(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

mtdt,

what's the min number for a trial? maybe we can combine?
I'm also interested for BJG trial.
called them but no answer

ipanda,
think i paid $350 lor cos I took those colour with the word "reflection" (cos material abit diff) else will be $330.

sunflower,
If u arranging group trial and short of ppl, let me know. For me, don't mind to go if there's a trial, but if don't have also never mind...

kite,
thank you. Think our kids at this age now all look cute in this traditional costume...gal gal's costume, more choices and more cute ah...really envy gals hv so many choices.

mum2b, yah..i understand how u feel becos at times I also doubt myself. That's why I am very conscious about myself and take every opportunity to know more abt child-rearing.

Ok, my son follows the routine rather strictly. Of cos sometimes, he wakes up a little later so we just adjust the routine accordingly. I dun feed my son when he's sleepy or drowsy. He's usually rather awake. After feeding, he would play for about 30 mins before sleeping. My son also never seems hungry. He hardly ever cries for food. Haha ..or I just dun interpret his cries for food. I always think he's crying for some other reasons.

He's always fed at the same place and in the same chair. Suster gives him milk in the FP Rocker Chair. The chair is slight reclined at about 30 degrees. In this way, no need to expend energy carrying him. My son knows that it's feeding time becos of the routine. First, she would wear his bib then put him down on the chair. Then she would start feeding him. There are times when he would make a little noise so she just distracts him with some toys with the bottle still in his mouth.

Oh, when we go out, I breastfeed him. And yes, he's easily distracted. So bfg can be a pain! Do other babies behave this way?

Re:Solids
Haha, now I am in two minds again! Ya, I still believe that milk is the most impt food for the bb's first year. For me, it's ok if he doesnt eat a lot. The most important thing is that he must drink milk! The question is why does Gina Ford recommends replacing a milk feed with a meal? That I don't quite agree.

serene,

wow you gave cereals by tablespoons. keke I only give by teaspoon of cereal haha
My boy loves apples! When finished he'll still open his mouth for more. Pour water into cup for the remaining amount & gave to him, he also finished it. When we removed his bib, he'll cry for more apples!

Serene, Tracy,
Thanks on CNY clothes. Will go check out. Serene, do you know where in Chinatown alley? Any shop name?

Vivi,
Think cannot go to gathering...will be too tiring for both me and baby. Really wish to go though. M sure it will be fun for both mommy and baby..haha.. Anyway, meet you gals next time..maybe over lunch at town or something like that? Enjoy yourselves!

zoe,
re: babypen
just read through your post. Think I saw something like this but its quite big at Paragon First (Few) Years. It cost $400+ I think. You may want to go check it out.

tinklebell,

Ya, have been busy packing, and trying to spend more quality time w hb. But now I'm free already. :p

okipoki,

Heh, thanks. He's very vocal now. My mom always say he's louder than her tv.

Serene,

I wanted to buy the exact piece for my son yesterday!

Wen,

Metro selling them. Causeway pt actually have a booth at the atrium. Selling for $39.90 per set if I remembered correctly.

hi mummies, am from Aug thread...anyone want to order Similac follow on stage 2? i need a minimum order of 14cans...$27.40 per can. pls PM me, thanks!

hidora,
Metro selling $39.90 per set??? Cut throat! My mum only bought for $22 after discount!

Wen,
Don't know which shop, don't think my mum look at the shop name too. But I saw many shops there selling those chinese costume, cushion covers, tissue box cover, display stuffs etc. Those shops should have...

sunflower,
My boy cannot survive on a few teaspoon of cereal, not enough, he will cried! I'm using those pooh bear feeding set, the pooh bear bowl, he can eat more than 1/2 bowl (cereal + puree + milk)...but now i try to reduce to 1/2 bowl, yesterday, he make noise, asking for more...i quickly give him water and distract him, sing praise saying, well done, good boy, finished yr dinner...yeah yeah... :p

oki,
Actually now our babies very fun already hor? My boy sometimes scream!!! Don't know what he's trying to do...and he always hmm hmm hmm, seems like complaining, don't know what he wants.

serene,
yeah agreed !! but guess ur bb shld be more advanced than mine. chloe will only be turning 7mths this sat... same as bb Isaiah.

re: bjg

i think the number on the website like not correct. I called using the number in the Baby Gym thread and manage to go through to them.... hey come for my crawler2 class at 12:30noon saturday? There is only 3 of us.

