(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

serene,
hi-five! i was abt to say the same qns!

i thought of cooking porridge since i will be staying in serviced apartments.

serene, mspiggy,
how about plain bread? josh likes to eat bread. will pinch small pieces to him. in fact when he sees us eating, he will keep looking at us, like very pitiful like that.

Can bring fruits too. Apples, bananas, etc.

me very lousy on this aspect... err Joelle still just taking rice cereals and fruit puree + yoghurt now... I am thinking of giving her porridge since she can gnaw at single bead of rice and bread (yea my mum give her bread sometimes cos she will stare so longingly when we are having our macdonald's burgers) now....

wanna find out how u all cook your porridge and what would be a good first porridge to give? thanx!!

lyn,
will take more than 20 yrs to disburse if u contribute for 10 yrs.

1) Under 16 years old at any time during the year; or

2) Studying full-time at a school, college, university or other educational establishment if child was 16 years old and above

Found the link...
http://www.iras.gov.sg/ESVPortal/iit/iit-se-a1.1.6.3+child+relief.asp

Looks like it is not a good long term solution. 20 yrs is v long. If u think of other methods to save tax, let me know hor :p

sunflower,
dont think it's calculated using straight line method. think it is more complicated than that. u can call cpf board to check the exact amt.

yeah think bread too sweet for them for now.

jar food is good idea but can must top up with milk right coz it's so small! wes now takes abt half a bowl of porridge as 1 meal.

Lyn,

Gabby takes quite a bit of bread leh.. The wholemeal type. I suspect quite high sodium and all but do your know where to find alternative? Healthier kind. She would fuss if we don't pinch some for her now...bad habit.

poohy,
I am giving millet porridge. Boil with pumpkin or potato or broccoli. I just boil over the fire.
I introduced brown rice porridge a few days ago. I will cook more for my own meals too. I use thermal pot. Just boil for 15-20 minutes in the morning, and eat for lunch and dinner. I am addicted to thermal pot now. kekeke... very easy and fuss free.. most important is clean kitchen :p

mspiggy,

huh wes can take half a bowl of porridge ah... oh I think I must be underfeeding joelle... no wonder she still wakes up for 1 night feed even though I give her 2 feed of rice cereal + yoghurt + fruit puree in the day.

poohy,
that's his dinner.

for lunch he will be taking 5 teaspoon of cereal mixed with milk which is abt 1/4 bowl and i top it with 120ml of FM.

how much cereal you giving joelle?

lyn,
hee hee ... u plan to go out to work 6 yrs later? oic... my plan is a bit opposite of yours. I intend to cont working for next 10 yrs, pay off all loans, save some money. Then hopefully in my 40s, be at home to take care of the kids cos i am scared that my kids will mix with wrong company during their teenage years. Need adult supervision. Just plan only lah... hope can materialise

lyn,
I stopped jar food for quite awhile already.

mspiggy,
My boy eats 3/4 bowl porridge each time...he wants more but we control.

i_panda77,
Yes, i'm packing pear, apple, bread and biscuit for him but these r like little bites to him, im think about the main meal. Same lor, my boy stare at us, eyes so big, never blink! sometimes he make noise too, as if complaining, "why aren't u feeding me, i also want my bite!"

tinklebell,
hee... I dunno much about taxes one :p I rely on my hubby. He knows more. But you know more than him. kekeke...

Wen,
I will check my email later ok? Not urgent hor? hee...
I dun give bread to A, cos of the salt and sugar. Sugar will cause hyperactivity in kids, and for now, will also affect brain development according to Prof Shichida. I am also quite apprehensive in giving him toothie peg cos there's salt. I only give when I need him to entertain himself.
I am also looking for alternatives. I think the gardenia five grains bread or sesame bread will be good. The normal wholemeal bread very little wholemeal. I eat them myself, but not for A

lyn,
I think a little bit is okay, shouldn't be a problem. Sometimes my boy stare at me, i feel sorry for him so will pinch abit of bread for him...

Lyn, not urgent. Deal with it only when you are free. No worries.

