(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

YB,

Cait took her PNC jabs when she was like 2mths? yeah... took all her 3 jabs... we are KS parents... better let her take whatever preventive jabs possible...
Pneumococcal disease is a severe bacterial infection caused by Streptococcus pneumoniae, also called pneumococcus. It may cause pneumonia, meningitis or a blood stream infection (bacteremia).

The pneumococcus is spread by airborne or direct exposure to respiratory droplets from a person who is infected or carrying the bacteria.

YB
hope the information helps... better bring her for her jabs asap!!! take a preventive step first before the illness strikes! (*touch wood)

MTDT,
Yah, it's scary..my mum banned me from going back for 1 week on the advice of the doc. My sis also gave her children antibiotics for prevention measures...

ylc,
There's no way to know for sure if the person is infected by pnuemoccocal unless the blood is sent for testing. My sis's FIL sent in 2 test tubes of blood for testing. Only one came out positive for pnumoccocal whereas the other one is negative.

So I guess, it doesn't harm to b a bit more kiasi/kiasu by taking all the jabs early.

Lena - Dont worry abt name tags. Im sure my gym has them. Summer is such a bright name, and yr gal definitely gives that kind of look too ;P

Melody - Sorry, can u PM me more details like yr contact number, no. of ppl attending and also date and time of trf? Thanks, need to have a record to create an attendance list on the actual day

Fruitee - U already bring Kayden to a few studio liao right? Still wana go arh?

MTDT - I be joining as actual as Annie doesnt allow me to join Zita's grp as trial. I think u'll must be thinking that Im garang...but Im a person who really believe in Word of Mouth advertising. Based on feedback from U and Hong. Plus, I think we've also been to many many trials and this is the only one that mummies actually signed up, doesnt it tell something? So, I daring enough to sign up loh. Hehe. Zav loooks very seh... hahaha... but his eyes is still as big.

Lucida - Congrats! I hope YUJie will win. Did u sent the photo that u posted to them.. hehe

Pebble - No choice, after being a SAHM, I practically lost my own life. I need to get it back, so have to sacrifice abit. Otherwise I be a ulu mountain tortise who stay in the hills of Sengkang. I think although I didnt get it back 100% which is totally impossible, but at least i have new grps of friends, all thansks to this forum
3 cheers for our friendship!!!!

Zita - Yrs is better. Mine sometimes just luck and mood, haha.. also depend on camera too. like MTDT says, Panasonic Lumix just CMI, got lots of blur pics but i deleted away. No worries abt the BJG lah, I understanding one, teaher no good is no fault of us! Just have to blame my luck, hehehe

YB - I also didnt let E take that jab yet. Partly is coz of price and another reason is u got to take a few jabs before 2. So I ma waiting for him to turn 2.

Lollypop - Welcome back, post more often lah. We welcome newbies and old birds like u :p

ylc,
I was thinking even if Kaylyn takes her jabs now, also gotta take 3 times before the antibodies work...do u know if there's anything to b done during this period?

YB - Better to be safe than sorry. I be super paranoid and will isolate Kaylyn and not go to yr mum's place and maybe I will sugest to my mum (if it happens to me) to use dettol to clean the whole house, best if can use steamer to clean!

I know there's a very slight chance Kaylyn will get it, cos she is not in direct contact wif the affected person..but but but....still...kinda worrying lor.

My sis also wanna wait till my niece turns 2 (which is in May tis yr) before taking the jab. But misfortune doesn't come wif warning lor..so she also regretted.

YB,

then u better bring Kaylyn to see PD n ask for his/her opinion. From what i know, it must have prompt treatment of antibiotics. So in order to prevent Kaylyn from getting it (*touch wood) better bring to pd n see what can be done. Even if she gets one shot of injection of the pneumococcal, its still antibiotics right?

PM,
Yeah!I know for sure my mum will disinfect the whole hse everyday cos the kids will b there everyday when my sis goes to work.

Last time when my hb only suspected to kena HFMD, my mum already bought 1 huge bottle of dettol & 1 can of spray disinfectant for my hse.

My sis just now went home to throw away her FIL's bedsheets...I was joking to her on the phone tat burning would b the best way to clean the hse...:p

as i said, its airborne lor... so the symptoms may not show until later... then too late to regret lor... so better bring to see doc n see what needs to be done! Maybe tell your sis to do the same...

ylc,
Yeah, intend to bring Kaylyn to PD tomorrow when hb comes back from reservist. My nephew & niece already gotten antibiotics from the doc, but I'm not sure if they can be given to younger babies like Kaylyn.