missk,
wah for my bb, even though i follow schedule, she doesn't care, sleeps when she wants,drink milk when she wants, play when she wants. i'm at my wit's end already.
like yesterday she slept at 1 am, even though her last nap was 4.30-5pm. she did slept after i feed her at 10pm, but only for 30 mins, then cry n wake up. then because she slept so late, in the morning she can't drink much coz too sleepy (usually whether or not she wake up, i just feed her at 7am). after 9 hours w/o milk (at night), at 7 am she only drink 100ml. then fell asleep after bath at 9.15 to 10.15am. then at 10.30 drink milk n that such a struggle, managed to finish 120ml but needs more than 1 hour coz she wants to play (even though schedule for feeding is 10am). shedule went haywire already. if i feed her when she is fully awake, she would drink 30 ml then stop n play, then another 30 ml, then cry wants to play, etc. i feel i spent a large chunk of my life trying to feed her milk.
maybe i'm not suited for motherhood

oh u still bf. u mean u only bef when outside? at home using bottle only?

btw i have FP rocker, but now she can't sit still already, play with whatever it's there, the velcro tape, the vibration panel below, turning her body n looking at the ox picture behind, standing. u know this morning at 10.30 feed, she keep turning around when i bottle feed her, but i maintain the bottle inside her mouth, so feeding while she twisting around, lay down and even standing.

hi poohy

i called up bjg.. they said i have to go to crawler1 class, can't go to crawler2.. i wan sat class leh, not sun..
how did u mgr to go to crawler2?tks!

serene,

Wah! 22 bucks?! Heng I nv buy. T_T Think must keep a look out for the cny clothes. Dun wanna buy from metro already.

peng,

I just asked to go to the class under Teacher April, my boy's former teacher. And she only has this crawler2 class left. Initially Anne told my hb that my girl is only 7 mth gotta join crawler1.... then my hb told her we are doing our own home training and she is crawling well on her own liao... so they agree to let her go in for the class to allow the teacher to assess whether she can join the crawler2. That's how she went in. In fact, if u had been doing home training since birth (like in my girl's case), she is already considered advanced in some of the stuff done eg. San zi jing, maths she is way more advanced liao... she is not creeping yet but some babies in crawler2 cant creep yet... so its ok. Most of the activities she is at least on par or more advanced .. hmm the only thing is fine motor skill like turning a screw etc which requires more practise to match crawler2.

kite,

U VERY RICH lei!!!!
2K for the room, VERY EX leh!!
haizzz.. think have to settle for cheaper rooms liao.. me not working yo..

But yr room looks fantastic

Angeline,

re: BJG
Think only got 2 places.. Bt Batok or Pasir Ris. I am staying in the west... thus Bt Batok will be more convenient for me

okipoki,

wah..too far for me liao to bring my ger my mrt..she will surely kickup a big fuss 1..tink i will pass this time..hehe..

mum2b

ur situation v similar to mine..feel like i spend alot of time trying to make her drink those little bit of milk..her max now only 100ml on 'good' days..average 70ml n then she dun wan liao n will play wif her teats..hope this will pass soon.quite tired already..her zzz pattern oso like urs..will put her zz at ard 9/10pm+..she will zz but for 30min n then she will wake up n i gota spend alot time to make her zz again..sometime no choice gota nurse her to zz..which i dun like coz not good.wana kick the habit..arrghhh..

Tracy:
hehe thanks. ya we love the room built on water very much, cant bear to leave too, esp my hb. No lah $2k is e total cost of the room for 6D5N, not per nite, hehe, sounds reasonable?

Actually by right, it shld cost more than $2k but remember we got a free upgrade on water, so slightly cheaper...

mum2b, aiyoh ...u must be very very tired!!!! My baby sleeps at about 730 pm. He cries at night too. We carry him and make him sleep again. Sometimes, it can mean about 20-30 mins of carrying. We don't allow him to play at night.

Angeline:
My ger very used to me nursing her to sleep. Agree spend quite effort n time to nurse her to slp. Dunno y nowadays she is very lightslper, tend to wake up by tiny little noise.

Jiat liat, if i wanna wean, dunno how cos not easy to pat her to slp. But during nursing, sometimes i wil pat her backside n she tend to fall aslp faster. Nowadays dunno y she tend wake up looking for human pacifier/drink milk at nite, jiat liat, make me so tired.

Do u all always nurse ur bb to slp? wat kind of method do u all use to put bb to slp? when i m at work, my mum wil pat her or sometimes after my mum feed her bottle w milk, she wil fall aslp by herself.

missk,

my girl also cry at night... especially when she has blocked nose but sometimes we also dunno why. She can cry 1 hour straight! Last week she cry 1 hour before going to sleep and then wakes up at 4+am to cry for another 1 hour... dunno why, give her milk also dun want, massage her tummy, change diaper, carry, pat all cannot.. she cry and then raise 1min before continue hehee... I was so stressed her loud wailing will wake my boy and start the crying marathon

angeline,
ur ger doesnt like to take train ar ?? thot bb likes to look ard... my ger got distracted very easily.

recently, my ger also wakes up at nite for milk. previously she can sleep thru'out the nite. but nowadays, if i fed her ard 9am, she can wakes up at 2am & 6am for milk.... very tiring.

okipoki:
same here leh. Chloe also behaves like tat, wakes up twice middle of e nite for feeding recently. so tiring. dunno y leh, issit due to teething or they feel more hungry? her teeth still hvnt come out leh.

kite,

now that u mentioned it... I think maybe its due to teething... cos when my girl have the unexplained bouts of crying last week.... yesterday we found she had sprouted her 3rd teeth. Maybe its becos the gum painful or not comfortable... it slips my mind... last time my boy also will getting crying spells at night when he is teething... and more easily irritable. Now that her 3rd tooth come out, no more crying spell these few days.

