(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Re: CNY holidays

Hey gals,
Anyone of you are having 1 whole week off during CNY? Does your company close for a week? This year is better for me than last year. My co close from 17-21 Feb, back to work on 22 Feb. Think i'm taking leave on 16 Feb.

Serene,
Haha.... jezoir says 'thank you auntie serene!' :)

Yep, he looks more like me, and nothing much like his daddy, so hb very sad until he finally found something similar between father n son - both have a tiny bump behind each ear. Keke.. And hb was also wishing dat jezoir calls papa/baba 1st but unfortunately another disappointment for him. Keke...

Yep, confirmation on email received! Thanks. :)

Wow vivi!
You went for vacation ah? So good, envy.... You brought yr boy there too? How's phuket now? I've been there in 1998 or 1999, long time ago!

serene,

ya lor. Never bring my boy along. Cos im afraid of tsunami. Haha

This is my 2nd time there. Celebrating my sis bdae over there..

Gosh!!! I regretted to go man Cos i missed my boy so much!

serene, thanks! got the form already

how i wish co got 1 week off

dal,
why u dress jezoir up like a girl? haha! so funny but v cute!

vivi, wow so nice always get to travel. u'r right... will miss my kids v badly if i go without them! My mum says if i dont come home by 7 every evening, my girl will feel v restless, as if she knows mama is not around. last fri i went for my co's dnd n my parents got a hard time coaxing her at night! i went back early but missed my $300 lucky draw prize... but nvm lah... my kids r more impt than the $300/-

how's phuket? i dont dare go there after the tsunami
too scary!

sunflower,
i feed bb kiwi before i saw the abv article. I gave the green fresh only, so far ok leh. He likes it cos its sweet.

Hesitate to give asparagus now I saw the article below say will have a bit of gassiness and bloating, urine will have bitter smell...hmmm

Re: Asparagus 8-10 months+

Prep the asparagus by holding one asparagus spear with one hand in the middle of the spear and the other hand at the stem. Bend the spear until it snaps.
Toss out the lower end that snapped off. Repeat until all your asparagus is "snapped". A few people recommend peeling asparagus - we have done this only once and found it very very time consuming and not worth the trouble! The snapping method works just fine. You may however wish to experiment with both methods!

Cooking:
Fill a large pot (large enough to accommodate a steamer basket) with about 3 inches of water - or until the water peeks through the holes of the steamer basket.
Place asparagus, "flower" side up into a steamer basket.
Steam asparagus until very tender and mushy - for adults, you want to steam it more "al dente" than you do for baby food puree.
Puree the asparagus when finished steaming
Add liquid as needed to make a puree of the texture your baby will tolerate.
Hint: Your baby's urine may change to a very bitter smell and quite possibly change colour due to the asparagus! We do however suggest that you serve asparagus as a finger food to an older baby. Many people find that asparagus gives them a bit of gassiness and bloating.

tinklebell,

my boy too.. My boy will get cranky in the evening too.

Oh.... Sigh! 300 leh... Think i will choose $ and at the same time thinking of my baby. Hahah....

Tinklebell,
super hot at Phuket manz.. The last time i went was super wet. Cos always raining. This time round is better as i get to play with Jet ski.

vivi,
You went w/o yr boy ah...oh for me, i will sure miss him like crazy! True enough, i've thought of spending some time with just my hubby, thinking to go for a short trip w/o my boy, then again, i cannot pass my heart about not thinking of him...sure will miss him alot if i don't see him for 1 day!

Same thought as tinklebell, the last time i went with my hubby, we love the plc very much and say wanted to come back again 1 day but after the tsunami, don't dare liao!

tinklebell,
How many days does yr co shut down? acc to calender? Wow u miss out the $300 lucky draw ah....that's quite alot huh? U mean they draw yr no. and call for yr name and u had already left? Hmm, mummy always very wei da, give up all things for children!

good morning mummies

Hi stellagwee,
can you pls provide me with the details for the Tumbletots trial so that we can settle soon.

tinklebell,
Same like vivi, think if for me, i will also wait for the lucky draw and then rush back fast after to see my boy! ;p

serene,

Hubby & i missed our boy like crazy that we dreamt of him every nitez leh.. No mood there also..

Like that cannot enjoy.. Then i tell my hubby, no more second time for just the 2 of us..

Every trip muz include the 3 of us.

vivi,
wow so fun! been a long long time since i last played with sea sports!
haha! wasted hor... hiaz wat to do ?? i just tell myself can always earn back the $300
lucky not the top 2 prizes. 2nd pr was 14ct necklace and first was 1 week stay at Ritz carlton wor !!!

vivi,
True lor, if you had decided to go, you have to let yr heart down for that period and not think too much about yr boy, if not, what's the point of spending the $ and go for the trip?

serene,
u also will wait for lucky draw? hmmmm.... maybe next year i will wait til they finish :p but the strange thing is that everytime i wait, i dont win... if i dont wait i win...so maybe not meant to win loh :p
maybe my lucky star shining these days
on mon, the stocks i bought also went up by ard the amt i lost

tinklebell,

tot was greatz but after trying, realise quite boring leh. Maybe becos im the passenger.

