tinklebell,
its been exhausting and stressful each time our kids fall sick. V worried cos the infection (aka food poisoning) is contagious thus we keep washing our hands worried that it may spread of Joelle. Ya I keep the suppositories as backup too! wah... when he keep vomitting medicine hor... the suppositories are life saver.. else I think I dunno go to hospital how many times liao.
The PD had his blood taken and urine test also... but din show up as bacteria infection. if not becos he had rashes which din break the fever, blood/mucous in stool hor... think we still puzzled why he still have such high fever.
The problem with anitbiotic is ... my boy get loose stool with some of it... thus the PD dun give it to him unless really necessary... and all those while, we thought his loose stool was becos of his initial doses of antibiotic from the GP. Thus never suspected anything else.
Serene,
in S's first year, he hardly fall sick. Then J fell sick with UTI when she was 4 months old. When we see her shivering and fever of above 40 deg... we were so panicky... and send her straight to emergency. This time with Samuel... I guess we were slightly more experienced liao ...afterall the kids had been sick with hfmd, UTI, rotavirus in the short span the past 8 months. We just monitor his temperature and give suppositories and paracetamol in the night before the clinic opens lor. when he have chills and shivering, we were also not as panicky anymore... though of course still worried sick when PD wanna admit him. Knowing my boy, he will sure resist like mad .... take medicine also gotta take 2 of us to force feed liao. He refused to be sponged, refused to put cooling pad, refused medicine... what's more an IV plug on his hand for 3-4 days.