(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

dsiitan,

Congrats! Aiyo, I thought my bb at 4kg is already big, but yours hor, really big leh! You steady bom bi bi lah!!

Hi mummies, congrats to all who have popped!!

Dsii, u r super!

On breastfeeing, I may be one of the lucky few who didn't really have painful engorgement. Some lumps here and there but quickly resolved with hot compress and massaging. From day 6, I managed to pump abt 120ml from both breasts using PIS Advanced. Like what liverpool said, it helps to drink lots of hot fluids and massage. Try to relax and rest as well.

My bb drinks a lot though, can't really keep up with him at times, so need to supplement or he will cry my house down. At 1 week, he can take more than 100ml every 2-3 hours. I tried to latch him on whenever possible to stimulate milk flow further.

To all the rest who are still waiting, treasure the last few days!!

Hi joline,
after massage can breastfeed bb?R those herbs n massage oil safe?
Any good confinement nannies to recommand?My nanny last mins unable to come frm M'sia.Ask her friend to replace her...dun knw good or not?Heard of AH XIANG aunty frm J.B?

hehe..thks ah...my 1st boy was 3.6 at 36weeks..hehe...never expected this time alot more bigger...i oso dunno how can he squeezed into my tummy..lucky my tummy big enuff..wahaha

aiyo...my breast engorge loh...but can only expressed 40ml from both breast..my fren said only day 4...must be patient...but hor...very worried that i will not hv enuff BM for IAn..and hor..dun want him to rely on FM loh...how ah????

btw, how u all massage the breast???

lucida
ya loh...geberra went to nursery to see my bb...before she left TMC (aiyo...never come and see me too)..

then her hb identified ian straight away..cos of his weight..hehehe

yes...i drank 3-4 carton(from NTUC) per week..hehe...but later i stopped..abt 32 weeks..cos from some mummies i got to know milk can gained bb's weight easily...

poppy..hahahhaaha...big hor?? 4.815kg..still wondering if i dun have epi..think whole tmc will collapse..hehe

cute ah?? thks ah..just like the mummy.. hahahaha (thick skinned)

Welcome all the newcomers.

JP,
u shld be happy that u son drink so much.

dsii,
both of breast can only pump out 60ml of milk leh.

congrats Jazzy.

Joline,
I used only one valve to pump and wait for the other breast to have let down then switch. Less thann 10 min each breast.. just switch left and right till no milk. My lump are quite clear.

Heat rash - i bath everyday also like that. I perspire alot and so smelly.

dsii,
tmc taught me massage 12o clock, 6 o clock, 3 o clock, 9 o clock position. then the middle part. must do hard, but i find i not much strength.
not enough bm remember supplement with fm. dun b like me, so silly, ended up baby dehydrated. observe his poo n pee pattern, must have 6-8 wet nappies.

Joline i envy u! cinfinement ending. me still two more weeks!

tinklebell..hehe..thks...power mum hor??

hong..u mean both breast u can pump 60ml?? haiz..me now breasts pain pain...

decimal
hmm....centre hard??? hmm...try loh...later go wipe body...must use hot water to steam my breasts..hahha...do treatment

dsiitan, ya lor, yours is the biggest bb i hv ever heard in my whole life! :p

u also kenna breast engorgement? sian hor. yes, have to steam your Bs or soak them in very very hot water.

Decimal,
Get your DH to help, you will never be able to really massage well on your own. If your DH is helping you, he will be able to help you massage near to the back n center area which you will never be able to massage on your own.

Joan,
i live at Old airport rd. I thot u are my neighbour cos my hubby saw them at TMC on 12 July and their boy is the same day as u.

What is the reason of having two english name? Actually we shortlisted Julian and Julius. I like Julius but hubby like Julian and after asking so many pple they still feel Julian is better.

I told my frd, why not just call Julius Julian Wong? hahhaa..

