(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

wow super lots of posting after I mia for few hours.

thought all milk will have some level of sugar in them? No?

amy,
i just re read ur post, i notice u give 6 tsp each feed? so total 12 tsp a day for breakfast and dinner? wow, that's a lot.

fi,
yeah "that" area will be read. but i put desitin around it only, not on "it". u mean can put there ah? scared the desitin goes in hehe..

i also use cotton wool. my mil teached me to make sterile cotton wool to wipe bb face and back side by boiling cotton wool. still using this method till now.

celeste,
yeah sucrose is another form of sugar. i also dun want bb to have sweet tooth so try to avoid aything with sugar in her foods.

sunflower,

yea, milk have some level of sugar already.
that's y its important we try not to give more as like wat mum2b mention, it will cos bb to have sweet tooth..

amy,
forgot to ask u abt water. how do u give water to bb? use cup/bottle/spoon? during meal or after meal? intially i used cup, but nothing goes into my bb mouth, so now i use spoon, v tedious, but at least a few drop goes in. thinking of another way to give he water more efficiently. any suggestion?

vivi,
Davian looks very cute and a happy baby
So chubby and looks so huggable..

amy, serene,
I gotta jia you... everytime I feel like giving up, I will think of Aloysius...

serene,
I am ok with the typing. Can type very fast. It's the ideas, flow of the thesis, quality that is a struggle for me...
For Aloysius, I just turn my back to walk a few steps, he will start to cry already.
My KL client lost 15kg already... but she started with 70+kg
Still got a few more in JB and Singapore... Got no time to follow up also :p Think they doing fine la.. else sure call me...

hahaha.. really must refrain in the casino. Win already, gotta ciao liao...

Fi,
My mom went to KL last week, then went to bintan with us, then back JB... I have also been busy with my cousin. She just moved to Singapore with 3 kids. A very bold move and not easy. Gotta help her to find and buy house, find schools for the 3 kids, student pass, etc etc. Today just settled a painter to go paint her house, and also install a water filter. Yesterday, her son got choked with fishbone.. then gotta rush down to TMC then to KKH, then spent whole day at KKH liao... I gotta go with her, cos she dunno "ang mo". Gotta help her find tutor for her kids next. Got tutor recommendation for Sengkang area?

hahaha... I am also not used to talking so loudly. Last time, before pregnancy, i am at home alone usually, dun need to talk leh... hahaha...

amy,
Jake is so cute.. hahaha... can suck his fingers in peace...

i_panda,
I understand the jealousy part.. You carried him for 9 months during pregnancy leh.. some more got your unique genes
So no need worry la... I used to get jealous, but not anymore. My PIL will carry Aloysius all the way when we go out. Now I tell myself, even better... then me and my hubby can "er ren shi jie" shopping
kekeke... You just need to tell him "mama loves you and you loves mama most" everyday..

i_panda,
Josh looks so cute in his standing hair. Lots of babies got standing hair. Aloysius got "tie tie" hair. I shaved him 3 times...

celeste,
I started shichida this term
I am KS mommy after reading Shichida's books, so start early

Tracy,
I read about that too. Just give them the security that they need now
But sometimes very "siong".

Wah.. your beautiful gal is so cute too... See all the happy babies here makes my very happy

I just started Aloysius with oatmeal today
I blend the oatmeal myself and then boil. I mixed it with avocado and he loves it

lyn,
i tried to blend and cook oatmeal myself but failed
dunno is it becoz i add too little water or becoz i cook too long, the result is very solid like a wobbly cake hehe.. how do u cook it? after cooking, do u add milk?

wat bout cheese? can give cheese? cheese got milk, how??

any of u bght maple biscuits? can give?? we're supp to stay away from honey rite? is maple considered as honey?

lyn,

yaa... very very siong. but lucky for me that i am not working yet so i try to carry and hug her as much as i can now.
cos once i go back to work, i very scared she will be very attached to my maid instead of me..
**sob sob**

btw wat kind of oatmeal r u using huh?
where can i buy? me wanna give Leia oatmeal and avocado but dunno where to get.

