(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

misaryeo,
its not the stomach cramp thingy, i had that during the 1st week, over liao. Now, its more like muscle ache around the wound area.

hong,
my nipples r not sore from pumping. last night i missed my night pump bcos my baby was awake from 6 to 11pm. by the time he fall asleep, i also falling asleep. midnight wake up, t shirt wet. hand expressed(lazy to set up equipment) 80ml.

lala,
i bottlefeed bm or fm dep on my bm availability. but he drinks so slow. these 2 days he is vry vry cranky. cannot sleep well, hands n legs all moving in his sleep n he will wake up in 45min, unlike previously he can sleep vry peacefully for 3 hrs. any mummies encounter same problem?

yenny,
me alsointo 3rd week. i think my amt per pump is same as you, pump duration also the same, just that i pump 6 times that's y i get about 300++ml a day. we r in same situation, drink loots of fluids already.

qn re: fm. these 2 days baby keep fussing but will sleep when given milk. but also not long sleep. does that mean he is hungry?? now into wk 3, i m still giving 6-7 feeds a day, is that normal? i m not so comforatable with offering him milk to appease him everytime he cries. but it seems to work. even though everytime i offer a bit(30ml) but i feel unsure.

dp,
Try swaddling bb when he goes to sleep. It helps! My bb also into wk3, same lor, i m still giving him 6-7 feeds per day. So long as he eats, sleeps, poo, should be ok. Dun worry so much...

decimalpoint,
my baby is jus like ur baby. wat my confinement lady did was to prolong his feeding time by giving him pacifier or plain water everytime he gets cranky. As for his hands and legs moving in his sleep, why dun u try to swaddle(i hope this is the correct word) him ie wrap his hands with a cloth. then he will feel more secure when sleeping. hope this helps.

lollypop , yenny

my baby dun like to be swaddle anymore. i think he feels hot. i try again.

prolong his feed time, i m trying to do that noe also, but he keeps crying n crying. like now, i can hear him crying. heart pain ah....

JP,
Yalo! Sneak out during confinement. Told my MIL I need to go bank do somethings and ask her help me look after my son and i will bring my daughter out. heehee! Then had lunch at burger king with hubby and colleagues. I drank cold coke leh! So shiok man..but a bit guity cos confinement not over yet ma.

Lala,
I put on total 11.4Kg. Now stil got 2KG to go lo!

Brambles,
I think i will shave my bb's hair but not during his actual full month on 2nd Aug. Will wait after the full month celebration which is 5th Aug. We no choice but celebrate late full month lo!

Anyway, at "Forum" tat is a kids salon hair got the free service to shave baby hair. They give cert somemore. But dont know now the service still available or not?

Will ur baby wake up 2-3 hours then go back to sleep in the daytime? Dont know y recently my son wake up 2-3 hours and dont wanna sleep. Sometimes can up to 2 times a day. Wandering he got enought sleep or not?

halo mummies
steph gave birth liao leh....her bb boy decided to come out on his own will...no induce needed..hehehe

jp
ya loh..lucky thing was his jaunidce dropped....but still need to sun him daily loh...
i put on 20kg leh....not 12 kg..so still has 10 more to go..haiz...

urs ML is Nur har?? jul04 mentioned she booked her too..hehehee...mine is mdm zu..so normally after my session..she will go to misaryeo..then to geberra..hahaha

me oso lazy to pump milk leh...some said every 2 hrs..me hor wait till engorge then pump...nite time..me no pump loh...last pump is ard 10 plus at nite...then the next one 7am..hehehe...

haiz...confinement really sianz...if me alone think i will be happier...cham ah...what if i get depression??? hehehe

lollypop
bean sprouts pillow har?? u can go to marketplace BP ..i bought mine at plaza singapura...ex loh...19.90...but ok lah...dun mind if comfy for bb...

Dsiitan,
Thanks for the info on the bean sprout pillow. Do u know which floor or which shop? btw, i also lost 10kg and another 8kg more to go, hahaha... else cannot fit into all my old clothes liao. Jia You...

YB,
Try using a think nappy to wrap bb. Should be ok if there is a fan/aircon in the room. btw, how is your MF? Has it stopped? How many days since u have taken the medication?

Hi Hong,
I didn't ask PD about my gal's condition. I thought since both my nephew & niece is lactose-intolerance, mayb my gal is. So I just switch to Isomil to try. Mayb after finishing the FM, will switch back to Similac.