Decimal,
I think is not we dun have strength. Is the pain that stop us from pressing down.

dsii,
two breasts only 60ml leh. So ke lian.

missmoon's mum must have restricted her to use PC. Havent see her appear yet.

Hi all, sorry not online for sometime lioa. coz no internet access here... it's been 2 weeks since I gave birth. Congrats to mums whom have given birth, sorry, cannot individually coz archieve too much lioa.. cant finish reading.

Anyway, here's my labour story, quite a long one....
Woke up at 8.00am to empty my bladder.. and saw some show. I knew today is the day. Seeing show is the first sign to labour. Immediately went to woke DH upand he was like "zhen de mah" he didnt believe me so I pulled down my pants and show him. Told him to get more sleep first and will wake him up after I showered.

Damn! SIL is using the toilet and she usually takes a long time, I wait patiently while thinking what I have missed out in my maternity bag.... keep going outside to check if she's done at the same time trying to keep my anxiety down so that I dont excite my MIL too.

Finally she's out and then she was like.."hey, u used the toilet just now?" "got blood u know"
"yah yah I know"

9.10am reached hospital. Before that, we took the wrong route.. Yes! On this day, at this time. -___- I was put straight into the labour ward. The mid wife did a VE for me, this is my first time, never done it before at the clinic. Koaz! It was pain loh! Imagine they insert their whole fist into u and check if yr cervix has dilated. 0 cm. Sigh. I was crying in pain and cannot imagine what's going to happen later. I was given something also to clear my bowels coz she could feel mu stools were very hard, within mins I dashed to the toilet, shoick man! been having constipation for the past few days.

CTG showed that I have regular contractions (but I dont seem to have any pain yet) and heartbeat is fine... confirm labour and have to register myself. DH went down to do the registration and guess what... My IC is not inside the wallet.. Sigh.. where could it be? I haven used it lately... So DH went back home to look for it.

It was already 11+pm, the nurses paged for Dr Chew (my OB) and he was in church, he spoke to DH and informed that he will only be there at 4+pm. From 11+ to 4+pm I was alone in e labour ward, trying to fall asleep many many times but woken up by the painful contractions and the interuption of the nurses and midwives. Then I was 0cm still. Dr Chew gave permission for food and I had my first meal in the ward. Fish porridge. I was not given lunch.

Dr Chew came at 5+pm and did another VE again! Super pain loh. 2 other nurses and himself have to hold on to my pelvic area so that I dont lift my butt up. "Relax Relax" was the word they like to use. Dr Chew was very kind, I could feel the fatherly love from him, he looked into my eyes as he says very sorry that he has to do that and ask me to bear with it for awhile. Finally I was 3cm dilated and 30% thru my labour. What a relief! I was given drip to fasten the dilation and also the option of epidural, didnt hesitate and went ahead with it, I knew I couldnt stand the pain anymore.

It was raining heavily.

At 6+pm, the GA came and adminstered the epidural. Another very kind doctor who explain the procedure very throughly and very patient with my low threshold of pain. Tell u, I was very very scare coz the needle was damn huge and I didnt know what to expect. The GA said he will tell me step by step what he's doing so that I know as I cant see (I was curved like a millipede and back facing him) I told him I dont want to know and only wanted to be distracted. So much so, he laughed and said okay....but both party, my DH and him failed miserably. He kept asking if we have named the baby and expect us to tell him the name, I was anxious so I didnt talk much, I dont know abt DH...on the other side, DH just kept asking me if I was ok. and Ok was all I said. So leng chang.

At 7pm, epidural finally done and was waiting for it to take effect. It's cool man, I thank the person who invented this medication. Whhhooooooossss It really make me very comfy as compared to before I had it even thou the contraction was much more frequent and painful. I can sleep in peace but not for long because of the medication and such, I feel nausea and vomitted out 3-4 times, now I understand why they dont allow food and minimal water.

8+pm, another VE and I was only 5cm dilated, another 5 cm more to go..... will I give birth after 12 midnite?

