(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

serene,

me too! When my boy attended GUG first time, doing the art n craft, me really freak out... I hate all those mess... I guess it must have rubbed off on him and he din like those paint stuff from then on. I know its hard to overcome at my age, so I get my hb to go in whenever its art n craft time at JG.... slowly he overcame with daddy's help I think.

serene, lyn - yea man... nowadays, J also very adventurous - simply loves walking, then falling on both hands, then walking again... think he can take about 10 steps without support. v good... but that means i have to monitor him more closely. last week - he had his first blue black from knocking himself near the top of the stairs.

lyn, wow... go to uk... that's good. expose bb to a diff culture and environment. wow... ur gf at cambridge? must be really tough studying there. any problems with getting work there for both you and your hb?

most probably, we are relocating to US in July 08 for 3 yrs. i haven't really decided whether to join my hb during the 1st yr. will see how the kids go...

wow... musical notes on .ppt? i am still relying soley on flash cards. J still loves them, esp when he sits on his potty in the morning, i can do all my 600 odd flash cards... hee hee... plus recently i bought him some Jap board books from kino, and he simply loves reading them...

serene,
A has been exploring the kitchen! He has finished with the living room, except the TV console. He will open the drawers and take everything out and go away. At least your boy puts them back on the table. A dun! He's getting his hands on the fridge drawers too. Just now he nearly fell from the bed. He climbed and played on my sis's bed. Very tired... Thankfully I have my mum to help me..

toto,
u consider to go US? thought u planning for no 2?
That day, when the weather so hot, up to my nerve, i tell my hub again to think of something in australia and we join my bro in melb next time...can't stand the weather here!

serene, yes, we planning for no 2 now. that's why i mentioned... kids... in my previous post (hint hint)....

lyn,
No! Bray oso wanted to explore the kitchen but we close the door! he oso open the drawer of the tv console and took out his cds to play n mess all over the flr.... i cannot understand y he loves to explore those others and not his toys! dun think he play his toys for more than 10mins each time! he loves the remote control and phone!

lyn,

Many music school including yamaha, cristofori offers suzuki method. I had shortlisted mandeville and mac music school house based on good reviews and the quality of the teachers. Below 2.5 years old, most of the schools offers baby music appreciation. This is good in the sense that at this age, their motor skills are not ready for the rigor of playing a musical instrument like woodwind, brass, strings. Thus most of the time the exposure at this age is elementory music theory, some note reading, listening (perfect pitch), experimenting with instruments especially keyboards and percussions.

The youngest bb suzuki violin class so far in my knowledge seems to be that offered in mandeville. It starts from 2 or 2.5 years old (I cant rem off hand). There are 2 teachers in mandeville offering suzuki violin. One of them is sylvia khoo. Her class is more exp, has more student (15 in a class) and shorter in duration. Requires an interview with parents before the child will be accepted. I am interested in this class for S. She is known to have scouted and trained many of the gifted child violinists.. thus can be strict and demanding. I want to start S with bb suzuki there becos the age limit is lower. Utimately I may switch to Mac music school cos he is known to be more patient and good with tods, lower student ratio, more personalised.
For baby music appreciation, both are reviewed to be good.

www.mandevillemusic.com
www.macsmusicschool.com

lyn wow.... is A trying to whip up a meal for you? cool...

mspiggy, serene, no la... not yet. in the making.. ha ha... will update you all if i have good news... but i am sure by July 08, will be kidS lo...

wen,

hehee... my boy had not reach 3 years old yet leh so I may not know the 3 year olds so well..... plus different kids have different preference. Like for my boy ... I will definitely buy LEGO, blocks, building toys. Or tricycle or any pedal vehicle... no automatic ones though... me and hb never like those becos it do nothing except step on the button only... no exercises. Pretend toys like little people are great too. I am particularly into puzzles... and my boy learnt thru playing puzzles too.

Re:Ransacking
Looks like all our bb are in the ransacking stage, open drawers/cupboard doors, etc. Is it better for them to let them ransack or to restrict them? Mil dun let my son open all the doors/drawers. She will put her hands on them so he can't open them. She says they will ransack everything when they are 2yo or older if we don't stop them now so should not let them ransack. Any comments on this? Personally, I think it's better to let them ransack & explore cos they will learn through exploration. So I'll let him ransack only on weekends when mil not around :p

toto: has bb 2 arrived???

lyn,

wow UK would be a good place for A I think... but if u r there alone, wont it be stressful since u need to study/work?

