(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

pawprint - wow!!!!looks like a great party!
Irvin - haha, the serious look again huh?
my boy also at his party... :p

Spicegal - wow... pretty gal leh...
with or without the bblegs lah. ;P

morning ladies

pawprint,
wow... huge crowd, and seems like a great party! very nice!!!

spicegal,

pretty Jerica look so good in her bblegs.

kite,

no worries about it
take your time...

you mean the Tiger food flask can cook the porridge & vege etc?? hmmmm I should try that

Does Chloe likes the Eden pasta? thinking of trying .. found a place in TPY selling it, Yippee don't need to travel all the way to BRP!

Pawprint,

Great party! lovely cakes & agaragar, looks too good to be eaten.

Angeline,

We must go attend class to REN all the buying liao :p

pawprint,

wow the party looks massive... and the cakes are so nice
Irvin looks serious... looks like A is the one who enjoy the most

i_panda: Sorry lah, but hoh, really good chance to buy since 1)they don't ship overseas 2)price is lower than jshoppers 3)won't be oos like jshoppers :p I getting my hubby's fren to help buy and send here cos all the few items I want OOS on jshoppers 8(

soh: Oh, sherry may give so short notice ah. Ok, I worried cos will only pass my maid the $$ to pay after they confirm when coming.

mspiggy: Take a good rest and relax :p

spicegal: Jerica look so lovely in bblegs. I like the stripe pink design, last min Sam say no more 8(

kite: Wow, u got travelling hotplate?? Hmm, tiger flask can cook porridge ah? Guess I'd need to invest in a thermal flask if travelling overseas then. I was telling hubby, maybe we have to bring our slow cooker along....haha....

pawprint: You've got a huge party!!! Must be really busy planning for it, still got contest to entertain the little ones.

Thanks mummies for all the praises.

Pawprint, looks like a great party, what a crowd! So many balloons and activities for the kids. I like your car themed cakes and agar agar.

rodeo, panda,

the nissen site can shipped to vpost japan and then shipped back to singapore from there
but I dun understand a word leh ... all japanese

poohy: Wow, the charges very ex ley!!! $13.99 + $13.99 per kg based on volumetric weight@ or actual weight whichever is higher

If go by vpost, then might as well buy from jshoppers direct if the items are in stock. Jshoppers int'l shipping only 900yen for purchases <13k and 1,200yen for >13k.

rodeo,

I dunno cos I never shipped with vpost japan before.... but u shd be able to see when u logged in to vpost and choose vpost japan.

pawprint,
you look so young in the photo, a mummy of 2 kids somemore!

poohy,
ya, the lady has a brachiation ladder at home too, think her girl clocks abt 8 hr of creeping and crawling everyday. but thought monkey climb and brachiation is more for lung development rather than criss cross of limbs. I read in GD physical development book that when a bb does monkey climb anc brachiation, the lungs will expand and can take in more oxygen, with more oxygen, the brain will develop further.

Sunflower
What is Eden pasta? special pasta for bb? so the normal adult pasta we eat cannot be given to bb? Thought of cooking pasta or macaroni one day for my girl too. But dunno what to cook it with. how you all cook huh?

re: fish

Any mummies started with fish? which type to start with - Cod fish??

re: chicken stock

Any mummies cooking porridge with chicken stock?
I've tried CS for porridge before but ended up my boy very picky with his vegetable stock porridge cos not as nice as the CS! So I've stopped for a long while. Any feedback if your baby eating CS cooked porridge?

happymum123,

Eden pasta is organic pasta.
Someone mention that the organic pasta made from vegetables, while the adult type we eat has some additives.

I've not cooked pasta for babies before so I also don't know :p is it some way as porridge? haha

Think a few mummies has given liao, can anyone give cooking tips

Paula,

a silly question, does K eats the fish?

Vegetable stocks,
I use carrots, tomatoes, corn, onions, capsicum, celery - all chop up. Boil over slow fire about 3 hours. Once I used leek too, when cooking, stink!!! but the soup turn out nice

Re: Fish
I give my son ngor hee. Think cod fish shld be good too. I not giving cod fish yet cos mil claims that it's too fatty for ds. I'd prob let him eat it when she's not around....hehe...

Re: chicken stock
Haven't started my son on chicken yet. He's been taking pork instead. I just put the pork/fish together with the rice to cook porridge.

Re: Vege
What types of vege r u feeding your bb? I have only given spinach & carrot. Ds had diarrhea after taking sweet potato. What other vege to give??? Anyone tried green peas? Do we use the frozen ones? Have to peel off the skin?

sunflower: wow, the stock have to boil for 3 hrs ah?!?! Then u use the stock to cook porridge?? I think my maid & mil won't be so gut lat. When I ask my maid to cook porridge 2x, ie separately for lunch & dinner, mil already say y so mafan, just cook 1x for both meals. Similar comments from her when I ask my maid to steam carrot 1st b4 putting into porridge to ensure carrot will be soft.

pawprint,
wow.. what a great party!

spicegal,
bb legs looks so good on jerica

mommies,
normally when bb is sick w/ runny nose n sneezing but no fever, what do u do? do u:
1. bring to see doctor
2. buy meds in pharmacy (what meds to buy n give?)
3. just let bb rest more n drin more water n milk?

i've beeen giving cod fish since a few months ago. v ex, but soft n not so smelly

These are the list of food I have in my girl's porridge/mee sua (usually combination of 3 or 4 items)

Fish : ngor hee, lui hee, salmon

Meat : pork, chicken, beef

Vegetables : carrots, sweet potato, pumpkin, spinach, dou miao, green beans, sweet corn, parsley, potato

Others : ikan bilis, yin yu, dried scallop, birds nest, red dates, kao kee

spicegal
your girl look sweet in the bbleg

pawprint
great party...and i can see Irvin is a big fans of CARS..

re" Nissei
1st, they dun ship internationally, 2nd, the only accept Japan issued credit card, if u really like their product, get from Jshopper cause Jshopper is their sole distributor for international shipping..

