(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

spicegal
I put newspaper around the high chair so that any mess can be cleaned up relatively easily.

I started to give Gabby Baby Bites when she was probably around 5 months. I think at this point of time, our baby loves to experiment with cause and effect. So they like to throw things to see the effect. For Gabby, she would do that sometimes, if she is not hungry enough or if that is not her favorite food. Got to try different food and see. It helps too by us demonstrating for her.

Stephanie,
My boy also! Last nite, he saw the toy and was so excited, crawl faster and lost balance, knocked onto the ceramic floor!

i_panda77,
This is exactly what i told my MIL this morning...that now they're so active and they need to learn to crawl mah, so knock or fall quite common but we just have to be more careful, no choice also then she not happy and agree with what i say. She say now still young, he's not stable, no need to crawl so much, wait till he's 1 yr old and later.

Yes leaving for genting tmr. thk. u enjoy yr long wkend too.

Serene
Yup, older folks are usually so protective towards our babies. Initially my mil didnt even allow us to let my gal crawl on the floor, she said must carry..until i thot my gal seems not to know how to crawl

Serene
Yup, older folks are usually so protective towards our babies. Initially my mil didnt even allow us to let my gal crawl on the floor, she said must carry..until i thot my gal seems not to know how to crawl

Hello gals!
Wah.. so many posts to catch up.

i_panda,
Glad that Josh is recovering

poohy,
J looks so cute in the rocking horse. A cannot sit still inside the horse. He will stand after maybe 1 minute, then get down and rock the horse from outside.

tinklebell,
You got a place in Bishan area already? Where? hee.. next time can meet up since we are quite near...

tinklebell, poohy,
The tax rebate making me wanting to try number 2 asap... hahaha...

Paula,
Kelly looks so cute.. I like her pooh bear bib too! Where to get that? A is starting to salivate again, thinking of getting him a bib.

lyn,
yap... found a place @ bishan st 22

haha,,,u find the tax rebate attractive? in a way, helps a bit. haha... if one day, our PM says if u have 3 and dont need pay tax for 20 years til kid becomes adult, then i'll sure have no 3

toto, haha... work harder for no 2
i hate it when it comes to April when it's time to do income tax assessment
even paying a bit hurts

lyn,
thks, u hv a good long weekend.

stephanie,
same here, initially my MIL don't encourage us to let bb crawl on floor. i oso realise he's slow, that's why he's still not totally steady now, he's already 10mths old! That time, she commented why my son progress so slow cos my hub can walk at 8 mths old....then now she says no rush to let my son crawl! all her words!

Tinklebell, wah..2nd and 3rd baby can have so much tax rebate..hmm I must jia you liao..haha

Toto, you are such a hardworking mummy, what kind of books you making for jake's bday?

Wen, thanks for sharing the info on the dresses, they have some other nicer dresses. Can buy 12-18 mths to keep.
750230.jpg
750231.jpg

I think my girl is plan lazy to learn self-feeding leh, she wants to eat the biscuit but lazy to do it herself, she will shout for us to feed her...up till now, we are still holding her milk bottle for her, tried to pull her hands to hold the bottle, but she will pull her hands away.
kao_frustrated.gif

Serene and Stephanie, when your baby crawl on the floor, tell them to take their time, do not chase them or try to make them think that you are 'catching' them. I find that when they are too kan cheong to crawl, they will lose their balance and fall.

I find that my girl lose her balance when she crawls very fast or think that i am catching her, now i just follow slowly behind her and encourage her to go on, but tell her to take her time.

Serene, enjoy your genting trip.

Hi hi mommies!

me long time no post. Extra busy at work! Urgh!

My son too...till now cant crawl properly and i realise its because my mil has been so cautious about him knocking his head on the floor and the floor being dirty that she seldom let him have the opportunity to crawl. Even when there is mattress being put on the floor she rarely puts him onto it...

hee hee... just now place J on his rocking horse. sat for two mins, got off and rock his horse. i placed his bunny there for him to rock... ha ha...

spicegal - me making some phrase books for bb jake - 3 titles (1) Jake, (2) My Family, (3) Fun with Jake. Now collecting some pics and photos to insert into his books..

tinklebell,
I thought we woman should have lots of tax rebates? Eg. caregiver, maid levy? Only the daddy not much of tax rebate, so i put my son under him., still not much lor. No choice, caregiver and maid levy is for working woman, cannot declare under his tax...
Oh ya, u can celebrate fiona's birthday with daddy's together on 9 June.
On tue, i brought brayden downstairs in the evening and met this daddy with his baby son named Andres, he stayed at yr blk, 8th flr, same row of unit as u. His son also a june baby, born on 9 June. Wow realised there're so many babies at our area.

spicegal,
Wow, what nice dresses! Girls are so fortunate! I've not search for new clothes for my son's 1 yr old birthday! Thks, actually i thought of not going for this trip cos most likely will be very jammed tomorrow and as expected genting will be packed of ppl, mainly singaporeans!

toto,
What rocking horse u got for Jake? I've been wanting to buy a rocking horse or those seated car for his birthday but hasn't got time to go shopping! Wow u even make books for Jake, that's very nice n sweet.

