(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Mommy & me CD/DVD
I think a mummy in this thread bought it before, dunno in SG or not? anyone know?
Me keen in the CD too. Who else keen? Is there a amazon spree in the spree section? Or we organise one ourselves?
My girl loves music, I let her listen to kinder boopers CD when I feed her, and she know the lyrics of a few songs, will do action tog with lyrics.

Cheri,
Ya, I'm a teacher, but not mainstream school teacher. I teach special school. Been teaching for almost 4 years. switch from tax accounting to teaching after being in it for 4 years too. wow, so nice, childcare leave for 1 year, my school no such thing.

wow, so many postings in a day.

re: dvds & cds

I'm interested too. Trying to find new things that will interest my boy.
Toto, count me in

lyn,
how's your class today? better than last week?

heee hee.. so many compliments for my boy.. thanks thanks... *shy*

i've seen some of your babies' photos too. good looking june babies we have here yah?
haven't met anyone else in person except for jerica and she is a BEAUTY! such delicate features! i LOIKE!

happymum,
yup yup me teacher. sec level... was asleep just now but hubby came into room, switched on the lights and now i cannot go back to sleep. so decided to get up and set my prelim papers again. yucks. still on mc tmr. sore throat and keep coughing and coughing

do u guys have to set exam papers too in special school?

i do agree that all babies learn differently and am always amazed at the things he picks up just by observing the adults around him. my son is a joker. almost everyone who meets him says this. he's funny in a way i cannot describe la. haha

cheri,
you teaching too? sec or pri? so nice to be able to take 1 year leave.. i was on leave til nov last year when school has already closed so essentially only started teaching since Jan. But i really find that it's not easy to balance everything. Tough. i would have quit if not for the $$.. i like to shop la what to do.. hehe

dvd/cd
i hope i'm not gonna sound silly here but how do you actually get your babies to sit down quietly to watch the cd/dvds?

my friend swears by the My Baby Can Read series cos her son whose only 2 months older cld read many words that were taught on the cd when he was only 14 months old. so she bought me a whole set for my son's birthday. tried to let him watch but he doesn't seem to be able to sit quietly til the end. he'll watch certain parts and then attention wanders. how ah? just continue to play the cd or should i stop when this happens?

eating
maybe some of you can advise...?

my baby hates fish! from day 1 when i intro porridge to him (at abt 8 mths i think) he makes that gagging action every time its fish porridge. even til now. how ah? for a while i stopped trying to force it down on him and goes with what he likes. he eats most everything else. when i brought him to australia, i fed him bits of fish from my own fish and chips. those fried kind he takes. he just doesn't like the cooked kind. but how can eat fried one rite? so oily and unhealthy!

yest my mom cooked some porridge with cod fish and he managed to down a bowl but vomitted it out after a while. how? fish is supposed to be essential for brain development right? the omega3 and all... anyone with similar situation at hand?

was thinking of giving him supplements like cod liver oil or sthg. what say y'all?

mum2be, kissbb,

actually there are many positive about the JG playclub also
I mostly shared about the positive aspect of them all these while cos its not easy to confirm or articulate such sublte differential that makes a teacher a life changer. Its not all bad. Some teachers are good and more sincere. His 2 main teachers had moved to further studies or edu-drama. Everywhere, there are definitely blacksheeps... and those who just go thru the motion without truly having that compassion. S did learn much things in his playclub... like singing all those songs in both languages, eating hot dogs and apple juice and cheese which he had never used to eat, some table manners, art and craft. And its at the playclub when I first realised that he is quite difficient in maindarin speaking and thus started 9 months ago to speak in both languages to him
For him, its just that I felt he may have reached a saturation point in the playclub setting and so I withdraw him slightly early, he would have graduated to edudrama next year also since he is going to be 3 years old next year... I still have much faith in JG... that's why J is going to the same billingual playclub next jan and S will continue JG in the speech and drama class next term.

different teachers and style suit different children... I guess S being more reserved and withdrawn needs a different type of teacher...

btw, lorna whiston preschool is a preschool setting just like chiltern house is to JG. lorna whiston enrichment is different.... so if i do give feedback, it will be the preschool only
one more thing, ya I also heard someone mentioned that LW is good in the sense that they are less commericialised... this I have yet to experienced... hopefully its true. T

wow like alot of teachers here huh!!

