(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

wow... many babies here have "en" as one of the name

re: semicon industries
i'm doing mgmt accounts but in semicon industries. this industry not stable... ups and downs all the time but i'm kinda of stuck.

mich: So nice of u to wait for me to join u all for dinner. So let me know when/where ok? I can't stay too long cos have to go home to put ER to bed.

My hub don't want to go back to semicon industry. He said it's not stable, also staying in cleanroom in the long run is no good for health.

happymum, mich,

my J also got en... her name is Yi En.
popular ... i think tinklebell's boy also got the character en.

lyn,

me opposite as your hb.. in the past 10 years, I had started in the strictly network engineering field... designing enterprise network and network security research. Then I moved to consulting and do turn key specialised development.. so that's considered software component development. Now I move to application security... its the hotest arena in IT security. I used to specialised in network and server security... but had moved on to the more advanced area of application side. Some of my kind of job is quite interesting in the sense that... its like those hacker job... only we are hired to hack legally

Indeed u r rite that application people always gotta depends on the support people for implementation... hehee esp in the end user environment. That's why I was never in the real application development area... all these while, I was always in the advisory or consulting team.... mainly give advise...

mich,
opps...hehee...dun hv ur sg no.
Yest, slept too much..today blur blur
860424.gif

aishite,
wow...22 hours labour! Shannon too comfy in ur tummy, don't want to come out

Names :
When we got the master to name Jerica, he gave us a few names : Ke Yu, Min En, You Yun, the rest cannot remember liao. We were deciding between Ke Yu & Min En, eventually we decided on Ke Yu for the meaning, if we had chosen Min En, can join the 'En' group...lol

Lyn,
Thanks for compliment. this photo was taken on her birthday, but she fell sick after that and lost wt, now not so chubby liao, sad... When she was smaller, she look very much like a boy, strangers didn't even ask me boy or girl, just assume she's a boy though she wears pink!!

My hb spent 4 years in Cambridge. Forgot to mention we will go to Southampton next year if confirmed. You live in UK before? You don't like it there? I have friends in London, but all single... I don't know anyone with kids there, so really worried tat Xin En will be lonely there. I told hb that we must try our best to let her go playgroup no matter how tight we are.

Oh, FOC under National Health Care is it? But my hb says UK NHS very lousy, so I want to go private, but again private very ex!!! another choice is to come back Spore, but very logistic problem.. sigh everytime I think about it, headache maybe should just let things go by nature course

weaning
My girl was on total breastmilk till shes one year old. I only started giving her Gain IQ last week. Initially, she rejected, I have to coax her very hard to drink. End up every time drink formula milk, must on her birthday DVD to show her. I did a photo slideshow on DVD for her birthday, she loves to watch that. When she watch that, will kuai kuai open mouth to drink. So far, thank goodness the weaning off is getting on. I give her 2 breastmilk feed and 2 formula feed a day, will slowly increase formula and decrease breastmilk.
What about you? Do you still latch on? I stopped latching when Xin En is 11 months old, to prepare her for weaning. Thank goodness, she didnt demand for it too when I stop.

Rodeo,
your son also has en? micheles Brendan also has en.. same en as my xin en?

So many bb has en - me, poohy, michele, rodeo,tinklebell. Anymore?

I choose this character myself. like it for its meaning. I hope my girl will grow up to appreciate and love her life and people around her.

poohy, FATE! hardly come across anyone w EN in tw and yet our thread got so many liao!

spicy, u should have!!

BH, since never choose, why post... make me read!! :p

happymum... 'en' gratitude right? my 'cai' is $$ haha!! when people see his name, they ask, wah! mommy must be $$ face!!
'cai en' be grateful that he has $$, must appreciate $$. if he becomes rich in the future... (warren buffet!!)

soh ah... CHUM! i thot 7588... and lagi CHUM now... i CANNOT find my sim card!!

spicy, lost sim card how? must pay $, same no. or must change?

Kelly's Chinese name is QiQi ... it means courageous and virtuous. Anyway, my grandpa was reading the yellow color book stating our past, current and future lives quite a few months ago. He said that Kelly is a sleeping dog but is destined for a good and comfortable life. I went wow. I remembered the geomancer whom we consulted did studied Kellys five pillars of destiny. He said something like there are two to three obstacles that we have to get over in the first few years of her lives. If we could get over it, then, she will have a good life.

Sunflower,

From http://www.raysahelian.com/flaxseed.html

Fish oil versus Flaxseed oil
Q. What is your opinion on fish oil supplements, and why not just take flaxseed oil since it has omega 3s? How much is needed to take daily?

