(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

MTDT,
thanks for the info on spoon. But I went to amazon.com, the spoon is sold and shipped from another merchant, shipping costs within US is US$6.95!! Like that very bo hua right...

Michele,
If I'm not wrong, volo is an umbrella stroller, more light weight, cannot recline, the stroller seat is mesh material. Triumph is similar to quest but don't have leg extension. It's not as light wt as volo but can recline, has hood, and stroller seat is more padded.

wen, shanghai very cold in dec!! GRRRRrrr...

i fed Bren prawns (touch wood) not allergic and loves it!! got urs be jus heat rash?

Happy, i wanna get another lite wt. one compared to the zapp & techno, and i ve no idea wat to do with them!! ARGHH!! so am deciding between these 2......... SIGH!

Hi MTDT & Poohy,

See you all talking about preschool, i had visited St James, CH (Halifax Road), and Pats Personally i like St James the most. i like the fact that it is a preschool in the park and i find the children there r more responsive than those in CH and Pats. For the school fees, actually St James is cheaper, they charge $900 for a term of 10 weeks, whereas CH Halifax Rd charge $877.40 per mth for morning sess, 823.90 per mth for afternoon session. However, St James school fees cover the tuition only, it does not include book fees and special activities fees like project work, excursions etc. Whereas for CH, basically the school fee is the only amount u need to pay. Another comparison is the class duration, St James class is only 3 hrs, CH is 4 hrs.I am open to Montessori also, if any mummy found a good one, pls recommend it to me. Thanks.

Hi MTDT, i also keen to know the comments on MMI, can pm me? Thanks!

happymum - so funny, the lady, florence from the site that sells the spoon just emailed me that the stock coming in in 1-2 weeks's time leh...maybe u wanna check wif her again...i'm getting mine from Amazon instead...sharing wif other mummies the shipping cost so we found it still comes out to the same price.

presch - $1.2k per mth is for full day childcare. paisei. :p

Carebear - for Character Monte full day is $800+, half day think it's abt $600+

MMI in SK only - stella, are u looking at Sengkang too? no rite? :p

Good morning ladies!

Wah... all the talk about preschool. I am thinking of MMI Sengkang or another one in Hougang. But gotta consider the distance cos I am staying in YCK. Havent really search. Maybe go back door if no space... hahaha... :p

spoon:
I gave A a metal spoon for kids by "So Eat". He can scoop easily, but sometimes wrong direction only. hmm... think I will not buy the plastic spoon already. I will just start to "train" him with the "So Eat" spoon. For the spoon, the main requirement for toddlers to scoop easily, the scoop part gotta be thin. hee... engineer's analysis :p

Mtdt,
You considering MMI SK?

Ok, catch up later...

wen,

thanx for your sharing. I was mistaken abt the fee... thought the $900 is for a month
Looks like its quite reasonable. But the wait list I heard is abt 2 years. u had placed gabby on their waitlist already? By being more responsive, wat do u mean?

St James Kiddy - actually $900 a term is VERY CHEAP!!! that's only ard $360 per mth?
Sure??

The cheapest one i can find in pgl is $410/mth (full day)

Mtdt
Did u reccee young elite and gingerbread? I am also in the midst of looking for a childcare....there is a new NTUC one at compassvale, that opens till 8pm every nite...

step - went to see gingerbread. Not bad... kids will hv lots of exercise climbing the stairs! hahhaha :p but I find the rooms pretty small... I was wondering how to squeeze all the kids in. :p

young elite - din go.

NTUC - wow, open till 8pm huh? not bad huh... suppose they serve dinner too loh.

mtdt
i think the young ones will not be using the rooms upstairs? me actually more inclined towards little cottage..seems quite popular but disadvantage is, it is at the void deck of HDB flat and near to MPH....

yup, the NTUC one opens till 8pm, but only snacks provided in the evening, we still got to feed dinner ourselves.

btw, how do u find character mont? i called up the school, the principal was like giving me 'lukewarm' response, not really interested in my biz like dat....

stepanie - Gingerbread 2nd level is for 2-4yrs, 3rd floor is for 5-6 (more of K1/K2) 1st floor only eating area, tv/play and computers area

Little cottage - I went to see long long time when I was looking for infantcare. :p cant rem much. wat's wrong with hdb void deck?

char mont - I din call... just give surprice visit. hahaha :p so din meet the principal as she is not ard. one of the teachers bring me ard n explain to me.

actually i rather meet the teachers as they are the ppl with the kids. Principal only sits in the office mah. :p (altho she is impt too as she sets the overall atmosphere etc in the sch)

mtdt
little cottage - hdb void deck like very open, every one can peek in. also dun like the idea of those red/white occasions nearby.