Emerson kind of pisses me off today. I try to be very patient with him but sometimes I just feel he's testing me. He keeps crying for nothing and I didnt know what to do with him. He also fell from coffee table twice and knock his head, thank goodness I had carpet on my floor, else head sure blueblack, and once in the room. He likes to twist and turn while I bathe him in the tub makes me all wet and sweaty, he cries from the moment I stepped into the bathroom until finish changing him. *Phew* hard time man. Those who dun know think I bash him up or something, but I was arleayd on the verge of doing so.

AT last he sleeps at 9.30pm after I gave him some teething gel. Suddenly thought he could be teething coz I recalls that's how he is when he had his first 2 teeth. Now the upper 2 is erupting.

YB,

thats what i am also thinking lor... so young give antibiotics? not sure... maybe they have special dose for bbs.

PM,
Emerson teething lah! Must be very uncomfy. I gave Kaylyn Calpol during her teething 2 weeks ago & she's better. I also saw Kaylyn's upper gums swollen, so I guess the top 2 front teeth going to erupt soon...but I really scare scare after the last teething experience.

PM,
aiyo you dun say ah... my Cait also like that... in the bathtub, i wanna wash her hair, she will cry/shout, then she will sit up and splash the water with her hands. then she will stand up.. n you know how slippery the bathtub is.. aiyo... i so scared i can't get a gd grip of her... she hates to change diapers, she will cry as if i spank her or abuse her... aiyo... until everything over then she will just go about doing her own things as if nothing happened!
i also think Cait's two upper teeth are erupting cus she is like sucking her upper lips... she did that when her two bottom teeth erupted. hehe no longer that bo gay girl anymore... my girl is growing up so fast...

YLC - Yah, because of that, I bought non slip mat and put in the tub. Emerson also likes to try to stand, he cant do it properly. Now I dont bathe him like a baby, coz he dont like to stand up. So I sit him in the tub and use the shower head. He's still abt scare of it, but heck lah.. got to battle with him durng sleeping time and now shower! Tiring man.

Ha! I also tot so, then tell my hubby, my hubby says normal wat.. I say he grow up liao, no more a baby..

Yb - Me too, scare of FEVER (Touchwood) I gave him abit of paracetamol just now also.

PM - true hor.. BJG is the only class that jul mummies sign up after the trial. Hope u enjoy the class too...

YB - dun think so much now... tomolo bring kaylyn to seek PD's advice. everything will be fine.

Bathing - my boy also likes to stand in the tub... but 2 weeks ago, i decided to use the shower head to bathe for him... surprisingly he loves it!!! so now he will sit in the tub when i shower him. once i turn off the water supply from the shower head. he will auto wan to stand up again. :p

hmm... cait didnt show any teething signs for the 2 bottom teeth except i saw teeth marks on her cup. she only like to drool n put fingers in her mouth.
i still bathe her like a bb for her hair only... then sit n bathe. my mil bought this bath cushion thingy for her to sit on during bath so she wont slip n fall but standing ... that cushion cannot make it lor

PM,
So u will lather the soap on Emerson's body & use the shower head to rinse off?

Hmm...I tried showering Kaylyn when I was in cruise, but she's scared. Mayb cos the water pressure is painful also.

pm - at first zav also looks scare... now he seems to noe liao... n he seems to really look forward to it.

he very cute one... he will even lift his head high high so tat i could 'shoot' the water to his neck to wash! :p

then if i wan to wash his face... he will open his mouth like wat to drink the water!! aiyoh... :p

and for shower head... even if i shower from his head... he wont squirm abit... last time i use to pour water from his head using a mug... he always "fuss" over it.

YB,
i intend to vaccinate my girl for both pnemm as well as rotavirus(which i already did). I think I heard somewhere they are thinking of making the pnemm compulsary in the future. It starts with flu and cough so it is hard for us to identify. If Kaylyn is exposed to so many people, you may want to have her vacinated.I ever asked my PD and he says it is like getting insurance. For me, becoz my older girl gets exposes to children and virus in sch, anything can happen. The expenses is worth it.( In fact, my older girl is suffering from stomach flu for the second time in2 mths. It is scary. I try to keep Gladys away and hope she doesnt get it.... Pnemm and rota is also like that........

Ha, I also want to tell u another thing.

Went to KFC with my SIL today. The stuff sent our orders to us and place it on the table in front of Emerson. He was sitting on the high chair. Within seconds, before we could notice, he lifted up the tray and the cup of iced lemon tea fell and the whole cup splashed onto my SIL's new born. I saw the new born got a fright from the icy cold water.

So embarrased and guilty I keep apologising to my SIL. My MIL was there and her reaction was damn BIG Loh, keep scolding E and everyone looked at us. So paiseh

YB - Yup. I lather head and body then on the tap to shower. I realise it saves me alot of water also, it was half the level which i normally filled the tub with. I on it fully, just half of the knob so that the water pressure wont be so strong.