My gal's rashes got pimples-like & also got like eczema-like. On her face, forehead, neck & armpits.

Hi JP,
Last night managed to hand express 40ml of BM cos my breasts starts to engorge again. I'm so afraid tat my breasts will leak again...

YB,
Wow! U really got lot of milks. Still engorge somemore.

My boy also got rashes on his face. Think is heat rash ba. The old peoples teach me use the overnite "tea leaf" or "tea bag". wipe the face wow!

Steph,
Congratulations! Ur baby cant wait to be induce har..so cute!

lollypop
hmm...think is 3rd or 4th bah..hmm..the shop name is something mum and baby har? cant remember liao...but besides mothercare ..there's only one shop selling bb stuff

Hi lollypop,
My milk flow haven't stop leh...Took the medication for about 3-4days last week, then milk flow reduce. Then dunno y suddenly yesterday morning woke up, my whole t-shirt wet. And then leaking milk till now...have slight engorgement & now massaging & expressing out while I go on another round of medication

Mummies A few question to ask,
1.Do u have stitches ? If yes, how long will it takes to recover ?
2. Working Mummies, will u be continuing to breastfeed BB ? I thought of just bf when i am at home.

Hiaz,
I am now in a very discouraging enviroment, my SIL very sarcartic about my amt of milk pumped. Everytime pumped out she will says wow so much ar.. ( she didn't mean what she says). She always compare me to her during pregnancy and after. SAy she how goood la this and that. But the truth is her tummy is nt as big as mine during preg and her BB nt as big as mine.
My mother also discourage BF cos every time BF my BB will pass alot of motion. But that a good sign just don't know why she don't understand. Haiz..

sandy

me too mah..now dad not hapi i dun hv Cl ..dunno if he not hapi cos he need to cook or wat..or really worried abt me not getting enuff rest...but the thing is im fine...haiz..hb just said he eat till sinaza liao...cos my dad just cook few 2 dishes and whole family eat that..maybe my dad oso eat till sianz but hor he dun want to cook more cos tiring bah..i dun mind eating the same daily..i just ask hb to endure loh.

my mum last time for my older boy oso dun allow me to bf..in fact she dun want me to feed him breast milk...cos he thinks very troublesome..and hor the bb will wake up often to drink milk mah..FM more full for bb..so can sleep longer.then she dun allow me to store milk in fridge...said no gd...aiyo...then after 1 week plus..i stopped...this time i duncare..i just pump and store..

Hello mummies..
Congrates to all who have delivered!!

Din online for a while.. qte upset coz have constipation & engorgement, really moody & tears come easily.
Cant handle both at the same time.. talked to hb, decided to take the med to stop the milk flow.

Had a long labour.. here it goes..

19/7 : pill insertion ard noontime, did 3 CTGs ok so went home. Night time, sth "mucus looking" dripped out".. went back to zzz.

20/7 : morning ard 8am++ have "show". Went clinic ard 9am++, did CTG, gynae came in, ask me admit to hosp. Not much dilation then.

11am : gynae came in to labour ward & put me on drip. Contractions coming regularly bt not much pain yet. Must be on drip otherwise cant progress gynae said.

12 ~ 1pm : a midwife came & chk the dilation, only 1cm.

2+ : Nurse came in chk the dilation, ard 2~3cm.

3 ~ 4+ : Cant tahan the pain on the butt anymore.. asked for Epi.

6pm : Gynae came, chk dilation, ard 4cm, bursted the water bag. Said bb sd be out by midnight.
(felt "ramming" against the butt frequently, like wanna PS.. nurse said i am pushing bt i tol her i DID NOT..)

10pm : nurse chk dilation 8cm.
(qte happy, thot bb wd be delivered b4 mn)
This begins the LONG WAIT....

12mn : Not much dilation.. so wait.......

21/7
0200am: Nurse chk, good.. can call gynae come liao.. asked to push shortly.. bt i cant push long.
Not much result.
(since morning's 1/2 a charsiew bun til now.. i have not eaten.. only water bt nurse stopped this oso as i nauseous)

0300++: gynae came.. n i started pushing when contractions came in. After tat, dunno wat happened.. next thg i know, close 2 4am, gynae put bb jojo on my tummy!!
(after tat hb tol me gynae used a vacuum & did a cut as bb's head bigger than 10cm)
PHEW!! Finally, after ard 17hr........... am i glad!!

sandy, i have stitiches. Sd take a week or so to recover. Seen gynae on Tues, loosen some stitches, felt better.

dsii, my mum dun wanna me 2 BF oso. Said wd be "deteriorating for my health".

