(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

mspiggy : me working !! heeheee

kite: re tyre : the car didnt have any indication of how much to pump - grrr, then called hubby in SYD but he DIDNT know !! he had to call recaro the workshop !!! sometimes i wanna *bish* him ...

Wen : which flashcards are you using at the moment ? the trolley looks great ! but may be cumbersome ? in little boxes at least u still can carry a box around ??

917380.jpg

guess who brought their kids to the playground and left them alone on the swings ??!!!

<font face="tahoma">K Ong,
usually the PSI is indicated on the tyres itself. You can check later. Coz I remembered there's some no on the tyres.</font>

mspiggy/stephanie : thanks thanks - but i checked everypart of the car !!!! dunt have ...
i checked tyres, car chasis next to driver seat/passenger seat, glove compartment and the door of the fuel tank

anyhows, it's time for a servicing, so will bring it to the workshop - easier for me !!!

K ong

hi there, doesnt they scream when they are left alone in the swing. Mandy dun like the swing. When i swing her w her on my lap, she seem to b fidgeting and kinda scare. even those merry-go- round machines, she will wan to get out when the machine starts moving. when it is not moving, she wan to sit in them ....wahahaha.. that save me $$$

mspiggy : heehe yah, tt's what the hubby said too !!!

Dor : hello !!! oh they loved being in the swing yesterday!! maybe the machines move ard too fast ??

k ong

SIT wif her on the machine.. heehee... later i hv to pay for the damage. u think my butt is small enough to get into the seat.later kenna stuck. kekeke

kong

v cute lah, the piccies. Tis is biased mummy speaking.

Went for acupuncture for the back,still have 2 more sessions to go .. swollen back from the park yest lah. Then my office call some more !!

<font face="tahoma">aishite,
what happened at the park? Wes has the exact same pair of Shoo Shoos as your cutie! :D</font>

Hi... for those that are interested....
i ask the organiser already... so jun mummies are welcome to combine orders.

maybe we can start a list here then i pass the info to her

below is the info.

I'm consolidating orders for Anti-Mosquito Patch (300 boxes) so that I can get a cheaper price than outside.
Interested?? Pls email me @ [email protected]

There are 2 zip-lock pack in a box, with 6 patches in each pack
Total is 12 patches.?Expiry date is end of 2008.
Retail Price is $5.90 per box (Supplier $5/-)
Min. order of 5 boxes ($25/-)
Postage of $0.30

917662.jpg

Pls reply by 10 Aug 2007.

Brand: DERMALIFE Anti-Mosquito Patch
Effective for up to 12 hours

How it works...

- Citronella has been used since ancient times and is the most effective natural essence known for preventing insect bites
- Just squeeze the little patch to release the citronella fragrance and you're protected for up to 12 hours
- May be used by the entire family. Convenient to use, you can stick the DermaLife Anti-Mosquito Patch on the picnic tables, lawn chairs, clothing

Active ingredients: 60% w/w citronella oil.

How to Use:

1. Separate patches along the pre-cut lines
2. Peel patch off the card backing
3. Stick Patch to collar, pant, clothes, furniture or areas that need protection

**DO NOT Stick onto the skin***

MTDT..

I am interested to order. Min must be 5 boxes rite? so I order 5 boxes ... thanx. Any other info I need to give?

re: holiday

I am bringing S & J to korea 2nd half of december this year. Now sourcing around to buy winter clothing for them. If u all know where I can buy winter clothes for a 2-3yr boy and 1.5yr gal, let me knw ok

re: preschool

for those interested in JG/chiltern house, I had already confirmed a place for S in chiltern house this coming jan. Will give a review on it when the time comes

Dor : sit on those bigger rides la !!!
\keekeee

Aishite: must be when u were trying to hoist Shan up the climbing slope ??
poor thing ... myust get well soon for your trip !!!
U went to Yu Guo ?

k ong, mspiggy

dunt know which play station it was at when i tried to help S up .... i went to the acupunture at Bukit Timah shopping centre, quite good, though exp, 60 bucks for 1 session. She asked me to go for 2 more sessions to be completely ok. Back pain no fun, cant carry the little one.