Michele, Lyn,
I got the bib from Kiddy Palace priced at around S$10 if I remembers correctly. Thought it is fitting for her to wear that cos at times, she does looks like Winnie the Pooh, Big Eyes and Big Smile! Haha

I_panda,
Yep, I think I sign up for the 288 package lei

Spicegal,
Did I sign up with the 350 package? Hmm, have to revisit the thread again memory is failing me!

See you on this Saturday and Sunday at MyGym and Gymboree respectively.

Tinklebell,
Thanks for reminding the tax returns! Have yet to work on it

Re: parent relief: can both dad and mum claims it? Or only one parent can claim it?

Toto,
Yea loh at times, she is a little adult its really funny to see how she behaves these days at times she will yawn like how an adult does. Yesterday, her dad was asking me in the car what he should be getting for him as a first year old birthday present. I came up with a list of things that he could possibly get for her. Kelly listened to me purposely and stare at me and response with eh and ahh as though as she was saying yea, I would like to have that it was so funny! She behaves as though as she understands whats going on!

Im going for the Gymboree trial at Tanglin on this Sunday. The class starts at 11.20pm if I remember correctly.

serene,

u mistaken tax relief with tax rebate liao
Tax relief is to deduct a certain percentage or amount from your total income to be assessed. Then they will apply the tax formula to derive the tax u need to pay. That one impact not very big.

the tax rebate is... let say for this year u r supposed to pay $2k of tax after all the relief and stuff... then u just deduct from that $10k... leaving u a balance of $8k and you dun need to pay tax that year till this balance is depleted. This one can be shared with your hb... so if u r not working, then he can just deduct from that balance to himself lor.

In view that tomorrow is the public holiday and many of you wont be accessing the thread; this is the latest and final reminder on our private trial class with MyGym at Woodlands Civic Plaza on this Saturday.

Date: 7 April 2007 (Saturday)
Time: 2.00 to 2.50 pm

Trial class fee: S$30.00 (if you decide to enroll with MyGym after the trial class, the S$30 will be used to offset the school fee).

Payment: make payment to the school upon registration.

Class information:
Waddlers Crawlers and new walkers, 10 18 months

Discover your infants natural movement abilities in this delightful program for parent and child. Share the excitement as your baby crawls, climbs, hangs, swings and tumbles for the first time. With an emphasis on development of social skills, this program is geared towards the exploration of movement. Toddlers are elated as they are introduced to a vast array of fantastic and stimulating new experiences.

Useful information for parents:
Parents participate with children 3 years and younger.
Please dress your child in loose-fitting clothing. Long pants or track pants is highly recommended
When participating in class children are barefoot on carpeted areas and parents are asked to please wear socks.
Please bring a change of clothes for younger children

Notes:
Pls arrive at the venue at 1.45pm for registration.
This private class is registered under my name, Pauline Chua
Teacher Tiagra is assigned to our class

List of participating mummies:

1. Dal
2. MTDT
3. Carebear 29
4. Spicegal
5. Paula (Name of child: Kelly Ng)

Please call (98772056) or msn me (jiajia_pauline) if you cant make it for the class.

serene, got J the little tikes rocking horse. poohy and lyn got one too...

for seated car - little tikes or step 2 has quite nice ones. ;)

paula - your list of to-buy for kelly must be v long...

Serene,
Ya... women can claim FWL (2x amt paid) and if 2 got 2 kids like me, u can claim WMCR (15% of earned income). I'll be claiming parent relief as well as grandparent caregiver (this is for working mothers only)
Hub says must share share tax relief and rebates so I let my hub claim QCR for both kids and 80% of parenthood rebate, i claim 20% loh.

Another way to reduce your tax is to contribute to your parents' CPF. It is tax deductible up to $6k. If your parents r beyond 62, the amt you contribute will be disbursed to them monthly.

tinklebell,
Better than nothing wor... kekeke...

stephanie, serene,
I think I am lucky not staying with my in-laws. hahaha... my MIL also loves to carry A a lot. Cannot this, cannot that... then how can A learn and explore and progress. I do realised the more A crawl, the more stable and faster he gets. Initial stage also keep falling.

Amy, poohy,
That you tube of the baby gal reading is impressive! Wow...
My friend's boy can use chopsticks to pick up food and put it into his mouth at 14 months!

pawprint,
Wah.. You are a very dedicated mommy... The poster you made for your boy is very impressive. You are indeed very good in photography and art work.