I tried Gardenia, those multigrain types....very salty leh. I am giving Gabby sunshine..think it is more plain..at least to me. Still, there is sodium and sugar..

serene,
i think it's alright as long as he's healthy.

am thinking to give Wes those Gerber finger biscuits but my mum scared that he will get choked! how to 'train' them?

mspiggy,

ohh... I give Joelle 3 scoops of brown rice cereal for lunch and dinner. For dinner, I will give her some fruit puree and some yoghurt in addition. She still drink her milk as per normal and my mum will add rice cereals into each feed of milk.

serene,
haha! then u can combine celebration outside your home with EK! I think the guests may go into the wrong house ...scarly eat fr the wrong side ...kekeke

poohy,
i see. i started him on 1 meal of porridge after he's 9 mth old. seems alright... so continue with it.

his schedule is more like
5-6 am : 190ml milk
9-10 am : 190 ml milk
1-2 pm : cereal + milk
5-6 pm : porridge
9-10pm : 190 ml milk

re: solids

J eats brown rice mixed white rice porridge. tried millet, but he din like. maybe will re introduce later.
i cook with 4 types of veg (either long beans, choi sum, spinach, pumpkin, carrots, sweet potatoes, mushrooms, broccoli and cauliflower). add pork and fish. ha ha... like v tasty hor?

for breakie - it's oatmeal/barley/brown rice cereals plus a fruit (either blueberries, peach, plum, avocado, nectarines).

all organic and wholesome.

toto,
J's food seems so yummy. wes food is so boring! hehee

i only give him apples and pears so far. me lazy mummy :p

lyn,

why not try swiss bakery? they have those look very wholemeal (& hard) type. I bought before, forgot which flavour liao nice..

sunflower - i love the maryland chicken and ribs from swiss bake! and the fish and chips next door and ice cream along the corner is superb!

mmm...i think my K is overeating then !
she is eating one whole bowl (the pigeon transparante plastic bowl with lid and spoon for mashing up the food) for both lunch and dinner !!
lunch : normally vege - ie, sweet potato, spinah, pumpkin.
Dinner: porridge with fish/ meat/ vege.

Oh, Kgor He is also called Threadfin for those who need to look for it in the supermarkets - think Cold Storage/Giant sells !
I bought one whole fish last week - abt 4 kg - for $45.
Am eating that cuz am still bfeeding !

Tink: wow, your tax knowledge is BEST !! i dunno anything abt tax - just let my hubby do for me ...
i can only claim working mother child relief ... cuz my parents are still working. and my domestic help is under my mum's name - since i'm now living wif mum.

u mean u get tax rebate only AFTER the 2nd child ?? 1st child no rebate ? Ie - rebate is what you can use to offset your tax payment ??

lastly: anyone using baby carriers for your babies ? Ergo ?

poohy,
I give only millet, no white rice. More nutritious, better for brain growth
I do not soak first. But my mum said it will cook fast if soaked for a few hours.

mspiggy,
Maybe feed 2 bottles for one meal lor... ;) That was my plan if I have no time to cook when in Bintan.
A is eating one big bowl of millet or potato, mixed with vegetables every meals. Breakfast is 2 tablespoon of oatmeal - not cooked yet. I think it's a lot, but he can finish.

Poohy,
A is still waking up for milk, although I have been feeding him a lot. He has 4 meals a day. I dunno is it for comfort or really hungry.

tinklebell,
kekeke... we got opposite plans. 6 years is the plan now. Secarly, I forever dun wanna work... :p

toto,
Do you give J the vegetables? I havent tried choi sum and cauliflower yet. I tried sweetcorn though. Think I will start cauliflower soon. My fridge gonna be packed with all types of vegetables soon after I successfully change to brown rice porridge. kekeke... cos need 6 types from the SM notes...

re: brown rice porridge

do you give those grained (powdered form) ones or those normal brown rice ?

i bought 1 tin of those grained one from Eu Ren Seng... havent try yet.

mspiggy,
I give those normal types. Cook till "nua nua", use spoon to mash a little, can already.