Poohy,
opss..ya hor. S not 3 yet. Talked to a friend just now. She told me don't know what to buy for her boy 3+ yrs. Too many choices until confused tat is why thougt of u. =b

Ya, personally I like the building blocks and pretend play sets. And told her to get lots of puzzles too..keke. The June mommy shopping virus can spread to surrounding friends too...

hmm, i still want to go for my australia trip and visit my grandma in china next cny. so i'm thinking to plan for no 2 after cny next year...hope i'll get a year end mice...not sure can make it or not...

Lyn,

A so cute!!! ransack for his grapes!

toto,

ar no wonder you mentioning got garage sales, hmmm so goodgood, you buy more now later we can buy more from you :p
and you can be our agent in US, ship back for us

waiting for your good news

lamb - they got website, but I can't recall addy liao.

serene,

its 3x a week. can't recall exact fees, less than $1k per term of 10 weeks.

toto,
My gf and hubby are working in Cambridge. Their gal is coming to 3 years old. And she told me about how good the childcare and private schools there, apart from the cost. The cost is same figure as Shichida's course but in British pounds.
I have another friend studying in Cambridge, and wife working there, with a 5 months old baby. The infant care there is very good. They know exactly what they do with the baby daily. Things like changed diaper how many times and at what time, drink milk at what time and how much, etc. Am very impressed...
I have another friend in Edinburgh with a boy 4 months older than A. When I hear them being able to go outdoors almost daily, and the vast range of choices, i really envy them and feel like going there for a few years.
After I finish my paper chase, I can go to London and get a job in the financial sector. And it's easy with my paper and quite good pay also. But gotta think of my hubby's career. It's not easy to give that up. And my growing biz too... Lots to consider... And I like Singapore... kekeke...

You confirm going to US already?

poohy,

^5 I don't like those automatic cars too. Though looks cool when kid ride on it but no exercise and I worry that kid become lazy, everything also push button and move. I've 1 at home passed down from nephew, at 1st I ok, cos battery spoilt liao so boy only can sit in it or push it. Told them no need buy battery cos I won't let boy sit until he learns how to cycle etc which is few years from now. then my fil went to buy battery **faintz**
so told my hb keep it in storeroom!

mspiggy, serene, we jia you together! mice bbs...

serene, still would love to go to Mel to visit my frens. will see how things go... so many things on my mind... if we go to US... what happens to our house, car, etc... taking things one at a time...

lyn, am confident you will be able to get a job in uk since you got your degree from uk. but what about your hb? relocating the whole family is not easy, esp with dual income family and young kids...

sunflower,

your boy shd know how to cycle in abt 1 year .. dun have to wait few years haha
S already knows how to cycle few months back... he dun really like his ride ons as much now... since he can cycle everywhere liao...

toto,

u can just rent your house out and have extra income
relocating is indeed not easy... one party will definitely be affected if working... and child care arrangement may be a problem also unless the grandparents go over also

toto,
Wah... J can see so many flashcards. So good... You are very hardworking too. I only show A about 200+ cards a day. I am lacking behind in the preparation too.
Must share the good news with us ya?
So excited for you leh...

poohy,
Thank you for the websites

rodeo,
I read that from 12 to 18 months is exploration stage from Shichida book. I will tend to let him ransack. But will have to stand beside and keep a very close watch to prevent any accidents. It's very tiring. i am wondering how to motivate him to put all the things in a box when he ransack. hahaha...
I let A ransack the coffee table for the past few weeks. Now, he dun do that already. He used to take down all the CDs from the rack daily. Not so much already. I dunno is it he knows already, so will automatic stop and move on. I read that gotta satisfy their curiosity.

poohy,
I think if I really go, think my parents will follow.. unless my hubby can earn big big bucks there. hahaha... So far for our trip to WA, my parents also went. Next week, we are going to KL, and I am "ta-bao-ing" my parents too. hahaha...

sunflower,
He dun like his grapes lately. He will peel and throw on the floor in small pieces! I gotta keep cleaning. hahaha... But he seems to like it after his own ransack.

