(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

ok.. I gotta log out here liao... gotta limit internet time and do my work already... next week going for course and exams... kekeke... chat again...

poohy: I applied the PR myself. Still rem it cos it's TEDIOUS!!! Actually it's my hub who wants the PR. Took him 2 yrs to convince me to apply for it. haha...then took me another 1 yr prepare & then submit + ~1 yr to get approval. You can download the application form from www.immi.gov.au I applied under independent skilled scheme. You'll need to get lawyers to stamp certified true copy for whatever photocopied doc u sending to support your appln. Some parts u need to get certification from other bodies to support your supporting doc. Get some testimonial from spore police. The PR appln fee was A$1850 when I applied, think now more ex. I spent a total of about S$3k for everything. If u go the agent, they charge A$7k.

rodeo,

thanx... ok I will get my hb to do all those stuff haha... I normally distanced myself from such paperwork thingy.

rodeo,
i'm lucky to meet a kind officer. gave him reasons like going to move but found out preg, and also provide evidences that we are sincere to move coz that time we were really looking for houses to buy. hence provide them with all the docs etc. hence this officer buys our story

poohy,
we applied on our own also under skilled migration. like rodeo mentioned, it's tedious but save lots! i applied like 6 yrs back hence only paid A$1000+++ cant recall the actual amt. Yes, need to spend on medical checkup and also get all the docs certified. But dont recall spending alot on these portion.

They have min points to meet before you can apply. You might want to do self assessment first. Details from the link that rodeo provided.

Hope this is useful

poohy,
my hubby n i r also in the middle of applying oz pr. now they want us to go for medical checkup, police clearance, etc. we applied last year, but took 2+ years to dillydally.. not sure if we r going to use the pr status if really accepted though.

lyn,
thanks for the kind words
i think feli forgot abt the fall 2 mins afterwards haha.. amazing how babies are so resilient. btw that baby now full of bruises on her legs, falling off so often

hi poohy,

saw from some previous posts that your son attended GUG before.
care to share why did you choose JG over GUG?
i'm still trying to decide!

thanks in advance!

toto,

out teacher also huimin... which mean she has to conduct lesson in both places?? what is yr class timing??

i will continue the playclub in Term 1 08... either tue and thur, wed and fri, can add on other mandarin class on mon...

wow, u show 600+ flashcard a day!!! how u find so many flashcard?? u DIY???

wow so good... can stay in US.. i really missed my US trip.... haha.. maybe jun mummies can organise a us trip to visit u!!~

mspiggy,

yap, sunflower and i are in evans road..

lyn,

i also got prob flashing the flashcard... they crawled here and there... so sometime just flashed and whoever see the cards, benefit it...

any mummies got good ideas how they can sit well and see the cards??

Serene,

evans got aircon lah, sometime not so strong... now improve liao, last time even worse... me like sweating during the singing session...

i went for GUG trial twice... honestly, i was a bit disappointed also... maybe i compared with JG... the classroom is small... table are dirty... teacher's singing like no strength... but must say, their program coverage seems like wider than JG..

poohy,

congratulation to yr hubby!!

my hubby also think AnB need to serve NS... and like them to be officer!!! haha

Seems like alot of mummies here got aus PR!!

kissbb, hi hi... my class is at 11 am. yours is at 3 pm.. so maybe they run around the two branches? i quite like huimin le...

mtdt,

the website not so updated one...

toto,

ya maybe... forum, there is 1 teacher lynn.. very good.. used to teach AnB in their 1st term

Wow so much to catch up on... randomly read some of the posting. I will be bringing Chloe for her 1st prevnar jab this Sat & I have also heard that the CP jab is best given after 14mths.

Toto, Sunflower
Do add me [email protected] to your blog.

My girl fell sick today again. She just recovered from a 2 week flu one week ago, now sick again. She has a 39.9 degree fever when I picked her up after work, rushed her to PD. Then just now on her mattress, she made a dive for the pillow at the edge of the wall, and knocked against the wall, hit the same place where her ba lu gu is! Sob sob...

Relocating
I may also go to UK next year for a couple of years with hb and girl, now also troubled over planning for no. 2.... Thinking whether I should have no. 2 here in SG or go there and have no. 2, but worry about heathcare and delivery costs in UK.

toys for 3 years old
someone asking about tat? I'm not too sure too, but when I studied, my childhood lecturer taught that kids this age are truly learning how to share and play together, so think pretend play toys and construction toys will be quite suitable? Also kids this age are at stage where thinking is dominated by perception.