Other mummies

Thanks for asking if i manage to borrow the carrier, yah, got it, though dunt know which brand, will collect it only this weekend.

Nice weekend to all.

Orders will take 2weeks to arrvie AFTER 300boxes confirm.

Yes...Min 5boxes (those who wan lesser box, pls group among urself to share ok, but give me one nick will do. thanks)

pls key into the list below.
Orders for Mosquito Patch:
1) Poohy - 5
2) Carebear29 - 5 (confirm?)

poohy - I also planning hk during christmas. looking out for thick clothing too. :p
waiting for Jshoppers for their new release, shd be winter wear soon.

Carebear - ooh... ur nick is carebear huh? hahaa

MTDT

The Derma Life mossie patch, anyone has used it before and given it a thumbs up?

I have used lots of mossie patches before and notice standards vary, ie, S get bitten when I used some brands and she's ok when I use others. I still recall days she had at least 8 bites even when i used the patch, but i cant recall which brand.

I am using One-der now, good, no bite ... but pricey, 14.90 for 2 boxes, 1 box has 12 patches. Got it at offer, used to be 19 for 2 boxes.

ashite - aiyoh... hope ur back is better now. ya. dun play play with backache.

mossie patch - I personally never used it before. one jul mommy been using it for her gal... she says so far no bites on her gal. she is staying in YCK area (disclaimer in case ur telok kurau area mossie more powerful!! hahah)

mtdt,

thanx.

toto,

remember last time u din have very good reviews on st james church kindy.... can share with me the details? I heard good reviews about them. For the N1 and N2, S going to chiltern house. But for K1 and K2, I may like to switch him to more structured and academic programme cos scared later too much play liao cant cope with primary school.

aishite - yes, i agree wif u...diff brands of mossie patches, effects vary too..i notice for the cheaper brands, even after i put her patch on outdoors, can still see the mossies circle around her sometimes...so now we dun buy those brands which r too cheap...

1) Poohy - 5
2) Carebear29 - 5
2) kissbb - 10

poohy,
u send S for am/pm session??
You go to tour around the school? how u find the teachers there?

I went to Pat's schoolhouse at mt sinai this morning. Not really impressed. Maybe the lady dun really know how to sell.. :p

kissbb,

I am sending S for am session. I am always worried pm session too hot even though its cheaper and my kids takes nap in the afternoon so going in the morning when they are freshest seemed like a good idea. I am not noctural lah so i think they takes after me.

I went to the turf club. I find the environment totally like the decor at Forums. The teachers there sing similar songs and the style is similar. Other than that, they resemble LW preschool alot. Though its out of the way for us to send him to CH there, I decided to give it a try when they called to say they have a vacancy. This is becos I went to 3 schools (pats, LW, CH) that afternoon, only in CH, he asked to come down and even want to go and wash his hands at the mini toilet when we passed by. That impresses my mum and she became a strong supporter that I shd send him there becos the familiar environment will help him settle in faster. The fee difference between LW and CH v small ... so I thought if he really like CH, then so be it lor. But I had already paid for his LW... thus he will go there in sep for a trial of 2 week and I will assess again then.

I been to pat's at arena twice. I am not very impressed also ... the enrolment there v low leh. There is just 1 class at each level. Good in the sense u will get more personal attention for teacher but I want more social exposure. u intend to put your twins in CH?

Hi poohy,

Which program u enrol in CH, I surfed their webby, they only have Nursery 1 which are for 2 - 3yrs old?

As I'm seldom on forum, what does "LW" stand for?

LW - www.lornawhiston.com.sg - go to the 3 icon - presch (unfortunately they only hv 1 location and it's way out in the west. neither near to our workplace, home, granny's place or etc.)