Tracy,
I read from Shichida that bonding will help with bb security lor...that is why still 'ren'..=b

Your girl soooo pretty! Such a sweetie.

Tracy,

About sweet tooth...think I am too late liao. I eat so much Chocolate...wa haha..

Also read somewhere that Bmilk normally taste quite sweet, even if mama don't eat lots of sweet stuff. But of course that should not be the reason to give sweet stuff to bb first lah..

Btw, how do you cook the spinach for bb?

Any mommy tried cooking greens such as kailan, caixin etc? How does your bb take it? I am also a bit worry that she won't take vegetables coz she has been spoilt with sweet potato, pumpkin, apple, pear...all the sweeter stuff...apart from the fact that Bmilk may be sweet anyway.

tracy,
HT (healthy times) got oatmeal cereal..can get from NTUC. my boy also likes oatmeal cereal with potato/sweet potato/pumpkin...maybe more tasty to rice cereal.

lyn,
but aren't u afraid that will 'bao xi guan'? me is afraid of this..or more importantly afraid that he will be spoilt. Ok will start telling josh 'mama loves you and you loves mama most" starting from today

mum2B,
Think you have added too little water. What I did today was stir and mix in the cold water. Then bring to boil. If you add the oatmeal in hot water, gonna get lots of lumps. Stir as you boil, else "chao ta". I did not add milk. Lazy to express :p

michele,
As far as I can remember, cheese is no no till 1 year old.

Tracy,
Can get from NTUC. I bought the rolled oatmeal. It's processed less and should have more nutrients
You can get avocado from NTUC or cold storage, but not organic ones.

i_panda,
When Aloysius was born, in the first month, he wanted to be carried. And we carried as much as he wanted. Then after a while, he could sleep on his own, and dun need much carrying.
So now, I kinda believe in giving baby the security he wants. This will be a passing stage, I guess.

Wen, I cooked spinach like how I did my puree - steam, blend, freeze as puree.

mic - cheese is no no. some recipe books not v accurate when it comes to ingredients, although the recipes are interesting and insightful. need to customise lor.

lyn, wow... aloy on home made oatmeal.. so full of love...

mum2b - i used to feed bb jake water via a spoon, but ever since he started solids, i give him a sippy cup. will feed him before, during and after meals, and throughout the day when he wakes up, when he plays, etc. just keep reminding him. if he is thirsty, he will drink.

and yes, bb jake eats 12 tsp a day, plus 4 cubes 35 ml each. he loves pumpkin w oatmeal cereal.

just now bb jake cannot sleep... think it's due to teething - he bit my mum on her shoulder. think tmr gotta give him some teething tablets... no choice... cos it's disrupting his sleep patterns...

amy: why no cheese? hey what teething tablets u bght? if its hylands, it doesnt work!! are ur teething tablets teh drowsy kind?

amy,
Do you know if can introduce oatmeal? I think I read somewhere cannot, and most books say ok. I hope I haven't remember wrongly. Nowadays, no time to read books... I have succumb to jar food when we went to Bintan :p

Aloysius also bit me two days ago on my shoulder. He's only teething the first two teeth...

I have an old recipe book for infants. I find the recipes are not suitable anymore. I also have a chinese recipe book for infants. It's stated to feed baby with fruit juice at 2 months! I dun think I will follow these after seeing so many young kids having constipation problems already.

Lyn, read that for the allergy infant, it's best to intro oat after 9 months. but HT oatmeal is wheat free, so it should be ok. but if aloy is fine, should be ok rite?

i also tried an apple food jar, and bb jake din really fancy that.

mic - think cheese is diary product, related to lactose intolerance? i am not sure, but i also read somewhere cheese is for later intro.

teething tablets - yup... hylands... see if it works lor. cos bb jake was ok until now - 7 teeth out already, suspect some more coming out, that's why it's been affecting his sleep habit.