Kitchen Playsets,
ooo- very VERY nice but rather pricey for my pocket! And too big for my space, LOL.

A fren bought a $50-100 range set has fridge, sink, stove, plates, for her son. Another fren bought a slightly more ex set that has washing machine, cantilevered ironing board even.

Problem is I can't recall brands... anyway these stuff must wait for special offer.
I don't have an all-in-one, I have a table-top small stove, a separate ironing board etc. But works well enough, my girl washes her own cups *for real* at our sink sometimes.

Carton playhouses,
Really not that difficult, I made a puppet hse before which had a stage and felt curtains (can velcro finger puppets onto the curtains to tell story). Another fren has made TWO already... the second house was HUGE and tall, the kids pretended it was a bus!
Go to back of supermkt, can *discreetly* collect their used cartons... and they're relatively clean! Must be discreet and not too greedy, I got warned once, hehe. However Irvin is still in everything-can-gobble phase, I've had to dig cardboard pieces out of his mouth... so no such projects for now!

Poohy,
u still inviting for this Sunday or other days? Wld love to pop by tho it's far, I can do a stopover at PIL's before or after or something.

chickenpox,
heard suppressed chickenpox via vaccine may cause shingles instead. Which seems more unpleasant even.
H/e, that time with #1, HB said go for it cos he said I hadn't got chickenpox so better to try make sure the kid doesn't catch and pass to me, haha. After she got jabbed, no adverse results seemingly, but HB changed mind and now thinks vaccine is bad. So for #2... no idea yet. We're late for his 1yr old jabs and assessment too!

Swim diaper,
2 types- disposable (buy in pack fr supermkt), or reusable.
Meant to prevent pool from being contaminated when baby POOS, will not prevent pee... of course use a size that FITS
IMPT to use because poo contamination has serious health effects on people swimming inside, even if poolwater is chlorinated. I *think* they fine $ too, but not sure.

photobook,
rodeo u just hit reply on the order confirmation email that photobook sent you- that has your order number so they know who u r.

music,
thx Poohy for the evaluation.
BTW I switched Athena over from juzmusic to a home-based in Pasir Ris... HB accompanied both and compared, thinks the home-based slightly better. But ultimately not going to be "serious" abt it unless she shows she WANTS to lor. Play, play, have fun, gd enough for us

pawprint,

I am inviting for PG on any weekend after 2pm. So anytime everyone wana have a PG, can consider coming my house if u dun mind the distance.

mspiggy, rodeo,

thanx for the info... I had done the self assessment many years ago and qualified... that's why had been considering applying for OZ PR for a long time. Only concern is at that time was trying to conceive, then expecting, then come J... blah blah blah.. scared later I apply and soon it will be time to move.... we are still not prepared to move at this time. What I plan is... apply PR, go over for a tour, then evaluate if its a place we wanna spend our lives in. Before looking for a job...

muffinmocha,

I like JG better becos I find the quality of the teachers much better. Their style are louder and more dramatic.. able to capture the kids' attention. I find the GUG teachers when I was there unable to capture the attention of the tods... half of the class was crying or doing something else. But then it may just be my one encounter. I may still bring J for a trial there since she cant start JG yet. But J will start Kindermusik next week.. so will see how it goes...

re flashcards..

toto, J can sit through at least 400 flashcards too daily. Its just that I am always in a hurry to rush for work thus gotta stop at that.... hopefully in 2 week when my office move.. I can find more time... too lethargic lately...

okipoki,

added you

poohy,

thanks for the invite,

kissbb, toto,

per orientation info, huimin teaches the morning class at forum and afternoon at evans. winnie will be taking the 2 morning classes at evans.
lyn, not sure as she didn't mentioned.

toto,
I prefer the 2 teacher assistants during holiday programmes, keke thot they more loving and friendly.

mum2b,
once they asked you to go for medical checkup and police clearance... means you're getting your PR very soon! congrats!!!!

poohy,
no worries. my suggestion is go for tour first to access if that's the place you want before you apply PR. Reason being the cost of the PR is getting really high. What's the point of getting then decided the place is not what you want. Too pricey.

