(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

lala

wah..thats really ex..leh..for 3 days...haiz...they will deliver the machine to us??? but after 3 days ur bb ok liao??? if like that i dun mind loh...better that he's ok mah

so after massage can drink lah..y aloh..i see the Bm wanna throw very heartpain....cos seldom can hit till 120ml..mah....

Heehee! Confinement haven't over but went out with my daughter to met hubby for lunch and do some shopping. Bought some clothes to wear during baby full month celebrations next week. So happy! But miss my baby boy very much....

Hong,
Yalo! How come u pump every 3 hours but the supply still so low? Tot should increase more..

Think my supply getting low cos these few days i lazy to pump milk and just let my boy latch on, but he latch on 5-10 minutes fell asleep liao! So dont think my breasts produce much milk.

NOIF,
may be like lala mention, i shld rest more.
I also dun know..or i need to drink more.

I dun know how long i can tong leh.

gwen

welcome to the thread...u sure enjoy urself here..cos we tok anything..not just babies...hehee...

mummies..
i will update the table as soon as possible...hehehe..cos now using laptop at my room..so hv to wait till i on my desktop then can update..paiseh hor...

hi dsii,
12.1 is ok. i forgot how to convert but my girl at 16plus is 298. so yrs shld be around less than 200.

Hi lala,

I think you are right and that is why the PD asked me to stop BF. Anyway, I have a hard time trying to latch on...no confidence...and always to disturb my baby to make sure he latched on properly. In the end, I am stressed and he is not getting enough. Btw, what is the flowers that your mum got from the medical shop? Maybe I shld try as well....

Hi desii: initially, I thought of renting the machine as well cos I really cant bear to leave him in the hospital (was really heartbroken and crying). In the end, I think it is better for him to be with the experts in the hospital.

is it true that the milk supply will diminish faster even if we pump it out? That is what the nurses tell me. They say it is better to have the baby to latch on to stimulate the production. Stress leh, my baby can drink 50ml of FM. I dun think my supply can meet his demand.

dsii

hi..dun be too stressed over your dad's comment ok. He meant well you noe, because he care for you. just try and take it easy, If you don't really tok to your dad, then maybe tok to your hubby explain to him why your dad like this, all dad want good things for their daughter. At least your hubby understand your feeling that it's making you sad everytime your dad make uneccessary comment. Somemore dad old liao, it's like that one.

Hi Dsii,
Yep very ex but that time my baby's jaundice is rather high, so have to do it ... better than admit her in the hospital. Actually when I saw her place in the light, me just cried ... think heartache + emotional. Yes, they will deliver to & collect from your place.

Don't throw the milk away, let baby drinks. Same here, when I use hot towel and massage hard & long, there will be lotsa milk.

Hong,
Yest my friend told me that GNC is selling a supplement called Semugreek which can increase one's milk supply. She said is healthy and natural. If really need to, can buy to consume. She says for those intending to bf for long, then buy coz milk can be plentiful. Me not too sure ...

kin
really?????!!! but y PD wants us to admit him..but my hb wants to try at home loh...so these 2 days lucky got sun..and i gave him red dates water..so hope tomolo gd report...

Hi Blessings,
My baby has a hard time latching on as well. However after countless tries, she manages to latch on at times. Latching on is another prob coz don't know how much she drinks and she only suckles for 10mins then zz liao ... then end up still give EBM. I read a thread something like mummies who give EBM to babies only - some moms just express their milk without their babies latching at all, yet they still manage to feed till 9 months, so pumping can also increase ss. Have to be very discipline and timing must be consistent, I guess. Generally I express 80-150ml everytime, at current, still ok to meet her demand. If her appetite increases too much to supply, I will supplement with FM. FM is not that bad afterall

oh regarding the flowers for jaundice, I also don't know the name but if you go Medical Hall and tell them is for jaundice, they will know. Set aside a small portion of the flowers, put in plastic bag and place in baby's pillow. The rest, boil them, cool down, stor in container. Pour a bit into water for baby to shower.

blessing

think so..cos lots of mummies oso tried and said got use leh...one of them is fruitee from this thread..her bb jaundice ok liao..so me try loh...just now drank once liao..so later must drink again..hope by tomolo..his blood test will pass...

