(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

sunflower: email u liao... its adobe format. dunno author, my dear hub hasnt printed!! so all of u prob. read before me...

those who want, pls email me... cos i dun ahve ur emails.

stephanie: email addy?

Mic

PM u liao!

Wen

Just when i thot she's beginning to sleep thru the night, .....for 2 nights last week, she slept from 8.30pm to 4.30am for a feed....i was happily thinking that i can now sleep peacefully. But come weekend, she was like waking up every hour, but refusing feeds.

Stephanie,

I know how it feels. She slept from 1.30am to 6am on Sunday night and I was thinking...Bingo! My girl is sleeping through the night! Then last night...

My girl would drink if I feed her but it is scary to have to nurse her to sleep every one or two hour or so... And even when she is not drinking, she would just make noise and make me stay on guard throughout... think after have this baby, I age at least 5 years old....
642772.gif

Morning ladies !

Was bz.. didnt get the chance to read back those past posting !! Hope every1 had a great year...

Re: Genting
Mummies, would like to know did u go by coach or drive to genting ? Thinking of bringing my ger there but not sure shld we drive or by coach

all of u have mails!!

only for june mommies pls... only emailed michele cos we have the same name.

i may be a sahm but i also have heaps to do... (sleep, make baby food, shop, ve lunch/tea w friends, play w cats, baths, spas..

michele

printed it out liao. luckily it's only 8 pages..had thot its a thick book...hmm, see if i can put it into practice.

Steffi: don't rub it in... i only had a glance at it!!
home printer no ink n paper... waiting for hub to print... dunno when that'll be!!! try n tell me if it works...

FINGERS CROSSED...

amy,

I found the shop. But its closed! There is another shop there, half the shop space, called Organic something. But I did not go in & take a look. Only saw it opened once, other than that its closed. The other shop faces the playground.

mum2b: Oh, I made into abt 25 cubes. Add about 2 lites of water. The pot that I used was not really big. Medium lah.

ipanda, thanks for the recipes! I will take a look!

Re:eek:rganic chicken
Yah, I was at the supermarket when I saw the organic chicken. I used the whole chicken but I deskined it first so that it will not be so oily. IT's abt $9 for that chicken. lol ...ex rite? Just bought it to try.

Mummies, where can I buy organic stuff (Earths Best, HIPP, HT, Bellamy) in Singapore? I would like to get some stuff. Any mummies using organic brown rice flour to make into porridge for their babies?

missk,

Brown Rice Paradise carries Earth Best, Hipp, HT.
Can't remember if they stock Bellamy as I was looking for Bellamy when I was there.

kiki,

Think if you want to accept pm, you need to modify your profile to allow acceptance of pm lor.

So, think it over and if you are interested, can pm me.
643286.gif

for those of you practicing gd or sm, can advice me? i don't know where to start man! all the info so overwhelming! been trying to order cards, but dunno what to order, the size and quantity. do u guys usually print or write? if print, very ex? write, very time consuming? for home use printers, usually how many grams paper is ok?

if order 4" by 11" for single words, how many should i order? usually how many single words do we show the baby before we go on to couplets and all? so if go on to couplets, then the sizes of paper for single words will all be wasted? 12"by 12" for math dots, just have 100 pcs should be enough rite since we're doing up to 100 math dots only? wah...all these logistic probs, feel very intimidated le...very scared order all these paper then later never use, sure kena nag by hubby one..

michele

yup.i am a sahm.no choice coz nobody wana look aft the bb.my hb oso will sleep thru.he seldom help out unless i ask him to..coz he say i am a full time housewife so i gota do everything.his tinking was since his mum can do it,so can i..anyway,we got into afew conflicts over this.he was jus plain spoilt by his parents as he doesnt need to do anything at home.

ur bb can zz till 11am? so good!! mine will wake up ard 7/8am+..but hor in btw,she will wake up 1/2 times crying n fussing..tink nightmare or she cant zz properly..i view ur recipe liao..hehe..maybe will try out afew..