Fruit juice best to intro after 9 months if possible, and to intro with the meal, at least halfway into the meal.

deciding on the order of food is quite diff hor? i have few books saying diff thing. really gotta contemplate long and hard before i decide what to buy for bb jake.

plan to intro meat after 9 months. think should intro chicken, then fish rite? cos fish might cos allergy too.

amy: i was gonna intro meat at 7 mths can? we bght teething tablets, doesnt work on Bren, makes him more alert!! hope it works on urs, must tell me k...

my son doesnt like juice, likes water, i'm glad!!

vivi: was japan like really cold? u went tokyo? me scared of cold!!! lucky this yr tw not cold, my think overcoat still not out.. save dry cleaners!!

vivi: sorry!! make u blur... why out of the blues ask u... me thinking of going... either hk/sg/tokyo or simply tw....... see hub lets me go or not. going without him!! YAY!!

amy,
what's teething tablet for?

lyn,
what does 'rolled' in roll oats mean?

mum2b,
do you mean boil water with cotton wool inside?

my boy has been rejecting my B for BM, so skip 1 feeding in the evening. very sim tia after all the effort..help.so once he cry awake in the middle of the night like 2 or 4am, i will latch him and he'll drink the most middle of the night.anyone has similar happening?

michele,

think if on sale Singapore selling the chair for %49. If not will be %60.
This was recalled back for safety issue. Make sure the set comes with a white safety extra plastic piece. cos initially doesn't have that, some babies' hand got stuck in between chair & the play=tray. The chair also quite small. So if bigger babies will outgrow very fast.

sunflower: recalled!! chey this tw ah.. where got sale after all compared to sg. the original price $1999ntd, now $999, no wonder got sale!!

"white safety extra plastic piece" where is it located?

Lyn,
wow your client lose 15kg liao!
that's inspiring!

michele,
great that your boy likes water. Mine does not really likes water. He'll take water when feeding him rice cereals. Have to feed him using cup or spoon. Tried using sippy cup for him but ended up he keep biting the cup as a toy.

Is diluted juice ok for 6-mths old?
eg pear or prune?

michele,

recalled so that they can replace with the extra safety thing. It should be inside the box.
Urm...I was considering whether to buy ended up never buy. 1st of safety, 2nd think its quite small 3rd my friend has 1, her gal touch & go seldom sit on it!

kiki,
Gymboree alot of angmo? passed by few times, like very empty le. was at tanglin mall 1 saturday, nobody. then the session like 1-1!

re: sweet potatos
does it matter if we give those orange or purple skin yellow flesh ones?

June Babies Gathering:

Date: 21 January 2007 (Sunday)
Time: 2pm
Venue: Vivi's place
(West, jurong west ext. Near gek poh)

Attending:
1) Vivi (3)
2) Amy
3) Sunflower (3)
4) Aishite (3)
5) Wen
6) mum2b
7)

Pending:
1) okipoki
2) tinklebell
3) Fi
4) Peng

Anymore mummies?

Want to bring some fingerfood/drinks to the gathering? potluck?

sunflower: 30ml water, 10ml juice... my son still no like.. i tried pear & grape gave me funny face!! i gave spinach

amy: jake got 7 teeth!! wow!! my son's gums ve been swollen since 3 mths, i give up looking now. he doesnt show me his gums liao, use his tongue to cover. look at upper gums he push my hand away!! my friend's son, 13 mths only 1 upper tooth!!

to each its own?

sunflower, my gal got constipation and my PD ssay ok to give prune juice.. 30ml prune juice, 30ml water.. but i feel too much so gace her only 10ml prunce juice n 30ml water..

and i boil apple juice for her too.. purely apple.. and i gave her the boiled apple.. she loved it so much..

wen,
i boil my spinach first, then blend until really fine before mixing it with porridge or cereal.
i giving my girl french beans now.
never heard of kailan, caixin..
but u can give broccoli (gg to try that next), but dun give the stem as it will cause gas.. haha

tracy,
stem of brocolli will cause gas? thanks for info..what is french beans, give only the beans or include the pod?