A. There are several Omega 3 fatty acids. They are named ALA (alpha linolenic acid ), EPA (eicosapentanoic acid) and DHA (docosahexanoic acid). ALA is found in flaxseed oil whereas EPA and DHA are found in fish oils. ALA is able to convert into EPA and then into DHA, but this takes several enzymatic steps in the body, and not everyone efficiently converts ALA into EPA and DHA, particularly with aging. So, the bottom line, I prefer fish oils to flaxseed oil, although a small amount of flaxseed oil is also good to take. For those of you who don't want to take any fish products, DHA, extracted from algae, is sold by itself.

I personally prefers DHA from algae, which Indinine has

For fish oil, it gotta be fish oil from cold water fishes, such as tuna and salmon. Cold water fishes has the most DHA. Cold water fishes normally are deep sea fishes. The deep sea is polluted with mercury and other heavy metals. I know already... Or take vitality plus to remove the heavy metals from our bodies... kekeke...

From http://www.homeschoolmath.net/teaching/fats-intelligence.php

"DHA is not an essential fatty acid (at least not for adults) - the body can make it from ALA. But ALA(alpha-linolenic acid) IS an ESSENTIAL omega-3 fatty acid for both children and adults. The best food source of ALA is flax seed or flax oil. If you opt for flax seed, you need a little coffee grinder to grind the seeds in because they are hard to chew properly. If you do not consume ground flax seed immediately, pack it tightly into a container and store in fridge, because the ALA oil in it goes rancid quickly when exposed to air. Add freshly ground flaxseed to oatmeal, non-fat yogurt, or fruit smoothies.

Flax oil should come in a dark sealed bottle and be refridgerated because light, oxygen, and heat destroy the essential fats in it. "

Mich, LOL!!

Have to pay for replacement SIM card, can use back old # of cos. You misplaced at home or lost outside? If lost outside, must quickly terminate the sim card to prevent illegal usage!

Lyn,

thanks for the info

keke tough choice. if I give flaxseed, afraid if not converted then that means no EPA & DHA, so effect is lesser...
but like you mentioned, must choose good source for cod liver or fish oil properly.
hmmmmm.... processor working....

happymum, mich: Ya, same en aka gratitute. His rui is rui4 zhi4's rui4 aka intelligent. I chose this name from the list provided by you1 long2 zi3. Can't rem what the rest were but I like this the best, unique + sound good 8)

Migrating/Relocating
Wow, didnt know so many ppe are planning to leave Singapore. Hubby really wanted to got Melbourne until our last visit about 4 years back. He changed his mind and said maybe after retirement.

Sunflower,
You very quick lehhehecan engage toto to be shipping/shopping agentlol.

Lyn
You let A ransack freely ah. He is very blessed. I am too lazy to pick up things..so only let her ransack the bookshelves so far. Not letting her touch the drawers or go in the kitchen

Yeap, also find Gabby prefers normal day-to-day things. Eg. Cloth pegs, empty containers and boxes. She can stand next to a big empty carton and put in things, then take out again and again.. I got bored before she did..hehe.

Paula,
Is the Tefal kitchen set the one sold at S$99? With real-looking utensils?

Pawprint,
Maybe you can conduct class to teach how to make playhouse etc. Sounds really fun but I have no clue on how to do it. I cant even wrap presents properlykekehands like legs chiu kana ka (hookkien) hehe

Rodeo,
Good to know that the Photobook is willing to replace for you. Hope they will turn out fine this time.

Lyn,
I am interested to go to zoo..but me also go only 1-2 hours only. When do you plan to go? Good luck for your exams.

Poohy, Lyn
Gabby hates words! If I show her pix, she will sit to see >100. But as soon as she sees words, she moves awayhow to teach her to read?? I gave up already. Just show her pix lor. Or sometimes, I show her ppt word followed by pix. But is it good for her ? I read somewhere that can only show 1set either in words or pix. Not both together.

Aishite,
22 hours! Wow, that is probably the longest time I rem anyone tells me

Spicegal,
I am interested in trial with JG too. Think it is easy to gather 6 toddlers here. But my preference with Evans. Let me know when they reply? Thanks.

Happymum
Good to know that bb XinEn is better. She is adorable. She lost chubby-ness? My Gabby toonow walking, no more looking like bb. She also looks like boyeven till now, some ppe can still ask if she is a boy or notin dress!

Rodeo,
SAP is popular here tooespecially among MNCs.

mspiggy,
Lots of industry also not stable nowadays, especially manufacturing side.

poohy,
Wah... your kind of job is my brother's dream job... to hack... A few years ago, he was admiring someone in the US who hacked big companies' systems and went to jail. While in jail, that guy already got a very very high paid job. hahaha... irony, ain't it?