Cheri - I was looking high and low for the mommy and me cds. u bought from Amazon already huh?

famela - actually my boy also wander about when I played any VCD/DVD. Esp if it's repeat. He seems to rem where is the "interesting" part... will sure turn his head to watch it. if not, he will be playing with his toys etc.

I think it's ok as i do not encourage those stare until dun blink eyes kind.

but if it's a brand new DVD/VCD, 80% of the time he will STARE at it.

Peng
Missed your postings. Hope you and your family are recovering well! *Hugs*.

Jun Library
Sounds good. but logistic is a headache right? Unless we meet often. :p

Morning byes
with Gabby is easier now. Thanks for all who read all my grumblings..hehe. She would hug me and wave bye bye. Actually think I am the one that taking longer time to adjust. Still kindof hard to pull away from her. paiseh..

Mum2B
Are you better today? Think as moms we over use our muscles without realising it. Also, I feel more pain during ms because of hormonal effect?

Shichida
Personally, I was getting really lazy at home. And G was not looking at cards. So signed up to get myself going and to learn some tricks. :p I am also thinking about taking a break next term coz maybe going for holiday etc and will miss a few class. But just worry that may have to get G to get use to the class setting again. She refuses to return her class materials!

kissbb
The quality of mylittleones good? Not like those earlier BP of 1000 cards kind of quality right? :p

Cherri
I got one Mommy & Me Dvd too. It used to be G fav. Now she still loves it but she 'made friends' with brainy babies..hehe.

happymum
Can gat m&M at Laser Flair. Selling at S$19.90 for a DVD. Value for money coz got Spanish + English. Can use as foreign language stimulation too.

famela
My G is the type that stare at the TV for her fav/ner dvd. And I have to disturb her sometimes so that her eyesight won't be affected in the long run. 8( But once she gets familier, she may walk around a bit and look only when it gets to the part she likes. Think our kids know what comes next. G verbalise it a few times and that is why I know.

Poohy,
Understand how you feel about JG. Really salute you for being sensitive to S needs. I won't actually be too concerned with his social skills now though. Coz i believe as he is being nurtured consistently, he will eventually be comfortable to step out more. Think violin will probably be a really good tool to bring out more of him too. Music does amazing things.

Count me in for the Amazon spree, I wanna get the Mommy & Me DVD also. Nowadays as I sing to Jerica, I will incorporate some actions with the songs, so now whenever she wants me to sing, she will do the itsy bitsy spider action or twinkle star action...LOL..

Wah...so many teachers in our thread. You all really choose the right time to give birth yah? During the June holidays! Haha.

Famela, maybe the fish in the porridge is too much so the smell is overpowering, you can try adding spinach, sweet potato, corn, beef, or other food into the porridge as well so that the fish smell will not be too strong. Can start on cod liver oil already, Jerica takes it once a day.

I was also looking high and low for Mommy&Me DVD but cant find it anyway.

The only laser flair I went was at IMM.. but also dun hv.

Where are the other laser flair shops?

Re: June babies playgroup
Sunflower, which part of north r u at? Both 11 & 18 Aug afternoon fine with me. Will need to 'book' hubby's car.

Re: SM
Yes, they are repeating the flashcards materials and songs for the past 4 classes. Wonder if that's y ER is getting more & more restless over the weeks or becos he's used to the environment. Actually I signed up to motivate myself to start on some home practice for him. Hehe....have been very slack despite having some cards at home.

Re: DVD/VCD
Hmm, I haven't been letting ER watch any children DVD programs. Tried bugs bunny, he din like it. Maybe too advanced for their age?? He loves the Daikin advertisement though....the blue daikin man :p He'll stare at the tv for the whole advertisement. Wen, where is Laser Flair?

famela: I am giving cod liver oil. You may want to try giving him a bit of freshly steamed fish by itself and see how he reacts to it.

famela,
special school no exams. but we have to do assessment and come up with our own checklist for all the topics we teach. Also need to prepare and make our own resources and teaching materials all by ourselves.

laser flair
at AMK, IMM, Funan Mall, Jurong West, Bedok,TP, Sun Plaza, Yishun.
I will go the one at bedok later to check it out.