I love cash! Ritz carlton is GOOD!! Stayed there thrice.. I like it very much!!!!

Never mind. Wait for next year's DND.

I missed the DND for last year cos went genting.. TOP PRICE was 2000+ cash!

tinklebell... wow $300... alot leh... ha ha... but of cos, nothing is worth more than our children's smile and laughther.... priceless...

vivi - welcome back. ah? you celebrated your sis bd at Phuket? Not just you and ur hb mei?

heard from sensei there is no makeup for SM for davian. is that true?
missed davian in class last wk le...

amy,

really!!? Not too sure leh..

I called up SM & they told me to send an email to the customercare will do..

Anyway, will wait till they reply. Else, will call them up n checked.

Will asked u abt last week class tonite.

No la. There were about 16ppl going together.

vivi, but eventually i got a $50 ntuc voucher even though i didnt win the $300
every one who attended will win something.

$2000 cash! wow! i rather have that than the Ritz carlton stay ..kekeke.

tinklebll,
Wow! 1 wk stay @ Ritz Carlton! That's very attractive! I rem last time at my ex-company, i'm always involve in the D&D committee and i'm in charge of gifts. Sometimes, when vendors gives us cash vouchers, we will use it to go shopping n purchase gifts. There was once, the top prize is 2 returns tics to australia leh...and of cos others like the TV, hi-fi/karaoke system etc...but I never been so lucky to win the prize lah!

vivi: so nice to be able to go on hol !! but yah, will miss baby right ?? are you still bfeeding ??
cuz i intend to go to HKG for a week in March but still bfeeding, so not sure how to keep up the supply. Nust as FI - she went to Japan right ?? or was it Angkor wat w/o her boy !!

vivi - ask me about last week? maybe can ask lyn and sunflower as well. oh... we started the 65 day math program, today is Day 4. have you started that?

vivi,
Wow 2k cash! That's very attractive! Of cos cash is better than anything!
Me too, always no luck when comes to lucky draw, 4D, TOTO etc! Just not long ago, my hubby's car no came out 1st prize, i also never buy! So stupid right??? Sigh! Anyway, my hubby also buy very little only....every thought we must have strike a bomb cos our car just 1 yr+ and also is 1st prize, exact straight no.!

Amy,

oh my god! haven start leh.. My boy still with GD maths leh.. Just started him not long ago only. Now still at no 3-12.

Then how???

Then the person who won the 1st price last yr also won the 1st price the year b4 too. And the top price was 1888.

She is very lucky yeh

serene,
at least u win something

our numbers never ever win any prize, much less 1st prize

I rem one of my ex-colleagues won $200k in TOTO last time... so lucky hor!!!!

amy,

thanks for the addy. okie. Meet there for dinner

kong,

ya. I pump over there. Sometimes pump after 10hrs. Now the supply got abit kee siao

vivi - maybe stop GD maths and start SM - given sensei will follow up in class?

sunflower - did you stop GD maths while on SM maths?

I just completed divison (after multiple stage multiplication), taking one day break. See what else i need to follow up from tn's seminar.

HUH...

that means my boy will be 4 days behind provided i start today. But i dun think so. So he will be 5 days behind...

Still can???

you gals talking abt 4D and toto now? hehehe

when wesley was borned, so many of our strike... but none of us bought any! some of my friends bought his bday and won some $$$.

sunflower,
The book is ok only. I just took it and my hubby went to pay before I told him yes. But lucky still useful to me.
Where did you buy swede?

missk, sunflower,
I am giving Prosobee... I feel that my breastmilk is getting less and less

mum2B,
I am also using Ikea highchair. Not safe even when strapped. So everytime gotta keep an eye. When I put Aloysius on the high chair, if I need to go to the kitchen, I will move both him and high chair to the kitchen to keep an eye.
I also dun follow recipe books strictly. It's just for me to have an idea what to mix and match :p

I personally likes combination of potato and avocado, pumpkin and avocado, pumpkin and spinach, pumpkin and zucchini, potato and zucchini, pumpkin and broccoli, parsnip and potato. Replace pumpkin with butternut is also nice. But my taste and your taste might be different
I am used to food with no meat, no salt, no sugar

serene,
I realised that for potato, need to add more water. If too thick, Aloysius dun like it too.

missk,
Buy a thermal pot.. can boil nice soup
Just boil over fire for 15 minutes, then keep warm for few hours can already. Bingo... nice soup to drink liao

I just bought a Thermos thermal pot. I boiled soup last week, and the soup turned out very nice too. Best of all, no mess in the kitchen
Today, I am experimenting with brown rice porridge

dal,
Your boy is so good... can fall asleep on his own
Do you sleep on the mattress on the floor? I feel like getting a mattress for him on the floor.
Jezoir is very cute... He has very big round eyes. Must have "dian4" a lot of mommies and gals...
You are very innovative on the cloth nappy. I still have a dozen, brand new in the storeroom...

i_panda,
I havent try asparagus yet. I think just steam and mash should be ok ba...