Mummies, for those of u who taken the med, may i know how long b4 wd the milk stopped? Do i have 2 pump out all the milk b4 i take the med?? After the med, if engorged, how??

sandy, I have stitches. Normally should take a week plus to recover, but for mine, I think will take longer. Yesterday pain, so go and see doctor. Doctor says everything looks ok, only the knot has been pricking me, causing the pain.
I am thinking of breastfeeding when working, but don't know situation allows or not. If cannot, then have to stop breastfeeding and give FM.

Jazzyjas, Congrats.

lollypop- you can purchase the pillow online at www.neansproutpillow.com or www.beansprout-pillow.com. it costs $19.90 like what dsii has mentioned. I think quite std price lah.

Jas - my stitches also causing me discomfort like needles poking. It has been like about 8 days already. I hope it heals faster.

Anybody know when is the right time to increase baby's consumption of milk. My baby now drinks about 60ml, he is 8 days old. My PD said can increase from 60ml to 90ml.

Congrats Jazzyjas ... regarding BF, initially my mum also said "deteriorating to health" thingy but after she knows that baby will be very healthy and less prone to falling sick then she agrees. Maybe you can tell your mum that ....

YB,
you really have lotsa milk

Dec pt,
Heard that baby is going on a growth spurts on week 3, thus will wanna drink more. My girl is also more cranky these few days and wanna drink more.

Jazzy& Jasline,
me actually don't feel pain liao but just uncomfortable. Then when touch still got stitch. So was wondering how long will the stitch dissolve by itself.
I recover in about less than a week maybe i drink the water my mum make for me.
Red date + black date + ginger + bei qi. It really help to heal wound fast. Plus must wash wound regularly.

Hi Jazzy,
Before I took the med, I already have engorgement. So was advised to express out, then take the med. Took about 3-4days, no milk & no engorgement. But yesterday morn start leaking milk, so took another round of med. But still express out cos got a bit of engorgement.

haven't logged in for a while. nice to know most popped already. now can share baby care know-how.

my dd almost a month old already. still struggling with bfeeding. sometimes feel like giving up cos she is drinking more often now. afraid my ms can't keep up with her demands.

like most of you, my girl will wakes very often. she always seems hungry but when feed her she only drinks for 10mins then will fall asleep. less than an hour will wake up again and cry for milk. quite frustrating. now i am obsessed with trying to increase my ms. wished i was more like yb.

Hi Noif

My boy is 20 days old and past few days been staying awake for few hours in the daytime, just don't wanna sleep. Luckily, during night time he slept through just that wake up for nite feeds.

blessings

my epi wound took about 2 weeks to heal.My friend told me even if the sitches heal already, we will feel tightening at the vaginal each time we pee till around 1 or 2 months. My sitches i still feel pain on and off sometimes although mine 20 days already.

My boy drinks 90 ml/3 ounce at the moment. Doc say it's according to their weight, 1 kg = 1 ounce of milk, if hit 4kg liao then 4 ounce.. my baby weigh 3.49kg 20days ago.

sandy - so cute!

wow, u bind ur baby like tat? then no chance to move at all loh? ur bb dun get "angry" from being binded?

gwen,

1 kg = 1 ounce of milk - really?

then if my bb is 5kg, then 5ounce?
hmmm.. now i am worried for not hving enough EBM for my boy liao.

thinking of starting to give EBM to my boy during daytime from Aug. (now still direct latch 90%)
but when i express out, only abt 120ml each time.

Anyone of u did the malay massage and binding?
If you did, how u BF baby huh? Whole body smell of herbal smell... dunno how lehz!

sorry girls,
busy..

i tried to address those who ask me qns hor.

Misaryeo,
My left breast got lesser milk. I also not very keen on pumping. Think i only pump 3 -4 times a day. Too tired liao.

YB,
may be not allergy leh. Most of the baby will have pimples on their face and other part of the body. my girl use to have big big pimples on her head leh but was due to the humid weather that time. I dun think u shld just switch the milk powder like that. Ur girl can take it. Got poo today or not.

Jazzy, u stopping too? Very tough to jagar ard so many things right. I tried, may be i will stop before i go back to work.