I also started looking ard for 18mths childcare for my boy... went to a few plcs in pgl/sk.

I went to Pats at Lim ah Pin rd (near to pgl mah)
aiyoh.... CMI!!!! The schs compound is sooooooo old... it looks more like a world war 2 attap house. And worst of all, while touring the sch, I saw a big fat COCKROACH running in the class!!!!! The young VP trying to act steady take tissue paper and went towards the cockroach... then i ask her: u not scare? she reply YES i do!! hahahah :p

ok, besides the CMI environment, I must say that the teacher standard is good, I spoke to 1 of the teacher and can feel tat she is really knowledgable and confident.

Poohy - why din think abt EtonHse? or Montessori?

poohy,
i toured around CH once before but that day was a sat, so no chance to see the teacher and student there..

Still prefer CH to Pat's.. cause CH look cleaner and much more organised.. maybe as what u said, we are much used to JG's env..

I have put AnB in waiting list in CH though they can only start in Yr2009.. one of the mummies (son is in CH now)in my playnest recommend me to do so.
She said is hard to get into the AM session...

MTDT,
cockroach HAR!!! wow the VP still need to act calm.. not easy for her leh!! HAHA..

Hi all, am back

*jumps onto mozzie patch BP!* Normally I use both mozzie patch AND spray... cos the kids really susceptible. Sometimes the mozzies aim for the FACE cos that's least protected, yikes. Been spending lotsa of money on these repellents! My elder girl tends to scratch, and then the bite gets infected, area swollen, fever etc... so we're extra careful. Put repellents, and if she still gets bitten, put a plaster onto bite to prevent her from scratching.

1) Poohy - 5
2) Carebear29 - 5
2) kissbb - 10
3) panda - 5
4) pawprint - 10

Thks MTDT, you r right, LW is out of question for us staying in NE.

Poohy, how much is the fees at CH?

Etonhse is asking for $10K for half-day prog & $15K for full day, excluding enrolmt fees of $1.5K. That's for Newton Branch, d Orchard's are even more exp. http://www.etonhouse.com.sg/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=50&Itemid=71

Not sure how much is Montessori charges, anyone can help to advise?

To share some horrendous findings on the PAP Childcare Centre below my block in SK. I carried Mathius to see how the nursery kids are doing, I was so shocked that some of the toys that d kids are playing is the "empty box of the HL milk, with screw cap removed". The teacher sat at one corner plaiding d hair of one gal! Ignoring the rest of the 8 or more kids! One of which hang on the win railings staring at me & Mathius, with his muscous running down! Arghhh ... Mathius turned and looked at me! Both of us left in shock! *I promised him I won't put him there!*

carebear - huh?? PAP Childcare?? which blk?
PAP have childcare one meh? tot they only hv few hrs lesson kind. :p but wow... sounds more like some child abuse jailhse. :p

SK - there are 3 Montessori and I went to see the "character montessori". had a very good impression on them. maybe becos the sch is new (hahaha, just realise tat I am so superficial, everything also looks at the sch compound :p)
ok, their program also looks good, besides the usual, eng, chi, maths, sci... they hv cookery, pottery, speech/drama, chinese dance etc etc.
Fees is abt $800

Heard bad comments abt MMI - so din go.
another one is SHEKINAH MONTESSORI HOUSE.

Eton hse - tot I saw their fees is ard the same range of $1.2k per mth? only the orchard branch is way way ex. :p ooh... ur $15k is annual huh? scare me.... hahaha :p

actually CH, Pats, LW, EH - all are ard the same range. $1.2k per mth.

pawprint, where u went? re: band aid on bites, wont tat make it worse? thot must let it dry up and heal?

mtdt, u not on msn?

wen,

thanks for the info on the memory board

I went and got it liao. its similar yeh, except smaller version .. haha

mtdt,

care to share what's bad about MMI? if not convenient, can PM me? thanks sia, kept reading about post about bad comments on MMI but don't know what's its about.

toto, vivi, poohy,

AD may open an afternoon class 4pm-4.30pm on Sunday if they can get enough kids to start the class. hmmm... thinking whether to change slot to afternoon class...