Contractions got more and more severe, even with epidural I can feel the pain..and it'sbecoming unbearable. Finally at 11.35pm, 8-9cm! I am finally going into labour! The nurses quickly call Dr Chew. The midwife didnt want me to start pushing coz she said it will be wasting my energy, she will monitor BB heartbeat, if there's a drop then I will start to push even before Dr Chew arrives.

11.45pm, she came in and started me pushing, she taught me how to..and hehe.. I was doing fine despite the pain. after 2 pushes, BB's head could be seen.. Haha. she kept asking DH to go and see and say BB got lots of hair, but he just rather be by my side, too er xin liao I guess.. I was told not to push anymore coz have to wait for Dr to come and do epidosomy for me.

Dr Chew came shortly, got ready and snip me (I didnt feel a thing). After one push, I heard him saying BB passing motion. I got very scare, coz its very dangerous for BB to be in destress and wil have to C-section in some cases. I gave a final push with the help of forcep, Prince Emerson has arrived into the world at 11.59pm.

Dr Chew placed BB on my tummy, while he does his stuff down there. I didnt realise it at first until I felt a weight on my tummy then I look down. OMG! It's BB.. after waiting for 9 mths n 3 wks I finally get to see him~ I cried and cried, DH too.. he teared when he saw his own flesh and blood. After that when the nurses bring him to take his measurement, he cried again and upon hearing his cries, I cried too. My god~ My heart just ache when I hear his cries.

(photos are not ready yet)

I also suffer from low MS, very demoralising.. i suffered blues for the first week of confinement coz think low ms plus my granny kept asking me to give him formula milk to supplement scare he hungry then at night ihave to wake up almst every hour to feed him. My nipples are sore coz of the frequent sucking. One thing I really regretted is not employing a professional confinement nanny... that could save me alot of troubles and plenty of rest... sigh.. another 2weeks more, just endure lah!

I am also very pissed with the massage lady.. coz she didnt want to fix a date when i call her before delivering yet when i call her after i delivered she ask me to call her again when my wound is ok, finally i am ready for the massage and she says she has no slots available! Irritated.

In the end I called mdm zu and she only can come and massage me in Aug, abt 1 mth after delivery, wonder if it's still effective...

Hi PM, I have been going to this Malay lady for prenatal massage and will definitely ask for post-natal massage when it's my time. I fine her very good - better than those spa type service. You might want to try her. This is her number: 93827749 (Diana)

joykel,
i dun encourage direct latch on and let bb drink the BM express right after the massage session. For me, I will normally express out the milk and throw away. Only after taking shower then I will start keeping those ebm and feed BB.

Hi all... I'm back. Haha.

Went to my gynae's clinic to insert pill for induction on the 20th July. Initial plan was to insert on the 20th, observe for 2 hrs, go for lunch, rtn to clinic again to observe, go home, and then go to delivery ward the following morning...

So on the 20th morning, went for appt at Mt E in my gynae's clinic. Put me CTG for awhile, then at about 9 plus, gynae came and inserted pill, then was put under ctg for about 2 hours. Starting from 10plus, there were contractions.. Quite painful, but still bearable. Anyway, I didn't know those were contractions till then. Actually experienced that kind of pain (but less intense) the night before. Was allowed to get down after 2 hours at about 11.20am. Had to wait for gynae to come back cos she was in labour ward delivering someone else.

Then suddenly, the pain really got quite unbearable... I tried walking ard, squating down, but the contractions were really very painful. I told the nurses and they sent me into a room to lie down. Couldnt lie still cos it was too painful. And started to mumble stuff like... asking them to send me for c-sec imm cos I cant take it anymore. And told them to believe me that it was very painful.

Gynae finally came at about 11.50am, did VE and I was 4cm dilated. Then sent me to labour ward immediately in a wheelchair.