Zav so clever. Emerson will grasp for air when i wash his face, and will fuss and sometimes cry coz he choke, but i couldnt be bothered (sound so bad) coz i thought he will get use to it day by day. Im doing these for teh 3rd day.

Kin, i also count my blessing when I decided to take rotarix, coz he has intestine infection on his (i think) 4th mth. Thank good ness I took rotarix so rule out that possibility if not i be super worried..

Kin,
Kaylyn doesn't get exposed to lotsa ppl cos I take care of her alone..The only ppl tat I'm worried abt is my niece & nephew cos my nephew goes to nursery now. Both of them r very susceptible to illness like flu, cough, fever etc, & almost ALWAYS fall sick every month. In fact, my sis's whole family fall sick every month. Sometimes more than once a month.

I've already limited my visits to my mum's to once a week, but really can't control children passing virus around cos they can cough & sneeze without covering their mouth & the nose mucos can drip & they dun wipe off. Kaylyn had already kena her 1st fever & cough from them, tat's y I'm worried now.

PM - aiyoh... poor bb!! :p

Zav also v v fast in grabbing food!
tat day i was in jack's plc having dinner with hubby. the watress served my fish n chip. before the watress even step aside, his hands was on the fried fish liao! It's still hot as freshly fried only. immediately he cry out n let go!! hahaha... but after wiping his hands... he immediately aim for my fish again! sigh.. never learn his lesson. :p

so now hor, even if only 2 of us.. we take a 4 seater... n sit far far away from him! :p

lollypop
then come in and chat more lah..dun just read mah....jaiz...besides lollypop..where are the rest???? CALLING FOR OLD BIRDS!!! hehe

miss the good old days// all bz looking after bb???

YB,
I think your niece and nephew exposure to the virus is a good enuf reason to vacinate. ITs just like me having Clara going to sch everyday. I have this problem abt family too. They also dun really care. just pass the bug around without thinking. Clara had bronchitis every mth when she attended pre-N for the first yr. Principal said the child is adapting to the virus. I was not so wise to change sch coz now, due to the constant bronchitis she got mthly for one yr, she has turned asthmatic and on inhalor for the 3rd yr liow.

YB - I think it inevitable to avoid unless u totally dont go yr mum's place but that's abit extreme lah. When I visit my granny (lots of kids there) situation is also like, but kids will be kids loh, easily fall ill... and wont listen to u, like u ask them to avoid and all these.

I learnt to take it easier, instead of preventing kids from going near to E and making me seen as "niao" and paranoid, I try to boost E's immune system by giving him daily doses of VitC. I sound KS, but my SIL's son who i see almost everyday is constantly having flu, diarrhea and fever...so I also play safe abit..

mtdt, pm
haha...ian too..fast hand fast leg...that time went mac with the auntie-kahs...my fren just put down the tray...whole 9 pcs nuggets fell onto the flr...lucky the staff get us a new box..hehe...so paiseh...
then todayw ent ikea for breakfast...i went to get ice lemon tea..i forgot to place the cup in the middle of table...his hand..wah piang immediately grap the cup...then hor..spill onto my fren's thigh....then i scolded him and beat his hands...he cried a while..look so pitiful..then hor..after that tried to grap the used tissues...kena scolded whine again..then gain wanna touch the tissues...

Kin - Poor gal. Did u give her some tonic to help her with her lungs? Emerson had very bad cough only once, but I KS, give him Zenditen (katotifen) (sp?). Expensive medication, but I intend to give him til he's 3 or 4.

My hubby says he poor thing everyday have to take so many kinds of medicine eben thou he not sick..

PM - wat vit c u giving emerson now? suitable for infant huh? Zenditen is wat?

for Zav - i am not giving him anything altho he is in IFC. I take as he is building his immunity. only on weekend i give him some barley water,

PM,

haha you are indeed paranoid huh!! give so much medicine! As for me, i think less is best. i hardly give her any medicine. Hb said let nature takes it own course... except for jabs which we are more ks. i think her pd got give some vitamins for her to take.. but hb said still so small... so dunno lor... i nvr give lor

actually my PD also dun suggest anything for bbies....

sometimes even minor cold (as long as no fever) she will not prescibe me any strong medication. just very light runny nose n cough mixture to make bbies feel better. she also told me, can stop medication when he is like 70-80% recovered. let him fight the remaining battle himself.

hahahaha... PM becomes our medical expert liao...

ya ya.. wat is katotifen? and wat is Zenditen?
wat's the differences?

and wat vit c u giving? suitable for infant huh?
liquid form?

Yap, I agree with MTDT... PD reluctant to give... unless that time, my poor gal, got to do nuebuliser for one wk coz wheezing and hard to breathe. Whic is after having runny nose for 1wk and v frequent coughing which is uncontrolled.