Hi lala,

Wah, your supply is very good. I guess you are right about consistent timing. I sometimes just miss the timing....and of course lazy lah :p

Being a 1st time mother, I just feel very overwhelmed at times. I guess I just stress myself and expect too much from myself. Have to keep on praying else will be haywire...anyone feeling that way too?

dsii,
Both my girls have jaundice. no. 1 is ABO blood incomp and no. 2 is normal breastmilk jaundice. my no 1 had jaunidce for 1.5mths.stayed in hospital for 10days for treatmet. It is actually better to be in hospital, becoz they will give max exposure to the photoherapy treatment. I've a friend who did at home, the bb cried and cried and everybody heartbroken kept on carrying. in the end, jaundice shot up and got to re0admit for treatment.
For my no. 2, at 194. pead allowed me to bring home but I got to shine from 8am to 5pm with minimal disruption. Also, FM will also dilute the jaundice.But pead strongly stress not to put direct, he said daylight will do. even if there is a thunderstorm, there will still be UV lights for you to shine bb, he said.But my pead not pro-bf. So he will advise me to FM feed, which indeed lowers the jaundice.
Day 1 at home:raining,but i bf for 2 days. on 3rd day bring back hospital, jaundice shot to 220. Doc say MUST SHINE whole day,strip to pampers. half hr strip, half hr cover with nappy cloth.and close all window, no wind allowed.
And feed FM. So that is what I did, i fed FM the whole day and bf at night only. 3 days later,went to hospital again, jaundice dropped to 170.
So I guess, it is FM and daylight sunning. i v upset that got to introduce FM, but no choice, worried that jaundice go to high.. Now, after one wk i still sunning her but less often now.
hope this helps.
Remember in coubt, go see the pead.

kin

ur PD very informative leh..at least he guided u..my boy's PD just said 12.1 higher than when discharged...so u want to admithim or wanna go back and try sun him..my hb said we will sun him...so now i asked all mummies...all in hundreds..so i oso dunno 12.1 is how much?? haiz

blessing

his birth weight was 4.815kg..hehehehe

dun faint ah..july mummies all not very shocked..but still shock lah...cos i have been telling them my bb will be very BIG..so when i gave birth ...they somehow expect big bb...

fruitee
hahaha..ya loh...topic changed liao...

some mummies havent report to the thread yet...wonder where they go liao...

Dsiitan... Fruitee... a few of us still waiting.. hahah but I can also contribute to BF topics.. hahaha

I'm on Maternity leave now so seldom online and also busy making a cape for my son "from his didi".

Hope I can complete it in time...

If i'm not wrong, its best to store directly in Freezer, can keep longer..

No need specially keep in fridge one unless baby needs to drink it soon.

Ah keep pumping and the supply still drop then wat is the point of the pump?

i dun know if i can cope with pumping and baby once confinement ends cos no one cooks for me and i have to settle everything myself. Now with my mum ard she can help me to bath baby, look after him, cook for me.

Althot i am a 2nd time mum i still find it tough.

lala,
i know of the Ferngreek something like that but not everyone will have increase of supply after taking it. I have frds who took it and told me not much diff.

Fruitee,
how are u. Full month already? Lost touch liao..

dsii

if im not wrong jaundice level 12.1 you mutiply by 17 so it's 205. Im not really sure on that but i remember i read somewhere in the other thread but just now i try to search can't find liao.

My baby got slight jaundice 2 weeks ago and my CL actually wanted to to let him take "Jing Ying Hua" and "Gan Chou" she say to boil in water and let baby drink but I did not.According to her, it will bring down the jaundice level too.

So she sugguest red grape and it helps too. You can go buy red grape but make sure you test it that it's those sweet kind. Do not feed them sour ones. I heard mother who BF and baby also, 1st three months we better avoid sour stuff. Then you peel the red grape skin out before you squeeze the juice to feed to your baby.Give them one little teaspoon each time. One grape per day.Its helps you know. My baby level dropped.I also feed my baby plain water as instructed by my CL.

Hi Dsiitan ,

just to check with u , when u r pregnant , what food did u eat ? in order for u to have such big n chubby baby ? so cute !

