(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

sunflower,
not really, abt the same amount of water when i blend other hard veggie like carrot or broccoli.
hehe yeah, it's more work for me though. also when she's more n more active, cannot concentrate to see the flash card even though only for a few seconds. it's kinda forgotten now..

sunflower,
oh btw the trick is to blend a while then stir with spoon, then blend again. repeated a few times. this way i dun need a lot of water when blending hard veggies.

mum2B,
Gotta be careful already. Must strap down tightly on the high chair. Aloysius also likes to stand on the high chair and stroller. Gotta give him some toys so that he will sit and play.

fi,
You can do pap smear any time, except when having menses.

sunflower,
I removed the skin of blueberry and mash it and feed Aloysius. He loves it
I am giving him fruits for breakfast now
Last weekend, I fed Aloysius strawberry too. I cut it into half and hold it for him to bite. He enjoyed it very much too

I bought a recipe book for babies, and following the suggestions in introducing meals. It's an "angmo" recipe book, so dun have white rice porridge.
This morning, Aloysius drank FM
Finally! I have yet to introduce cauliflower...

serene, me lazy mother. Also, the ingredients to use for the porridge is not exactly a lot each time. So what does your ma do to the remaining of the corn or lotus soup? Or does she cook for the family? But I'll consider using fresh soup though. How long must u brew the soup?

celeste, I do soak the rice in water first. Dunno whether issit psychological ..but it does cook faster. I manage to cook the porridge to desired softness within 30 mins (I prepare the stock beforehand. :p)

I think if we use the slow cooker, it will take a longer time to cook the porridge. That's what I was told. Over the fire, it would be faster. But the flip side is you need to keep stirring. Otherwise, it may become burnt!

mum2b: can imagine how tired you are!

sunflower, wow..your bb has tasted a lot of stuff. Btw, when u prepare zuchinni, do u peel the skin?

angeline, thanks for the info.

ahblur,
nice handband and ur girl's so sweet in it! I started my boy on porridge at abt 6+mth. Just plain porridge with pork (I din give the pork meat pieces initially, now still have to make sure it's like minced meat- abit only, cos still can't chew much).

Mum2B,
wow then must really belt your gal in while in highchair. I've started belting my boy in cos he will lunge out with upper half body dangling out. Still can't leave unattended though.

Sorry mums been MIA so long, heh. Today down with cold, caught from my boy- my mum and helper brought both kids to tui-na for their colds, so am very much free-r.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=brNOP9AbDUo
Vid of Irvin pulling to stand. He can crawl, pull to stand, cruise. Can't stand without support yet. On porridge, cereal and tfm. Am trying to sign him up for Kindermusik class at the same place where my elder girl will be having her playgroup class.

Mum 2B,
Feli is fast! strong legs! She takes so much good food... no wonder so fast can stand! Your list makes me drool

celeste,
Your girl is so sweet! I think she looks v much like u.

I think all of u r so hardworking! The only thing i have cooked for my girl to eat is mashed potatoes. My mother is the one who will cook porridge for her. We tried giving Fiona brown porridge with ngor hee but she doesnt seem to like it

Medusa,
Hey, you'r back! I was still wondering the other day where u've been... I like Irvin's safe helmet! haha! that's cute..where u get that fr?

sunflower,
I gave strawberry and blueberry already
The recipe book that I have even has recipe for raspberry which I think is too sour and seedy...

mum2B,
I always eat the leftover mashed food from Aloysius... hahaha... yummy yummy...

Today's lunch menu for Aloysius is mashed butternut, potato and broccoli
Smells very nice...

hahaha... when I blend, I shake the blender while blending... lol...

medusa, sorry to hear you down with flu....

wow.. irvin so cute... can stand so fast. yes.. the safety helmet v cute. good idea too. where can i get it?