We almost lost our PRs unless we are prepared by Oct this yr (if we dont get this extension). Hence I think better think twice first before applying. that's my thoughts

sunflower and kissbb,
are you gals on waitlist for the playclub at Evan also? what time did you chose maybe the boys will be classmates

mspiggy,

nope, I'm not on the waitlist.. the recept asked me to wait till sep/oct till enquire le.How about you? which class are you in?
maybe can arrange same class

Good morning mummies!!

mspiggy,

as what i know, if we are in the playnest, no need to put in waiting list for the weekday playclub.... will automatically "upgrade"... but the weekend bilingual then i not sure...

any mummy has Braun ear thermometer? How to open the battery cover and take out battery? I think mine battery low, but I don't know how to take out and change battery. Need to monitor my girl's temperature frequently, still high...

hi morn

i m looking for Mummy m_m_m . Anyone has her contact? plse pm me. I wont b seein forum today. Am real busy with work.

Btw, all shoes are posted out except Kong & Kiki are still with me. Sorry for the delay. Cant find time to go post office to register them. Will do by today, if possible.

Ths i hv already sent out, think u all shld recd by now.

ok..gotta to go now.

Happymum, use the tip of a ball-point pen to press on the battery door lock (a tiny round circle) just on top of the battery compartment. Then you can slide down the cover.

sunflower and kissbb,
i just submitted the registration form for weekend bilingual on SAT 11.30 - 1.30pm for Evans. not sure will get it or not?

not sure when i called to enquire, the lady (Michelle) asks me just to put in the registration form.

Am trying to "pull" muffinmocha to join JG too. hehehe

Muffin, you hear me???? hehehehee

happymum,
i do have the ear thermometer, but havent explore how to change the battery yet. let me check the instruction sheet tonight.

mispiggy: Wow, u kept the doc to look for house ah. So are you planning to move over? Which part? I have up to 2010 to decide whether to make the move but there are just too many considerations. I was at Perth for the 1st entry and we bunked in at my hub's fren's place. I really like the place and felt the environment is great for bringing up kids but doubt I can find job for the type of work I'm doing there, prob have to be SAHM, then I wonder if I am cut out for SAHM + hub has to make sure he earns enough to support us.

mum2b: Congrats! You'll be getting your PR approval soon once u submit those doc. Hehe... I also dilly-dally for the appln, partly becos it's hub who wants to go but I end up doing all the paperwork. Like u, I also duno if we'd really be using the PR too. Feel a bit wasted if not using it though, esp after all the efforts and $$ put in.
Is your gal better now?

pawprint: They have responded to my complaints, said will send me rectified copies once they find a solution to resolve it. So keeping fingers crossed loh.

poohy: Share the same concerns that you raised. That's y me still here although have gotton the PR...Still considering this & that, etc.... Wow, how u managed to flash so many cards a day??? My flashcards are like white elephants at home 8(

Dor: I received the shoes. Thanks!

Rodeo,
Both hubby and i prefer Perth, mainly becoz we know each other there. hehehee no lah... the pace is what we want. and perth is blooming now so more job opporunities compared to last time.

SIL & family in Melb, initially thought will move there so that it's easier since they already settled down. but then we felt that we should not be moving becoz of that reason else we might as well stay in Singapore. in the end, Perth is still the place for us.

have you been to other cities? what you think abt the rest? i know most pple prefer Melb.

morn morn... this morn wake up so early!!
wait i go nap!!

<font color="ff0000">seeking for companionship during my stay</font>

anyone wanna go for trials? hi teas, shopping, anyone can apply leave after leave?
please accompany me!!

btw... i forgot my mobile no. who has? please give me. Thanks!

toto, kissbb,
thanks for sharing the info for JG.
Sometimes, i really hope i can take up a part time job instead of full time, then i can have the chance to bring my boy for the classes, spend more time with him. Maybe next year, i should seriously consider that.....

mspiggy: I have been to sydney, melbourne, tas, brisbane, goldcoast, cairns & perth. My hub wanted to go sydney, he studied at UNSW. I had the opp to take 4wks leave years ago then went to bunk in with my ex-col studying in sydney. Concluded that I din really like the place, it felt a bit congested, maybe that's becos my fren lived in the city centre, we could see harbour bridge from her apt. Perth, on the other hand, gave me a totally diff feel. There's lots of breathing space and u don't get that ya1 bo4 gan.... I guess the main pull of Perth is the space & relaxed environment it offers. I love the houses there! Was browsing the papers and daydreaming of owning & living in such a house....imagine, there'll be a playroom, 3 big bedrooms, garage....how to get that in spore!!! Hub's fren advised that it was the best time to buy a place there when we visited. He's very right. Now regretting not getting sth cos the property prices has gone up 30% since then.