Another thing, do your kids prefers the computer or laptop? A loves the laptop... dunno is it becos I always use a laptop ever since he was conceived. hahaha.. and my home each one got one laptop...

lyn: My son loves laptop & PC keyboards. If we open the laptop, he will come & kpo, flip/flap the laptop cover and want to look at the screen. He is very quick to lay his hands on my laptop keyboard to pluck out the keys!!! I spent a very long time fixing back the few pcs he plucked out. Heng, can still repair but my shift key's feel is wierd now. So now, cannot keep open laptop lying around. Btw, my dog aims for the red rubber mouse on my IBM laptop. He has eaten many pcs liao.

lyn,

I never use laptop with the kids... I find the screen too small. Used my home computer LCD screen instead

the good thing abt my job is... its not easy to get into this line. Entry fresh graduate hardly land themselves in... takes many years of experience in many different areas to get in.. and becos I analyse the market and found that network and system security is possible to be automated since they are more or less stable, the next hardest and highest barrier to entry portion is the application security liao.. cos application is written by any tom dick and harry programmer... so many bugs and design flaws abound. Its this type of application that will require human interogation ... hard to automate since every application is different.

wen,

my J must be the odd one out. S also will run at the sight of words.... but J love them... in fact she loves words and BITS alike but I think she somehow have a great tolerance been shown hundreds of words in one session. I know that GD advocate not showing so much in one session ... but I somehow believe that the bb's capacity to absorb like a sponge... especially now that they are more vocal and mobile.. if she dun like, she can very well move away or protest.. I wont force her
What I do is show what I have and what she show interest in.

re: En

my J's En is also gratitude... and grace. I chose the name myself... to thank God for his grace of giving such a precious baby.
The first character "Yi" in my kids' names means abundance. I hope they will lead a life full of abundance. Combined with the 2nd character, it means full of grace. S's name is also chosen by me.... "Xi" means hope. Abundance and full of hope

Wen,
It gets really tiring to clear up the mess. And also gotta tolerate mess... Got brainwashed by Glen Doman's books. hahaha...
A also prefers the empty containers, boxes, cloth pegs, etc. hahaha... In the morning, to keep him occupied while I prepare his breakfast, I will put his favourite supplement in different containers of different sizes. Let him explore how to get to his food from the containers on his own. hahaha... Give me more time to prepare his food peacefully.

In Shichida class, sometimes the sensei shows words then pictures, so I suppose it's ok? Perhaps I have forgotten what I have read before. hahaha... Now do things for my own convenience :p

Maybe if Michele is interested in the zoo, then we will go on a weekday
But gotta be after my trip to KL. Perhaps late July...

Mich,
I didnt chk in stoller. Just pushed her 2 plane entrance and pass to flight attendant. Coz for security reason, cannot keep it with me..no space too. So, it was NOT counted in my luggage weight. But don't know if diff airline got diff rules. Mine was Malaysia airlines.

btw, those mummies who had lived in european countries... I am planning to bring my kids with me to tour some of the european cities like london, paris, switzerland, rome.... but not sure which month is the good time to go. I will definitely not wanna go in summer or those hot hot season. Is winter also no good? I dunno whether the shops will close early or museum will be closed etc... any idea?

mspiggy
me also stuck with manufacturing...if i have a choice i wont wanna go into this industry..=(
but now too old to change industry liao..who wants a married woman with kid? Haiz

re: laptop

as i'm typing now, my boy is playing wiht my laptop.
he is happily scrolling the screen up and down with the mouse button!!! so i read until giddy liao

Hi happymum123,
My boy brayden must have met your daughter xin en in the nursery on 2 june 06 cos he's born on 2 june at tmc too.
what time u give birth to yr gal? my boy came out 11.47pm late! what's yr ward? mine is 601 on 6th flr, a 2 bedder.

sunflower, US brand, tw too MAHAL!! 1200ntd 1 bottle!! glass bottle.

wen, i will try tat.

SOH!! u hao yi si to show people ur outdated blog ah... HAHA!!

paula: At least u do traditional diary. I never do anything!!! Sigh... anyway, I realised that I havne't been taking many pic of ER when I was doing up his photobook. Some months only have <5. Time flies.... Anyone conducting classes on how to do blog?

Re: En
ha, so all the bbies have the same en, all have nice name. Paula, kelly's name nice and very meaningful.

Wen,
Ya, Xin En used to be very chubby but now she has slim down a lot. I like her to be chubby actually. Same as gabby, she wear dress still got people tought she's boy!!

Poohy,
thanks for your compliment. I remember your J very chubby and cute too! And her hair is so long! Look so girly

Re: blog
Me also keep traditional journal for xin en. thought next time when she grows up, more "wen xin" to read journal with mummy's handwriting. but hor, I end up always scribble, dunno when en en grows up can read my handwriting or not! Now, I'm thinking of converting everything to a blog too, so that if I really go UK, easier to update family and friends of our life, but gotta wait till school holiday when I'm more free.

Serene,
what a coincidence! But i stay 3rd level, also 2 bedder. Xin En is born early in the morning.

happymum,
yap, my boy Aaron is wei-en.
Your dd's name is the combination of both my kids' names. Xin-Yi and Wei En => Xin En