Poohy,
No, I was suppose to decide with hubby on Evan's JG. We also went to JG Forum to look and see. But ended up not making any decision so far. Coz my parents not keen on the long distance. So now need to source for other options. Quote: "By being more responsive, wat do u mean?"... Did I mention this? I blur liao.. :p

Mich
Shanghai Dec very cold yah...hm...where else shall i go then. Just want around 5 days away from singapore. And hubby really want to go Shanghai leh..

allergy
No, not heat rash. Last night started running nose too. Ended up i have to carry her on my chest and sleep sitting up. Now very sleepy and backache.

Stroller
Volo cannot recline leh...if for short while ok lah. But if Brendan want to sleep, a bit uncomfortable leh.

St James kindy
Where is this hah?

<font face="tahoma"> good morning ladies

Re : MMI
Lyn,
there's a new MMI at Thomson Rd (opp the Thomson Plaza)</font>

Wen: For childcare at Tampines area, there is NTUC, Kinderland & Eureka Schoolhouse (Pat's Schoolhouse associate). Not sure how good they are though. There are quite a lot in East Coast/Fort Road area but I feel it's still quite a distance from Tampines. Hope Gabby gets well soon.

Re: Biscuits
What type of biscuits are you giving the kids? There don't seem to be much variety.

good morn

mspiggy

hv u went to the open hse at Thomson Rd?? There is a pool there too. Am goin to view one day. There is open house once a mth. Need to chk with them on the schedule.

The fee is abt $800 plus per mth.

Lyn
I m placing Mandy near my place when she turns 18mths. Either the one at MMI or Little Greenhouse which is juz a stone throw away from my place. Hven decide which to go yet.

dor
oh, u placing your gal when she turns 18mths? hubby kept saying 18mths too young, must wait till my gal is abt 2 years....

Fireworks

There is fireworks at Clark Quay at 9pm & 11pm last Sat. Was there and happened to catch it.

Did anyone happened to catch it too?

Mandy was afraid of the loud fireworks. Stick to her daddy like koala bear. hehehe. So i think this comin sat one.. can no need to go n see liao.

Sunflower,

dun think can make it. cos D SM class ends ard 3.45pm so dun think can make it on time.

Poohy,

if late for 9am AD class, J can join in the 9.30am class if that class is not full.

step

yup. i feel 18mths is too young too. But i hv no choice. My nanny's deadline to me is before the Dec holidays.. she dun wan to take care of my ger liao. sob sob

dor
me also similar situation. got to place gal in childcare when #2 is born cos nanny can only take care of one.....if 18mths, then gal got to be jab twice for pneumoccal...was hoping to wait till 2 years, then only need to jab once.

no chance of looking for another nanny?

<font face="tahoma"> Re : MMI
Dor,
i havent go for the open house. Muffinmocha went and she's quite happy with everything.

it's soooo near to your mum's place!</font>

St James Kinddy:

Yr 2009 morning session has 26 pple on waitlist while afternoon session has 10 vacancies. Morning session start fm 8.15am to 11.15 am. Afternoon session is fm 11.30 to 2.30pm. They have optional enrichment class like art, speech & drama conducted after the class - 2.45pm to 4.00pm. There is no full day program in St James. I gtg, my boy got class at 11.45.

<font face="tahoma">Playgroup
Date: 18 August 2007
Time: 3pm
Venue: Near Yio Chu Kang MRT

<font color="ff0000">1. Mspiggy (Wesley & mommy : TBC) (chicken nuggets)</font>
2. Sunflower (X, mommy & papa) (donuts & another pastry)
3. Wen
4. rodeo (ER, mommy & maybe maid-TBC)
5. Tinklebell
6. Happysunflower (Aloysius, mommy, daddy) (Fruits)
7. Dor (Mandy, mama & papa)
8. Happymum123 (xin en, mummy, daddy maybe) (still thinking abt food!)
9. Vivi
10. Pawprint
11. kissbb
12. celes
13. Peng (Son1, Son2 (maybe), mommy, daddy n maid (maybe))
14. Mum2b (F, mummy, daddy)
15. Lil Kelly with Mummy and Daddy

Hi Lyn,
I cant confirm my attendance yet coz hubby travelling and wanna send him to airport.</font>

steph

i hv given mandy the 1st dose of jab last mth. Am goin to take the 2nd one nxt mth... Gonna to prepare her for the childcare. As for lookin for another nanny, is not easy to look for a good one. Nowadays, new-age nanny hv their demands too hor.. I dun like the way they suka suka say.. 'Oh I dun wan to take care of ur ger liao' I wan committments... so my hubbi n i thot abt it.. think childcare still the best option. Nvrtheless, we are goin to place her in later. Is a matter of time.

Mspiggy

well no doubt she is happy w everything, bcos everything is new there. Is she goin to place J there too?? How abt u?