GA came shortly and administered epidural. Then after that he had to put me on the drip thingy... but i refused to move cos i was in alot of pain. Then he scolded me (!#@&$^%*#@) and told me to PLEASE TURN QUICKLY. And well, I did (mabbe in a way, he helped). After that, it was still quite painful, and i saw the ctg chart was like..full of slopes. Then i kept telling the midwife that it was still painful and she told me it would take about 10 min to take effect.

Then finally, I was ok.. haha. Then, I called my DH. Haha. Told him that I was in the labour ward and told him to go home to get my hospital bag. Then at 12.30pm, felt a gush of water come out from there.. and ya..waterbag broke. Called DH and he told me that he was waiting for his Dad to come home to open the door to get the hospital bag cos he forgot his keys. I told him to just forget abt it and come to the hospital right away cos I have that 'passing motion' feeling already.

Then he finally reached at 1pm with the hospital bag. Then we 'quarrelled' abit and took some photos. Then midwife said that gynae was going to be done soon (she was in the delivery room beside the room i was in) and told me that I can start pushing abit first. Then gynae came in, pushed 3 times, and baby Germayn was born at 1.43pm. Haha.

It was quite scary though, cos her umbilical cord was round her neck when she came out... Goodness she is small sized...

Ya... Then am breastfeeding now... first two days in hospital was scary. She latched on for like..more than an hour each time... and when the nurses send her in and told me she was hungry, I got slightly scared. Haha. So mean.

But it's getting better now.. as in.. cos my milk is in... but i realise Germayn has the habit of like..suckling for 10 min, the falling aslp. Then wake up an hour later wanting more. Sigh.

Has last feed was abt an hour ago... Sort of forced her to wake up and drink more, but she just refused to open her mouth. haha. So well, I shall see what time she's going to wake up...

Dsii, your baby is really super big... When i had my twins, their total birth weight is even less than your baby's weight. Best. Really pei fu.

And ya, so far the twins are very re4 qing2. Haha. They keep wanting to sayang the baby, give the baby their smelly pillows, etc. But it's abit scary, cos they're quite rough at times. But ok la.. at least they're happy...

Joline, how come? As in, the reason for throwing away the ebm after direct latching.

I just started to store the ebm after direct latching.. But it's weird.. the colour of my ebm is very yellowish... Diff from what I had the previous time..

Okay. Germayn's awake.. Really about an hour.. hai..

HI NOIF,
I'm used to washing my hair everyday lah...will feel very dirty even if I wash on alternate days. Not washing hands is the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard. It's so unhygenic, esp when we need to handle bb. My MIL really very ignorant & silly. Really can't stand her. Somemore she comes EVERYDAY. She's driving me MAD! I still have another 3wks to go before my confinement ends...sigh..

Hi JP,
But it's very normal for bb to vomit out milk when they had too much...tat's y my PD said if bb still hungry, try to give them plain water instead of milk. Else they'll be too full.

Hi Hong/decimal point,
I also have rashes on my neck & body. Dunno if it's heat rash. The weather is so HOT nowadays but we still have to use warm herbs water to bathe. I bathe twice a day but still doesn't help. I'm always sweating when I came out of the bathroom.

aiyo tis morning went to gynae visit then realised my edd is 28th jul... still mz wait, so he check my dilation say 1.5cm already cervix quite soft so shld be easy labour... inside opening already 5 to 6cm... so giving birth anytime...

Hi Hong,

we named him Julian at first. Hubby and I are Catholics and since Julian was born on 11 July which is the day the Catholic church celebrates the feast day of St. Benedict, we decided to name him Julian Benedict... hehe. When he grows older, he can identify with a saint on his birthday. :)

dsii,
massage hard all over. like liverpool said, get husband to help, especially the 6 oclock position, cannot reach sometimes. steam ur breast, u are rt!!

