(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

re: class

my MIL volunteers to bring my boy for classes if we cannot make it. But I would love to bring him for class myself
it will be great bonding time and can see what they do

hello gals...
I just came back from a relaxing bintan trip
Will be updating my blog later

sunflower, poohy, vivi, mtdt,
I quite enjoyed the SM class
I made sure Aloysius is well rested and fed before the class... He napped for 1.5 hours before going for class. the teacher was quite good. There's not much interaction of teacher and babies, but I think that's fine. For Shichida method to work, the most important is the bonding and interaction of baby and mother.

catch up again... Aloysius is a handful today...

lyn,

I also made sure he's well rested for the class. He slept for 1.5 hrs before class and I fed him before going for class. But his next meal is 7pm which is just before class ended at 7.15pm. So he got fussy as he's hungry. On way back home, he was screaming for his milk already.

Hope to hear more about the class from you later

amy,

ride-on Cars cartoon : think I have that as well. My hb loves it and we bought it for him when he was 3/4 mths old. But thought the music abit loud. The 3rd time I put him on it, he cried when I played some of the music buttons.

sunflower.. wah... yes... the ride on v fun hor? but think they will better appreciate this when they are older, when they can steer the wheel...

sunflower,

I just did it in notepad
hehee...

GUG is not bad... they teaches using zoo phonics... quite similar to what happen in JG playnest though i prefer JG. I brought Samuel to the GUG trial and i find there is too many bb in one class though i forgot how many. The class I went to, the teacher spoke v softly and not dramatic enough to capture the attention of the tods. Toddlers are very active bunch which requires a lot of effort from teachers to capture and engage them. Maybe I should bring Joelle there in the meantime while waiting for her to be ready for JG playclub. There is another similar class which i went to at Zoo-phonics.... the price is much lower though... but quite good too.

poohy,

ok. I just noted down in my notebook. will transfer to notepad when back home
I just managed to recall 12
Can't think if there is more than that :p still thinking....

where is Zoo-phonics? I know GUG at United Square right?

hi gals.. no time haven't caught up with u gals.. how's every1?

hmm.... my bb is getting more active these few wks.. he now can sit up on his own and stand up..very cute keep crawling to me and hold onto me to stand up..

he also shows signs of walking.. so these days busy trying to think of how to protect him from all the knocks..

Yest think he called his daddy twice.. but not sure he calls his daddy or his new language again.. he call his daddy "there there" hee hee..
my hb was grinning the whole day haha..

hmm.. so SM is not very good lah? I am thinking of bringing him to kindermusik rather than flash cards type since he does it at home and shows signs of boredom cos he can't sit still these days.

Tinkle, sorry din mgr to talk to u yest.. was on the line.. n trying to calm the bb down. he was trying to stand up from his stroller, so naughty

mum2b

me using slow cooker to cook.takes abt 4hrs for it to get soft n mashy.each time abt 1 spoon(the kind of white plastic spoon u get when u dabao food).just nice for my ger for 1 meal

Sunflower, vivi, poohy, amy,

I think not easy to write notes in class leh.. cos the pace is rather fast. Some more both hands gotta be on baby. No hand to write already... :p

I think Aloysius' sinsei is good. She can sing along in a cheerful manner even though it's in Japanese. I was quite impressed
hahaha.. and he got a pretty sinsei...

I wrote down the activities after the class.. as much as I can remember
Maybe we can start a mailing list to share share

I will continue the SM class. I dunno how to do home practice now leh... it's pretty much what I have been doing. I like the japanese exposure in the class. I think my hubby will be able to follow better than me since he studied japanese before.

Is there notes given out? I did not receive any notes yesterday. The sinsei did not use abacus yesterday too.

Actually, from Shichida book, he recommended lots of simple "toys". Not the sophisticated kind.. Even a piece of paper is good for baby to explore... After the class, i even thought of DIY those materials :p

gotta go again.. later all...

Lyn,

My boy got a pretty sensei also, got 1 part he kept staring at her, then the sensei told him to look at the screen not her!
haha.. who's your sensei, maybe ours the same.