MTDT,Rodeo
Think there is one Laser Flair at level 3 Century Square. They have quite a few shops islandwide. Try search their website and give them a call? Think their display sometimes can be quite messy..difficult to locate. The last time I went, have to wait for the shop assistant to search for half an hour. hehe.

For Gabby, she seems more interestd in real children. That could be one of the reasons that ER isn;t looking? Bugs bunny's is a bit blurry too right? I mean in terms of speech. :p

Famela,
G doesn;t mind eat fish alone. Not so with porridge or other food mixed up. It is easier for me to gauge whether she has taken the allocated portion. :p

Hello gals...
Wah... So many posts to read. Havent got enough time to catch up yet.

The function room at my place is not available on 18 Aug, morning or afternoon also not available. 11 Aug is available, but it gotta be in the morning cos I have important appointment in afternoon. How? Wanna just a swimming session by the pool side on 18 Aug or in the function room on 11 Aug in morning? If raining on 18 Aug, then my house already lor... Not big, but will become cosy with so many people. hahaha...

famela,
You have a very handsome boy
I heard cod fish is no no to young kids cos it's too nutritious.

kissbb, toto, sunflower,
Yesterday at JG was very good
We enjoyed it very much. A kept "talking" to and playing with his teachers. He was very atetntive during story time, and kept smiling during music time. I think last week was becos the main teacher was sick. Yesterday was much better
I am glad that I continued and gave her another chance
The class size was 8, including a new crawler and a trial toddler

mum2B,
Have lots of bed rest. And avoid carrying heavy things, including carrying F. If it does not go away or pain reduced even with lots of bed rest for a couple of days, you should see a doctor or orthopaedic already. It could be slipped disc.

SM:
I find SM is getting better for A
It seems getting better over the terms. I used to think the classes at SM should not repeat. However, after reading Shichida's book, I think it's good to have repetition at this stage. Repetition will enhance the "wiring" in their developing brain. Without repetition, the "wires" might only be wired up halfway. We also gotta cultivate their interests in "revising" what they already know, which is very important, I feel. Since we are using Shichida method and they will be very advanced when they start P1, if they are not used to "revising", they might get bored of school and their learning ability will decreased. That's Shichida's logic too

lyn - hmm... ok, maybe tat's true abt revising too. thanks for the input.

laser flair - IMM
did ask the staff.. but no results. :p
maybe will try other plcs.

din noe so many looking for this DVD also. hahaha :p think laser flair will get a sudden calls on this dvd. haha :p

lyn,

glad to hear that A is enjoying his class and your too. Wow 8, good class size, over at evans is packed.

rodeo,

haha its not my place. Is Lyn (happysunflower)

poohy,
no wonder last sat I saw you come then go! at first tot you going for 9.30 class.
Heard of good reviews for LW, do share your feedback after S attend. when is J starting at LW? both half or full day?

mtdt,

if you find it, let me know

heard about this long time back, but never got down to searching for it.
so are you organising the June Library?

Where to get Baby can read series? heard its good too.

Dor,
you got the wheels on the bus? nice? saw at carrefour but not sure if similar to yours

<font face="tahoma"> RE: playgroup
Seems like most mummies prefer 18 Aug. How shd we change to another day say...25 Aug? or still go ahead on 18 Aug then we can all get cosy at Lyn's place? What do you all say?? </font>

poohy, thanks for your sharing. actually, i do realise teachers tend to show some favouritism - but i guess you get this everywhere... have you provided any feedback to JG? i tot there are some meet the parents session where you can discuss S's development and concerns that you might have with JG?

Lyn, thanks for sharing on repetition. Next time, I will show more enthusiasm when J gets bored. Ha ha... now i have an excuse to recycle my flash cards...

Lyn, is your teacher Huimin? Huimin should be the main playnest teacher. Lynn is the stand in, she stood in once for J's class.

Amazon.com spree - I am interested too! Anyone knows how to use Vpost USA? If so, let's get organised!

Calling sunflower, lyn, poohy - do you have stage 3 GD Mandarin? i am missing these cards.

wen: wow, wait half hour ah!

Ya, ER may be interested in other children too, afterall, that's the only 'chance' he has unless we organise regular playgroup gatherings.