Hi tinklebell, amy

just bought it online from http://www.cutiesjuniors.com.sg/ - very convenient with delivery. HOWEVER, my boy has yanked it off several times, if ur bb is absolutely against hats/ caps, I doubt can keep it on, hehe. It's good for when he pulls to stand... lets go, and falls right on his back! I make sure he's on playmat surface too, me a KS mummy, very worried about balukus.

lyn,
wow the recipes sound so yummy! U inspired me to hunt for the recipe books I bought for my #1 last time, aiyah with all the housemoving, I can't find it liao! I remember Kino had those traditional porridge recipes for babies- some meant to reduce phelgm (something with lilybulb, can't recall exact), and so on.

Serene,
yuppies...i also planning to give fish fillet cos my mom will buy for me. I am nuts when it comes to buying fish..haha. As for checking bones, should we wash our hands clean and press on the fish meat to check? Cos if use spoon to depress, very tiny bones we wont be able to feel it?

missk,
I am tinking of cooking over gas stove. Hmmzz, i tink i will use the low fire and try see how long it takes to "dissolve" the rice then u dont have to keep stirring it

Medusa,
Thanx for the compliments
Wow, u started ur boy on porridge quite early. I heard a lot of ppl say start arnd 8mths thats y i only planning to start during this time. Hmmzz, minced meat? Yeah, noted

Tinklebell,
thanx for the compliments

mum2b,

thanks for the potato info

i_panda,

thanks for the link.
kiwi - do you give it raw as in not cooked?

lyn,

wow Aloysius ate so many types of '-berries' yummy
which angmo book are you following? I'm following Gina Ford at the moment.
strawberry and blueberry - do we need to cook this ? haha

combo meal of butternut, potato and broccoli - yum yum..
hmmmm what's butternut? hahaha

missk,

I peeled the skin & remove the seeds as well.

Found my recipe book! Don't mind me if these been shared before:
4-8mth old
- Sweet corn puree (boil til soft, blend to puree). Can mix with congee to add sweetness.

- Milk and Sweet Potato puree (yellow-fleshed sweet potato: wash, boil, peel then mash). Mix with FM or BM as a snack. Don't feed too much as makes bb feel full and sluggish.

- Lily ans Sweetened Dates congee. Rinse 1 fresh lily bulb (or 120g dried lily bulbs). Discard the top, tear into petals (for dried lilies, soak overnight). Add 2 sweetened dates and lilies to the congee. This congee has a natural sweet taste. Sweetened dates and dried lily bulbs help eliminate cough, lubricate the lung and dissolve phelgm. May add slices of meat for flavouring (not eating). Bbs older than 8 mths, meat can be used as ingredients.

- Apple, Assorted almond seeds and pork's shank soup. 3 apples, some almond seeds, 480g pork shank, 1 small piece tangerine peel. Wash pork and seeds thoroughly. Scald pork in boiling water, drain and set aside. Wash apple thoroughly and core. Scrape out pith of tangerine peel, rinse and set aside. Put tangerine peel in water, bring to boil. Add all ingredients when boiled and simmer 10-15mins. Cook over low heat 2 hrs. Make this soup once wkly for varied diet for baby.

- carrot and sweet corn water. Boil 1 carrot, sweet corn, 2 sweetened dates (peel and chop beforehand). Bring to boil, simmer 1 hr. Can be served as a "drink", or in congee.

sunflower,
White and red potato? R u referring to sweet potato? If it's sweet potato then the brown skin 1 is nicer, easier to cook as it got soften easier, the red skin 1 is from japan though known for good vitamins but i tried cooking once, my mum says not easy soft and not so nice to eat...

missk,
I usually boil my soup for at least 1/2 day (the soup for the family) in the slow cooker. So i will add some soup to my boy's porridge lor.

stephanie,
My mum bought a small slow cooker specially for boiling porridge for my boy. is not the smallest size cos my mum says when boiling, some gravy might spill out so she got the 1 which is 1 size bigger than the smallest one.

tinklebell,
the fish at our market (fajar) is super expensive. i only bought 1-2 times! So far, all my fish and prawns got from jurong west market, my mum bought for me. over there is fresh, cheap and good! do u go marketing at fajar? I usually go every sunday as i ask my maid to cook every tue, wed and thurs. every mon and fri, i go my mum's plc.

celesteblur,
Yes, use hand to press the fish to check bones is better...

sunflower,
I bought a book by Amanda Grant titled "baby healthy eating planner".
Oh yes, I fed Aloysius with parsnip too. Very tasty and I love it. He likes it too. I steam the parsnip and mash with potato

I was very tempted to buy cherry for him to eat. kekeke... And might try to steam beetroot mixed with potato. Haven't try yet cos beetroot very messy... I dun like my kitchen red red :p

I dun cook the strawberry and blueberry. Just eat raw. Butternut is like pumpkin, orange flesh, but has a nutty taste to it.