rodeo,
Yes we love Perth coz of the space and pace. Already feeling great once we touched down at the airport. heheheee But alot of my friends thought Perth is boring.. they asked me not to go Perth.

you're right! perth is blooming hence the ppty prices also soaring sky high now! i also regetted not daring to invest then!

the once down and out surburb (Bentley) is not so popular and EXPENSIVE! when we were there last mth, we almost flipped when we saw the prices. Must do serious planning really soon. When are you targeting to move? My advice... dont be like me... last min panicked coz it's either move or give up!

not sure if you remembered Hidora (her boy also Jun06 baby). her hubby found a job in Perth and she's moving end of this yr.

michele,
pai say... cant meet up during weekdays. are you gals meeting for the "tai tai" gathering? maybe you pass the float to one of the mummies (like DOR) then i can arrange to meet them on weekends? hehehe

mich,

my boys JG and SM start liao.. so quite busy..

or u can come and join in the JG trial and meet sunflower and i on tue and fri 3pm evan road..

Good morning mommies!

Mum2b,
Wah.. you are also thinking of relocating to OZ ah... Last time I wanna migrate to Canada. After my few years in Britain, I changed my mind. Stay in Singapore.. hahaha...

kissbb,
Can strap them down on the high chair. hahaha... A is fine to look at the cards on high chair. But I just read that we should not strap them down during flashcards, so I changed my style.

poohy,
So good... J can sit through 400+ cards. Can share how to achieve that? It really makes me wonder if A is hyperactive

toto,
Huimin got more energy rite?

happymum,
Ouch... sayang sayang Feli...
Which part of UK are you going? Confirm already? So envy...
I also read that 3-6 years old gotta learn how to share and play togather, and having control of their actions.

pawprint,
I realised that A dun like his toys as much as the normal things that we use. I have kept a big big box that was used to deliver his car seat. He loves to play there. Last nite he was cranky and I started to play hide and seek with him around the box. He was so happy... hahaha... free toy...

sunflower,
Do you mean the chinese teachers? I think they have higher energy level. kekeke...

mspiggy,
By when do you need to migrate there? Will you be going to Perth? Or other parts of Australia?

mspiggy,
hmm.. Sat 11.30-1.30pm. I dun mind... Let me ask my hubby :p Do you know how much?
I am confused between playclub and playnest
Is it one is weekday and the other is weekend? Do they do different activities?

rodeo,
Go there and be care taker for the old folks lor.. if you are willing... very very easy and good money. My mum's friend is a caretaker for the old folks in Perth. She works part time and she said no problem of finding job. She can still quit then go holiday, and find another job easily. And she's in her 50s. I know someone who is a cleaner in Perth. My mum's friends told us that Perth is a place for retirement kind of job when we visited, cos in Singapore, we will have difficulty in finding a job when we reach 45 years old. hmm... Dunno how is it in other parts of OZ. Do you know? Which part of OZ you thinking of going?

Michele,
Good morning! hahaha.. you forgot your number... lol...
When will you be back? I can "apply leave after leave". hahaha... But I am mostly interested in Orchard, City hall area for shopping and dining... Let me know, and I arrange my time...

lyn dear, then where else to go besides those places? i only know orchard!!
i wont take u to woodlands dun worry or changi...

kisbb: ok, next tues i will be there
at JG, not SM, muacks!

pre-order bps... why must we pre-order ah...
that means when they have enuff volume then they order from manufacturer? we also can do that right... then spice u start bp pls!!

lyn,
as mentioned earlier... we perfer Perth.
we have till YR 2012 before expiry. but we decided we cant wait till then else history repeats. and we will panicked!

JG playnest is meant for 6 mth - 18 mth, but they are weekdays classes hence i cant sign Wes up coz not convenvient for my mum to bring him there.

As for playclub, it's meant for 18 mth - 3 YO. there's weekdays and weekends. i can only opt for weekends hence i'm KS, already sign him up on waitlist. we are more keen to 'nature' hence going for Evans (Sat). Forum has only Sun classes for this playclub