mum2b/missk

me too.didn koe got organic chicken oso..hey,all ur bb got teeth liao? mine still no teeth leh..wonder y..anyway,i so far i only use 'ngoh he'..anyone koe the english name?

chrysalid,

Yes, it can be quite overwhelming at first. But I find that reading the books by Doman really helps. And the books are very easy to read too. Also, I find lots of helpful tips from this website to start with.

http://www.sgparenting.com/forums/index.php

Doman recommended 11"x11" for maths dots. For reading, I use 4"x12" for English words after reading the sgparenting web. Coz I find anything longer than 12" is quite difficult to flash. And for Chinese words, I use A4 and A5 size. Yeap, can be quite a waste if printing one word only on A5 but I find standardisation of size works better for me.

Angeline Goh (angeg): train the baby to sleep till 11am...
just latch on n say to him/her sleep... pls... mommy very tired... ;) he doesnt sleep thru either, cries when he needs a diaper change!! or when hungry.

chrysalid: overwhelmed indeed!!

MTDT: still in box
too many toys... slowly introduce...

wen,
when u bp the blank cards, do u really use so many? cos with my limited vocab, think after 100 cards, nothing to write already..haha..i've read the doman bks, roughly understand it. kept flipping to the 'how to teach baby' chapter. i gather u print your cards? u change ink catridges pretty often? i did surf sgparenting. think i had info overload. made me so stressed! haha...so lao ya me... thanks so much for helping!

michele,
lol...are u flashing too? the cards i mean... haha..

tinkle,
since your older son is abt 4 yrs old, that means u had him at the same age i had tobey! haha.. for my reno, we spent abt 43k. had to redo everything cos the place was 14yrs old without reno. there's a young couple next door who bought the place at abt the same time as i did. think they spent roughly the same amt as we did. they have a 18? mth daughter. like the way they did their place cos they used many different colors. very warm and cheerful. our place more sterile cos hubby like black and white and no clutter. with a kid, how to no clutter??? we hacked down the room downstairs to make the whole place look bigger and roofed the balcony cos we think in the long run, sure collect bird shit only wan..haha..are u serious abt the pics? if u are, will go take pics of my house..haha.. the down is 5% cash and 5% cpf rite?

sunflower,
thanks! i think i've gone daft. i tried surfing the online dictionaries just now..think even more info overload. i'm not used to gleaning info off the comp monitor. still prefer texts on paper. can i ask if u follow gd strictly? only flash 5 cards per session? and 25 sessions a day??

michele

no use 1..try liao..once shes awake,her eyes will look at u big big n SMILE!..arrghh

jus manage to put her to zz jus now..guess how much she drinks? 55ml of ebm..b4 that,she took HT cereal at 7.30pm.everyday so bek chek over her feed.but over afew days ago,her milk intake change for the better.she can took in 150ml 2hrly..alas,only for 2/3 days only..now back to her old self..

angeline, poor thing. You must be feeling very stressed. How's your ger's day like? Usually, a baby's actitivies in the day affects their feeding and sleeping pattern.

chrysalid,
yes... i think i had my son around the same age as u
what a coincidence! The place i am getting is also 14 yrs old! i dont really like the design inside cos the prev owners r middle age and their taste is different fr us... we also gotta tear down the build in cabinets, the kitchen and toilets.
oic... u had roofing done...that one is expensive! my previous owner already did the roofing.. so that will save us a bit on reno. and we r retaining the room downstairs as playroom for the kids as well as bedroom for the maid at nite. i dont want fiona to go up and down often next time. r u doing a gate for the stairs?
Dont think we will do extensive reno lah... prob just redo the kitchen and bathrooms, repaint and reinstall the aircon. Did u aircondition the lower level? still thinking whether to do that.
yes yes.... pm me the pics leh

U only paid 5% cpf + 5% cash meaning U took the 90% loan? interest is super duper high leh... we dont intend to take 90%.
down is 5% cash, 15% cpf and valuation top up (if we manage to sell our current flat). we have to top up ard $20-30k abv valn cos this is the norm for bishan
the valn is not out yet... hope it is the lower of the scale.
will be 15% cash and 5% cpf + val if we dont manage to sell our current flat!!!
definitely hope that the second senario will not materalise! told my hub if the second senario happens, at most sell our current flat to my neighbour loh though the pr they offered us is below our expectations
... the savings in interest is far more than the price difference!