As rodeo said Even we ship with Vspot...the shipping cost is >>> exp..might as well get from Jshopper

do you cook the fish skin also? say for cod fish skin, the oil ok for baby?

rodeo,

yes, very easy do, Wash vege, chop up, throw into pot, add water, boil, turn fire to small... 3 hours later. All done. Then I freeze into 1 meal portion.

spicegal,
wow your gal eat bird nest!!!

Sunflower, i think better dun give the fish's skin 1st. Just the flesh portion.

Haha, my mum buy for her, but she buy those loose bird nest which is cheaper. I tell her cannot give her all hao liao, later she got 'high class' taste buds! lol.

sunflower,
yap..just throw the fish w/skin into the porridge to cook. Fish oil shld be ok for bb bah. J has been taking fish since he started solids. So far J has taken fish (ngor hee=Kurau, cod fish, salmon, think other fish oso hv), pork, chicken. Never take beef cos we dun eat beef.

sunflower,
oh ya...cook fish with skin but dun feed him with skin, will throw away.

spicegal,
if i rem correctly, mrs wong fr tmc said that dun give young kids birds nest cos not good for them...will develop cough

Sunflower: Mil says no fish skin. Don't cook with the skin. Can't rem the reason. Oh, u freeze the stock? I'd prob try freezing mix vege cubes for my ds.

spicegal: Where u get ikan bilis from? Those dried ones we get, don't they contain salt??? Wow, bird nest for your gal!!! Also, how do u feed them sweet corn?

Hi Mommies

update from Sherry from MyToys on delivery:

19/6 evening: Serangoon and Yishun area

20/6: Hougang

21/6: Clementi, Bukit Batok and Jurong area

22/6: Central

23/6: Tampines, Simei and Ang Mo Kio

24/6: No delivery

25/6 onwards: only those requested to deliver after 24/6.

Calls will be made to individual mommies 1 day in advance prior to the delivery to confirm the delivery

spicegal,

Does J eats the fish meat?
wow, J skin must be super nice, got bird nest porridge. Haha till now, I only heard of bird nest porridge in hongkong tv drama.

rodeo,

re: sweet corn
1) can cut 1 portion and just throw into porridge & cook for the taste
2) cut off the kernels, chop finely and throw into porridge & cook, bb can eat
3) steam corn, let bb hold and eat
my boy loves this

Yes, freeze balance stock cos 1 big pot can't finish at 1 go. Only for the day and next day portion, I'll leave it in the fridge.

Thanks for the compliments
, esp those on my kids, hehehe. I'm very thick skinned when it comes to my kids. :p

Poohy, yah... all the kids are Athena's friends and their siblings! I haven't been chummy enough in this thread to invite any mums here, or for Irvin to make his own set of friends.
Second time round usually means half the energy left, in my case, hehehe.

ipanda,

thanks for the fish tips

oh you got all the icons on your desktop?
haha then you burn 1 cd for me save me trouble to download wahaha :p

thanks soh for the update, looking fwd to receiving a DOLLHOUSE, woohoo! Think I'd be playing with it, haha. Jialat, buy liao haven't think where to put. :p

pawprint,

then you will have great fun playing with the doll house with A

haha sometimes I wonder if we buy the toys for ourselves or the little ones?
once I saw this train toy at a friend's place, very fascinated with it & wanted to buy for my boy.
But hb told me, I'm the one who likes to play with it, my boy no interest at all and didn't even play with it! :p wahahah

ipanda, thanks for your advice. We have fed her bird nest since 5 mths, twice a month, and only a little bit, no problem so far. I dun read up much on what can or cannot give babies. My mum was a baby sitter for many years so I trust her on whatever she feed J.

Rodeo, I am also not tat particular on salt content, anyway its only a few ikan bilis to make the stock for porridge. Cut up the corn and put into water to cook corn stock, my mum also dig out the kernels and chop it up finely to mix in porridge.

Sunflower, yes we will chop up the fish meat finely and add into her porridge. She loves salmon.

soh1dful, i heard some people give the little cube cream cheese to their babies. The one with the cow head logo. I intend to let J try also.

For pasta, how to get the tomato paste? I don't want to give the bottle type. Anyone can teach me how to DIY?

sunflower, J does not want to eat pasta in soup. So I am thinking of giving her pasta in tomato paste instead. Hopefully she will find it different from what she have been eating so far.

oh yah..i think saw some mommies talking abt holidaying..i book my star cruise trip liao..hehe..set sail on 8th aug for 3d2n malacca/kl trip..but what makes me upset is the voucher they give me for the starkids card i apply..turn out if i want to use that voucher..i have to pay the full fare..coz i went to book 60days in advance which qualify me for the star savers rate..so if i wanna take up the star saver rate i got to pay 25% of the fare for my son..which after calculation is still much cheaper than taking the full fare and using the voucher..
then the lady at the counter tell me..nevermind lor..when you want to go cruise last minute then you can use the voucher lor..humph..who go cruise last min one..chey!

spicegal..yah..coz hubby feels too troublesome bringing darrell on overseas trip....

hubby is going hk for biz trip today...very tempted to buy a tic and fly over..wahaha..UA is selling at $380