poohy, wow.. rent out my house? dunno whether it will be in a livable condition when i come back. dun think child care is a problem, can easily place J at a child care there, then can look after no. 2 myself. i wish my mum can go too... but she has her own life, and i cannot be selfish...

recalled you might also be contemplating relocating to the US for your hb's job prospects... maybe next time we can brainstorm how we can make this process smooth for our family.

lyn,

haha our little explorers! my boy likes to go to my CD rack, push open the cover, take out 1-2 cd, close it, open again, take out another 1-2 cds and repeat! everything I also have to clean up his mess, always go to the bookshelf and pull down his books all over the floor!

lyn,
you so cute... like the way you mentioned "tabao-ing" your parents

relocating is never a easy task... been holding OZ PR but cant decide WHEN is good to move. thinking of childcare arrangement, career, house etc etc

toto,

u wont be working over there ah? Well, u can re-renovate the house when u are coming back

my hb may not be going to US so soon cos he will be promoted next month... so maybe will see how it goes first whether he wanna change the status quo.

sunflower,
yes. our recent trip is to extend... and we were lucky to get extension!!! So another 5 years to play around.

But this time round, cant wait till last min like last time already. Else really panick!

mspiggy,

I had been contemplating applying for australia or OZ PR for ages... but worried abt the racist part... but most of my frens migrated to australia... I had not been there but I love the relaxed life style ... plus I wish S dun have to serve the NS here...meaning revoke the citizenship...

poohy, wow.. congrats to your hb! job promotion! good news! more toys and classes for J and S!

i will most probably be working in the US. dun ask me how i can manage, i am not sure myself too... just gotta trust God... when the time comes, all will work out.

hmm... renovate my house when i am back? maybe... but that might cost me more than my rental income. will see how the rental market is then.

poohy, sunflower,
i also dun like automatic car. I find them not so interesting. hahaha...
I just read from Shichida's book a few days ago. Although our toddlers still want to be carried, we gotta encourage them to walk and walk. Exercise is very important for their development. Same as what Glen Doman states in his book.

toto,
Yalor.. got lots to consider. Will you be working when in US?
I even have my friend's resume for the financial sector job he's doing in London. He told me they are in need of engineering doctorate people for that kind of job. It's going to be graphs, calculations, analysis. And reports, which I dun really like. hahaha...

lyn: agree with u. My son will put things back depending on his mood. A bit difficult to convince mil otherwise.

mispiggy: They extend 5 yrs for u?? That's great! Can you share on how to extend? Me & hub got our Oz PR when I was preggy with my son. I asked if can delay the approval process to include my son as PR & the officer replied: You can give birth in Oz then your son will be Oz citizen! Haven't gone there eversince son arrived and am wondering if we'd really go there ultimately cos relocation is a BIG thing esp when we have our little ones + bond to pay since son has to do NS 8(

poohy,
Congratulations to your hubby...

toto,
When time comes, things will iron out themselves. But just have to take the first step of decision making...

lyn, good to know SM and GD shares some common perspectives.
exercise is indeed v impt - not even for our bbs, but also for us.

lyn, wow... good to know you are in hot demand in the UK job market. ha ha.. maybe your hb can be SAHD, and you can work. ha ha...

poohy, how come you don't want S to serve NS? my hb insisted even if we are staying overseas, to send J back for NS. he says it will mould his character wor...

rodeo, mspiggy,

how did u all apply for the PR? by yourself or thru agent? How much does it cost? do u still remember? now that u mention, I think I should get it done soon ...

toto,

feel its quite a waste of time and set a guy back in his career development. Me and hb in the same JC class and now I am still earning much more than him...if he had graduated much earlier, it would have been a different world. 2 years many things can happen and accidents do happen too. There are more than one way to mould one's character.. if I have a choice, I will definitely not want S to go thru NS here. Not sure abt my hb's view though hehee....

toto,
I dun think my hubby will ever consider being SAHD. Man's ego... hahaha...
After reading Shichida's books, both Shichida and GD has common recommendations. However, the result or aim of the recommendations are slightly different. For example, for flashcards that need to be 1 second or less. In Shichida's perspective, it's for right brain training. In Glen doman's perspective, it's not to get baby bored. And both believes that babies all learn very fast