Well in term of distance n $$$, the Little Greenhse is veri much nearer and half the price MMI is chargin. I no need to walk down the steep slope and climb over the bridge. hahaha. But in term of wat they offer, i think MMI is on the favouable position.

dor
so u will be giving her 3 doses altogether? there is a booster one after 24mths rite? heard that the jabs are painful?

dor - aiyoh.. like damn far... walk down slope n climb bridge!! hahaha :p

one consideration for distance - esp if dun hv car... rainy days!!! I encounter a few times at my IFC (hubby went for class, so no car)... so poor thing, stranded there.
lucky now I "fren fren" with a few parents there, n they will send me home.

<font face="tahoma"> Dor,
She's still considering I think.

Am not sure.. if my mum still able to help then I will delay till Wes's older. But will sign him for those enrichment classes, currently waitlist for the JG Playclub. </font>

Steffi/Dor & MTDT, me too thinking of sending Jerica to childcare when she turns 18 mths, my hubby also say that might be too early, will see whether she is ready by then. I am fortunate I dun have to source around much, there is a learning vision at my office building, after company subsidy, i pay less then $200 per month. There is cherie hearts and little learners within walking distance from my home, but kinda expensive at around $500 each month.

Dor, Mandy scared of fireworks ah, oh dear, I think mine will be scared as well, I was thinking of bringing her to the fireworks this Sat cos I got tickets.

<font face="tahoma">
Dor,
FYI, my frd's nephew is attending MMI fullday childcare now. He's very happy

Initially he's with Little Skool House @ AMKHub and he hates going to sch then. Guess the activities matters! </font>

RE : MMI
My colleague send her 2 kids to MMI (dun know which one, she stays in Bishan) and she is full of praises for that school. So far she claim no regrets paying so much.

<font face="gungsuh">spicegal,</font>
<font face="gungsuh">u too going fireworks celebrations this Sat? I got tickets too. Kissbb going too! Hopefully we can see each other there. Hmmm...think J will be scare too. Yesterday FIL bring him go sit the coin ride, he cried...scared. </font>

Spicegal - WOW!! $200 only!!! lucky u!

little skool hse @ aMK - oh, my fren went n say not bad environment. think diff kids need diff environment bah. the "click" with frens/teachers also v impt.

<font face="tahoma">MTDT,
think the school is very new hence not bad. but my frd's nephew started with infant care etc.. hence very independent already. But kids going to LSK @ AMKhub still cries every morning hence I guess he's more or less affected. And like you said, he cant 'click' with the teachers.</font>

<font face="tahoma"> Talking abt timid... Wes also quite timid. My dad brought him for those kiddy rides that will move automatically type. He wanted to cry too... my dad wasted $3! hahahaa

Yesterday he saw the water fountion @ raffles city, he also scared. initially he's ok with it BUT after the water stopped, he didnt expect it to come again. So when it suddenly shot up again, he cried! my boy is sooooo timid!</font>

steph

2 jabs only for toddler btw 1 to 2 yrs old. No need to take any booster. Is there? Never heard of booster jab for Pneumoccal.

MTDT

walking down the slope is no problem.. imagine walkin up lei.. and plus the bridge. hahaha. Sometime if we are not in time to pick her, i will need my parent to pick her up. is quite a distance away. So i need to take tis into conderation too. And if it rains... lagi worse.

mspiggy
how old is ur friend's newphew... i hv enquired few wks back. so far they only have 2 or 3 children there for Mandy's grp.

i_panda, hope to see you there!

Jerica also gets scared or startled quite easily nowadays; motorcycle sound, plane sound, sommetimes when i call her name too loudly. haha

MTDT

re: Ergo baby carriers

anyone knows where to get & how much?
also can support to what age & weight.

Toto, you have yeh, can advise?

Singapore Fireworks Celebrations at Marina Bay

The Singapore Fireworks Celebrations 2007 will be held on 17 and 18 August at the Marina Bay.

(not sure about timing...shld be ard 8pm)

sunflower:

6 - Question: What is the weight limit of The ERGO?
Answer: Generally, baby carriers usually support up to 40 pounds and some parents cut back on use when their child is around 3 years of age. This varies considerably according to each baby and each parent, especially in relation to the parents stature and physical condition. The strain on the back increases naturally with the growing weight of the child. It is therefore a good idea to start carrying the baby early because the parent can slowly become accustomed to the increasing demand on the body by the growing weight of the child. This results in a conditioning of the body that reduces the strain of carrying. We say our carrier will accommodate you as long as you would like to carry and/or your baby would liked to be carried. The owner, and designer of the ERGO, still carries her son who is now 4-1/2 years old. As you can see from the picture, it will also carry a 90 lb adult. Some people have carried their aging, infirm parent and believe it or not some people carry their dogs in The ERGO.