Here's a picture of butternut. Can get from cold storage, but it's not organic.
682793.jpg

medusa, wow... will make sweet corn puree this weekend. the recipes are interesting indeed...

lyn, is vivi coming tmr? have you informed her? dinner prior? aloy coming too?

bb jake had blueberry last week... initially, i did not deskin them, just mashed. only the latter batches, i removed the skin... but seemed like only very little left after that... ha ha... and very ex leh.. $12 for one small punnet.

will we have a gathering again around CNY period, or we all meet at TT after CNY?

lyn,

thanks for the picture.
will look out for it the next time. Is the book by Amanda Grant good?

medusa,

thanks for the recipe. keke will try out sweet corn next haha

amy,

not sure about CNY gathering. Serene says there's no place for the gathering at TT. So may not be able to meet. Also the 1st class needs to wait 1hr for the 2nd class to end. There's only 15 mins interval btw the 2 classes.

serene,

forgot, its 'red' potato. Saw it at supermarket the other day. There were 2 types. 1 labelled as Austrialian red potato, the other just Austrialian potato. so was wondering waht is the difference.

lyn, congrats! So happy to hear that he drank the FM. What brand do u use? Hey which recipe book are you talking abt?

celeste, yah .. I use extremely low fire for 30 mins. During the 30 mins, I pump. After pumping, I check on my porridge.

sunflower, wah ..issit difficult to remove the seeds? I did 2 batches of zuchinni. All I did was to peel the skin. Didn't remove the seeds.

medusa, thanks for sharing the recipes. Wonderful.

serene, good idea. I think I am going to try that. Killing two birds with one stone!

lyn, medusa,
i use ikea high chair, the strap is v flimsy. even when she's strapped she can escaoe n stand.what high chair do u use?

tinklebel,
hehe thanks for the compliment. i was an idiot on weaning bb, learned so much from this forum, n i read as many books i can n even attend talk on weaning bb

lyn,
i dun follow any recipe, just combine any purees together. sometimes bb likesit, sometimes hate it hehe.. but whenever i smuggle in mashed banana, anything goes for her.
can share w/ me any good combination of veggies?

medusa, what's balukus?

lyn,

great that he's drinking his FM now
which brand are you using? I'm thinking of intro 1 feed of FM to his daily feeds.

missk,
nope, very easy to remove. cos when i sliced it realised got seeds like cucumber type. so quickly scrapped it off. keke one of the easier to puree as the vege itself has lots of water

Mum2B,
I use Ikea highchair too. Yah, still dangerous even with strap. Recently got a Peg Perego with 5-pt harness.
Baluku = bruise from bump

lyn
Wow u had tried very special/unique food for Aloy... So far, my boy don't seems to like mashed potato! The rests, he loves all. I will try to do mashed potato 1 more time this sat, perhaps this time, i shall add in the brocolli, might taste better.

missk,
Boiled soup is very good for health, i drank it at least 4x a week. Both my hubby and i love soup. Even my maid who not used to drinking soup in her hometown loves our chinese soup now!

sunflower,
true enough, TT is not a good plc for us to gather...except 8 of us in the same class...in fact, for 8 of us, also cannot chat much after the class cos we have to go away fast in order to give space for the 2nd class. haa!

wow... u gals r adventuous in the meal for ur bb.. so far i have been tried to be prudent, only gave him fish or pork porridge n banana.. guess i shd try to give him more variety..

me still wking now.. taking a short break.. sigh.