PM,
I also regret not engaging a confinement nanny. Mt mil is very fan2. e.g. I used wet cotton to clean his buttocks when he poos because I think wet wipes are nnot wet enough, very harsh on baby's skin, then she keep repeating "bang sai eng zhua ka ho"... even though I ignore her. She clean baby's buttock like clean adult buttock like that, very rough and hard.

Z-lia,
I think yellow milk means ur milk ver concentrated, you drink more fluids then will be more white. Mine also, initially like banana milk, the tmc lactation consultant saidit's bcos I did not drink enough.

Z-Lia,
Congrats! Thanks for shring ur birth story.. Glad to hear tt both u and BB Germayn are safe..

I throw away ebm right after massage jus to play safe bb won't take in any massage oil in case they are not safe..

Z-lia, decimal,
The yellow colour of milk will slowly turn white. I've never heard that it is too concentrated. That is the actualy colour of colostrum. In fact, the milk will slowly turn white towards end of the 1st mth. I'm v happy that my bb is drinking yellow milk now becos that meas she is taking in lots of colostrum. I don't think drinking more will make it less yellow, prob more dilute looking only.

you know decimal,i've been cleaning my bb with wipes and i really regret it becoz yesterday, the skin at her anus area looked like they can tear any time!!! I so scared,now use cotton wool with warm water and wipe. Maybe i too bo chap, this one my second bb so more relax. Ha ha, now no choice.

To all mummies in confinement,
Jia you ok!!! some of us have it more tough then others, but its just a passing phase. That is why this forum is for us to ventilate it out!!!!!!

Joline,
Oh! WE celebrate my JJ's full month on 5th Aug. Late celebration cos 29 and 30 July hubby company got event. No choice lo! But good also la, confinement over liao and can eat watever i want liao!. heehee!

YB
Yalo! Not washing hands is the most ridiculous things to me cos really hard to avoid!

halo mummies

im back again..hehe..me just took shower..shiok shiok...

breastmilk very miserable...hehee...engorgement can kill me manz...like to rock buns..hehe

haiz...i no CL too..then my dad always nag at my hubby ..like i was collecting my laundry this morning..then dad heard some noise in kitchen..then he went out to living room to tell my hb..in a very not hapi tone.."u no get CL then must help her..dun let her touch water..then hang clothes up and down..." then ny hb came..not very hapi loh...me heard liao very sad loh..i was the one who dun wan CL mah..why cant touched water? then wash face..brush teeth...wash stitches...wash milk bottles..wash pump..etc..no need touch water meh??? all dry clean meh? so sianz...wonder how to tell him im ok...no need to worry so much one..aiyo..now alot ppl also do own confinement mah...very sad for hb..next wed hb went back to work liao...haiz..wonder how to shower bb without him knowing...today my hb showered for bb..bb cried so loud..he came in quickly to see who shower him..haiz...

why cant he juz leave us alone..cos we are new generation mah....

NOIF,
yeah yeah.. after confinement can eat whatever we like liao.. and can take shower.. lol

dsiitan,
old ppl are like that one lor.. my MIL also nag a lot at the beginning cos i need to wash the pump every 2~3 hourly and wash milk bottles.. but after some time she also heck care liao.. until now i still have water retention at my feet and hands.. so whenever ppl mentioned why i still got swollen legs she will grab the chance and said it's because i do a lot of washing lor..

Lok - You are indeed a lucky woman!

Jazzy - Congrats!!! Can't wait to hear your labour story and see the pixs!!!

joykel - As per my ML, we can still BF after the massage. However, its best to check with your ML coz each one tends to use different mix of oils.

dsii - Mrs Wong teaches the 12 o'clock, 6 o'clock, 3 o'clock, 9 o'clock and lastly scissors on the tits method. Hope it works for you!!! Ask your DH to help you lah...its easier. Hang in there...its hard to tell the older generation things (sometimes). I also touch water mah - to bath, to wash the bottles, etc, etc, etc. Also kena shoot by MIL. Wah piang, her nagging is 24/7. What to do..tahan lor!

hong - Thanks! Hope that BB will gain weight coz when I took him to the Pedi (vomitted mah), he loss some weight...haiz!!! Worried... I know what you mean about smelly. I guess its the herbs!!! Bear with it...we are almost there!!!