Ok gals.. I logging off from forum liao.. have nice long weekend...

lyn,

hmm.. I know parkway parade has 1 big shop, takashimaya and cold storage at Centrepoint has a small outlet. The rest of places not too sure.

toto - any idea?

lyn, i give J the veg as well. mashed them up with his porridge. he loves broccoli and cauliflower. will always have at least 2 greens and 1 orange (pumpkin, sweet potato, carrot) and recently, added mushroom. the meat, he dun eat. just for taste only. not yet tried sweet corn.

lyn, swiss bakery.... oops... wrong no. i was referring to swiss butchery... at Greenwood Ave when i was recommending the ribs and stuff. Ha ha... swiss bakery - Cold Storage King Albert Park as well...

Just to share share(not advertising or anything). Need some ideas for bb party? Here's some fancy cakes.

1) Cake Avenue
33, Lorong Kilat, Kilat Centre, #01-01 (opp Bukit Timah CC)
Tel: 6877 9008
www.cakeavenue.com

2) Cupcake Momma
E-mail: [email protected]
www.cupcake-momma.net

3) Carnival & Co
70 Jalan Kelabu Asap, Chip Bee Gardens
Tel: 6476 6833
E-mail: [email protected]
www.carnivalandco.com

4) Pine Garden's Cake
Ang Mo Kio Avenue 10, Block 529, 01-2369, tel: 6457-6159
Must-try: The Black Forest Cake ($32/kg) is to die for

5) Choc-a-bloc
Bedok North Street 4, Block 86, 01-179, tel: 6446-6096,
Must-try: Mum's choco-fudge cake ($28/kg). Once you've sunk your teeth into this beautiful creation, you'll want it every day.

6) Rich And Good Cake Shop
24 Kandahar Street, tel: 6294-3324
Prices: $10 to $12 for a box of two swiss rolls.
Must-try: Durian swiss rolls, of course. Made with real D-24 durians, you can taste the durian fibre as you bite into it.

7) Baker's Creations
Woodlands Street 31, Block 303, 01-201, tel: 6363-0123
Prices: $16 to 30 for 1kg, depending on type and flavour.
Must-try: Amazingly, the premium carrot cake in this shop is only $20 for 700g. Not to be missed.

8) Balmoral Bakery
Clementi Street 12, Block 105, 01-06, tel: 6779-2064
Prices: $22 to 32 for 1kg, depending on type and flavour.
Must-try: Its three-dimensional cakes not only taste good, but also keep children intrigued for hours.

mummy,

one more question... given that most of us are ftwm, how do u all prepare the porridge for your bb? Early in the morning cook liao eat whole day ah ?

pop in awhile!

toto, u used wat dot size setting for the one u did? I d/l the program and did "1 dot" setting... now I don't dare to print cos it will be sooo siong on my cartridge. Haiz. Think I'd downsize further.

Those cupcakes so pretty!!!!!! make my hands itch to order some...wonder got anywhere that i can buy n try...

toto,
wow 1 dot 40 pgs! Take pic quick show us leh!
I decided to downsize to 20pgs... every time I replace ink cartridge, the HB jumps! :p

Spicegal,
Yep, changed it to L3 for Gymboree class on Sunday. I have been blur like sotong lately everyday when I stepped into the office, its like putting on a battle suit and have to work and work and work like dont know what and in the midst of a peak season, got promoted, received three job offers and more projects coming in mind is in a whirl!

Poohy,
Actually our gals could eat MacDonalds pancake now I have been treating Kelly to it and got her the special meal some more! We will be bringing her to the MacDonald Place tomorrow for breakfast she looks forward to these trips. Haha.

Lyn,
Brown rice porridge! I brought an Australian organic brand and my friend advised me to have it cooked in the slow cooker over night but then hor, after cooking it for so long can still feel the husk lei what brand did you get huh?

Toto,
For sweet potatoes, you just put it inside the porridge and let it boiled? I havent tried this yet but many of my friends told me to try it lei!

me oso wana try brown rice on my ger leh..just finished her packet of pearl rice..mummies,any brands to recommend n where to buy n how to cook..

paula

c u sun oso...