anyone tried sweet pea? boil, deskin and smash the pea is it? pod throw away?

anyone tried banana, poo ok? till now i didnt dare try cause mil says it will make poo solidify / harder woh..

mum2b,
hhmm..looks like we describe real detail..
frankly i dont know if can put desitin 'on' the hole spot. if its me i put around, mil tend to put 'on' it. but if put 'on' it i find it difficult to wash off even after a shower so i dont really like that idea. dont even know what it feels like, dont tell me we try on ourselves first? wah ha ha ha.......

me going to work now

Yes Yes Fox is having sales 50% + 20% for 3 items and above!!! Yest nite I rushed down to buy.. very worth it.. a pant costing $26 after discount is only abt $10.. but left with limited size, so got to be quick quick..

Celeste,
I don't know which class is good.. i thought they have only 1 type of class for our bb age.. i am going this sat.. will tell u when i am back.. trial and normal class cost the same, $25..

hello morning mummies,
i'm now at office.have to walk under the rain to reach. some more didnt even see the sun at 7am.

yeah yeah...sunflower, count me in for gathering. hb say ok woh, can go with me
i also need to attend support group like this cause mothering very siong, last night boy reject my B, give him he cry and cry like kena torture, i look at my frozen stock and feel very rejected with all the effort but jsut have to accept. let's all take family pic together, can show bb when they grow up.vivi, your place is floravale? any more snowy bb pic to show us? can do slide show there...

hb says there'll be more rejection to come and this time, bb didnt even mean it. next time our boy will reject our good intentions so i must learn...

hee hee..now that i'm going must chio the rest...
oki? going or not?
tinklebell? bring your son?
peng? got driver?
kite? back from langkawi yet?
yoo hoo........anyone else, all wecome...

me should be able to make it.. tentatively 3 adults.. tks! Fi, do u need us to bring some food? Shall we arrange something for our bbs to play (e.g. toys etc)? Got any playmat for them to crawl around?? Tks!!

peng,
yeah yeah.. food? dont know leh. sunflower, how? food ah? bring toys then i've to bring tua pau seh pau (big bag, small bag) by cab woh..borrow vivi's toys?

Good morning!!!!

Fi,
ya loh raining so heavily this morning... so sian gotta wake up at 545 **YAWN**
think vivi lives in floravale.
Yes... will be bringing my son if i can go.

peng,
fox sale looks v attractive!! wh outlet u go to?

good morning... raining cats n dogs since yesterday!

Sunflower: i also not so sure cos i heard my cousin say as she did many homeworks for her son...hehe.

i went to great world.. quite limited.. more info on here: http://www.foxfashion.sg/fall-winter/home/

tell u gals something funny.. i realize my bb likes to crawl to the door or cupboard.. yest i let him crawl to door to c what he is up to.. he was actually examining 2 c which part of the door is easy for him to stand up.. he tried the door surface, hard for him.. so he crawl to the edge of the door n hold it there n realized that it's the easiest for him.. then he realized if he is too far from the door, abit hard for him to stand up for too long, so he moves nearer..

so yest he actually sat there for quite some time to solve the problem of how to hold onto the door to stand up.. he was so busy n engrossed to think of the best solutions n tried all sorts of method.. looking at him was so funny.. i din noe that bb can do problem solving too.. haha..

peng,
you must video all these down..so comical.think i've to mop the floor proper and let jz explore the floor too. sounds so adventurous and interesting.

June Babies Gathering:

Date: 21 January 2007 (Sunday)
Time: 2pm
Host: Vivi
Venue: Vivi's place
(West, jurong west ext. Near gek poh)

Attending:
1) Vivi (2+1)
2) Amy (?+1)
3) Sunflower (2+1)
4) Aishite (2+1)
5) Wen (1+1)
6) mum2b (?+1)
7) Fi (2+1)
8) Peng (3+1)

Pending:
1) okipoki
2) tinklebell
3) Tracy

Anymore mummies?
Calling Calling

Want to bring some fingerfood/drinks to the gathering? potluck?