PM,
I think ketotifen is a prescribed med.
My older girl is taking Dhatifen on a regular basis- it si for prolonged preventive effect for asthma, allergic rhinits, bronchitis etc....I think it is the same family. But is Emerson too young to take it regularly... It is also know as lung tonic in layman's term.
Actually, the body can become v dependent on all these med. Like i can see my gal really feel s better after inhaling ventolin, but i know it can be addictive, so i try to reduce. Then PD know, he say cannot.

PM, my daughter so far had cough for 1 week plus already and doc prescribed ketotifen but he mention is to build up her airway leh...

bathing: she too is afraid when i turn on the water supply, sometimes i put her on the floor so that i can take the tub n filled up water but once she hear n see the water, she's scared... luckily she still veri co-operate when i bathe for her but i used things to distract her lah... like plastic books or bubble bath container... hehe...

my mum js now told me... charlene's bottom teeth is popping out then i so exxcited wash hands touch her gums n true i can feel it... so happy... btw what r the things that i shld look out for??

MTDT - Yah suitable.iits drops not capsule. Recommended by doc. I give him Enervon-C Kidz.
Infant to 2 yo: 1/2 teaspoon.

Yah, i am paranoid, simply put it. HAha. coz i amthe one suffering if E's sick.

I think VitC is still ok, coz still Vitamin afterall, I only use it as supplement mah, meals still the main source of nutriets, but u see lah, E's taking so less milk.

AS for Ketotifen, PD prescribed coz I had childhood asthma, so for prevention sake loh. True enought,E had allergic rhinitis last mth. Even GP i see say Zenditen if good if i can afford it.

Yah, U can depend on Ventolin, but not ketotifen. coz I had the same concern and asked PD, she says its like a tonic not really medication so ask me to take it like a vitamin.

Zenditen is a form of ketotifen, like Dhatifen, just that Z is more ex coz of the manufacturer?

eeyore - I dunno, so say teething will have fever, some say wont haf...but just give her some barley water. If u can feel the teeth means it erupted liao, so not so much cranky for bb. ITs the erupting part, when the teeth wanna come out from gums but not yet irritates the baby, coz it might be uncomfy for them, so yrs shld be quite safe lah

PM, Eeyore,
For Kaylyn, her crankiness starts only after her teeth have erupted for 1 week....then she starts to refuse milk & water from btl...everything has to be spoonfeed...She prefers cold food over hot/warm food cos I guess cold food helps to numb her sore gums. But she's now developing cough due to all the cold yoghurt I've given her..sigh...
You can stock up on teething gel or baby paracetamol to help relieve teething pain. But use liberally & stop when she feels better & less cranky.

MTDT,
Likewise, I try not to give Kaylyn too much medication. When she's having flu or cough, I'll give her more water & fruits. Hopefully, her body can fight the virus. But if it develops into phlegm cough, then I'll bring her to c GP. Will stop medication once she's feeling better, but not fully recovers. Takes a longer time but at least it's a natural healing process.

PM,
Yes, I think it's really inevitable tat our bb get in contact wif viruses. Unless we dun go out of the house at all...But then we also carry viruses in our body & may pass on to bb. I try to give Kaylyn 2 portions of fruits & veg everyday so tat her body will b healthy. In contrast, I dun pay attention to my diet cos I eat whatever leftovers in the fridge or just cook maggie mee.

Kin,
Not sure wat's wrong wif my sis's family, but they really get sick so freq tat her boss warned her for taking too many sick leave. Mayb the air circulation in her hse is very bad. The whole family sleeps in 1 bedroom with the FIL sleeping in another room. The spare room is unused. My sis said wanna save elec so better sleep together, even though one of them might be sick wif flu/cough. So the virus keeps passing among the 4 of them every night. My parents have been nagging at them numerous times, but they refuses to listen. So whenever the kids just recovered from illness, the daddy will fall sick again & the whole cycle repeats.

wanna ask u mummies who are feeding ur bb wif yogult n cheese? wat brand did u buy? is it the laughing cow (cheese) n yoplait (yogult)? can i feed bb wif any other brands? wat do i have to look for when i buy?

thot of buying some foor my bb to try. since now SAHM, very free and can control wat i feed
btw, here in US, i can't find threadfin here. dunno how to feed my bb fish liao. their fish are sold in a big "sheet". can only substitute this wif tofu and mince pork for protein. any mummies know i can feed any other thing for protein?

oh i read from the previous thread that ur bb also very cranky when bathing or chnaging diaper. MINE TOO! he reacted like I have smacked him a hundred times! just have to turn a deaf ear to him, if not he'll hav to go naked.