No lah, cannot write notes in the class. No notes were given out yesterday. what poohy and I are doing is to write down the activities after class and share the notes with each other. If different activities, then we will learn more

Mine class also no abacus.

missk and mum2b,
my mil does the cooking for baby so not tired yet..
she doesnt like the idea of jar food and frozen puree so i'm quite pleased in a way.

chrysalid,
u nearly had me burst out laughing with your walking papaya stunt. so entertaining.. hee hee..

my boy had fever over the weekend and slight cough at night.be wary, think there's some virus going around. but doc say small matter not to worry will self heal, too young for cough medicine, just give paracetamol.so mil thought me a lot about chinese ways of 'cool' vs 'heaty' food cause cough is perceived to be 'cool'

Wen,

after you show the rabbit, house, strawberry in sequence. Give the cards to baby. ask her to arrange / pick out the cards in sequence. Think for our babies age, is to pick out the cards. The sensei showed the sequence twice slowly to us.

sunflower,

ya u r rite... that's how they do LM
Same for Samuel's class...
When they are older in 3 years above class, then will have things like recitation ..

Amy,

wat about us? Is it the same as what sunflower described? Think i didnt do it this way cos i missed the instructions. I just followed what the mummy beside me did.

Sunflower, poohy,

Thank you for answering my questions!

Wow! You mean baby will actually be able to pick the cards in sequence? Do I show her the same set twice before asking her to pick? How many times can I show the same set of cards to her, ie. when do I retire the same set? I read that LM is to train the right brain so need to flash fast....but the SM teacher shows them slowly...doesn't sound very 'right brain' leh. Did she explain the reason? *scratch head* Pai-se..me lots of questions.

Wen,

sorry not about to answer your 2nd question. I remembered 1st time a little faster. When she showed the 2nd time, was slower. Maybe we were 1st time doing it, she does it for the mother's benefit as well?
Poohy will need to answer this

Wen,

supposedly they are able to pick out the cards in sequence. But my boy is more interested in picking up the cards and deliver it into his mouth

wen,

if u r interested in linking memory, read up tony buzan's books. He is very good in this area of memory enhancement. Read the book "Brain Child". The teacher in S's class did not flash the cards fast too. In fact for photomemory previous term, she also shown for more than 3 seconds. This term as they grow older, she flash it for 1 second.

vivi, our teacher did it differently. remember rain, wall, etc... in sequence? she repeated this twice... then gave us small cards to repeat to bb in the same sequence, then she showed a card, and asked which one is rain? i think that is what sunflower was referring to. but our teacher did not ask bb to pick out in sequence. hee hee.. maybe she din have time, so she only asked bb to pick out first card - rain?

amy,

this is what i did exactly. But it doesnt seemed to be liked what sunflower has described.. Aiyo, i never asked davian to pick the 1st card leh. Or was she the 1 who did it rather than us?

angeline,
hw much water do u use for 1 spoon of rice? do u put any veggie or meat too?

michele,
heinz teeting biscuit is for 6months+

chrysalid,
re: kkh emergency clinic
the waiting time is based on the severity of the case. if not so severe (on their judgement) then must wait quite long.

amy,
are you really going to bring mr potty out? how, ta pau in plastic bag and hang on stroller handle?

michele and mum2b,
i've started on teething biscuits. i use bellamy's i find the shape and texture good enough for baby to hold and explore himself.its hard enough that it doesnt break easily. only bits can be gnaw or suck out, by then it already melt.so he had a fun time that day and i had a peaceful breakfast.but after eating half he started playing and drop it which i think its ok cause need to be careful the end piece not to be too small in case choke anyway.

sunflower,
i'm now using extension wire to the store room
. but weird everytime i want to pump i feel like peeing. have a hard time to hold bladder cause dont want to go toilet before pump. u mean baby our age can actually pick out cards in sequence? think my boy will just eat them..

wen,

aiyo dun be upset with little gabby lah... my Samuel 21month liao still tear the books or cards at times! I dun dare to give him soft pages books... he only read boardbooks hehee... He destro some of the materials in the SM class the last term! I was so apologetic...

J also like gabby.... everything right into the mouth ..that includes my hands, my arms, my leg whatever it is that she can grab.

poohy, sunflower

Ya lor... destroy and eat....She super excited when I show her 2 cards for problem-solving. She doesn't point but grab it! Then you know lah..