Angeline,
mine also doesnt sleep thru!
she wakes up like 3-4 times a nite! And cries like as if she had nightmare!
I'm like a zombie when i go to work...sian

Hiaz... feeling tired too...
Weekends i gotta look after Fiona most of the time cos she cries and doesnt want my helper wants to look after her when i am around. v tiring now cos she doesnt want to sleep and she can crawl v fast and is v inquisitive... always wanting to pull down my electronic gadgets! she hates to play with toys and loves eating books! i gotta be v careful not to put my magazines on the bed. every minute gotta keep an eye on her!

missk,
previously I wrote some cards. as the cards size I used was big, not able to print. Then hb said buy the GD set. So now never write liao

chrysalid,
Nope, I don't follow strictly. How to? I'm working! I only do 3 sets of english 1-2 sessions a day. Once in the morning & once at night when I'm back. Sometimes only flash once.
It will be easier for you if you get children pictionary/dictionary. Some of the children's pictionary is by topics, so you can simply lift off the words for each topic.

Tinklebell,
same here. My boy's fave is handphone, remote controls, papers/books, strings/wire etc.

morning mummies, wow.. yesterday very busy... today can log on again...

fi - yes, i intend to bring mr potty out, but think will still go in the toilet. dun think bb jake likes the idea of pooping in public.
thinking of placing a bag over the potty, so just poop and throw. ha ha...

last nite, bb jake also fussed abit, maybe due to teething? he has been drooling alot... now i can spot 7 teeth... wonder how many more will pop out.

yesterday i went to robinson city hall. there was 20% + 5% off leapfrog toys, and i got the activity table plus two other leapfrog toys for jake...

chrysalid,

I print my own cards so I do use up quite a bit over time. Yeap, the picture dictionary helps. I prepared cards in categories of clothings, furniture, body parts, flowers etc. And for one category can create 10 words each. She didn't like some categories so I would just retire them sooner (which can be seen as a waste of resources). I am not very consistent and I don't follow exactly the no. of times suggested by Doman because I believe that we should follow our baby's cue. And Doman is just one of the many 'programmes' so it is ok if at the end the result may not be as apparent on her compared to say, other children. I am just adopting it 'conveniently' coz it is one of the more structured method and it suits me. It was kind of hard to start at first, having to make quite a bit of adjustments along the way, but I am more used to it now. At the moment, she is more mobile and it is actually harder to get her attention. I modify it as such that I only show 3 words in a set.

I change ink catridge pretty often coz I got the 'wrong' printer. Mine is Canon PIXMA MP150. The colour catridge is the 3-in-one type. But I use red most of the time so the other 2 colours are wasted. But I have been trying to print Malay words with blue colour ink though...but haven't started showing her yet. Hope to change printer in the near future.

In my personal experience, it is most important to
-stay joyful, joyful and joyful
-modify to what suits you and your child.
-do include other methods as well, eg. Shichida
-don't get stressed but relax and enjoy the process. I have no regrets as long as I have tried my best. They are other ways she can learn too...and she should learn other ways too.
-It is ok to miss a few days in the event of either one of us is sick, too tired etc.

Quite a long posting..=b

tinkle, will you be getting a safety gate? if so, is it for upstairs only, or both upstairs and downstairs?

did you child proof your staircase?

Wen, agree with you totally re flash cards! yes, as long as we try our best... input input input... with no expectations of the results, as long as we enjoy the process.