Carebear,

S will be 2 year plus so going to the Nursery1 class over there. If he settled well there, I will put J into the nearby JG weekday playclub for nursery. Maybe I will put S into the additional weekday Edudrama also... cos I really hope to minimise classes on weekend when he start school next year.

btw, the fee at CH turf club is $840 for the morning class. Its more exp for the morning session almost everywhere u go. The fee at LW for the same morning session is $790.

I din know PAP got childcare. But they do have pre nursery N1 class. Its not available everywhere. There is only 1 I know in the JW vicinity. The centre is new but the class is only 2 hours! I find that a bit short cos my mum gotta travel to fetch him just for that 2 hours.

mtdt,

ya the LW is a bit off for those who dun work nearby or dun stay nearby. Even if u stay nearby, unless u let the kid take the bus transport, u possibly must have a car to bring them all the way inside.... its quite deep into the estate. I prob cant consider that if not becos both me and hb work nearby. I am still not totally decided on whether to go LW or to go CH... so I just register for both.... S starts LW in sep... so will see how it goes. If S goes to LW, I will put J into their 18mth nursery together. But if he goes CH, J can only go to the playclub cos the CH only accepts nursery from 2 year old. However, if my hb is agreeable, I may also just send S to CH while J start in LW first.

I read about bad reviews on Etonhouse leh. Plus I had considered CH only because of the strong link and resemblance to JG deco and style. I thought that may make it easier for S to transit into daily non accompanied. The bukit timah locations are all v off for us... we will be specially travelling there daily when S goes to CH.

As for montessori, I had considered but had not visited any leh. Besides I placed deposit in LW and CH and a church kindy plus a PAP kindy liao... if I change my mind again, my hb sure faint. Waste money to place deposit in so many places. All becos I am so undecisive and dun have time to visit as many schools as I like.

btw, so far for half day preschool, the most exp I see is St James kindy at $900. I mean for EH in orchard, its diff since gotta contribute to their expensive rental

hey share with me the bad reviews on MMI also leh. I am actually interested in montessori but I dunno which centre is good and within thinkable distance to my place. I thought their maths are good.

kissbb,

u know... I thought its v hard to get into CH. But on Monday, they called my hb immediately on a morning vacancy when he submitted the waiting list form in the morning. I was so surprised. I had actually thought S will be able to stay in LW for at least half a year while waiting for a place in CH. It will be much more easier for J to get a place in CH since as a sibling of an existing student there, she will get high priority in the queue.

sunflower..

I definitely wont change to sun 4pm. Too late liao... I gotta travel there just for it.
In fact, I am thinking whether I shd continue J's AD lessons....since cant make it on time ... hmm u know what is the goal for their age group this year? I bring them swimming almost every sunday afternoon ...

mich,
went HCMC, Vietnam for 5 days
. Bought Ao Dai vietnamese dress for the girl, the boy got the usual vietnam "star" tee.
Nah, if fresh bite, I put plaster to prevent scratching, it's ok as long as changed daily. Nothing to "dry up", just a swelling. Have to change daily or the plaster adhesive gets too strong- her skin will peel off!

mtdt - yes, i'm oso keen to know abt the comments on MMI...cos currently looking for playgroup for my ger too when she reaches 18 mths...if not convenient to post here, can PM me? thanks!

ooh... for the MMI bad comments, think only applies to Sengkang branch.

so think not all will be interested rite? :p

pawprint, 2nd honeymoon? MIV???

KITCHEN TALK

how's the tefal kitchen? how much is it in SG? any other better kitchens?