Fi,

why don't you want to go toilet first before pumping? I go to toilet first if need to, thought if not later pump half way must quickly stop to go toilet.

sunflower,
cause i already wash hand nicely at kitchen sink leh. if go toilet, the hand wash inside toilet makes my hand scaly and red if overuse and don't like the idea of coming out of toilet then make baby's food. i weird huh...

so baby can really choose card sequence or i misinterpret? i wanted to buy those cards that comes in pairs so that match same picture with same picture but hubby thinks i siao leh..

but when i cannot decide which baby shirt or shoe to buy i let my boy choose. that one he know how to choose or sometimes both also he want...lol

Fi,

by right, yes they can choose the card sequence, can ESP, can do alot of things.

where did you get these cards? hmmm not seen before,
or maybe never notice

mum2b

hmm,its all base on my own estimation leh..u put abit at 1st.chk from time to time.when it dries up,then add some more.as days goes by,u will koe liao.nowadays i put pumpkin,fish,etc...

porridge: yah, after some time, you will be able to estimate really well. I gave my son porridge cooked in chicken stock. He loves it. Finally, he likes something.

Angeline, you meantioned you put pumpkin and fish. Is it for the stock or your bb eats it?

Took part in a bp, paid BUT havent collect.. anybody wants?? was coming back in jan, now am not so... will sell cheap!!!

pls email me if u want: [email protected]

prefer to sell in bulk ok... Thanks!!

Healthy Times Organic Baby Cereal - Barley 2
Healthy Times Organic Baby Cereal - Oatmeal 3
Healthy Times Organic Baby Cereal - Brown Rice 1
Healthy Times Vanilla Biscuits for Teethers 2
Healthy Times Maple Biscuits for Teethers 1

missk

not for the stock.i will add them in when the porridge is almost cook.

how do u cook the chicken stock?

haiz..my ger these few nites always cry..esp b4 sleep..jus now woke up n cry again..imagine i manage to put her to zzz at 12mn n then 1am+ woke up..?? my hb fall sick liao due to lack of zzz..everyday been praying tt my ger will be good,drink finish milk n then fall asleep easily..

ANgeline: same here!! "i manage to put her to zzz at 12mn n then 1am+ woke up..??" my boy sleeps really late... SIGH!! BUT wakes up at 11am... fits my schedule
i'm not an early bird, are u a sahm? my hub will jus sleep thru...

i bght a sleep bk online, dunno if it helps, my dear dear hub has been too bz to print it and me been too bz reading it on the computer. will email u if u wanna read it.
email me: [email protected]

i also have recipes at my blog...
http://brendanchiang.blogspot.com/

angeline, I dun concoct my own recipe. I got them from a book. This one I got from Gina Ford.

Ingredients: 1 chicken (I bought an organic one to try), 1 stick celery or leek (sliced), 1 onion (quartered), 1 carrot (diced)

Mich, you have recipes! Wow! You concoct them?

angeline, sorry forgot to give the rest of instructiosn. Rather simple. Put them in a pot, bring to boil and cook for another 1.5- 2 hrs. The soup smells great. I froze the stock into cubes after that.

missk,
that chicken stock recipe, u can make into how many frozen cubes? how much water do u add? must use a big big pot huh? oh i didn't know there's organics chicken

wen,
since it says 6months+ so i give when my bb is 6months, by then she already cuts 2 teeth. never tried HT b4 coz i prefer to give plain ones not with flavourings. oh can break easily that's quite dangerous ya? heinz one is quite hardy.

angeline,
thanks. actually last month i already experiment w/ my new slow cooker. the result is quite ok w/ white rice, but can'tdo brown rice. the rice is still very hard and not mushy. have u tried BR porridge?
what kind of fish do u use? i'm an idiot in fish haha.. only know salmon and ikan bilis, the rest i dunno the names :p can teach me?

michele,
can share w/ me ur sleep book? these 2 weeks my bb has been sleeping v v late, past midnight. v stressed out!
only last night she suddenly sleeps from 10pm to 7 am! only wakes up 3 times, but everytime i put pacifier back to sleep quickly. but ironically, i can't sleep well, coz my body is like waiting for her cries like that all night long, end up wake up w/ muscle pains this morning.

angeline, michele

my gal too, she has not been sleeping well since weekend, not sure why.she will cry in her sleep.

any of your babies reducing milk intake? my gal has not been feeding well.

I_panda: so cute!!! where u get such cute cute icons?

mum2be: whats ur email?

missk: got organic ckn. haha!! HOW?? i didnt add in the onion, only ckn n carrots and ckn i used breast, not oily. babies recipes are easy lah... mostly the same i guess..

Mum2B, Stephanie,

Think wa have similar experience with bb sleeping pattern... me panda eyes now. Last night dont know why she cry in her sleep... ended up I felt like I didn't sleep at all. Don't know when she will be able to sleep through the night..