The Bugs Bunny DVD is of VCD quality. Speech also not that clear.

happymum123: do update us if u find stock there. Maybe we can get discount for getting in bulk since quite a number of us thinking of getting.

sunflower: paiseh :p tot same same haha....

lyn: Sat morning I cannot, cos got SM class at 9am.

Wen, mtdt,
I read in Shichida's book on the concern of many parents being "afraid" that their kids will be far advanced than other kids and lose interests when they go to school. Or being snobbish and stop learning. He talked about how to deal with these concerns when we are practicing the method. It's about cultivating their interests in revising and helping others in school. These are the things that are not "taught" in SM here. Or maybe they are being "taught" during parents session, which I only went once before. We also should not ask our kids to "show off" their acquired skills in front of other people. This will cultivate snobbishness, which is not desirable. hmm... I am guilty of that initially, but I try not to now. I did problem solving with A in front of my sis for her to "wow" before :p. Using video is good, but dun let the kid know. kekeke... cos parents are always proud of their own kids
Using video is not suggested by Shichida hor...

sunflower,
Last week was 8 also. Good number eh? Yesterday, at the playground, A enjoyed himself very much too. When in the "car" and I was pushing him around, he said and waved "bye bye" to my mum and classmates' parents. hahaha...

<font face="tahoma"> I read that most of the Jun babies are quite interested with the DVDs that you gals bought.

Wes doesnt show much interest. He will not pay attention when I played them for him but I observed he prefers advertisments especially the Huggies ad with 4 babies. hehehe</font>

toto,
hahaha... That's also my excuse to recycle my flashcards. After reading that, I took out all the GD cards to repeat again. hahaha... surprisingly, A was very excited too and at one go, can flash a lot of cards.
My main teacher is Lynn
I dunno if it's the same Lynn or Lin. I dunno the spelling of her name :p

I just checked. I also do not have mandarin stage 3. I am still at stage 2... :p

good morn ladies

sunflower

Re: Wheel on the bus
I find it good. there is story telling part and song. 1 VCD has 4 different stories. U can get them in Popular bookstore.

Re: Baby can Read
It used to be Mandy's fav. but now she started watchin the Wheel on the Bus already.

Think she likes to watch Tvs instead of seeing the flash card. Her attention lifespan is very very short when i flash to her. She will snatch the cards from me. I really do not know how to flash to her. Anyone to guide me???

But she will pick up cards which she is familiar to.. esp BALL. and say Ball. Banana.. she say nana. hahaha.. i find her so cute.

mspiggy - wat cds did u show wes? since he likes to see advert, maybe he will like those shows with "real" people instead of cartoon.

My boy started with "baby can read". maybe becos of the kids inside so he pay attention. then change to animals... so now afew of the baby einstin dvds is his fav. cartoon - only Leapfrog Letter factory. the rest like pocoyo like not much interest.

last nite played the "orchestra" vcd... he totally no interest. But it's me tat is very interested as I never know all the names of the diff instruments until last nite! hahaha :p

toto,

sorry forgot to update. I have stage 3, its slimmer cards - phases. but I don't have stage 4 but got stage 5. hmmmm... puzzling.

lyn,

8 good cos not so packed. so far my class about 10-13 depending on no-show, so can imagine quite packed if all came.

lyn, thanks for that. so i can start stage four safely.
re repetition - in fact, i have been repeating the pic cards and revising GD eng and mandarin with J, doing it as PS. he still loves it.

so you main teacher is Lynn? The malay/eurasian lady? mine is huimin. quite nice - same as sunflower and kissbb. she really loves J.

re PS - i do PS when my mum is here... sometimes when hb is here... think it should be ok, cos when J ges the correct answer, we all clap and he will clap... recently, after he point to the answer, he will clap immediately... ha ha... he was v confident that the answer is correct!

Dor,
Attention span need to be cultivated. Sometimes, gotta start from short and get longer as time goes by with constant cultivation. That's why those who go to SM should actually continue for a few terms. In the beginning, the toddlers' attention span will be limited and will get longer as time goes by. That was Jocelyn Khoo's "logic", and I think it's true.
Glen Doman also mentioned about slowly increasing attention span in one of his books.