Hong
full month liao.. last Sat.. shack loh.. my boy slept so soundly cos I think he was busy posing at the camera... ahhaha

Today is my EDD and I went to see my gynae. Cervix condition is still about the same as last week. So gynae will be inducing me this Friday. Until then, I won't be able to contribute much about breastfedding 'cos this is my 1st baby, thus no experience yet. Pai seh.

Ask you gals hor: regarding the printing of BB's Chinese name characters, what font size should I use?

Dsii,
Heard from my friend that for frozen ebm she will take out the night b4 and put in fridge. Then next day when need to feed them warm up in cup of hot water. Tried that ytd and so far baby is ok. haha.

Sunshine
All the best this Friday. Eh...dunno if it's dumb to say that but enjoy your days in the hospital. Haha.

As for jaundice, my gal had abit of jaundice when we were discharged, not sure if she still has it now... Don't know how to see.. my mum did comment tt she looks abit yellowish thou. Would wait till Friday and see what PD says.

As for pumping bm, I think if pump constantly supply can be maintained/increased. Fed my twins with ebm (supplemented with fm after 2 weeks) for 9mths. So i think we just have to pump constantly.

whitelady

hehee..thks for the compliment..i hor didnt eat wat special food leh.cos i need to control my sugar level..but i drank lots of milk...dunno if that contributed to the jumbo bb..i can drink the 1litre milk from ntuc..1 week about 5 cartons..hehehee....

dsiitan ,

wow , think milk really help then ! your baby really very cute , have not seen a new born so cute before ! heehee ... guess after u deliver , u must have lost quite alot of weight , cos ur baby already 4.815kg !

aiyo..i gaines 20 leh
scary...

will try to load more pics..but scare the rest of mummies here see till sianz...hehehehe

Good morning mummies,

dsii: wow, your baby is 4.815kg! What did u eat during your pregnancy? Must not be easy for your during that period. I also gain 20kg but only manage to shed off about 5kg. I think I must ate alot during pregnancy which is true lah! hahaha Have to work harder cos my pre-pregnancy weight is 52kg which is actually 4kg underweight. Jia You!

Hi Sunshine: All the best for friday and have smooth sailing delivery!

Hi Hong: I am in the same predicament as you. I dunno if I can cope if my confinement nanny goes back home. I even have the thought of asking her to stay longer but I think at most another month or only 2 weeks. My hubby is asking me to order tingkkat food after my CL so that I do not have to cook. Anyone has good recommendations?

hong,
i share ur thoughts. i spend 5-6hrs pumping a day, but each pump not even enough for 1 feed. bcos of pumping i sleep so much less n fall sick so much more. so the pros more or the cons more? i have more push factors hare.

sunshine,
actually i agree with z-lia, hospital stay is the best part. u know ur baby is well-cared for and you are well-cared for, nobdy boss u around n u still have ur own free time! where r u delivering? i delivered at gleneagles, the chinese characters were printed on the birth cert, so no need to cut and paste.

Hi Blessings,
me also 1st time mum and still overwhelm by the whole milk expressing thingy. Really very tiring ... How I wish I can have an 6 or 8 hr zz without having to wake up in the middle of the night.

Hi Hong,
Think Ferngreek and Semugreek should be abt the same and as you said may be helpful to some only.

Have you found out where sells good Ang Ku Kueh ?? Me wanna order for my baby 1st month celebration.

hi dsii,
when defrosting EBM, u can put in very warm water, not those you use to make hot tea or coffee.Water too hot will kill someof the EBM properties.But if defrosting from the Bm bags, really quite fast.EBM, immediately pumping , store in freezer can last by right up to 3 mths if freezer is really good and you don't keep near the doorway.Open and close the freezer changes temp you see.

Hi Mummies...the childcare centre just called to say that they suspect that my elder gal has chicken pox!!!! Oh no... MIL is going to pick her up and bring her to doc...

dsii... for jaundice, anything more than 15... PD will recc to go for phototherapy. and jaundice level peaks at day 7. jaundice can 'flush out' by giving more FM/BM.

mummies here... anyone shaving ur bb's hair for 1-month?

how bout the rotavirus and pneumococcal vaccination?