Serene/ sunflower,
if u gals r going to meet up after the TT class, i will try to c whether i can join u gals later after my son's lesson.. but then he is usually very tired after his class n sleeps for hrs, so not too sure whether i shd come after that.. haha.. think the class sucks too much of his brain juice.. haha..

mum2b,
your bb can stand w/o support.. mine tried but still can't leh.. he only juz upgrades to support himself with one hand.. can't go without 2 hands support.. very slow..

sunflower, yah ...zuchinni is really easy to puree. Loads of juice!

serene, I love soups too, esp double boiled soup. But I am so lazy to prepare :p

Serene,
Dat i really hv to thank my girlfren n my beautician. They helped to take care of my boy while i was enjoying my facial n haircut. keke...

Haha, my boy sometimes does dat too. Simply refuses to sleep n jz wanna play. I can understand how u feel. I used to get upset wif him when he does this. We try so hard to get them to sleep but ended up we being so tired ourselves! But now i simply lie on the bed next to him n say i'm tired n need to sleep. Then he'll keep trying to crawl (or creep as some calls it. anyway he's moving on all fours) over me. Then hold on to me, stand up, fall backwards, then laughs, and he'll repeat it till he's tired; then he'll lay on the bed to catch his breathe. He'll also try to play wif my hair or use his face to rub my face. When he's tired, he'll fall alseep on his own. And i realise this works better coz he gets tired faster! keke..

Yep, my boy also will push me away when he doesn't wan me to carry and pat him to sleep. Guess their range of non-verbal display of emotions are getting wider! keke... I'll jz say 'Gd boy, dun wan mummy to waste energy hor. Gd boy', then put him down. Keke...

Serene,
Btw, he may be mistaken as one of the girls in the TT trial. Yesterday when I took him to Kiddy Palace at Jurong Point, one mummy asked me how old is 'she'! Think maybe she's trying to matchmake her 23-months old son. Not the 1st time he's being mistaken as a she. Keke...

brayden gor gor, if i ger u think i pretty or not?
683439.jpg

missk,
yep, didnt online msn much recently, except to hv a quick word wif a few overseas frens n my hb. hehehe..

sunflower, kiwi can serve fresh, don't have to cook, see below.

Some recipes to share from http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/FruitRecipes.htm

Blueberries** 8-10 months+
Vitamins: A, C, K, Folate
Minerals: Potassium, Sodium, Phosphorus, Iron, Magnesium, Calcium

1. 1/2 pint of blueberries (fresh or frozen)
2. 4 c. water
3. Bring water to a boil. Add blueberries and simmer for 15 minutes until soft.
4. Reserve liquid and use a slotted spoon to transfer blueberries to
blender/processor/mixer and puree.
5. If needed, add some of the liquid to blueberries.
6. Add cereal (if desired) to thicken up
*You can save the liquid to serve as juice or to blend in with cereals etc..

**Many believe that blueberries fall under the "no berries until after age 12 months old" rule. Blueberries are not really a common allergen - they are not in the "berry" family. Blueberries are related to cranberries - cranberries appear on many lists of "least allergenic foods" Blueberries are not related to
strawberries, raspberries and the like. Those "true" berries may be mild to highly allergenic. In the book, Managing Allergy and Intolerance in the Allergic Infant (published for Health Care Professionals and The General Public), blueberries are recommended between 6-9 months old. There are also several
other pediatric allergy books that say that blueberries are ok from 6-9 months old as well.

Blueberry Banana Yogurt 8-10 months+
1 cup blueberries
1 whole banana
1 cup plain yogurt
2 tablespoons wheat germ

For Babies: Use 1 cup of your already made blueberry puree OR Microwave the
blueberries just until the juices start to run, about 30 seconds. Place the
banana, yogurt and blueberries in a blender and puree until smooth.

For Toddlers: Slice the banana. Microwave the blueberries just until the juices
start to run, about 30 seconds. Place a little yogurt in a dish and top with
banana slices, blueberries, wheat germ and serve. This will make 2-3 servings.