vivi,
Upper Thomson road. Do you know Auntie Kim? It's along the row of shops where UOB bank is.

tinklebell,
Wah... $300 lucky draw leh... You are very lucky...

vivi, sunflower, amy,
We meet around there for dinner ok? My hubby gonna be late, so I will tabao for him. What time you gals can make it? I am still thinking whether to bring Aloysius.

i_panda,

maybe hold for asparagus first?

tinklebell,

lucky draw so good, you very lucky!
Got 1 night went for class in the evening, my MIL said my boy refused to sleep from 5-9+pm. Kept fussing & only when my MIL brought him to my room, then he fell asleep.

vivi, amy & lyn,
Not able to meet you ladies for dinner. I'm thinking of bringing my boy
Lyn - how? are you bringing Aloysius?

Lyn,
hee my fren got it for me. Can get at cold storage, roots section. If you want, I bring a cube tonight let you smell & taste first before you decide whether to get it. I personally don't like it & my boy doesn't like the taste too!

tinklebell,
Haha, i didnt dress jezoir up like a girl. It's when the days r really warm and he drools a lot, instead of changing his t-shirt n bibs a few times a day, i'll jz let him wear the cloth diaper which is much easier to change. :) As for this pic, i added on my necklace on his head to see if he really looks like a girl. lol

dal,
Jezoir got such big round eyes. So cute, u put your necklace on his head. Kekee i also got a pic of my boy with necklace on his head...we siao mummy do such crazy things..think my boy next time grow up will say that to me..haha
684270.jpg

lyn,
Yeah, sometimes he's quite a gd boy. :)

Now our mattress is still on the bed frame. Wl put it on the floor when hb comes back next week. My current mattress is king size n its only me n jezoir most of the time so wl still use it. Its only when hb back then a bit of a problem. U co-sleep wif aloy now also? U planning to get a separate mattress for him? I m thinking when to let jezoir sleep on his own. I read dat it may not be gd to co-sleep wif the child for too long.

Haha, he did managed to "dian4" all my girlfrens, single n married.

Thanks for the compliment. :) I thot it was a waste not to use them so thot of this idea. Now also using it this way when feeding jezoir his solids. He likes to play wif the food and spoon and bowl now so it is getting very messy during feeding time. I also bought a plastic table cover to put on the floor so it's easier to clean up after. :)

sunflower,
ya maybe i will hold that 1st...later bring the asparagus to my mum to cook

lyn,
can i ask where u normally get avocardo? Yest went cold storage, the avocardo all hard hard one. How to choose one that is ripe so that i can mash & give?

i_panda,
Haha, yep, we crazy mummies! I think tis is part of the fun we hv wif our babies n it wl be very funny when they grow up and see these!

Thx for the compliment. His eyes are his weapon - to either melt or break my heart. Keke..

lyn, haiz ...my bm is pathetic. Anyway, I am weaning now. Reducing the no. of pumps each day.
Thermal pot ah...hmm ...sounds good. Ok, let me check it out here.

ipanda, the avocado I bought are also hard to begin with. I just leave it around for a few days. It will become soft.

serene

hmm,actualy i didn see any effect on her coz she ate so little...haha..will try again after afew days...btw,never see any other brand b4...

sunflower,
hmm... I will bring Aloysius and my mum later.
I tried roasted swede before in UK. Quite like the taste, but dunno how is it when steamed.
For zucchini, I did not remove the seeds. The seeds are quite soft and smooth. Choose those very slim ones, less seeds and smaller seeds.

dal,
So fun to play with your boy... put necklace on his head and take pictures. hahaha... Your bed is protected at the sides ah? I am still co-sleeping with Aloysius on our queen bed. My bed is quite high, so very afraid that he will fall. I am thinking of getting a super single or queen mattress for him on the floor. I dunno is it he got used to the comfort of my bed already.
Why is it not good to co-sleep with baby for too long? How long is considered long?

ipanda,
I usually get avocado from ntuc or cold storage. Mostly from ntuc. The ripe one is a bit brownish. A bit brown and a bit green and a little soft. Not too soft and too brown, else too ripe. Gotta trial and error. Initially, I also threw away some avocados cos too ripe. I ate the not so ripe ones... kekeke...
There's once when I bought a not so ripe one, and I left it for a few days, not inside the fridge, it became brown inside, and I threw it away.

missk,
Yes, thermal pot is good. Tiger brand or Thermos brand are good. There is a cheap one at $99, La Gourmet brand.

dal,
u boy sounds like my gal, bed time wants to play, will crawls and sit n stand n play w/ my hair n face. but my gal is not as good as ur boy, cannot fall asleep on her own even though she is dead tired n super sleepy, will rub rub her eyes while cry so much n fuss. these 2 days have been terrible, dunno why she can't sleep even though she definitely looks so tired n sleepy. usually she will fuss b4 sleep at night, now b4 every naps also fuss n cry. i used to be able to make her sleep when i feed her milk, then she will automatically sleeps afterwards. now, that also no use! i'm at my wits end. hope that this is only a phase.