Sandy,
my work nature need me to move ard, i dun know how am i going to pump my milk when i am outside.

For those babies who move their hands while they sleep... I let my boy sleep tummy down and he can sleep longer but i have to check him constantly so he wun go and cover his nose while sleeping.

Swaddle is another method but i realise cant last very long. if u have no choice give this a try ok.

i tried to swaddle him bb just now, luckily he allowed me to, cos sometimes he will struggle hands n legs to free himself, and he slept for 3hrs! hopefully this will help him have more peaceful sleeps. tks mummies for the suggestion!

blessings,
i read:
1-2 wks ~60-90ml 6-7feeds
3-4 wks ~90-120ml 5-6feeds
or use this formula: (wtof bb*150)/no. of feeds= amt per feed
but these r guidelines, dun folloe strictly.

mtdt

Yup, i got this advice from other thread, a lady actually went to the doc and doc gave this reply.

I found from other thread the following guide also:-

(Age feed) (ml) (no. of feeds per day)

0-1 wk 30-60 7-8
1-2 wk 60-90 6-7
2-4 wk 90-120 5-6
1-2 mths 120-150 5
2-3 mths 180 5
3-4 mths 210 5
4-5 mths 210 4
5-6 mths 240 4
Abv 6 240 3

You good already, i express each time, both sides only 3 ounce, takes me 45mins so tired.

Anyone confinement ending soon? How is ur lochia flow? Izzit stop liao?

Anyway, i found tat my left breast is bigger than right breast. Now look so unbalance, one big one small...so funny!

Mich,
My massage lady used the massage oil not really strong smell and oilly to me. So i still latch on directly. Anyway, she did not massage my boobs cos i told her i bf baby.

Sandy,
I will stop bf 1.5-2 months before gg back to work. I did not take 3 months maternity leave. Just take 2.5 months. Left 2 weeks take on Nov and Dec.

The photo tat ur post cant really see ur baby face leh!

halo all...

hong
aiyo..my right breast got much more milk then left too..maybe becos i latch her more on my right side loh..cham ah..

noif
me too leh...my right is bigger and the engorgement is worse than left breast..haiz...hope will be normal again..if not very NAN KAN...
Mich
oei..u long time no online..i asked my massage lady can breast feed or the milk is ok for bb..she said ok..she used naturalherb...anyway..no massage my breasts too...

YB:
i m from june thread. saw ur posting on ur baby's rashes. my ger also has rashes on her face, shoulder n neck. also she vomitted for almost 1 wk n i guess due to milk's allergy. As i m BF her, i stop milk intake. Isomil is good, no contains cow milk? how is ur baby's rashes? did u see a PD?

btw saw u got a lot of milk, u using medication to stop it? sorry to ask, y?

YB,
I just switch from NAN HA to Mamil Gold and my boy havent poo today but i think he prefer Mamil gold cos he finishes 90ml.

u monitor ur girl again.

dsii, Noif,
i didnt check if my breast is unbalance. Same lor my right breast more mik. Today better, one time can pump out 60ml.

YB, i expressed the milk out b4 i took the med today. Dunno how it goes yet.. only given 2 tablets, 1/2 tablet 2x per day for 2 days. Bt i heard from a frd if take the med then still express out, then no use coz wd start the milk again. So now u gonna start another round of the med?
Do u feel any different after taking it? Like drowsy etc? I felt a bit tired.

hong, ya.... i have thot abt it.. its causing me stress, i cant take it. Rather than i always upset, thot if i gave up BM, i mite be happier & can look after bb better? Not sure if its a wise decision bt already started i cant back out now.
Like u, my right breast more milk. Left side nipple kinda hurts when i pump.

A Qn to ask all of u.. let's say u all stop b4 going back to work, do u nid 2 take the med to stop the milkflow? Thanks!

jazzy
last time when i abt to go back to work..i took the medication 2 weeks b4...and after that the milk flow stop liao..dun hv to take after milk flow stop...

I heard if take medicine to stop milk flow, the breasts will strink leh.. better to stop gradually, meaning reduce the supply slowly till dun hav..

like to ask u all, if my mum doing confinement for me, do i need to give her a red packet for good luck?

Hi kite,
Isomil is soy-based milk. It's for lactose-intolerance bb.

My bb's rashes better now, but she has prob passing motion. So I'm now switching back to Similac. She's doesn't vomit at all. I didn't c a PD.

I'm taking anti-thyroid medication, so I can't BF.