Kiwi 8-10 months+*
Vitamins: A, C, K, Folate
Minerals: Potassium, Phosphorus, Magnesium, Calcium

1. Peel ripe kiwi
2. Puree or mash with a fork - add cereal (if desired) to thicken and
achieve a smooth, thin consistency. Kiwi does not need to be cooked and it shold not need to be de-seeded as it is typically introduced at an age where baby can tolerate raw fruits and a bit of texture. *Kiwi is high in Vitamin C and is also acidic, you may wish to wait to introduce it when baby is 10 months or older.

lyn,
so that pic is butternut. i saw it at cold storage just now, its being put together with pumpkin. And i was wondering what is it. Does Aloy likes it? Maybe i will get it for Josh next time.

Bought carrots, sweet potato (both organic) & asparagus (not organic) just now at cold storage. Tomoro on leave, will puree all & freeze. Hahaa..forsee CNY super busy, must keep stock 1st. First time buy asparagus, dun know how the puree will be like.

haiz..so tired...my ger fever is quite under control.hopefuly later at nite,it wun flare up again..but now hor,shes covered in rashes ' german false measles' can c tt shes feeling vv terrible..her coughing still remain..n can hear those wheezing sounds..n she got lots of phlegm..wonder wat causes all those phlegm..its making her hard to breathe n rejecting her milk bottles...now she wana latch-on for her milk..but i had just weaned her off n my ms so miserable..not sure if i wana try to increase my ms again for her sake now..haiz..

btw,need some info here...any mummies uses neubiliser b4? can share more info on it? like the cost? side effect? procedure? is it effective? etc? coz my PD recommend to use it if her phlegm still there by the time she finish her mixture...

celeste_blur

my PD told me over the phone that the rashes on my ger's is german false measles...haiz..shes look so terrible...its mostly on her head/face/body..legs n hands got abit...did ur PD say anything abt german false measle? can share?

serene

yup..its located at those yougurts area...i took out n left on the table for awhile so tt its not too cold..anyway,she didn eat alot..just taste a few sips n then i finish up all.hehe..

fi,

i oso not sure leh..it says baby yogurt...so i buy loh..

medusa

ur recipe came in just in time..can check where can we buy those dried lilies n sweetened dates har? how to say in chinese? so,do we serve them/mash them? together in the porridge? or,just add in for flavour?can explain in detail?coz i not tt good in cooking..thot of trying to let my ger eat..

missk: i peel the skin of the zucchini..boil n blend.. easy!!

i fell asleep while making my ckn soup... burnt!!

btw, have u all fed tomatoes? do u give the seeds?

dal

your boy's picture so cute with his big round eyes. is that a nappy wrap around him?

i_panda
thanks for the recipe, will get kiwi for him next keke

how to puree asparagus ?

sunflower,
Thx for the compliment on jezoir. :) Yep, dats a cloth nappy! :) Bought 2 packs but ended up using disposable diapers so m using them for other purposes. Hehe.. Now he drools so much dat a bib is useless. Keke.. so now i tie the ends of a cloth napkin around his neck and back so he's like wearing a halter neck. Haha...

missk,
Re: double boiled soup
Buy a slow cooker, dump everything in and just leave it to boil for at least 5 hrs to taste well. The water won't dry up so fast, don't have to look after it...very easy!

dal,
Wow, now u mentioned it, Jezoir does look a little like ger ger...hmm, yes pretty.
Actually i found that he looks alot like you, his big round eyes. He must have looks more like you than your hubby right?

peng,
It may be hard for us to gather after the TT class cos there's no place for us. The public will be crowded, even just for trial 1, we may have 8 babies+8 pairs of daddy and mummy....

Angeline,
Thanks, I will take a lookout for the yougurt when I go to the supermarket. But does it mention for babies? Any particular brand?

serene

tks for the trial..quite abit of organising to do...
the yogurt brand is yoplait...it did mention on the packaging tt its for baby..
comes in pack of 4..

Angeline,
Don't mention, it's my pleasure.
But to be honest, I've never arrange an activity for a big group before. Even during school days, i'm a low profile person, i'm usually a follower, not a leader. :p

Thanks, I will chk out Yoplait brand. Is this the only brand for babies? After your gal has eaten, does she poo after? yogurt supposed to clear the bowel system right?