contractions leh....but i do feel some pressure below my belly button..

i tried to do brisk-walking, coz alot of downhill slopes... =P it was helpful for me!

but my inner thighs suffered from abrasion...poor me!!! >__< since the weight gain, my thighs also put on abit now...i'm so sad!!

yesterday went for my 36 week check up, baby is 2.45kg my weight remind the same as 34wks.
gynea say baby is ok and i can target baby birth weight to be 3.0kg as i wanted.

Wanli,
your girl so cute...... so pretty.......
congrats yah don't think too much jaundice is normal for all babies their liver are still developing thats why most babies will get jaundice. as long baby is healthy theres nothing to worry.

Hi Wanli
Your baby is very very cute.
BTW that time u did squating, how did u do it?? Which way is more effective?? Is it do 1 time hold it there for 5 to 10 seconds or just repeatly do for 10 times w/o holding at the squatting position.

Hi mtm,
Any1 craving for caramel almond nougat from Fullerton Hotel? they are having promo from 1/8 to 5/8(from 5.30pm), just $10 for 500grm.

hi wanli

your baby is ab gorgeous, looks like she already knows what's going on
like saying 'hello mommy, it was a long journey, but i'm so happy to see you!"

Kelly,

Went to the Sun Plaza Clinic at 10am today. Dr Ang's business very good...got 6 babies to be delivered today

Jeslin,

Me not dilated yet but Dr. Ang's seeing me this Thursday. Wow...the appointment date is getting closer and closer...

My baby's weight is about 2.8kg. So happy...up by about 500g from last Tuesday

Hi, augustmum

wow... your baby is growing fast.... think by resting at home &amp; drinking more milk did helped your baby to grow faster.....

u r in weeks??? so when will u be due?

me too not dilated yet....my appointment date is also getting closer &amp; closer.....

Jeslin,

Dr Ang calculated...should be 37-38 weeks. My EDD's not accurate one cos' I can't remember my last menstruation date...Due date supposed to be 14 August...

hey peddie

haven't seen u online for msn , or posting here for a coupla days. hope all is going smooth. am gonna mail the obimin out later

also, ive been going thru the WTS thread, there is q a lot of stuff pp are selling v cheap indeed. u shd take the time one day n go thru the threads and arrange

hi guys,

can i ask, do a poll on what brand
diapers
baby wash
everyone is getting?
diapers im thinking of pet pet or nepia, and baby wash is kodomo or j&amp;j better?

Augustmum,

oic....if that's the case, then u will most probably be due during the National Day week... me will be due on 11th August... me now in 37th week... so got abt 2 more weeks++ to go....

so have u pack your stuffs?

Pupsandcups,

For the first month, I will stick to pampers newborn.After observing baby's skin condition, I will decide if I would want to change brand. I like mamy poko and nepia too.

As for babywash, I will use what my firstborn is using...Cetaphil...it is non soap base...first born using it as he has eczema and so, my second one most likely will have sensitive skin.

Jeslin,

Ever since the scare three weeks ago, have packed my bag and dumped it in hubby's car. Actually, nothing much to pack, as it's my second time...

Hi mommy,

Those staying near Yishun, do go to Chong Pang and take a look. There are two shops, separated by the VCD shop and a lingerie shop, and near the duck rice and fruit stalls, that sell baby's clothes. Prices as low as 3 for $10. Brands carried...Gap, Old Navy, Carter etc. More of girls' stuff though...

hi pupsandcubs,

for diapers - i'm using cloth nappies for first week, then start to use pureen (S size-3-8kg) disposable diapers for the nite. it's cloth-like material, very gd for NB.

after 2nd mth, then i will start to use the bumwear tat i bought during last BP. and can fully utilise my cloth nappies as the inserts.

baby wash - Cetaphil is good, but I hv bought Seba-Med(500ml - $29.90). coz i hv sensitive skin, and find Cetaphil abit dry... Seba-Med cost 20+, but now they hv a BB set, with moisturiser n cream, cost $59 only. u can check it out at Robinsons.

augustmum,
So Dr Ang extended ur MC? Me very excited abt this thur's gynae appt. Hopefully my gynae will tell me I'm ready to pop. Been feeling the strain oredi. Energy level dipping a real time low!

pupsandcubs,
Diapers - Bought Pampers Premium. Since 1st mth so bb's skin may be more sensitive, so must invest in smthg betta.

baby wash - Will use wat my elder son is using, dat is, Kodomo. Last time my son used J &amp; J but felt that his skin is abit on the dry side. Dunno if it's caused by J&amp;J though.

pupsandcups,
i personally feel that J&amp;J is very drying, no matter which type i tried. now using pureen head-to-toe wash. i feel it's better than J&amp;J.
for my first born, i use Mustela 2 in 1 wash, just 1 tube, after that use normal bb wash, coz scared he has sensitive skin initially. for my 2nd bb, i'll be using mustela 2 in 1 wash, i really love the smell
after 1 tube, then will most prob switch to the pureen one, what my 3 year old is using now.

Jeslin,

I have packed:

1) Marriage Cert for baby's registration
2) Admission letter and pre-natal cost break-down
3) Digital cam
4) A face towel
4) Face wash (tooth brush, toothpaste and comb will be provided by hospital)
5)Two sets of pyjamas, just in case I stain
6) Return home clothes, 1 set
7) maternity pad, 1 pack cos' too lazy to take out a few
8) About 10 breastpads, cos for my first pregnancy, milk starts to leak on first night
9)1 receiving blanket, think hospital will provide
10) I set of baby clothes, mittens and booties

Did I miss out any? Oh...must bring ICs...

Skyblue,

Ya, he extended but only for two days till next appointment...don't think I can cope with work too...salute you for holding on so long...

May have to go back to work if after this Thursday's checkup, still no sign of popping