Serene,
really? i havent seen a boy Fiona's age... hmmm didnt know. What a coincidence that the boy and my hub shares the same bday

Is EK celebrating his girl's bday same day as u?

tinklebell,

for contribution to parent's CPF account - does it have to be a fixed monthly amount? what if its a lumpsum at one go, will CPF disburse that lumpsum or over period of months?

poohy,
Oh ya type the term wrongly. But is there a rebate such way? i'm not too sure??? How to entitle for that?

tinklebell,
Yes I think EK is celebrating too. Not sure which day, hers on 7 June, guess she may celebrate on 2 or 3 June. If on 2nd june, means our floor/corridor will be crowded and noisy that day! maybe the guests will go to the wrong house hahaha!

toto,
saw the little tikes rocking horse at taka baby fair 2 wks ago but never had chance to ask much, my boy wet his trousers 2x that day!
Saw the car too...wow my hse getting packed with all baby's stuffs!

lyn,
Is very hard to get MIL to understand. Each has our own thinking! 1 thing fed up is hubby stay silent, no comment when his mother talked! This morning she says, if baby is tired, dun make him crawl lah....she prob thinks he's too tired and no strength, that's why fell down and i'm forcing him to crawl! I answered no, he's in happy mood playing last nite when he fell!

Vivi - yuppies.

serene - my house also very packed. no space lo... everywhere you walk, bound to knock into bb jake's possessions.

rocking house selling at $59.90 at aprisin. ;)

serene,

go and have no.2 then next income tax assessment, you will have $10k tax rebate. When you have no.3, its $20k tax rebate.

tinklebell,

oic... so parent will not get the full some out. partial still remains in the CPF account, right?
hmmm... Thanks for the info

vivi,
I got mine at swiss butchery. GWC also stocks meat. Pork - not sure, may have. but choice may be limited compare to if buy from wet market. not sure if have the specific type that you want.
btw, I'm going down to GWC tonight or tomorrow, need anything, I can grab for you and pass you sat.

toto,
Aprisin selling cheaper than taka, toys r us? Imagine 1 kid already so packed, if hv 2 or more kids, sure no space to move around. haa!

poohy,
Ya that's why my hubby says must have no 2.

tinklebell,
No surprise, something i dun even bump into my EK's family though we stay next to each other.

Sunflower,
your parents/grandparents will get everything plus accrued interest of 4%. I am not sure how they calculate for bigger amts. But for the $7k my hub contributed, the payout is $297 per mth and will be disbursed to his parent until amt is exhausted.

serene,

normally by the time 2kids or more... your buying already start to plateau liao so no worry abt no space to move haha
I dun buy as much toys just for Joelle as much as I used to buy for Samuel. They need to learn to share and take turn. Till now, most of our new toys spending are still for Samuel ... following his development... J mostly play with gorgor's toys where he used to play when he was that age.

tinklebell,

cos I calculate $7K/12 mths more than $297 per mth le. haha ...
must go and read up. I very blur over CPF policy :p

vivi,
swiss butchery is at greenwood avenue, off bukit timah. There got nice food as well yumyum..
GWC - I most prob getting some fruits/veges & grains.
oh I bought the Barem''' (forgot spelling) yoghurt. Super sour. I mixed with dried apricot. Gave my boy abit to try, he threw up the whole thing and part of his milk feed!

tinklebell,
For those relief for working mothers, is it till our kids older than 18? I am thinking of SAHM till all my kids at least 6 years old...

tinklebell,
So $7k contribution per year, for $287 per month, it will take almost 2 years to finish disbursing that amount... If contribute for 10 years, will take 20 years leh... Is that rite?

Serene, ya i am sure genting this weekend will be packed with Singaporeans..all go there for short break...girls have so many nice clothings, buy till broke liao..

Paula, you change your gymboree class to 11.20am? Then we will meet...I remember you posted in foto-u thread that you confirm David for the $350 package leh...unless you email him to change to $288 package.

Re : E-filing
I still have not e-file my income tax yet, always wait till last minute...so we can claim for 1st child, grandparent caretaker and parent relief ah? If I claim for 1st child, can my hb claim for his as well? We do separate e-filing.

spicegal,
if i'm not wrong, we (working mum) can only claim 1st child (shared % with hubby), WMCR & grandparent caretaker relief (only working mum). parent relief only for 1 person in the family to claim only.

sunflower,

most likely will cook Zhu ruo zhou.

but he wont be eating the meat.

Am not too sure too. think like the pork ribs in soup. Juz for flavour/taste.

hmm thinkin to get garden peas or green beans. if u c these, can help me to buy?

poohy,
Agreed with you! I also told my hub that day when we bought the PP P3 that dun think we will buy another new stroller for no 2 next time as he/she will use the pass down fr no 1. Same for most toys also. But again our own stuffs seems lesser but kids' stuffs becomes more...

spicegal,
If i will have a gal next time, i will also buy many clothes or nice girl girl stuffs. In fact that time when i saw those nice dress, so tempted to buy and keep..haa!

When in overseas, besides cereal & milk, what other food do u suggest to give our babies? Since we can't cook porridge when we're outside.