Organising cards
Just wondering if I should get a office filing cabinet for my flash cards....really messy now. Can't imagine how it is going to be one year down the road...digging into toyogo boxes... Anyone working as office purchasing exec or has purchased such system before? Any lobang for such things? I don't think can find in home-furniture shops leh... Any idea?

wen,

I went to popular bookshop yesterday to buy those plastic file cases A4 size thick ones. Each case can be used to put about 200 A5 size cards. I am trying this method. Then I just file the cards in a shelves just like any other file. I am trying to find if there is A5 size instead so that each case can hold abt 100 A5 size cards. Not sure where to find ...

I ever see flashcards filing system from overseas website but not in singapore leh.

Poohy,

Do you still have the link of the website? Maybe I also try look around in Singapore. Who knows, some of us here may have seen it before. =b I will take a look at the cases at Popular. Thanks.

missk,
yeah, i feel like giving up already. maybe should just find a job n "dump" her to maid or infant care.
if my bb wake up at night, no amount of carrying or patting is useful. so the option is just to let her play until tired or let her cry.
btw does ur suster talk/sing dyring feeding? if i talk to my bb durig feeding, she'd distracted n stop drinking o smile or "talk" to me. sigh..
do u make ur milk v warm for feed?

angeline,
r u working? wo take care of ur bb?

poohy,
u use cry it out method? sometimes i just too tired to carry so i let her cry, but cannot too long coz hubby cannot sleep.

wen,
i think i saw office filing cabinet at 2nd furniture shop at kallang area. eh not sure the exact location though

mum2b,

I dun use cry it out method. Me and hb will try to carry her till she stop crying but well sometimes if we really cant stop the crying cos dunno what's wrong, we will just carry her and keep trying to calm her down. We dun let the children cry it out on their own .... even if we cant solve what's bothering them, we will just carry them... my boy 20 months liao also at times have long crying spells... especially if overstimulated in the day.... I have to carry him all the way and endure his kicking and all.. till he calms down. I cant bear to just leave them there and cry it out on their own leh... attachment parenting mah...

Tracy:
Yup we considered lucky, was surprised too. If no upgrade, i think i wil faint at the price. They told us costs S$1000 per nite. can u imagine? So lucky us.

Poohy:
yup teething. nowadays she keeps wanting to nurse so much. so tiring.

poohy, yah lor. Last time I was very stressed cos I just couldn't understand why my son was like that. Now, I just take it easy lah. If he cries, I just carry lor. Yes, very tiring but what to do?

mum2b, yah suster talks to him during feeding. Yah, I was once very tired from looking after the bb. Then I read something fr William Sears. Some children demands more than others. FRom then, I began to look at things differently. Well, the phase will pass. One thing though, I started giving Krist a schedule since he's one month old. I guess he's kinda used to it. When u set a routine, you need at least 14 days before you give up. WAnt to read TRacy Hogg's book? Or you can read the Sleep Lady sytem. Both books available from the library. Don't give up yah! I know it's difficult and I've gone thru that stage esp when I was in Singapore. Look at the brighter side of things. You can email me to chat lah. You have my email add rite?

CIO: I certainly don't advocate the CIO method. I believe bb need to feel secure. I just cant bear to leave my son to cry his lungs out.

re: BJG

no wonder. I called the number at their website & yellowpages. poohy, can give me the number? see if I can arrange a trial.

so far Serene, okipoki and I interested. any idea how many to start a trial class?

sunflower - oh, think min 3 to start a class.

trial shd be the same. quick email/call annie to arrange!

good luck!

Poohy,
When Gabby is over stimulated and has long crying spell, I will bring her down to the void deck and walk and sing to her. She calmed down almost immediately. And sometimes just fall back to sleep again. One of my friends said she would just bring her baby for a drive. Think it is calming yet distracting enough to get the baby to cool down. Maybe can try that if possible.

sunflower,

the bjg number shd be 67890442.

wen,

I never bring the children out when they have extended crying... I just carry them around in the house...
The problem is if its middle of the night.. I am very scared of waking my boy up... cos dunno whether he will start crying if his sleep is disturbed.