RE: Amazon.com spree

I think amazon can go thru direct shipping to singapore instead of vpost using our CC. Why not everyone put down a list of what they want to buy here. I go and see how to go abt ordering them. Give me sometime hor..

sunflower - huh? you have stage 3? lyn? you don't have stage 3, like me? sunflower, stage 3 has how many words?

mspiggy - try showing wes national geo documentary? my nephew never liked kids shows - went st to watching documentaries, which is good.

<font face="tahoma">Hi MTDT,
Wes's watching Baby Einstin ones.

Maybe i shd join the amazon spree to get him more dvds and try out which one better. </font>

Dor - direct shipping is very expensive. per DVD is about $2.50 plus base charge. i tot Vpost is cheaper...

lyn

okie. i will try again. BUt i find her attention span on the TV is veri good. she can sit thru the whole disc but i always stop half way for her.. and she can repeat the same old VCD over n over again without getting bored.

My nanny is a very good teacher.. she really noe how to teach Mandy. Last time, Mandy see dog, she will woof woof.. Now, if we say woof woof, she will say Dog. I really salute her.. everyday got new words for her.

<font face="tahoma"> Toto,
oh yes.. he likes national geo and also discovery channel. He also likes F1 race.

I have vPostUSA but never used before :p</font>

toto,

ya lor, funny right. think they have slightly different packaging for each 'edition' .
eg my english set slight different from yours & lyn. remember i was saying i don't have some cards, realised its in vol 2 instead of 1.
the stage 3 about 40 cards each set, have 2 sets.

toto

haha... i thot that is the easiest way out mah.. i never try vpost before.

Or anyone have use Vpost here and have been buying stuff from there?? kekeke

dor,

vpost usa - have but never used wahahaha..
sounds complicated to me but according to some shifu here, very easy le.

mandy so clever
learning & speaking diff words each day.

wen,

i didn't purchase the flashcard from previous BP, so i dun know how's the quality... the littleone flashcard is 280-300msg.. i saw them b4 i purchase.. still ok, mostly pic... they haven't deliver to me yet.. will let u know again

sunflower,
yap.. received the email from them... have to wait again... like very long liao

toto,
Lin used to be the main teacher for the playnest before huimin come in.. as i mentioned to lyn before, actually i prefer Lin more than huimin.. cause she can give alot of advise for parenting. huimin is more energetic cause she is young.. but if u are looking for advise, she can't really provide much.. just my personal thought..

poohy,
thanks for sharing your thought... any chance that we can know the blacksheep so that we can avoid??

lyn,
Great to hear that A and u enjoyed the class.. take time to get used to the new env

DVD,
wow, so many good DVD around.. our bbs really pampered with choice!!

Dor, think someone here knows how to use vpost... some mummies also use comgateway...

i have comgateway.... bought some mags from US before. let me review the procedures to order, will update all of you again.

<font face="tahoma">Dor,
I have.. never try them before but I 'tompang' my friends' before.

vPOSTUSA Shipping Price (SGD)
Books/Audio Books = $12.22 + $8.14Xa
Audio Cds & DVDS/VHS = $8.14 + $5.09Yb
Others: (Apparels, Toys, Electronics, Software Games) = $13.24 + $9.16 per kg* thereafter.

*based on volumetric weight@ or actual weight whichever is higher

Magazines Subscription per magazine at $7.12 (Normal Mail) and per magazine at $9.37 (Registered Mail)

Note: Delivers to your letterbox (Singapore address registered with vPOST). </font>

<font face="tahoma"> Where X is number of books,
Y is number of CD/DVD/VHS title
and Z is the product value in equivalent Singapore Dollars (SGD).

a For box/collection/series sets, every 2 books or part thereof, X will be counted as 1. So, for box set with 5 books, the shipping charge will be $12.22+$8.14(3)

b For box/collection/series sets, every 2 CD/DVD/VHS-ROM/Tapes or part thereof, Y will be counted as 1. So, for box set with 4 DVD Pack, the shipping charge will be $8.14+$5.09(2).

@ Volumetric weight is calculated by (Length X Breadth X Height)/366 where the dimensions are in inches; or (Length X Breadth X Height)/6000 where the dimensions are in centimeters. </font>