PM - Thanks for sharing your birth story with us! I know what you mean...when you see your BB, all the pain just slip away...our bao bei!!! Hang in there OK? Confinement is never easy...same here!!! We can do it!!! As for the sore nipples, you can apply your own milk or use the sore nipples cream. I do that too...sore siah! So sorry to hear about the thingy with your ML. Hope that everything worked out OK now.

Z-Lia - Thanks for sharing with us your birth story! Glad to hear that mommie and BB are both OK. Same here...Garrick will suckle for several minutes and fall asleep too...I guess they are just so comfy.

YB - Roger on that! Will give Garrick water after he finishes his intake of milk. Thanks!

Hello mummies.. ask u all..say if i freeze ebm, say mabbe...100ml, then if baby needs to drink but her intake is only 60ml, then how? Read b4 that after defrosting can keep in the fridge for up to 12 hrs, but not sure if tt's really the case. So if like that then can separate into 2 feeds?

YB,
I also ok with the herbal wash. i think my heat rash is due to my perspiration.

MIL - yes yes.. dun know is due to insufficent rest or interrupted rest. I feel extremely irriated by small things. Somemore my daughter keep asking for MIL and make me very very mad! Somemore refuse to listen to me sometime.
My MIL keep calling and each day a few times n i dun see the reason why she keep calling none stop.

yesterday she told hb her sisters will come and visit me. I told hb ok, just come cos i will be at home althot my hb will be bringing my mum and my daughter to my nephew 1yo bday partyyy at 2pm.

Last nite she called again and told me. I said ok. This morning she called again and i was so pissed. I told her just come lor.

I complained to my mum why she so long winded. Already said ok and she kept calling. I just hate my home phone ringing cos usually is MIL calling. Now if hb at home, i wun pick up any call cos definitely is MIL.

Not only that, she liked to rush and comfort the baby when my boy make noise. For me i just let him fuss a bit and i will come to him.

Joan,
OIC.. very meaningful.

Dec,
better dun use normal toilet paper is very rough to the baby skin. Even some wet wipe is.

Z -lia,
u mean freeze as in put in freezer become ice? I express then put in fridge, not freezer. Then will pour some out to warm if baby still wants, because I don't think gd to warm and warm so many times. Mt bm very precious so must use very carefully, I try not to waste unnecessarily.

hong,
my mil mean the wet wipes whenn she say "zhua". I also think not wet enough.

Dec,
Which brand of wet wipe?
Close tight and the moisturer shld be still there.

YB,
Someone mention abt adding baby oil into the bath water. I tried and the peeling condition is better. U may wanna try on ur girl.

CongrAT to mummies who POP liao !!!
dsii,
i also face the same thing as u.. must wear slipper at home cos my floor is marble floor. Cannot touch water except hot water for bathing.

i manage to rxpress milk ou liao but very low supply haiz..
My jumbo BB drink 90ml of milk leh when i can only express 50ml..sad

Hi PM,

I also faced the same situation ... my massage lady kept saying called her after delivery and when I did, she said called her on another day to confirm. In the end, I also called Mdm Sue and she agreed to come.

sandy
ya loh..me express till face green green...nipple sore... breast pain...gd times only 40ml..if not 20ml only ah....

my baby just fussed and i put down my pump to see him, thought nobody attending to him, and saw my mil trying to dig his nose using tissue cos he got a piece of mucus. she thinks he cannot breathe.....
do we have to clean baby's nose??

sandy,
close ur dr when u want to latch lor... my mil initially was like "wo men dou shi nv hai zi, bu yao jin de ma..." after that husband ask her to go out then she went.